X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3628 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

I have booked 6 doors suite, the room was extremely small and dirty, the door of bathroom doesn't closing, I told them reception they didn't care I never never stay this hostel again


37%

I'm actually astounded that this hostel has received such positive reviews. From what I heard the "hotel" part of the building is much much better than the hostel itself. I had originally booked a mixed dorm and changed immediately. The bunks columns were almost touching and it was too far out of my comfort zone. The female dorm was not much better. 3 bunks on top of each other. Bottom one a mattress on the floor and I couldn't sit up in the top bunk, I had to roll into bed.


100%

Your reception staff are the best in the universe . So specially Victoria,Martin,Carlos and the French Lady.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review and staying with us. We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team

86%

The 6 bed room was really tight. There are not enough plugs and there needs to be somewhere to put luggage. It made it difficult to fit everyone's suitcases in and the room wasn't even full.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. The rooms are supposed to be big enough for everyone who brings one suitcase and one handbag each:( Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

74%

Our private room was really small (we struggled a bit to figure out where to put our luggage) and the water pressure was awful, but the desk staff was nice and it got the job done. Breakfast was fine. It's a no frills kind of place, but it's a decent value for your money,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. The room should be big enough for a suitcase and a hand luggage each. Thank you, we love our job and are always happy to help. Hopefully we will see you soon again! Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

71%

Like the curtains for the beds gave you a bit more privacy.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you, we do our best to give you as much privacy as possible even in a dormitory. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

69%

The rooms are very small, but for few nights I think it's ok for people who only want sightseeing in London. The price is good and you can enjoy a good breakfast too. I found it not clean enough relating to my opinion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We offer different type of dormitories to our guests to be able to suit their purpose. The housekeepers clean the rooms every day and the common areas more than once a day. I hope you'll enjoy it more next time you're in London. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

83%

The Wi-fi signal in the room is very weak. I couldn't not use it. It is also difficult to sleep because we can hear the noisy from other rooms easily.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are aware of that the WiFi signal is sometimes a bit weak or slow and we are therefore in the process of changing our service provider. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you. We do offer free ear plugs at the reception for all our guests. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

26%

This is the worst hostel ever in my live. 9 people in 1 room is overloaded due to the size of it. There is no space for luggage or even to stand on the room with other people. Only 2 sockets or plugs in the room!!! The worst part it's the bed too small and not comfortable at all. If u a big guys and need to be on the top of the other that hard cause the bed is shaking all the time!!!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for feedback. Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. All our beds are European Standard size, unfortunately the standard is not ideal for people who are taller :( Also, we have socket extensions for guests that you can borrow from reception desk. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

lacks of plugs in the room with 12 people... 2 plugs? not possible for 2015... btw, 2016 good breakfast!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and feedback. We acknowledge that the sockets in the rooms are limited, but we have extensions for guests that you can borrow from reception desk. Happy Travels in the new year from Smart Hostels Team :)

74%

The triple decker bunkbeds are really inconvenient. It would also be nice to open the windows because it gets really hot in the rooms, and there weren't nearly enough outlets for charging equipment. On the positive side, the curtains on the beds are neat for privacy, the security was really good, and the staff was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are glad you chose to stay with us when you were in London! We are sorry to hear that it was too hot in the rooms. We always leave the windows open after cleaning, but it is possible someone just closed them. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our common areas and we hope to see you soon! Smart Hostels Team

40%

The wifi connection didn't work in the rooms. very dirty and crowded. the rooms were very small. breakfast is awful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you decide to come and stay with us again, we encourage you to come to reception and we will try to allocate you in a different room and help you with any problem you might have. Hope to see you again! Smart Hostels Team :)

60%

Staff is okay. It's not a wonderful hostel as hostelsworld indicate. The location is fabulous.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. We try to do the best for our customers and we hope you'll be back very soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

57%

The six mixed bedroom is very crowed, and the bed is tiny. Everything looks old and unclean. But its location is good, and worth the price I paid for.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback! Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms :(. Our housekeepers clean all the rooms and common areas daily. We are sorry to hear that your dorm wasn't as expected. We hope to see you very soon in our hostels, Smart Hostels Team

100%

A great place to stay, dorm a little small. Staff very helpful.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at a very good location. Hope to see you again very soon, Smart Hostels Team

97%

After staying in the hotel section, I would definitely stay again. The staff, facilities and location were amazing and brilliant value for money. I highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! :) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon. Regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

I stayed for 3 nights and the staff at the reception was very nice with me. They give you the linen. The rooms was clean but the only thing that I did not like was that the card did not work for the locker. I did not ask because my baggage had a key-locker. BKF was simple but enough for me and the cafeteria was good too. We had hot water. The bar is good if you want to stay for a beer or two. The best thing is the location just next to Hyde Park which is AMAZING!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your much appreciated review. Our staff are constantly being trained and reviewed by the managers and we take customer service very seriously in our company and ensure it is to a high standard :). We also offer a free simple continental breakfast to our guests and our hostel is located at the heart of London. We do hope to see you again in our hostels, Smart Hostels Team

94%

your reception staff make you feel like you are at home.


100%

Very nice place I'll be happy to go back any Time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back sometime soon! :) Smart hostels Team

94%

Best accommodation and Staff.

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for very positive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed our hostel and hopefully see you soon again :) Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(79 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback