X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3093 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Felt like we paid money to stay in a prison.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. However we have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

71%

Very basic hostel, not bad for a few nights if your on a budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks you for your kind feedback! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London! We hope you enjoyed the complementary all-you-can-eat breakfast and free wifi available in common areas! We hope to see you again very soon!

54%

Staff were rude and not helpful, I was not aware at the time of booking that I would have to pay for wifi and locker space. The price is suitable for the location, but not for the service and facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found our staff rude, we invest alot of time into the training our staff in customer service and care. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and in turn they don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We do provide free wifi in common areas!

60%

I checked the room and it was disgusting and dirty, I was absolutely appalled by its condition. After they cleaned it it seem a bit more livable. But for the price I guess you cant really complain, however my roommate broke the faucet and they didn't give us a new room or apologize for the inconvenience. Don't ever pay more than 15 pounds for this place or more than 25 pounds on a saturday night. Everything was an up charge and a ridiculous one at that. I would def recommend another hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we allow guest to check in as early as 11am for their convenience however this is also the same time our cleaning team start to remake the rooms in the hostel. We are glad that upon your return the room was to yours and our standard. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

74%

Room plain but clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a bath which is a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

43%

Good Location. The 6 bed dorms are quite small, the toilet inside is not very clean.They don't rent towels, you have to buy them. The beds are too close, claustrophobic feeling inside. Expensive choice for what they offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! As you mentioned, we are situated in a very centrl location by two major tube stations; Bayswater (district & circle line) and Queensway (central line). We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

97%

The place is worth your money. Very clean. And the staff is quite responsive.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the manner of the staff and the cleanliness of the hostel. We are glad you believe our hostel is worth the money and we really hope to see you again!

49%

It is not located in an appropriate place for visitors because it is far from important touristic attractions in London. It takes even 20 minutes from hostel to Oxford Street so i did not like walking too much between Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar , Big Ben and Hostel. In addition to this , I did not have bedding pack at the first night of stay and i did not know which bed was reserved for me. I spent 2 days and since everybody could sleep any bed he likes , When i came to hostel for the second

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. London is amoungst the largest citiest in the world and all of our hostels are brilliantly located right in prime central London. Our reception team are available 24 hours which is great for any problems you have, such as no sheets. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

63%

Waited at reception for 40 minutes one time. i don't even know what to say about that. one of the girls at reception was new and all, but come on...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to provide vaulable feedback. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass on this issue to the Hostel Manager to look into! We hope to see you again at SmartBackpackers to see the improvements!

100%

Nice hostel with excellent, helpful staff. Recommendable! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for providing your valuable feedback! We are glad to hear our reception team were able to help you and glad to see positive experiences coming from our staff continually receiving training on customer service and care! We hope to see you again at Smartbackpackers!

46%

I stayed at this hostel for three days and had a really bad time. The room was never properly cleaned, the staff was rude and they made me pay extra to get a small locker in the room and expected me to just leave the rest of my luggage unguarded in the room. There was a high school staying at the hostel as well and there was a lot of noise (door slamming, shouting, running) which the staff did nothing about, both late at night and early morning. Very overpriced for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for providing your valuable feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. Thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers.

91%

Good hostel with really nice staff, the girls in the mornings are really helpful giving good directions and nice places for lunch, they upgraded my booking from 9 to 6 beds dorm. I will come back soon, cheers!!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are so glad to have this positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again!

34%

The stay at the Smart Hyde Park View was less pleasant. The beds are to small for a regular size person, are located in the basement, wich is basicly ok if you could get a little air in. The ensuite bathroom was "cleaned" every day, which was nice. The breakfast was an uninspiring choice of one cereal, hot water, toast and two big bowls with jam and butter. "But a feast is a feast" The Location overall had no activities, no cider, but was close to a subway station and to lots of restraunts...


86%

Great location, very clean ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast included (w/b bread with margarine and jam and cornflakes with milk). Staff are friendly. Only minus points I can think of: - bunk beds are a bit small, if one is > 180cm long one cannot lie down fully straight it seems. I met one tall guy who moved hostel for this reason. - some bunk beds are three (3) high instead of two - some people smoke outside and the smoke can go into the room or in the common/coffee area on ground

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our central locations and budget-friendly clean accommodation. We offer a free all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We are pleased you enjoyed this complementary service. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We hope to see you again!

71%

No towels for us. come on! I think most people would like a shower and to have the only option being to buy a very expensive towel I think it just rude. The staff was very night. The rooms were very tight and crowded. There wasn't even a place to dry your hands in the bathroom. This place literally is just a bed and some weak breakfast. I think the location is great but thats about the best part. The staff was okay too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We advise our backpackers to bring their own towels, however if by chance you haven't packed one, we sell them for £5 at reception.

100%

I recommend it, really good and the staff was really friendly. Not so expensive for a good location. Close to the tube making easier to get anywhere.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. You are welcome back any time :)

74%

Global expérience was all right, but the breakfast is poor as the internet connection. The neibourhood is really Nice tho!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again :)

66%

I booked this hostel for a group of 24 girl guides - the facilities are OK, good location, staff was helpful to a large extent. Breakfast is OK (includes cereal, milk, toast, butter and jam). Generally the place is very small. The rooms are extremely small and the size of the en-suite bathrooms serving 6-9 people rooms needing to get ready at the same time are tiny. I appreciated the fact that there was a separate dining area for under 18, however, this area was still too small.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing for your group to stay with Smart Backpackers! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope you stay with us again.

71%

Overall a good experience for 1 night. Negative is that they at the end of your stay you need to bring your own linen back down to reception, which is really inconvenient when the lift doesn't go to your floor and you have to bring down 4 peoples linen as I was the last to leave (the other 3 left at 4am) and they didn't tell us this when we checked in. Breakfast was nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope we will see you again!

89%

Great and very clean but loud. Also quite a few additional expenses.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to see you again! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback