X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3630 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Got an Early Bird Offer (£15 per night for 6-bed ensuite dorm) and definitely got what I paid for. Lockers and towels are charged extra (the towel is purchased, I think the locker is just rented by the night). No soap provided in the bathroom. Luckily I got the middle of the triple bunk and not the top. The room is definitely small for 6 people, but like almost everything else about this hostel, it is manageable. Very basic breakfast included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! For health and safety purposes, we don’t hire or give away towels. The prices we offer don't include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers don't need to use them therefore they don't end up paying for things they don't need. Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. Kind regards!

77%

The location made the most of it. Average facilities as lift never works and WiFi is a bit unreliable. Good breakfast

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, it’s important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again, Smart Hyde Park View

57%

It was not very clean. The comforters were not washed and I could only imagine the number of people that pass through and use that comforter in a week.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are giving a fresh bed linen at the point of check in. Our rooms are serviced everyday however if there are any additional cleaning requirements please just let our friendly staff at reception know and we'll be there in a flash to ensure everything is perfect for your stay. Happy travels from Smart Hostels Team :)

86%

Awesome place. The staff were great, the atmosphere was very relaxing and everything was very clean. Overall it was a great experience! Highly recommended.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! :) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon, Hyde Park View Hostel

94%

great time.Hopping to go back soon.

  • 20th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The 20 bedorm sucks so bad the room is way too small for the number of beds there are

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! For future reference, we have different types of dormitories available to suit different types of travelers, depending on their budget. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. Hope to see you again. Regards, Smart Hostels Team

51%

The hostel staff was not very friendly - the rooms were very cramped and it didn't feel very clean. Lack of outlets for the people in the bedroom, we had to share 2 outlets among 6 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thank for your feedback. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. As for mobile charging, you can use the various power outlets in your room/dorm, in the common areas or leave with the Hostel Manager who will be happy to charge it for you. The charging station is only for those that wish to leave their phone charging while they go out and explore London. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

83%

Minimal, but exactly what we needed. Just a place to rest, great location not noisy.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Sam for your review, much appreciated! :) Hope to see you again. Regards, Hyde Park View Team

80%

Overall a pleasant stay. pros: - perfect location. Close to two tube stations, a street with a lot of restaurants and supermarkets, Hyde Park and city centre - nice building, not too noisy - small room (4 beds+ensuite) but enough storage - breakfast was okay Cons: - 4,50£ for a locker - small dining room, not always space for everyone - not enough sockets - no individual bedlight

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback! We acknowledge that sockets in the room are limited and we have extension for guests, where you can borrow it at the reception desk. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Regards,Smart Hostels Team

60%

I only paid $25 for the room so i guess I got what I paid for. Very small rooms, bathrooms weren't all that clean and the breakfast was minimal. Many of my complaints have to do with the "roommates", who were very inconsiderate, but the overall stay was only average.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review! We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. Our housekeepers clean all the rooms and common areas daily, toilets and common areas are cleaned more than twice a day. In addition to this, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. Regards and happy travels from Hyde Park View Hostel

57%

This hostel is located in a nice place, but far away from the most important attractions so traveling by metro becomes very expensive each day. Rooms are small and there is not where to leave backpacks and suitcases, so it is very uncomfortable. Only Josephine was kind and helpful, the rest of the stuff is not very kind.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Gabriel, thank you for your feedback and we apologize if you weren't satisfied with our service. Our hostels offer a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

63%

good location, but rooms are like prison cells, top bunk is way too high, i fell twice when climbing out of the bed and a roommate fell out of bed and hurt himself - its too much beds in one room and too high. The wifi works, although the seating area is poor and the breakfast staff unhelpful. Could do with more social events to get the guests at the hostel to integrate more and do stuff together. Tube line is a fussy one so take the bus at the end of the street - its cheaper and easier! 6/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rob! Thank you for your feedback, it’s important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again, Hyde Park View Hostel

80%

The hostel is in a prime location. We booked a double private room which was fairly clean (room 505) However, simple things like: Bathroom floor tiles all cracked and pieces missing One cup and not enough milk cartons for coffee/tea (there was 2 of us) The bed dipped in the middle as the support post underneath was broken. Not very sturdy at all and made for not a great nights sleep. Luckily I had my daughter 12 yrs old with me who is small so didn't cause too much problem. Staff were very

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Philip! Thank you for your valuable feedback, we forward it to the right person. Kind regards, Hyde Park View Hostel Team

74%

I stayed here first in a private double bed room and then in a dorm. I was extremely impressed with the private room, as it was hotel quality with a nice ensuite bathroom and at a very good price for this part of London. This is why I was so surprised when I moved to the dorm room; it was cramped and looked like it received much less attention. Also, you have to pay for locker rental, which I think should be included in a dorm for basic security. It gets very crowded with school groups.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Smart Hyde Park View. Come back any time. We hope to see you soon! :) Regards, Smart Hostels Team

89%

Have stayed twice now, the mixed dorm was better due to the layout of the room compared to the female dorm only. I feel it's great value for money and would highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Dawn for the amazing review! Please come back soon, we'll be happy to welcome you again in our hostel, Hyde Park View Team

91%

Staff was so helpful Beds were decent But in the end it was all about the location and you were Steps away from Hyde park and great restaunts shopping museums also Buckingham plaice wasn't A far walk ! I would deff stay here again

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Diana, thank you for your review. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again. Regards , Smart Hostels Team

71%

Average place. We got stuck in the lift the first day, when it says 4 people it means it. Rooms are tiny, buy good location in London

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Jon! We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

89%

Great location, clean. The place was really compact, small common area. Small room, triple bunk beds. Like that the beds had curtains, but they were so squeaky that every time someone moved it was so loud. Did not sleep great any of the nights. And felt like I had to pay for everything...towel, luggage storage, lockers (hate when I can't use my own lock!). I don't think I would stay there again but it was an okay hostel. Clean, safe, good location, just didn't sleep great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there.Thank for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All our beds are European Standard size, unfortunately the standard is not ideal for people who are 2m tall :( As for our bathrooms, we have larger facilities throughout the property, whenever you stay with us next just ask our front desk staff for help. As our prices as so cheap considering our amazing locations, we have no choice but to charge for such things. Hope to see you again.

54%

I'm going to keep this short and sweet. Great location but would never stay here again. I'll leave it at that .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

40%

Very expensive with all the additional payments - eg for a towel, locker key etc - it all adds up!! The rooms are tiny- even by English/London standards. The Wifi doesn't reach many rooms and is very slow. The staff are very average and not very helpful. lots of LOUD students stay here.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,thank you for your much-appreciated review! The prices we offer don't include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers don't need to use them therefore they don't end up paying for things they don't need. We have different types of dorms to suit different types of guests depending on their budget. Slow internet only occurs when several several guests are downloading incredibly large files such as high resolution images/films at the same time :(. Thank you, Smart Hostels Team!

(2270 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback