X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3637 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

I'm going to keep this short and sweet. Great location but would never stay here again. I'll leave it at that .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

40%

Very expensive with all the additional payments - eg for a towel, locker key etc - it all adds up!! The rooms are tiny- even by English/London standards. The Wifi doesn't reach many rooms and is very slow. The staff are very average and not very helpful. lots of LOUD students stay here.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,thank you for your much-appreciated review! The prices we offer don't include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers don't need to use them therefore they don't end up paying for things they don't need. We have different types of dorms to suit different types of guests depending on their budget. Slow internet only occurs when several several guests are downloading incredibly large files such as high resolution images/films at the same time :(. Thank you, Smart Hostels Team!

83%

The 6 bed female dorm is great value for money. Breakfast and WIFI included, quick and excellent service. Friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 6 bed female dorm and that you found everything in the hostel up to a great standard. Hoping to see you back in the hostel soon! :) Regards, Smart Hostels Team

63%

I booked 4 beds in a 6 person room for 1 night, then 5 beds in a 6 person room for 3 nights. The first room was unhealthyly small. A friend had a small attack of claustrophobia in the middle of the night. It should not be offered to more than 2/3 people. The second night we were changed to a bigger room, which was still small for 6 people. Fortunately, the 6th person never showed up. Breakfast was very basic, but ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. Thank you very much! Best regards from Smart hostels team

97%

Staff were all very welcoming and would deal with any questions with a big smile. The free breakfast was good enough that I did not need to upgrade. Great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your amazing review. Our prices as so cheap considering our amazing locations. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. It's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time, we hope to see you soon! Regards from Smart Hostels Team

83%

Would certainly reccommend and use again.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay :) Hope to see you back sometime soon! Regards, Smart Hostels Team

86%

Nice cosy dining room, not a bad Breakfeast a good little Hostel..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your feedback. All our hostels provide a complimentary breakfast for all our guests. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in our hostels, Smart Hostels Team

94%

Would be a good idea. For every bed to have its own spot light.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, it’s important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards from Smart Hostels Team

100%

right on hyde park cleAn good all around!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Smart Hyde Park View. We are really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon! Best regards from the Smart Hostels Team

80%

Cheap for London, fantastic location. Ross at reception is the most knowledgeable and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our staff are constantly being trained and reviewed by their managers, we take customer service very serious in our company and ensure it is to a high standard. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 6 bed dorm and that you found everything in the hostel up to a great standard. Hoping to see you back in the hostel soon! :) Regards from Smart Hostel Team

91%

Really nice stay. Didn't like that we had to pay for lockers and there are only a couple of sockets on the wall for a bedroom of six travelers who obviously all needed to charge phones, cameras or whatever else at the end of the day. Each bedroom could at least have an extension cord or something.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review! :) The prices we offer don't include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they don't need. As for mobile charging, you can use the various power outlets in your room/dorm, in the common areas or leave with the Hostel Manager who will be happy to charge it for you. The charging station is only for those that wish to leave their phone charging while they go out and explore London.

97%

Emma is a great employee and the housekeepers take extra care if you don't want anyone in your room. It's a bit tricky to check out a hair dryer for an hour- going up and down the slowest elevator in the world (hey! I'm grateful there was an elevator- no complaints). The 390 and many other busses zip by a block away. Two tube stations are with 5-6 blocks so it's super easy to get around. It's quiet at night so we slept well. It's also a block from Hyde Park and it's a great place to walk!!!

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! :) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team

74%

Nice and pleasant hostel, clean bathrooms in ensuite rooms. Check out time was too early and once checked out we were restricted to stay in the reception/seating area.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel has a high point that is its location and a low point, the size of the bedroom and bed. The room is too small and the bed is only possible for people until 1.80m high. The bed is like a closed box. There is not enough space for leaving the bags on the floor and the bags disrupt the lockers opening. Also, I think they should have something fixed on wall inside the female bathroom to hang clothes and towel and other things. Include a individual light in each bed will be great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us with our excellent location in the central London. With such a central location and our aims to provided competitive priced accommodation, floor space is reduced but we do offer a range of dorm sizes help our guest choose the right choice for them. Your recommendation for hangars and lights in the room are welcome and will be passed onto management for future considerations in improving the hostel.

71%

There wasn't a particularly great atmosphere there, but then again this was in central London, so people were busy with other things, but there wasn't a great sense of community there and not any chances to get to know other hostel users such as events held by the hostel or anything. Overall you get what you pay for, it's cheap and in central London, but you will also have to pay for a locker! :(

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I'd definitely stay at Smart Hyde Park Hostel again. Friendly staff, clean & secure. Convenvient to Queensway Underground Station, Kensington Gardens & Hyde Park.


77%

I stayed in an all female 6 bed dorm and the room was TINY. There was pretty much just room for us to sleep and get in and out of bed. Room and bathroom were clean. Staff was great - very helpful! Location is excellent - right on Hyde Park just a few minutes walk from Kensington Palace and a few minutes walk from the underground. Would stay again but maybe in a different room with more space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with Smart Hostels! We are happy you were satisfied with our services! Our company offers high-standard services and affordable accommodation in notable locations in London. We are happy you were satisfied with our customer service. Thank you for your feedback and we hope we will see you again soon.

74%

The breakfast was inedible. Margerine and white bread? The Juices were gross. Otherwise had a wonderful expierence.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. All our bookings come with a free all you can eat basic breakfast which includes toast, cereal, tea, coffee, spreads and squash. Guests may also upgrade for £3 to our hotel breakfast which include ham, cheese, yoghurt and an extra selection of cereal, Thank you again for stay with Smart Hostels

91%

Hi, was nice! I had a problem because my booking was a room with 4 beds and they was not available, just a room with 6 beds. But the guy of reception was right and blocked 2beds, so i stayed in a room with 6beds, but 4 people only! Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was unfortunate that there was a mix up with your booking but we happy that we could resolve it quickly and without complications. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels we hope you'll be able to return soon.

77%

The hostel has a good environment and the staff are very helpfull and friendly. They help me a lot with all doubts that showed up. The main problem I notice was the elevator only work for people staying in the Hotel what was very unconfortable when carrying lugagge and bags. The Hostel could promote some parties wich could help the people share each other.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with Smart Hostels. We are happy you were satisfied with our services! Our company offers high-standard services and affordable accommodation in notable locations in London. Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high!

(84 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback