X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Hostel Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3430 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The breakfast was inedible. Margerine and white bread? The Juices were gross. Otherwise had a wonderful expierence.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hi, was nice! I had a problem because my booking was a room with 4 beds and they was not available, just a room with 6 beds. But the guy of reception was right and blocked 2beds, so i stayed in a room with 6beds, but 4 people only! Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was unfortunate that there was a mix up with your booking but we happy that we could resolve it quickly and without complications. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels we hope you'll be able to return soon.

77%

The hostel has a good environment and the staff are very helpfull and friendly. They help me a lot with all doubts that showed up. The main problem I notice was the elevator only work for people staying in the Hotel what was very unconfortable when carrying lugagge and bags. The Hostel could promote some parties wich could help the people share each other.


100%

As always the staff working at this establishment are diplomatic, quick to assist and very informed, friendly, accommodating and polite, 10 out of 10 for service, I like the place as its cool

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your splendid review and kind comments we are very happy and proud that our staff made such an great impression, we hope your be able to return to visit us in the near future.

49%

Everything is paid in separate, even to leave the bag in luggage room. Breakfast is very week and bad organisation. Bedrooms are very small. Bed itself is ok. The curtains allow some privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our luggage room can be used to store belongings before check-in which there is no charge and after check-out in-which we charge £2 per bag. Your comments on our breakfast will be passed on to the relevant departments, to help improve our future service. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels

66%

The pictures make it look lovely but the rooms are very cramped and there's a lot of expenses that they don't tell you about up front. The lift doesn't work for the first three floors and there is no air conditioning, which, in the summer, gets to be a bit steamy. I think the biggest problem was that in a very small room with six beds I began to get very claustrophobic. There is no storage for luggage in the rooms so everyone's stuff takes up the entire floor and is difficult to walk.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, with our location next to Hyde Park being so central and our aim to offer competitively priced accommodation, floor is at a premium. To help combat this we offer several different dorm sizes from 4, 6 and 9 bed dorm. Lockers can be hired in the rooms for £1.50 per night and towels can be bought for £5. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels.

86%

Located right next to Hyde park in an upmarket area and very close to 2 tube stations. Noisy street with bars and takeaways so bring earplugs for sleeping. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent value for money.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us and you got to experience are excellent location. We're glad our staff were welcoming and informative. It is unfortunate that our neighbours were noisy during your stay, for future reference we do offer free earplugs for our guests at our reception. Thank you again for staying with us , we hope your be able to return in the near future.

37%

This hostel was filthy, the breakfast was very limited. It's also not clear when booking to have to pay for towels etc when you check in.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we had hoped. Our talented housekeepers clean the dorms daily for cleanliness and hygiene but if there are any anomaly's our reception is always open to offer any assistance. Towels are not included with the dormitories but we have towels to buy at our reception for £5. Our free, all you can eat breakfast includes toast, cereal, spreads, coffee, tea and squash, Thank you for staying with Smart Hostels.

74%

I had booked a bed in a mixed room, and I was prepared to that; only I found out that out of nine beds it was 8 men and I was the only woman; it was a bit embarassing, that's not..."mixed". I think a little bit more attention should be paid to this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not feel as comfortable as you expected when you booked a mixed dorm, unfortunately we don’t know the gender of the guest until the check in time. It might happen by coincidence just males booked this type of room during your stay.Our reception is open 24 hours a day tor help with any issues, we have female only dorms available when booking.

49%

The good things about the hostel... Location is good for underground stations and also for the Heathrow Express train that goes to Paddington station. The bad , so many bad... I would never stay at this hostel again. Hostelers are NOT allowed to use the elevator, only the hotelers on floors 3+ are allowed to use it. Nowhere to use a padlock for luggage, they charge you instead, push button shower that lasts for 10 second spurts (my WTF moment began here), push button sink for 2 seconds....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we had hoped. Our lift does only stop on floors 3 and 4 but guests staying on floor 2 carrying heavy luggage are allowed to use the lift to floor 3 and walk down for ease. Your comments on the plumbing will be passed on to the relevant department for investigation into improvements. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hoste

94%

The staff at reception and the bar and in the dining room are always friendly, ready to assist and diplomatic specially the receptionists, it's a pleasure staying in your establishment and I like the idea of the all day bar and all day dining room access. You can't find more friendlier staff members then those of Hydepark View, the welcoming smile is radiant and the staff in general are very well informed and dressed well and well groomed, pedicured and manicured with cool hairstyles :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made such a good impression. We hope you be able to visit us again at Smart Hostels.

57%

Only had two power points and none in the bathroom. Lockers came at extra charge and weren't particularly big so anyone with luggage had to leave it in the very small amount of room between the bunks. You had to pay for water because the taps in the rooms had signs telling you not to drink the water. On the up side the internet connection was very good.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our dorms are equipped with 2 power sockets each and there are also plugs available in our common area, Additionally we can charge devices at our reception. Due to safety there are no power sockets in out wash rooms. Water in our rooms is not suitable for drinking but our 24 hour reception will be happy to serve you water from our bar tap at any time with no charge.

74%

Need to inform customers what does the Breakfast consist of. Staff did not have a very good local knowledge of where things where.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Our staff are constantly being trained and reviewed by their managers, we take customer service very serious in our company and ensure it is to a high standard. We will investigate the issue you have kindly pointed out and deal with it accordingly. Best regards

77%

Wifi works well and the 6bedroom was alright. The breakfast is poor - only toasts and coffee. I've already stayed at a large number of hostels which offered a much better breakfast for the same price (Nutella, ham, cheese, cookies, yogurt, good fruit)! So I guess that a better offering should really be considered

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your be able to come back soon. We offer a free all you can eat breakfast which includes toast, spreads, cereal, tea, coffee and squash. Your comments on adding additional items to our breakfast will be passed on for future considerations in improving our service.

80%

Great central location for a few days exploring London, walking distance to Paddington sation

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and happy that you found our location super convenient with our close proximity to the Paddington station. Thank you for staying with Smart Hostels we hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

80%

More for breakfast, not only toast but also somthing more calorical.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return in the future. We offer our guests a free all you can eat breakfast consisting of tea, coffee, squash, toast, spreads and cereal. We do offer a breakfast upgrade for £3 in which you gain ham, cheese, yoghurt and a extra cereal option. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

60%

Não é confortável. Os quartos são pequenos e as camas menores ainda. Não nos dão a opção de usar cadeado. Pagar para usar o locker durante a hospedagem é absurdo. Café da manhã é pífio.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Part of our company’s action to be competitive and fit to any budget in a good location, is to offer a basic breakfast for free. For clarity we offer lockers for £1.50 per night which can be acquired at our reception. All our dormitory rooms are equipped European-standard beds. Thank you again we hope to see you again soon.

69%

The hostel is clean and well located. However, the room (6 bed female dorm) was small, with only 1 bathroom ensuite (toilet & shower) and thus the queue could get really long, I would suggest waking up early if you are tight with time. The towel rent is £5, which I consider outrageous, and for every luggage you'd like to store, the hostel charge you £2. There is a lift, but it was not working, I don't think it ever did.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded. We are in the process of changing our service provider. This should come into place really soon, we apologies for any inconvenience this may cause. We do offer our guests lockers in the rooms or a secure luggage room for a small price. Best regards,

86%

Me sorprendió satisfactoriamente nada mas llegar. El único defecto que tiene es no tener ascensor para la primera planta. Sin duda repetiré en el futuro.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying with us, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will visit again soon. Remember you can find our latest Smart Hostels news on our Facebook page.

57%

Very small room with very small beds! Friendly enough staff and not a bad spot. Clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our company is proud for providing excellent customer service in a clean and safe environment and offer cheap accommodation in significant locations. Our hostel rooms might have different size than other and could look and feel overcrowded. The beds we offer to guests are following the European standards and might feel a bit small for persons over 3 meters. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(124 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback