X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3046 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

No towels for us. come on! I think most people would like a shower and to have the only option being to buy a very expensive towel I think it just rude. The staff was very night. The rooms were very tight and crowded. There wasn't even a place to dry your hands in the bathroom. This place literally is just a bed and some weak breakfast. I think the location is great but thats about the best part. The staff was okay too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We advise our backpackers to bring their own towels, however if by chance you haven't packed one, we sell them for £5 at reception.

100%

I recommend it, really good and the staff was really friendly. Not so expensive for a good location. Close to the tube making easier to get anywhere.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. You are welcome back any time :)

74%

Global expérience was all right, but the breakfast is poor as the internet connection. The neibourhood is really Nice tho!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again :)

66%

I booked this hostel for a group of 24 girl guides - the facilities are OK, good location, staff was helpful to a large extent. Breakfast is OK (includes cereal, milk, toast, butter and jam). Generally the place is very small. The rooms are extremely small and the size of the en-suite bathrooms serving 6-9 people rooms needing to get ready at the same time are tiny. I appreciated the fact that there was a separate dining area for under 18, however, this area was still too small.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing for your group to stay with Smart Backpackers! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope you stay with us again.

71%

Overall a good experience for 1 night. Negative is that they at the end of your stay you need to bring your own linen back down to reception, which is really inconvenient when the lift doesn't go to your floor and you have to bring down 4 peoples linen as I was the last to leave (the other 3 left at 4am) and they didn't tell us this when we checked in. Breakfast was nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope we will see you again!

89%

Great and very clean but loud. Also quite a few additional expenses.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to see you again! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

77%

The room and hostel itself were very good. Nice clean room, excellent location. The staff however were rubbish. I can't decide whether the man at the desk was incredibly rude or ridiculously incompetent. Eithet way he took about 15 mins to check us in. I tried to pay by card, put my PIN in then was told it was broken but he refused to give me a receipt. Had to then pay cash and it took 3 attempts of asking to get a receipt from him them.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. We have passed you comments on to the management team so they may address any training issues.

60%

The only good thing of this hostel was the location. Go only if you can deal with an overcrowded room with nine beds and just one bathroom with poor cleanliness standards.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one. Cheers

83%

Don't expect anything fancy for breakfast, get there early the dinning room fills up fast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the advice. We hope you had a great time in London!

46%

Can not sleep ... beats the door woke me up at intervals of 15 minutes ... the noise from the bar was unbearable ... until 2 o'clock in the morning there is no possibility to sleep ... does not have, even a fan to soften the noise. Complained at rcepção and told me it was anyway and could do nothing. In my room possessed a safe in each room that is good (my room was double). Again stayed in a hostel on the same street one and it was cheaper and organized. Choose another hostel ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. We ask guests to keep the noise to a minimum from 10PM every night plus the bar area stops serving alcohol at midnight, so we will look in to why it was so noisy for you.

80%

This hostel was nice place to stay in London. It is in a good location just next to the Hyde park and close to the centre - you can either walk through the park or take a bus to go there. Rooms are small, of course, but it's everywhere in England;) The staff was really nice, always helpful when we needed something. Moreover when they found out they charged us more money for staying, they let us know and gave us back the amount we payed more. Thank you:)

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again! Cheers

69%

Dorm Room is really steamy and hot really small room with really many people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. The recent high temperatures have highlighted our need to work on the ventilation, which we are. Hopefully if you come back you will see the difference.

69%

I don't understand why they put 6 people in such a small room with only one window (that does not even open half way). Don't go there in summer, it's too hot and not at all clean. It is obviously an experience I don't want to repeat again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. The recent high temperatures have highlighted our need to work on the ventilation, which we are. Hopefully if you come back you will see the difference.

57%

The location is very good, very close to Hyde Park and around 5 min walk from Underground Stations. The breakfast is included, what is good also. The room I stayed (6 bed dorm) was too small (two 3 decks beds and a tiny circulation), and it was super hot at night. The room was only cleaned after we arrived. Lockers inside the room has to be rented (I've never seen this before) and you have to pay for the luggage room as well. Wifi only at the common areas (you has to pay for wifi in the room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. London has been unusually hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for every room. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

71%

The hotel component is an ex-hotel that has private rooms for a reasonable London price. Location is pretty good close to both Bayswater and Queensway tube's and a high street which has plenty of tasty Asian restaurants. The mattress in my private room was way too thin and to be perfectly honest not acceptable given the cost of the room - they've cut one corner too many with the dimestore super-discount mattress, you've been warned. Everything else is fine, the mattress is not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, we are saddened with your experience with the quality of our beds and will deliberate your comments to try and improve our service.

74%

10am check out is far too early. Got fined for checking out at 11am... Otherwise a good hostel, clean and safe. Right beside Hyde Park.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback, and are sorry for the penalty for late check-out. As our check-in time is set at 11am, the check-out time is set to give our cleaning team ample time to clean the vacated rooms.

74%

Hostel is in a quiet street near Hyde Park and Queensway tube station. Not extremely central, but still pretty good location. Stayed in a Double Ensuite; room had good size and was clean. Two issues: 1) the toilet flush pressure was very low and we had to flush many times, which was really incovenient , 2) the room was noisy, and there was a refurbishment on the room nextdoor at 8am. Overall, has a good value for money for budget travellers, considering London is such an expensive city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. The issues you have raised are important for us to hear about and will be trying implement improvements to resolve them in the near future. We are sorry for these inconveniences and hope you will consider us again for future visits.

37%

The room was tiny and cramped - possibly could have been made better by less beds in the room. Building itself was run down and dirty. Staff extremely unhelpful and uninformative. They also charged for everything possible. Overall, was not impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sad to hear about your negative time with us, your comments are welcomed so that we may improve our services for the future. We are concerned to hear about your experience with our staff and the building. We charge separately for items so that customers who do not need them do not get charged for them, helping them save money. We are very sorry about your experience with us but thank you again for your comments which will be looked over very thoroughly.

71%

Stayed one night as was going to a concert. Not somewhere I would usually stay but wanted just a hotel that me & my grown children could sleep in for a few hrs. location is fab, staff are very helpful with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon!

51%

Extremely small rooms, no place to store luggage. By far the smallest rooms in a hostel Ive ever stayed in, and no common areas for guests to socialise

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments and review, we are sad that you had issues with the room, we try to offer a selection rooms from 9, 6 and 4 bed dormitory's. It seems you were not aware of our large dinning room, which is open 24 hours for our guests to use as they please.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback