Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 3997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 3997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
5.7

The location itself is good: very near Hyde Park, tube stations, supermarkets, etc. However, the hostel is possibly one of the worst I've ever stayed in. I was in a room with 3 triple beds (so 9 people overall), that had very bad ventilation and got really hot during the night. The room only has two power outlets, on the floor, so I had to rent a locker at the reception to be able to charge my mobile and powerbank. You also have to rent the "secure locker" in the room if you want to use it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
4.6

The shower was directed to the door of the small box. And the water ran all the way out, making it impossible not to wet the bathroom. The water temperature was absurdly high. Only on the other day they went to check what was happening, and sealed the box with silicone. The leak stopped but the water kept going to the door and remained super warm. It was almost impossible to bath, because it w it was difficult to reach the water and take a decent shower.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
8.3

Not bad at all! It had an okay vibe and was close to Tube stations, so that was good. The breakfast in the morning isn't anything to talk about, but it'll start you off for the day. There is no kitchen but has a small community fridge to store a few things in. It was a very good price, especially for London, and I felt very secure with my belongings here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thegooseofeurope
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th May 2017
7.7

Buddy and I spent one night here. 10€ deposit each for the cards and got back. Lack of a social vibe, perhaps cause this place is small and crammed. It was a nice stay, got the job done. Location was great

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
9.4

Have stayed with Smart Hyde Park on a previous occasion, and both times everything was great! Staff is helpful and friendly, room was clean (and appeared to be recently upgraded in a couple of aspects!), and apart from the elevator being out of order, it was a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
6.3

Cons: bad wifi signal (they say is because of the amount of people using it but, c'mon, put more routers) , really small beds, some are even on the floor literally. Small space in the room ( I stayed in a 6 people bedroom, can't imagine the 9 person room...), They charge you extra for almost everything. Pros: good location close to Hyde Park, nice staff willing to help you in nice mood, breakfast included, simple but enough, bed so small that you will wake up early and make a good use of your time

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
9.7

Staff was great, as good as they come. Friendly and helpful, and very knowledgeable. The location was as good as you could ask for as well, right next to bus stops, Paddington Station, and Hyde Park. The limited space in the rooms left something to be desired, but that's what one can expect with a hostel in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • madelenewales
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.4

Although the hostel itself was lovely, I was surprised to see that the 6 person dorms essentially required a few people to sleep on a thin mattress on the ground underneath a bunk bunk bed. It was extremely uncomfortable and easy to bump your head. Other than that, the facilities were nice and in a lovely location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great! The only improvement I could think of would be a more reliable WiFi connection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
4.6

We have booked an ensuite double room for . First, it was very small and extremely hot. Even sleeping with open window (in Feb) didn't help much. The worst part was that the shower was absolutely blocked and had horrible smell - we couldn't shower at all. We asked at he reception (twice) to check the shower but nothing was done during the whole evening and we didn't even get an apology in the morning (as we complained again). We came for breakfast at 9:25 and it was already finished too.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for sharing your feedback! The windows can only be opened a bit due safety reasons. It was indeed unusual hot for London, so the rooms as well. And some showers are indeed inconvenient, sorry about that! We are in the process of redesigning some showers with new ones. Hope the rest of your stay was good!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.