Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3979 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3979 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • madelenewales
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.4

Although the hostel itself was lovely, I was surprised to see that the 6 person dorms essentially required a few people to sleep on a thin mattress on the ground underneath a bunk bunk bed. It was extremely uncomfortable and easy to bump your head. Other than that, the facilities were nice and in a lovely location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great! The only improvement I could think of would be a more reliable WiFi connection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
4.6

We have booked an ensuite double room for . First, it was very small and extremely hot. Even sleeping with open window (in Feb) didn't help much. The worst part was that the shower was absolutely blocked and had horrible smell - we couldn't shower at all. We asked at he reception (twice) to check the shower but nothing was done during the whole evening and we didn't even get an apology in the morning (as we complained again). We came for breakfast at 9:25 and it was already finished too.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for sharing your feedback! The windows can only be opened a bit due safety reasons. It was indeed unusual hot for London, so the rooms as well. And some showers are indeed inconvenient, sorry about that! We are in the process of redesigning some showers with new ones. Hope the rest of your stay was good!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Very good hostel , the staff are great and very helpful. The rooms are good apart from some are small with larger numbers but on the whole great bathrooms and good bed's with curtains on beds . nice relaxing atmosphere and bar at the entrance with cheap drinks ! not bad at all !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. We're so glad to hear that you liked the staff. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist and that the facilities were up to scratch. Hope to see you back sometime soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
5.4

No PowerPoints in the Bedrooms, you must pay 5 pounds for towel i stayed in the total 22 hours there and their charged me for 2 days i was expecting more!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travelers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for unneeded services. Kind Regards from The Smart Hostels Team.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Excellent value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
8.6

Honestly considering the location, it was the best value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your valuable review. We are very proud of our convenient and central locations. Our hostels are located within beautiful architectural listed buildings. Kind Regards from The Smart Hostels Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jan 2017
6.6

Staff at reception desk were really friendly, however one of the cleaning ladies was extremely rude to us. We were in a 6 bed dorm which was very very cramped and small, 3 bunk high beds with no privacy curtains on the top which was very uncomfortable considering how close the bunks were to each other. Also two of the lockers in our room were broken making it very hard to keep things safe. Was a much older crowd, and not a very good place for meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for review. Our staff are constantly being trained and reviewed by their managers, we take customer service very serious in our company and ensure it is to a high standard. We have invested a lot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope you enjoyed your time in London.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
6.0

I will not stay here again. It was extremely cramped with barely any space for luggage. Forget sitting up in bed, and the bottom bunk is basically just a mattress on the floor. I don't ever want to get dressed in a space the size of a coffin again. There was a lift but we weren't allowed to use it (from the third floor.) I didn't have breakfast there but I can believe the other reviews when they say it was dire. However the staff were helpful enough and it was in a good location near Paddington.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it! We're really sorry to hear that there were things that you weren't happy with. We're always listening to guest feedback and working hard to improve. We'll be looking into all the points that you've mentioned and trying to find solutions for them. We hope you enjoyed your time in London.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.6

The internet is horrible, and the cleaners not polite with us. The bed it is very small and not comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.