X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park Inn Reviews

48 - 50 Inverness Terrace, Bayswater, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
3975 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Very good value for the money . Perfect for few days f london cheap in london. Also well situated

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The bedroom should be more opened, because when is complete is too hot inside

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Spartanisch aber dem Preis entsprechend. Mehr kann man nicht erwarten. Das Plastik-Geschirr ist gewöhnungsbedürftig aber o.k. Dass die Bettwäsche nur partiell gewechselt wird, finde ich eher unappetittlich.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The location was great, but the 'vibe' and atmosphere of this hostel totally lacked! The Rooms are incredibly stuffy and in summer are packed, which makes it extremely hot and some of the rooms don't even have windows. It made it quite hard to sleep at night. No individual lights at the beds, so people would come in late at night and flick the lights on. Staff were good, but the security was minimal. Probably not worth the 14 pounds per night.


74%

Personnel compétent et infrastructrures satisfaisantes. Seul bémol: j'y étais en juillet et peu importe la température extérieure, l'air était étouffant dans le dortoir. Après, l'ambiance et la propreté des chambres dépendent des personnes avec qui l'on se retrouve, mais dans l'ensemble j'en ai été satisfait. Les parties communes (douches, toilettes) sont relativement propres. L'intérêt de cet auberge réside principalement dans son emplacement: à côté de Hyde Park et de la Central Line.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Highly recomended room for 2 people

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Un hostal muy amigable, el personal es joven y se unen a los pub crawls. Las instalaciones pueden mejorar pero en general es un buen lugar para quedarse unas cuantas noches en Londres, además las áreas sociales permiten conocer muchas personas.


69%

Great staff! It's a shame there was no secure locker as such (not recommended at least) in the room as stated on the website. A few hidden costs - locker, towels, etc. All in all an OK stay - nothing fancy and not very clean but OK time. Great location!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was oke, the rooms were really small for the number of people. No cool air in any way, so it was too hot and no space at all to store your luggage. Curtains around bed were nice, too bad people started opening them in the middle of the night. One of the staff members even started to do that at 1 a.m. and got angry with me when i said i didnt appreciate it, since he was 'a staffmember'. Blond girl at the desk was very friendly and helpfull!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. London has been unusually hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for every room. Very occasionally our reception team have to check that a bed is being used by opening a privacy curtain which is drawn. We regret if that causes alarm but it is only done when absolutely necessary. The blond girl at the desk says thanks too!

31%

El hostel esta bien ubicado pero es horrible en todo sentido. Las escaleras a los cuartos son enormes! Cuartos diminutos y sin ventilación, los baños la mitad de las veces no funcionaban! Te cobran por dejar las valijas 2 GBP por bulto! El personal antipático y brusco en general! Un desastre! Ah! Esta llenó de adolescentes !


57%

The ventilation of the rooms was really bad and you cant control the hot water, there is just one fixed position in the shower


89%

We stayed in a room for two people for 1 night, it was better than I thought it to be! Though the room was very small, it's enough, it's clean, we had our own shower. Breakfast included and location's quite convenient! Very nice place to stay for a couple of days for youngsters for quite reasonable price. Thanks!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

46%

Ce n'était pas agréable d'y séjourner: air irrespirable ds les chambres,(c'était un cauchemar), mauvaises odeurs et sanitaires!!!!: catastrophe.. en plus les lockers étaient payants! N'importe koi. Très mauvais agencement des chambres. Je n'y retournerai jamais.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay.Your feedback is still appreciated though.

26%

Niezmieniana pościel, niezamykane brudne łazienki, ciasno, duszno, wszechobecny brud,niezbyt miły pan recepcjonista. Dodatkową atrakcją była kąpiel w szambie. Nie polecam :D Never again :D

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Clearly you didn't enjoy your stay. Perhaps we can suggest next time trying a dorm with less people. 20 bed dorms are not for everyone and maybe a smaller room would better suit.

69%

Very well located. The staff is not very friendly, and you have to pay extra for almost everything, like luggage room, computer and locker. The bathroom was ok and the room was regular, but very very hot inside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, low-cost accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

31%

Funcionários mal preparados, quartos silimares a prisão, a cadeia, extremamente quente, abafado e com mal cheiro, tomadas para carregar celelar insuficientes, banheiros somente com a água quente (no verão, absurdo)... com certeza a pior experiência que tive em hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. London has been unusually hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for every room. We will pass your comments on to our management team.

89%

Good especially at cleance

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Unhelpful staff, cramped and stuffy rooms, and pretty poor atmosphere probably because we were all crammed into 21 plus dorms with no regard for human needs like fresh air or normal sized beds. Don't trust hostel worlds reviews because this hostel sells free nights if you write a good review, check out trip advisor.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

stayed in a 4 bed room and the window wouldn't open. There is no air conditioning nor fan so it was impossible to breathe. Reception wouldn't repair the window nor change me to another room. Both receptonists were rude and unhelpfull, one even said it was the law that the window should be open only 10cm. Asked to leave my suitcase in reception for the night since i was leaving in a few hours and didnt want to carry it 4 floors up, receptionist wanted to charge me For it. Horrible experience.


63%

The hostel staff were brilliant however the next day we were covered in bedbug bits both myself and my friend were itching for the next few days

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(185 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback