X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3133 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It was really nice here. The rooms were OK, but a bit small. Staff was very friendly, and the location just perfect. I would definitely return here one day. Cheers and thank you!


86%

my stay here is always very nice.. great staff


80%

The hostel is in a very good location, near Bayswater and Queensway tube stations, and Paddingon too! the room with private bathroom is a very good idea, also because you don't need to share it with so many people but jast with who's in your room :) Cleanliness was enough, and really good for a Hostel in London (I had so bad experiences before) I think it's also an hostel where you can find people over 30 and families, I think it's a good atmosphere for all :)

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was friendly and helpful and the location next to Hyde Park was great. It was all very positive except to having been accommodated in the basement floor. We hoped for a better solution, however, it was not a problem. The room was clean and livable.


77%

The hostel is good for the money you pay. Location is ok, next to Notting Hill but a bit far from the centre. Room is nice but a bit dirty. Bathroom needs some cleaning. Definitely not enough sockets in the room so it's a fight to charge your stuff. The linen smells a bit. Wifi works fine in the bedroom. Very poor breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you believed your stay was value for your money. Our hostel is located in central London, with close links to public transport! Our wonderful cleaning staff would all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! We are working on increasing the number of power sockets in each room! It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy the free basic breakfast we provide.

63%

Terrible dorm rooms, bunk beds are 3 beds high and dangerous, no toilet paper in the bathrooms, depressing common area in the basement. The only redeeming quality was the staff, who very nicely changed our rooms without charge when I fell off the third bunk ladder due to loose screws. If you planning to stay GET A 4 BED DORM. Would not stay here again unless it was a last resort. Make sure you book ahead in London if you want decent accommodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the 4 bed dormitory and the manner of our staff. We apologize if you weren't satisfied with your stay, if you please could contact us at customercare@smartbackpackers.com to provide further information on what you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services.

80%

Good location and friendly staff. I ve been at several hostels in London but this had the most basic breakfest ever. But still a realtively value for money ratio overall.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and found it to be good value for your money! We are pleased to hear you liked the location and the manner of our staff. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests!

69%

Rooms were small and WiFi only works in the bar or common room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.


91%

Very friendly staff. The location is great. Opposite Kensington Gardens with lots of nice restaurants around. Although it could get a little loud at night on the street in front of the hotel. But I think that has to be expected if there are lots of students in the hostel ;) Overall I enjoyed my stay and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel and the friendly manner of our staff. We apologize for the excessive street noise. In our hostel, we have set hours in which noise restrictions have been set to minimalize this but we appreciate your understanding! We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

69%

A lounge would be nice. The rooms were too warm and a bit crowded. The breakfast is very simple, would not re recommend to choose the hotel for this reason. Staff was really nice though and the location is good :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel and the friendly manner of our staff! We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows to remove the restriction of window openings. We hope you come back and see the difference this will make!

94%

The hostel was really close to the Underground and had everything we needed. The breakfast in the morning is very basic but included - very convenient to have and you can always upgrade for a (slightly) nicer breakfast. The bar inside the hostel is really cheap! The room was clean and the lockers were extra but secure. Downsides: The room had only two outlets and no internet in the rooms unless you pay for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast provided in our hostel. We are pleased you had fun at the bar and that the room was clean for your stay! We are looking into ways to upgrade our rooms so each guest has their own personal power socket and while internet may cost you a small fee of £1 for 24 hours in your room, we also offer fee Wi-Fi in our common areas! We hope to see you again!

60%

We though that the room in which we stayed was well maintained, albeit basic. There were no instructions on how to use the lockers provided, which would have been useful. Additionally, some of the plastic note holders in which we were supposed to place our bed reservations slips had been removed, meaning that one night we returned to find one of our beds had been done. Also, there was no way near enough plugs for six people.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. For future reference, our lockers are available for purchase for £1.50 per night at the reception desk, they are linked to your personal security key card! Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems such as no plastic wallet for your bed tags could be resolved instantly! We are currently looking into ways to include more power sockets in our rooms and hopefully very soon we will see each guest with their own personal power socket! We hope to see you again!

86%

The overall is good, the staff are very friendly and helpfull in general and the athmosphere is amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The only things that I wish they could have are: > A hair dryer to hire; > Plugs and individual lights on the beds (which would be good for Reading); > A kitchen with cooking facilities for the hosts.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are glad you enjoyed the comfort and atmosphere of our hostel! We are also pleased you were happy with the manner of the staff and the complimentary breakfast! We thank you for your constructive feedback and ideas. In reception, we do already have hair dryers for our guests to borrow. We are also looking at ways to implement personal power plugs for our guests’ convenience. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

57%

We stayed in a private room; the beds are very small, non comfortable and very noisy as they are made by metal. The bathroom was not really clean. And I found bad the idea that they want to sell you towels instead of leaving a deposit and borrow them as other hostels. The breakfast included is really poor and it is too much to want to charge you three pounds only to have the right to eat ham and cheese

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Felt like we paid money to stay in a prison.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. However we have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

71%

Very basic hostel, not bad for a few nights if your on a budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks you for your kind feedback! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London! We hope you enjoyed the complementary all-you-can-eat breakfast and free wifi available in common areas! We hope to see you again very soon!

54%

Staff were rude and not helpful, I was not aware at the time of booking that I would have to pay for wifi and locker space. The price is suitable for the location, but not for the service and facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found our staff rude, we invest alot of time into the training our staff in customer service and care. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and in turn they don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We do provide free wifi in common areas!

60%

I checked the room and it was disgusting and dirty, I was absolutely appalled by its condition. After they cleaned it it seem a bit more livable. But for the price I guess you cant really complain, however my roommate broke the faucet and they didn't give us a new room or apologize for the inconvenience. Don't ever pay more than 15 pounds for this place or more than 25 pounds on a saturday night. Everything was an up charge and a ridiculous one at that. I would def recommend another hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we allow guest to check in as early as 11am for their convenience however this is also the same time our cleaning team start to remake the rooms in the hostel. We are glad that upon your return the room was to yours and our standard. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

74%

Room plain but clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a bath which is a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

43%

Good Location. The 6 bed dorms are quite small, the toilet inside is not very clean.They don't rent towels, you have to buy them. The beds are too close, claustrophobic feeling inside. Expensive choice for what they offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! As you mentioned, we are situated in a very centrl location by two major tube stations; Bayswater (district & circle line) and Queensway (central line). We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback