Hostelworld.com

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 3,701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 3,701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Located at 16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, , London.
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
England
London W2 3EU 16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU
79% 3701
51.5118090 -0.1828415
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Apr 2016
4.9

Typical grimy, young travellers hostel. The triple level bunk beds are pretty dangerous if you're on the top level. Room prices may seem okay, but that's because every additional feature costs - locker, bag storage and towels (which you have to buy, they don't rent them out). Super cramped breakfast area and tight rooms. The only highlight was that the majority of the staff I interacted with were nice and helpful. Probably better off finding another place to stay in London.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
7.7

The only reason you would stay in this hostel is its location. I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and it seemed like there were a few groups of students staying there, they were terribly loud late at night and had no common sense regarding what is acceptable to do at 2am - they would turn the light on and unpack/have loud conversations in the corridors. The other downside was that there is no proper common area, just a little bar on the ground floor. Can't socialise :( But staff are great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
8.6

Location is great and the hostel in general is very nice! One suggestion: provide an individual lamp and plug in every bed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently working on installing more plugs in our rooms. As for lamps we do not install them solely for the reason that some guests might leave them on the whole night. We hope to see you soon again, Smart Hostels Team.

18th Mar 2016
7.1

As other's have stated, the location can't be beat, right off the Northern part of Hyde park and is close to both Queensway and Lancaster gate tube station. The facilities themselves were ok some of the toilets and shower facilities could use some work, a lot of the housing was in the basement and the only places to socialize was the dining room and the main lobby. Security wise the give you a key for entry to your room and offer security boxes for £1.50 per day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thank you for choosing our hostel! We are refurbishing our premises constantly and we hope next time you are here you will be able to experience one of our new rooms. As for the socializing, it depends of the time of the day and how many people there are in the hostel, but usually you can find and meet new people. The lockers are just something we like to offer extra to our guests for the peace of mind. We hope to see you soon again. All the best from Smart Hostels Team

28th Feb 2016
5.7

No matter what I said about this hostel, for example week Wi-Fi reception inside the room, lack of electric outlet inside the room and pay-per-use locker, you will still choose this hostel because of its cheapness and prime location (zone 1) in London. The staffs are generally nice, especially the cleaning staffs. However, the South Asian receptionist guy was particularly rude. It's like my skin colour has provoked his rudeness.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we are in process of refurbishing our rooms and adding more sockets, we are also changing our internet provider to resolve the issue with internet speed. As for the matter you have pointed out, our staff is highly trained and always polite, we apologize if there was any misunderstanding during your stay. We hope to see you in the near future. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Feb 2016
6.9

Great location. Water supply is not enough for guest to shower, and the water is not hot enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thank you for your review. We will look into the issue about the water that you have pointed out. We hope that apart from this your experience was good. We hope to see you in the near future and best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

26th Feb 2016
7.1

The security was good. Did not have an issue at all. The location is great! Its near a few bus stops & near the metro station in Queensway, that was very very handy. The staff was GREAT. They helped me a lot with the questions I asked. They are very knowledgeable. I Didn't really like the atmosphere. Not everybody was social. Speaking of the people who stayed. They didn't really socialize. Maybe if there was an activity it would be good. The room was clean on a daily & value for money was good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for the kind words! Our staff will be more than happy to hear that. We are happy that you enjoyed staying at our hostel. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
25th Feb 2016
7.1

Well located to Tube stations for access to central London. Walking distance to Portobello Road markets. Triple bunk beds in dorm room. Variable water pressure in bathrooms; the taps could benefit from a service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with our hostel. The water issue you have pointed out will be brought to our maintenance team's attention. Have a lovely day from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Feb 2016
9.1

Was a really good deal when I got it - booked a 6 bed dorm going in, but was able to upgrade to a 4 bed for some nights for an extra £2 per night. Dining / common area had great atmosphere with a good mix of people staying, though a remote control to change the channel would've been good. Stone's throw from tube, you can walk across Hyde Park to Harrods. Some kitchen facilities and a water fountain would've made this even better. Would stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with our hostel and we thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
4.0

WORST HOSTEL EXPERIENCE OF MY TRIP!!! NOT ENOUGH ELECTRIC PLUGS!!! The security would be good, if we hadn't come home to find SOMEONE ELSE IN MY BROTHER'S BUNK! When you arrive empty bunks are supposed to be stripped so you can put your own linens on, but no one is stripping the beds, which is gross. All of this could be avoided by numbering the beds so they can actually be assigned, and telling the maid which beds to clean. ONLY 2 PER ROOM. HORRIBLE WIFI. Not a friendly feeling place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, we are very sorry you had this experience. Our guests choose their own beds, it is possible that someone picked the wrong bed or checked out earlier. We are sorry again and we hope that next time you will have a better experience. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.