X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
4283 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

To be very honest the only good thing about this hostel is it's location. Else, the rooms very pretty damn small and damp.Bed space is too cramped up. Toilets also need more attention, most of the time they were wet. However keeping in mind it's location, one should not expect more than this. If you want to have a better place to stay either pay more or stay slightly away from city centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, infact the shared toilet facilities are cleaned every hour between 7am and midnight. Unfortuantely, facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback. Thanks again.

34%

my room and was not well cleaned, the staff are so rude that I would not recommend to no one, all the receptionists are very rude and are always in a bad mood.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

66%

I booked for a 12 people dormitory. It's quite great easy to get there (with the circle or the district line) and there are two supermarkets, three fast food restaurants, a post office and some coffee shops (such as Starbucks). There are even two pubs. However, I won't recommend it if you enjoy to hang out at nights. The room I was in was very small for 12 people (an their luggage). The breakfast room is really small and in my opinion it's not well organized.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to provide a review for your fellow travelers. Cheers.

66%

Bit worn. Nice beds with curtains but no space in the room. Average hostel all in all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback! Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one :) We hope we will see you again!

69%

I was only there for one night so i chose it for its really convenient location next to the subway. But i wouldnt want to stay longer, the dorms are incredibly crowded. Big plus though is that there are curtains on the bunks for privacy

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI and thanks for the feedback. Perhaps next time you might like to try one of the smaller dorms. 20 bed rooms are incredibly cheap but not always for everyone. Cheers.

43%

VERY cramped rooms. Too many people in too little space! The luggages were all over the little space around the beds... A lot of the services (towels, luggage room...) are not for free, and have to be bought as extra. Very basic "free breakfast" and I felt bad after eating it (either indigestion or food poisoning) so I actually left the place feeling bad and having to stop for half a day on a bench.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. Therefore for some extra services we charge a small fee. We have very limited luggage storage space, therefore we must charge a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight) to ensure the space is used appropriately. We also provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and as you mentioned a continental breakfast consisting of toast, cereal, tea and coffee is included.

60%

The staff does its job, always here and they clean showers and toilets once an hour : not the most welcoming hostel i know but it is respectful. I cant blame them for sparing smiles because, and thats the real problem, there is too many people. The dirtiness of the room and the risk of robbery is due to roomates.Always keep your belonging.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing to stay with us! That's very good advise. Hostels are a shared environment and to minimise the risk, we do suggest all our guest keep their valubles with them at all times!

71%

The staff is OK. The rooms are small and not vented. The breakfast is rubbish, but the location is wonderful, close to the metro and a hipercomercial street. A anecdote that I did not like: We rented a private room between two; in a time when we were inside, someone (presumably the staff) opened the door with a magnetic card. When he realized we were inside, he left.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for staying with Smart Backpackers. We are a little confused about some of your feedback. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding about our shared dormitory. Ordinarily a 4 bedroom dorm is shared between 4 guests unless you and your party purchase all four beds. If you weren't aware of this we fully understand your surprise when someone else entered your dormitory. We will advise our reception staff to make sure our guests are informed of this in the future.

20%

This hostel is like a prison

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.

51%

No space for any activity other than sleeping ! Bathing room lighting is poor !


49%

Stealing was a huge issue. Got my phone and money stolen while staying and every night someone else's phone or money got stolen from their beds bags or plug ins. Would not recommend this hostel if you want to keep your belongings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We recommend to all Guests, PLEASE PLEASE keep your valuables with you (or securely locked up.) Do not leave phones etc unattended in power points or on beds etc. Most of the time Guests are sharing with people they do not know and not everyone is as honest as you are! The process if something should happen is to notify Reception who will help you contact the Police.

80%

- No Lift (elevator) - too much stairs; - Very hot inside the bedroom in the summer - no air cond. or fans. - Good hostel, great location - 3 min. walking to tube station. Recommend !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are working on the ventilation in the rooms which hopefully you will notice, if we are lucky enough for you to stay again.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(112 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback