X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3642 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

The wifi connection didn't work in the rooms. very dirty and crowded. the rooms were very small. breakfast is awful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you decide to come and stay with us again, we encourage you to come to reception and we will try to allocate you in a different room and help you with any problem you might have. Hope to see you again! Smart Hostels Team :)

60%

Staff is okay. It's not a wonderful hostel as hostelsworld indicate. The location is fabulous.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your review. We try to do the best for our customers and we hope you'll be back very soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

57%

The six mixed bedroom is very crowed, and the bed is tiny. Everything looks old and unclean. But its location is good, and worth the price I paid for.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback! Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms :(. Our housekeepers clean all the rooms and common areas daily. We are sorry to hear that your dorm wasn't as expected. We hope to see you very soon in our hostels, Smart Hostels Team

100%

A great place to stay, dorm a little small. Staff very helpful.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at a very good location. Hope to see you again very soon, Smart Hostels Team

97%

After staying in the hotel section, I would definitely stay again. The staff, facilities and location were amazing and brilliant value for money. I highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! :) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon. Regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

I stayed for 3 nights and the staff at the reception was very nice with me. They give you the linen. The rooms was clean but the only thing that I did not like was that the card did not work for the locker. I did not ask because my baggage had a key-locker. BKF was simple but enough for me and the cafeteria was good too. We had hot water. The bar is good if you want to stay for a beer or two. The best thing is the location just next to Hyde Park which is AMAZING!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your much appreciated review. Our staff are constantly being trained and reviewed by the managers and we take customer service very seriously in our company and ensure it is to a high standard :). We also offer a free simple continental breakfast to our guests and our hostel is located at the heart of London. We do hope to see you again in our hostels, Smart Hostels Team

94%

your reception staff make you feel like you are at home.


100%

Very nice place I'll be happy to go back any Time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back sometime soon! :) Smart hostels Team

94%

Best accommodation and Staff.

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for very positive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed our hostel and hopefully see you soon again :) Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

89%

The staff of the hostel was very friendly and helpful. I checked in at 1 am and out at 5 am and was helped very well both times. The room (female dorm for 6) was small, but fine. When people don't use lockers, it gets quite stuffed. The beds themselves are short, but since I am about 5 ft 6 in, it didn't bother me. There were 4 sockets in the room, but I could always find one to charge my phone or otherwise a powerbank. You'll have to access the hostel and dorm via keycard, so it feels really sa

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 6 bed dorm female and that you found everything in the hostel up to a great standard. Hoping to see you back in the hostel soon! Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

74%

Location is a bit far from most things - but a bus stop is close which is handy. Not too much of an atmosphere and we really had to ask staff a lot of questions about the hostel and area, they weren't very helpful. Also in our four day stay the room was not cleaned? I would probably choose somewhere else upon return.


86%

Th room was super small and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The mattress was thin but the room a very clean and I would stay there again!

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Karen! Thanks for the awesome review! We loved having you stay with us. Can't wait to see you again! Enjoy the rest of your travels, Smart Hyde Park View hostel

80%

I will stay with this hostel again in the future

Owner Comment (Hide)
Come back any time. We hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team

97%

I really enjoyed my stay here. The front desk people were the beez neez and I loved the hospitality. I've never been to London, England before. So this place really left a great impression on where I should stay for the future.

  • 24th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The room was incredibly small and there was no possibility that all 6 of us could be in the room unless we were all in bed. It was also INCREDIBLY HOT in the room and the lobby area. We had to open the door to the fire escape and our room for some relief and then we saw the sign about not disturbing the outside wall because of asbestos - does that mean that they did NOT use the same materials on the inside? We would NEVER stay there again. Staff was good but bathroom was moldy.

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed at the hotel part of the Smart Hyde Park View and it was the best place to stay in London so far. The rooms were tiny and everything was old and worn but very clean and comfortable. The location right next to Hyde Park was amazing! By foot it took about 20 minutes to get to the shops at Oxford Street. I would recommend the hotel for families and couples because it wasn't really a party hotel/hostel. Next time I am in London I will definitely stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Smart Hyde Park View. We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! We hope to see you soon! Regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

The hostel Smart Hyde Park View Hostel is very excellent and cheaper but the room are too smaller for 4 or more beds. In fact, when 3 persons are standing in the bedroom, there is no space for move beacause 3 bunk beds occupy the whole room. I add I have hoped to take my breakfast with a real coffee, the hotel offers only instant coffee. Still, I recommend this hotel, its warmth, the kindness of the team and the cleanliness. I've enjoyed my stay ! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you very much for your review and feedback, it will help us to improve our services. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

91%

Friendly staff, clean and quiet.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Matt! We hope to see you again, Smart Hostels Team

80%

I was only in London for one night but had a very good experience there. The neighbourhood is lovely to walk around in with many cool cafes and places to eat, and very accessible to transportation. Good conversations with other guests. The lobby is a little bit cramped, but that's probably not so big a deal in the summer with the sidewalk tables. Breakfast was quite busy even at a relatively early hour that day.

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best if not the best Hostel I have ever stayed in.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jay! Thank you for the amazing review! Looking forward to see you again soon in our hostel :) Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

(83 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback