X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3634 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The lockers under the bed weren't working for me, so I carried my laptop around London to guarantee that it stayed safe. This logic is a bit backwards, as my backpack was likely very easy to steal from me. I would increase both the security and the value for money ratings if I had been more comfortable leaving my stuff in the room. On the other hand, the included breakfast and the location right next to Hyde Park was absolutely perfect.


100%

I was very impressed on the quality of the room. cleanness and deco. did nt expected that from a Hostel. but hey nice things happen sometimes. Staff very friendly and informative. I as surprised that with a younger crowd staying on this hostel. there was absolutely no noise in the evening...! it was perfect.


97%

Brilliant stay room was great hot water towels tv just what we needed. Defo stay again.

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Right near the Hyde park. A bit far away from Oxford street but near to Queensway Station and a bus stop. Breakfast is just a drink and bread with Nutella or jam or butter. Receptionist is helpful. £10 deposit is needed. liner is provided. Shower room is newly refurbished and beds are with curtains and a plug. Would recommend to a frd.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great hostel and excellent location with adequate facilities. All staff especially the new French lady were friendly and helpful.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent Hostel! Facilities completely new! Location awesome! Staff, wi-fi network and atmosphere are OK! Strongly recommended!


80%

We had a nice time at this hostel. The location was good, the breakfast was decent, and the staff were all very nice.


86%

We enjoyed our stay despite the size of the room and bathroom. The staff, including house keeping staff, were helpful and friendly. The bathroom needs hooks and/or a shelf, the room itself could use a waste paper basket and hooks for jackets etc. Guests should be notified about the construction work before arrival. The lift wasn't working most of the time. Carrying a 20 kg bag up to the 3rd floor is a pain. We were gutted by the fact that as guests we had to pay to use the luggage room.


20%

I have booked 6 doors suite, the room was extremely small and dirty, the door of bathroom doesn't closing, I told them reception they didn't care I never never stay this hostel again


37%

I'm actually astounded that this hostel has received such positive reviews. From what I heard the "hotel" part of the building is much much better than the hostel itself. I had originally booked a mixed dorm and changed immediately. The bunks columns were almost touching and it was too far out of my comfort zone. The female dorm was not much better. 3 bunks on top of each other. Bottom one a mattress on the floor and I couldn't sit up in the top bunk, I had to roll into bed.


100%

Your reception staff are the best in the universe . So specially Victoria,Martin,Carlos and the French Lady.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review and staying with us. We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team

86%

The 6 bed room was really tight. There are not enough plugs and there needs to be somewhere to put luggage. It made it difficult to fit everyone's suitcases in and the room wasn't even full.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. The rooms are supposed to be big enough for everyone who brings one suitcase and one handbag each:( Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

74%

Our private room was really small (we struggled a bit to figure out where to put our luggage) and the water pressure was awful, but the desk staff was nice and it got the job done. Breakfast was fine. It's a no frills kind of place, but it's a decent value for your money,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. The room should be big enough for a suitcase and a hand luggage each. Thank you, we love our job and are always happy to help. Hopefully we will see you soon again! Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

71%

Like the curtains for the beds gave you a bit more privacy.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you, we do our best to give you as much privacy as possible even in a dormitory. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

69%

The rooms are very small, but for few nights I think it's ok for people who only want sightseeing in London. The price is good and you can enjoy a good breakfast too. I found it not clean enough relating to my opinion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We offer different type of dormitories to our guests to be able to suit their purpose. The housekeepers clean the rooms every day and the common areas more than once a day. I hope you'll enjoy it more next time you're in London. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

83%

The Wi-fi signal in the room is very weak. I couldn't not use it. It is also difficult to sleep because we can hear the noisy from other rooms easily.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are aware of that the WiFi signal is sometimes a bit weak or slow and we are therefore in the process of changing our service provider. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you. We do offer free ear plugs at the reception for all our guests. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

26%

This is the worst hostel ever in my live. 9 people in 1 room is overloaded due to the size of it. There is no space for luggage or even to stand on the room with other people. Only 2 sockets or plugs in the room!!! The worst part it's the bed too small and not comfortable at all. If u a big guys and need to be on the top of the other that hard cause the bed is shaking all the time!!!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for feedback. Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. All our beds are European Standard size, unfortunately the standard is not ideal for people who are taller :( Also, we have socket extensions for guests that you can borrow from reception desk. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

lacks of plugs in the room with 12 people... 2 plugs? not possible for 2015... btw, 2016 good breakfast!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review and feedback. We acknowledge that the sockets in the rooms are limited, but we have extensions for guests that you can borrow from reception desk. Happy Travels in the new year from Smart Hostels Team :)

74%

The triple decker bunkbeds are really inconvenient. It would also be nice to open the windows because it gets really hot in the rooms, and there weren't nearly enough outlets for charging equipment. On the positive side, the curtains on the beds are neat for privacy, the security was really good, and the staff was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are glad you chose to stay with us when you were in London! We are sorry to hear that it was too hot in the rooms. We always leave the windows open after cleaning, but it is possible someone just closed them. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our common areas and we hope to see you soon! Smart Hostels Team

40%

The wifi connection didn't work in the rooms. very dirty and crowded. the rooms were very small. breakfast is awful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you decide to come and stay with us again, we encourage you to come to reception and we will try to allocate you in a different room and help you with any problem you might have. Hope to see you again! Smart Hostels Team :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback