X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
4691 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Hostel is in a good location, less than 2 minutes from front door to Bayswater underground station and also lots of buses on bayswater Road. Also very close to a stop for the open top buses tour. The staff were friendly enough and helpful, breakfast was provided - toast , cereal, juice and tea/coffee.....hardly luxury, but this is a hostel. - good start to the day and nothing to grumlbe about. beds are comfy with curtains on the bunks in the dorms. would stay again

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is good, but the room was really small and crowded with three storey bunk beds that were very small, and there wasn't much space for luggage. The wifi didn't work in the room at all, only in the lobby, and even there it was slow. In the kitchen area there's not much seating which was a problem during the breakfast since everyone couldn't find a place to sit down and lines were long for the food. Also there were not many showers and toilets.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

All was very good except the water of the shower which was not enough warm, between warm an cold. But I don't understand because the water in the bedroom was warm.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Great location and the price was decent, and for the price the rooms were fine as well, but nothing was clean and most of the bathroom doors didnt lock or close well.


83%

Read a lot of bad reviews on this place and was worried about going, me and a friend had a twin bunk bed room. and every thing was fine. Friendly staff, very clean room that was seen to every day, small and minimal but that was expected for the price in such a good location. If heading to London I will defiantly be staying again.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice place, had to come here last minute as another hostel double-booked us. The staff are very helpful and the room was incredibly clean.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The wifi was very slow.


49%

Get a security system that doesn't go off at all hours of the day, put actual mattresses in the beds, and don't tell me you don't have a telephone only for me to see you do, in fact have a telephone, because you picked it up as I left the lobby, more electrical outlets than one per room, and for the love of God a proper wifi that you can connect to.


71%

Rooms not well ventilated. Strong smells of body spray and cleaning products. Rooms got hot and stuffy at night.


29%

The worst hostel we've ever seen over the world. Showers, dorms, evertything is filhty. The staff isn't even friendly. AVOID !!

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Very dirty


94%

I THOUGHT THERE WAS A LOT OF NOISE COMING FROM DOWN STAIRS IN THE GAMES ROOM, IF YOU ARE TRYING TO SLEEP THIS IS NOT GOOD FOR YOUR VISITORS. THIS WENT ON IN TO THE EARLY HOURS OF THE MORNING. I HAD TO BE UP AT 0500AM AND DID NOT GET THE SLEEP I WAS EXPECTING.I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A CUT OF TIME FOR THESE GAMES AND FOR PEOPLE COMING AND GOING.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very polite and helpful staff, just the rooms are really small, but for the price and location you can't ask too much!


57%

I would not go back here. Slept in 16 bed dorm, without window. It was really much dust and smelled a bit bad (although they went around and spray in the rooms to hide the smell) so i sneezed and was snotty after one night there. Not worth it, although the good location, for me. Also you have to rent locker from them, even if you bring your own locker. Also they charge you for leaving your luggage there some hours after you checked out. Breakfast was, in my opinion, not tasty at all!


60%

The Smart Hyde Inn was in a great location. Subway, Tesco and Mcdonalds are nearby. We stayed in a 20 bed mixed dorm, the good thing was the bed had curtains to cover. However, they only had 2 working outlets for 20 people. Also, they charged extra for lockers and for printing. Other than the location, everything else was below average.


83%

Good, well stocked kitchen (though they make you pay a deposit for the cutlery, which is annoying....) Clean rooms, and cut little cabin beds


66%

The staff- the Spanish and French girls- were very unfriendly, arrogant and bullies. Don't understand why people want to spoil holidays with no reason of a paying host. Kitchen facilities should have been more and the kitchen cleaner. I saw a cockroach there, although I saw people cleaning. Same thing for the toilets. The bedroom was large enough, with a lot of light and the bed confortable (although it was a three bed bunk bed). you need to pay for the lockers.


60%

We stayed in the 20 person room and it was too small for that many people. At night it was so hot and humid in the room - the one tiny window was not enough ventilation!


100%

Nice staff and people, clean hostel. Free Wi-fi well repaired, working in the common spaces. Some inconveniences 3G / phone calls you can not receive surely everywhere, only close to the street, otherwise recommended.


91%

I enjoyed my stay at smart Hyde Park, I would like to tell them thank you very much for their efforts and I would thank specially the Arabic speaking stuff of the reception for their help. Thank you Zakarya from Germany

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(176 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback