X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3431 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The Ukranian and Greek assistance were very helpful and professional, it really create a good atmosphere, all the people working at the hostel are well informed and very well mannered and therefore extremely diplomatic. I did enjoy my stay. The breakfast staff and the maintenance guy also very helpful and friendly, my room I stayed in was clean and quiet, the only obstacle was voices outside the hostel at night but that was beyond the control of the hostel staff as the people were outsiders.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, we're super happy you enjoyed your stay and that all are staff were helpful, we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon.

80%

We had a lovely stay. The hostel was nice and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The only problem we had was with the room. It was very small to have three bunkbeds and six people sleeping. It was so small one of the bunkbeds actually went all the way across the only window in the room. The person in this bed refused to have the window open at night which meant the room was unbearably hot and too uncomfortable to sleep.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments,its great that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate about the temperature of the room but we are happy to say that we are installing new fans in the dorms to help keep the rooms cooler and better ventilated. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels.

100%

Ideal location for the music festival in Hyde Park, the hostel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you review and kind comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay took advantage of our location next to Hyde Park. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope your visit again soon

69%

The location was great, and the staff were very friendly. However, the 9 person dorm we stayed in was tiny! Out of the three triple bunks squeezed into the room, one of them blocked the window. This made the room extremely hot and stuffy. Because of this, we wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we so glad you found our staff welcoming and hostel well Located. Being in such a central location, room space can is limited when offering competitively priced accommodation, we offer a range of dorm sizes from 4 to 9 to as many options as possible. During the summer month rooms can get hot, that is why we have recently invested in procuring wall fans to to help ventilate the rooms. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

74%

Hostel located right beside the hyde park with good tube/bus connections. The staff was nice but the facilities were two small for the money you pay for them. No free lockets inside the bedroom and bathroom with no air circulation. Not bad for the price, but not so good either.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We charge £1.50 per night for use of a locker, we do not include this price in the bookings as some guest do not require their use. Thank you again for staying with us and for your comments, they are helpful to us, allowing for future improvements to our service. We hope your visit us again soon.

71%

Felt more like a hotel than a hostel, with a small cafe downstairs but not a lot of opportunities to meet fellow travelers. Additionally, I stayed in a 6 bed female ensuite dorm that was incredibly small (only one person could reasonably move around the room at a time) and miserably hot with no fan or AC. Staff was friendly and always helpful and location was convenient, but accommodations themselves were not enjoyable.


74%

Our room happened to be fully occupied when we entered it, had to be moved to another. It was great to have a simple breakfast included, really appreciated.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are sorry for the mix up with your room but glad that we quickly corrected the situation and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.. We're happy your stay with us was pleaseant and hope you'll be able to visit again soon

51%

I have never spent a worse night in my life. We stayed at a mixed 6 dorm which was the tiniest room possible with three vertical bunk beds next to each other. All six of us could not stand in the room together much less change, etc. And when someone moved or climbed up or down the whole structure would shake. They were also not big, and I am not a tall person. I could not stretch my legs comfortably. There was no a/c so we were sweating the whole night and no sound insulation from nearby rooms.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we would hope. With our aim to provide competitive accommodation close to the centre of London floor space is limited but we do offer a range of room size to help our guests pick the right choice for them. I am happy to announce that we are rolling out new fans for our dorms to help with temperature control and ventilation. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

89%

As usual (I have stayed here many times) the staff both in the evening and the morning were helpful and friendly. Room was very warm but clean as was the en-suite. I like the privacy screen around each bunk. Bunk was rather short - I am 1.8m and so is the bunk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, we're happy that you return visit was as good as the last. Your comments on the bunks will be passed on to the relevant department for future considerations. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels, we look forward to your next visit.

97%

Lovely helpful staff and a lovely area to be based in London close to transport and the parks. Thank you!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we're really happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff welcoming, we hope your be able to visit again soon.

63%

The hostel was ok for one night, was quite a small room and quite cramped. I wasn't initially told about the lockers under the bed, for which you had to go back down and ask for them to activate something on your keycard, and you had to pay extra. I didn't mind paying, It just would be helpful to be told when you check in and asked! As most people want to keep their stuff safe. The vibe in the hostel was a bit odd but I didn't really spend much time there, it was in a really good location though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate that you were not informed about our lockers on your arrival, your comments will be passed on to relevant department to incorporate this into our regular staff training. For clarity, draws underneath our beds a lockers for which we charge £1.50 per night, the key is written on the same key card as your room. We are happy you enjoyed the location of our premises and hope your be able to join us again soon.

77%

Smart Hyde Park View is a basic hostel but gets the job done. The staff were friendly and helpful, plus it's a great location for accessing central London and the beautiful Hyde Park. However, the room felt a little crowded and it wasn't the cleanest hostel I've stayed in. However, you can't complain at the price, which is definitely better value than a lot of London hostels at the weekend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are happy that you took advantage of our excellent location and found our staff helpful. Our housekeepers clean the rooms daily to keep the hostel clean and hygienic, but if there are and issues our reception is always, to help in any way possible. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

80%

Nice place, nice staff and good location, the place is just the way it looks on the pictures.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are very happy that our staff were welcoming and that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you will visit again soon

83%

Considering its location and breakfast, it is good worth of the monie and quite convenient which I appreciated.. Besides, the staff are really helpful. So it is not bad overall. However, no bed lamp, and the only two chargers (for six people ) are behind the door. the height for each bed is too low so that I can't sit on the bed(I am not tall in any way) which makes it really uncomfortable in day time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Each of our dorms have 2 power outlets for the room to share, there are extra outlets in our common areas and you can also leave your devices with our 24 hour reception to charge throughout the day or even over night. Your comments on the bed heights and lamps will be passed onto the relevant departments for future improvements to our service.

100%

enjoyed the stay - overall very pleasing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be able to visit us again soon

80%

For some weird reason the bed would squeak. Literally laid awake for two hours mind you not moving and it still made this constant squeaky noise... But the first 4 hours of sleep was nice:) It was 4:30 in the morning outside and I was like why not walk around so I check out and left. Everything else was great!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review and feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay overall but it is unfortunate that you had trouble with the bed, we will investigate to find the cause and alleviate the problem. Remember our reception is operated 24 hours a days to help ease any problems that may arise. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, we your visit again soon.

74%

On the plus side: location is really good, staff was nice and the bar downstaris is failry comfortable and chilled (for having a beer and working on your computer - not for partying). Free earplugs (you need them). Cleanliness! The downside: There wasn't a proper locker for valuables, just a small box under the bed that you have to pay extra for. The dining room wasn't that special, especially because it was underground and there weren't any windows. Rooms a really hot (even in early June).

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. For clarification, all our rooms have security draws which can be rented from our reception for £1.50 per night and opened using a key-card. We are happy to say we are starting to add new fans to all our rooms to help with ventilation. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

74%

Really tight for space. More expensive and not as nice as other hostels I have stayed in. The common room is a little small as well.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hostel is located close to the centre of London with easy access to the tube network and 24 hour bus routes. To offer our competitive prices at such a central location floor space is reduced but we do offer a range of room sizes to provide a several option to our guests. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels

86%

Was in a great location. Clean, with friendly and helpful staff. But you need to take your own towels as none provided in dorm rooms. But hotel just off Hyde Park, and near 2 tube stations, for £25. Great!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and wonderful comments, we'll really happy our staff were helpful during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll stop by again soon.

83%

The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful to me! I felt happy to stay there and all my things were secure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and lovely remarks for our staff whom we are very proud of, it was great having you and we hope you'll be back soon

(2192 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback