X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
4696 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

I got what paid for....

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy we supplied a satisfactory experience and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

80%

I enjoyed my stay here. Some of the 20 bed dorms rooms are a bit cramped though. I also encountered some issues with the door to our room. It would not close all the way, and many times residents wouldn't close it all the way after leaving so I could come back to an open door. I would think it wise of the staff up front to advice guests of this, as it made me often feel like my things were unsafe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll be able to join us again. Your issues with the door will be investigated and improvements made, remember our reception is always open to hear your concerns and help with the situation. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels

80%

Good hostel especially for the price. The beds are very small and all stacked together 3 high with a room with quite a few people in it and 1 shower... Depending on who your roommates are can be rough or fantastic. Location was absolutely incredible right next to Hyde park. Buckingham Palace is a long walk but it's possible if your a fairly athletic person

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our location so appealing and that our staff welcoming. Since we are located so centrally and while trying to offer accommodation at a competitive rate, floor space is at a premium, but we have a variety of room sizes to choose from to help guests feel the more comfortable. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

91%

Oh the long flight of stairs to the 4th Floor; wish there was a lift but at the same time it's good to keep fit!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Remember if you ever need help with luggage handling our friendly receptionist are always on hand help. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope you'll be able to join us again soon.

89%

Very good hostel, clean and well organised. Perfect location and prices that won't drain your pocket.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our special location, we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon.

49%

Very dirty and smelly. Rooms are too small for number of people in each. Good location though.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take issues of cleaning very seriously with our helpful housekeepers cleaning daily, If there are any issues with the condition of the rooms our reception is always open to help resolve the problem. Since we are very centrally located our floor space is at a premium and we try to offer the best competitive prices with our large range of dorm sizes. Thank you again for staying with us.

66%

The staff were really great and very helpful and the location is perfect for the summer being right by Hyde park. I did not like the atmosphere of the hostel though. It seems to cater for a lot of large school groups (14 to 16 year olds) that were running around and shouting most of the time, as well as smoking pot outside (not sure who was looking after them?!). Also, the rooms are so cramped as the only storage available you have to pay around £1.50 a night for. No free lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hostel , being so central, floor space is limited when offering competitive accommodation but we do have a range of dorm sizes to help with many different guests requirements. We ask all guest to respect the the quiet time between 10pm to 7am in the hostel and our friendly reception is open 24 hours if there are any problems that we may solve. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels.

69%

Hostel staff were not very accommodating or kind and were rather terse. Location of the hostel is excellent; wifi is pretty awful, though. Simple breakfast and cleanliness was relatively good throughout with the facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and took advantage of our central location. It is regrettable that our staff left a inimical impression, our staff receive new training regularly and your comments will be used to help improve our service. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

34%

Do NOT recommend for young travelers. Mainly older men stay here... Did not feel safe at all. A literal homeless person slept in our room one night until someone realized and kicked him out. Rooms are tiny... DONT do a mixed dorm if you are a girl it was so smelly, loud and felt unsafe. Not really a youth/ student hostel... Bad experience all around

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Best location and

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, we are really proud of a central and accessible location and we hope you will visit us again soon.

71%

One thing that should have been clearer stated from the beginning in the hostel page relates to some services fees. A specific case in this aspect is that I used the luggage storage in the morning previous to my check-in for free. However, when I wanted to use the same in the morning of my check-out there was a 2 pounds fee. I think no one likes when a fee suddenly appears for something he was not expecting or was previously informed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We allow guests to put their bags in our luggage room free of charge before check in, as they might have arrived to early and we want them to have as much time as possible to explore our city. We do this as a complimentary aspect, but our luggage rooms are £2 per bad per night. There is no other place in London that gives such a cheap price to store luggage. Best Regards,

57%

The room was not cleaned properly because of the amount of people accommodated. The atmosphere was crouded and I could not receive calls in my room or access information on my phone or even play music or listen to the radio as there was no signal. I could not do no work during my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our talented housekeepers clean daily but if there is a problem with the room, our reception is always open and we will do our best to rectify the situation. We have common room and seating areas where our guest can use our free Wifi do perform work or enjoy media. We offer many different sized room to suit a wide range of guest on different budgets. Thank you again for staying with us and hope you will join us again

89%

Great place to stay for 2 nights. Close to metro and in a great neighborhood. Staff was friendly. The showers were a bit tight and so was the 15 bed room.


100%

This is a great hostel to stay.Firstly the rooms,toilets,shower rooms,t.v room as well as the kitchen are always clean thanks to the hardworking and dedicated cleaning staff.Secondly the manager carries out his duties in a very professional manner,the same can be said of the other members of staff.Security in the hostel is very good and the atmosphere about the whole place is extremely vibrant.


91%

Many many stairs xD But the beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is more than nice!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and kind words, we hope you'll be back soon.

74%

I had a bed in a 12-room dormitory, which was very cramped. Curtains on the bed ensure a bit of privacy. Hygiene in the hostel was fine, showers and toilets were kept clean. Breakfast was good for London hostel standards - toast, margarine, jam, cornflakes, milk, instant coffee, tea and orange nectar. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It would be nice to be able to open the window in the room for some fresh air. Not enough toilets and showers. Water temperature of the showers is far too hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and kind comments. Our windows are limited is opening due our safety measures but yours comments about the fresh air are being considered and new measures discussed. Your comment about the water temperature has been flagged and is being investigated, remember our reception is always open if there are any concerns. Your thoughts are valuable to us and we thank for taking the time to write about your experience. Thank you for staying with us.

100%

Great atmosphere .The staff were ever so hospitable as usual right from the manager.Always a pleasure to stay here.The cleaning staff also do a great job by keeping the whole place.Definitely a place to recommend a friend to stay while visiting London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and friendly comments, we hope to see you again soon.

63%

They should have provided free locker for each bed. Stayed in ensuite female room, nice and comfortable. Probably will try to find place because the price is actually not really worth a go.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We do charge £1.50 per night for our lockers but your comments will be considered for future policy changes. We aim to supply cheap-competitive beds in central London, with a variety of rooms to select from, we thank you staying with us and hope you will consider us for future stays.

71%

This hostel only worth about economical issue, nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying Smart Hostels, we happy that our staff and location ranked high with you and hope you join us again soon.

74%

It's ok if you only want a place to sleep. The wifi sucks and the breakfast could be a lot better. The location is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. We'll happy you enjoyed our location so close to the centre. Our free breakfast which includes tea, coffee, toast, spreads and cereal, is designed to help keep costs low for our guests. It is unfortunate that you had difficulties with our WiFi and your comments will be passed on to the relevant departments to help improve our service. Thank you again for your helpful feedback and for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

(2730 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback