X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3432 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful to me! I felt happy to stay there and all my things were secure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and lovely remarks for our staff whom we are very proud of, it was great having you and we hope you'll be back soon

51%

Great location but very disappointing rooms and services for an expensive price. Bunks were incredibly small, the room was not clean and not ready upon arrival. Using a towel cost 5 pounds whereas at other hostels it was free or very inexpensive. Breakfast was provided which was nice but minimal. Staff didn't seem to be concerned with comfort of patrons. Most disappointing was the fact that the tap water in the bathrooms was not for drinking. Would not wish to stay here again.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. With our aim to provide accommodation so centrally located , floor space is limited but we do have a range of room sizes to suit many different budget requirements of our guests. Our rooms are cleaned daily buy our dedicated cleaners but if there are any problems our reception is open 24 hours to help . Water from the rooms is not for drinking but our bar will serve glasses of water at any time and bottles of water are also on sale. Thank you for staying with us.

86%

PROS: -Ensuite bathroom -Location close to Queensway and Bayswater stations CONS: -Breakfast is paltry and 3 GBP upgrade for a few slices of ham and cheese is ridiculous. Use real orange juice instead of orange colored water; that's just gross. -Charging for lockers in the room means the rooms become quite crowded with luggage. Just include it in the price of the room.


60%

Overall, considering the location, it's a good price. My biggest complaint would be the lack of ventilation in the 6 dorm room I was sharing because of set of bunk beds that blocked the window. When the person on the lower one would close their curtains for the night, it would cut off the fresh air flow (the window only opened a ruler's worth). The room wasn't big enough for three sets of bunk beds---as a result, one was stuck smack in front of the window and there was no where to put luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. Our aim is to provide accommodation close to the centre of London at a competitive price. Being so central our floor space is reduced but we do have a range of room sizes for a variety of budgets. I am glad to inform you that your comments have been considered carefully and we are currently installing fans in our rooms to help ventilation. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels, we hope you'll visit us again.

97%

Friendly Staff, free wi-di, free breakfast and really cheap prices at their Bar, on average really good hostel!

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, We're really happy you enjoyed you'll stay with us and hope you will be able to join us again soon.

83%

Location was convenient to metros and food, and the neighborhood was nice. Facilities were sufficient, though could feel cramped at times. My only true complaint is that there weren't enough outlets and they were all 1 meter (3 feet) off the ground. Very inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your experience with the power outlets was unfortunate and we will consider your comments for future improvements. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

86%

Staff was friendly and sheets were clean. Good Breakfast. Overall a good stay.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and friendly comments, we hope to see you again soon.

86%

Very nice staff, nice hotel. We were in a 6 bed room, the room was small but it was enough to spend a good night! We missed the breakfast on both mornings of our stay...

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry to hear that you missed our breakfast. Again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.

71%

Great location. Good value. Room keys didn't work 3 times which was very annoying considering we were only there for 1 night! 3 tier bunks are too high, windows need curtains (not just beds). Check in process needs to be quicker, it was quite a painful wait while receptionist struggled with the systems/form filling/IDs/room keys/deposit cash etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that you had some difficulties. We are in the midst of new staff training and thank you for your patience, we continually evaluate our performance to provide the best service and care possible. We will look into your recommendation about curtains for the windows for future considerations and thank you again for you comment. We hope you will consider us again for future stays here in London.

69%

Small beds. Make your own bed. Very poor breakfast (although inclusive), only toast and one cereal. Internet didn't work in room (at basement level). Nothing great about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. All our beds are European Standard size, unfortunately the standard is not ideal for people who are more than 2 meters tall. We have designed our free all you can eat breakfast to be simple which helps pass savings onto our guests. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

66%

London is an outrageously expensive city. This hostel should purchase inexpensive foods from Sainsbury and Tesco and provide free breakfast to the guests (as a show of appreciation for the high rent). Also they should provide 24x7 free coffee/tea and hot cocoa. Instant coffee, tea bags and hot cocoa are not expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We Provide a free breakfast between 7.30 - 9.30 with all bookings which includes tea, coffee, toast, cereal and spreads. Thank you for booking with us at Smart Hostels, we hope you will visit us again soon.

57%

The room was Ok. Actually we didn't expect more than we had seen in the pictures. We were 6 friends and took a room for the 6 of us and the bathroom inside it. The bathroom had small ants and different insects. The breakfast wasn't good at all. The location is great and it's very well communicated. The price is not high taking in account that we are talking about London, but the hostel really needs remodelling.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We invest substantial amounts of money in pest control. During the summer ants are sometimes attracted to food stuffs that our guests store in the rooms, they don't last very long thanks to our prevention and eradication methods with all reported cases investigated. Our free inclusive breakfast includes tea, coffee, toast, spreads and cereal. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

89%

Very nice hostel in an excellent location. The rooms are a good size with a shower in each one. The only fault would be the lack of sockets. There is a wide variety of nationalities that stay there so it's great for meeting new people. The staff were extremely helpful, no matter what hour of the day, or night it is. Very friendly atmosphere and would definitely stay here again. Not to mention the wonderful prices.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, we are delighted that you loved our location and found our staff warm and welcoming. Our rooms have 2 sockets each for the dorms to share, but there are extra sockets in our common areas and you can even leave your devices with our reception to charge in the day or even over night. Thank you for booking with Smart Hostels we hope you'll visit us again soon.

46%

Very smallsmall room for 9 people. Not clean. Someone took mymy comforter, and reception did have a replacement. Very cheap, good for emergencies.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your time with us. With our location being so central, floor space is reduced when offering cheap competitive accommodation but we do have a selection of room sizes from 4, 6 and 9 bed dorms. Dormitories are cleaned daily to keep them clean and hygienic by our wonderful housekeepers. We ask all guest to to look after items left rooms as we do not hold any responsibility for them ourselves, Thank you again for staying with us.

74%

Hostel is clean though basic. I like the privacy curtains around each bunk. Refurbished rooms have a toilet/shower pod which is small but clean. each bunk has its own electricity socket which is useful. Staff not exactly friendly and smiling but they are helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation on our staff presentation, we cant wait for your return, to see our warm welcome and smiles.

49%

I only stayed here for one night and didn't have a good experience. The room was really dirty, the sink didn't have soap, and the bathroom was dirty enough for me to not take a shower at all when staying here. Also, triple bunk beds are a bit scary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your experience with us was not has good as we would have hoped. The Hostel is cleaned daily by our talented Housekeepers to help keep the hotel hygienic but if there are any anomalies our reception is open 24 hours to correct any problems. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

77%

Everything was really ok. We arrived around 12 o clock, (like we told them beforehand...) but they said the room was not ready before 14, but they did a double check, and the room was actually ready. So that was good.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be joining us again soon.

57%

When I was there (may 2015) the lockers under the bed did not work, so we had nowhere to store our bags. The hostel was used by schools from other countries for like a spring trip for last year students, so very annoying. They have 3 stores high beds, you end up 6 people in three3, so the room is packed, especially since the lockers didn't work...

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your comments. We have a range of room sizes with to allow guest on certain budgets to have a choice, they range from 9, 6 and 4 bed dorm with the latter having the most space. The lockers underneath the bed cost £1.50 per night and activated at our 24 hour reception. We are pained that you did not have a good experience and will review your points to better stays with us in the future,

46%

The room was too small to lodge 6 guests because the living space was limited. No wardrobes were available, but under the beds were present drawers of doubtful hygiene and available only with fee.The bathroom missed power outlets and clothes hanger. 2 power outlets for 6 guests aren’t enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. It is regrettable that your stay was not as good as expected, with are central location and competitive pricing, floor spacing is at a premium in the rooms. We try to offer as many travel options as possible, with this in mind we do not initially charge for use of a locker but leave it to the guests if they wish to purchase one on arrival. Our conscientious staff are always on hand to help if you feel something needs attention. Thank you again staying with us

83%

More outlets for charging would be nice. I was running on low battery power the whole trip

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comments.The power point situation is currently under review. Our reception is always open with several free sockets for customer use if needed. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

(93 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback