X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3300 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Staff was friendly and sheets were clean. Good Breakfast. Overall a good stay.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice staff, nice hotel. We were in a 6 bed room, the room was small but it was enough to spend a good night! We missed the breakfast on both mornings of our stay...

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location. Good value. Room keys didn't work 3 times which was very annoying considering we were only there for 1 night! 3 tier bunks are too high, windows need curtains (not just beds). Check in process needs to be quicker, it was quite a painful wait while receptionist struggled with the systems/form filling/IDs/room keys/deposit cash etc


69%

Small beds. Make your own bed. Very poor breakfast (although inclusive), only toast and one cereal. Internet didn't work in room (at basement level). Nothing great about it.


66%

London is an outrageously expensive city. This hostel should purchase inexpensive foods from Sainsbury and Tesco and provide free breakfast to the guests (as a show of appreciation for the high rent). Also they should provide 24x7 free coffee/tea and hot cocoa. Instant coffee, tea bags and hot cocoa are not expensive.


57%

The room was Ok. Actually we didn't expect more than we had seen in the pictures. We were 6 friends and took a room for the 6 of us and the bathroom inside it. The bathroom had small ants and different insects. The breakfast wasn't good at all. The location is great and it's very well communicated. The price is not high taking in account that we are talking about London, but the hostel really needs remodelling.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel in an excellent location. The rooms are a good size with a shower in each one. The only fault would be the lack of sockets. There is a wide variety of nationalities that stay there so it's great for meeting new people. The staff were extremely helpful, no matter what hour of the day, or night it is. Very friendly atmosphere and would definitely stay here again. Not to mention the wonderful prices.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Very smallsmall room for 9 people. Not clean. Someone took mymy comforter, and reception did have a replacement. Very cheap, good for emergencies.


74%

Hostel is clean though basic. I like the privacy curtains around each bunk. Refurbished rooms have a toilet/shower pod which is small but clean. each bunk has its own electricity socket which is useful. Staff not exactly friendly and smiling but they are helpful.


49%

I only stayed here for one night and didn't have a good experience. The room was really dirty, the sink didn't have soap, and the bathroom was dirty enough for me to not take a shower at all when staying here. Also, triple bunk beds are a bit scary.


77%

Everything was really ok. We arrived around 12 o clock, (like we told them beforehand...) but they said the room was not ready before 14, but they did a double check, and the room was actually ready. So that was good.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be joining us again soon.

57%

When I was there (may 2015) the lockers under the bed did not work, so we had nowhere to store our bags. The hostel was used by schools from other countries for like a spring trip for last year students, so very annoying. They have 3 stores high beds, you end up 6 people in three3, so the room is packed, especially since the lockers didn't work...

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your comments. We have a range of room sizes with to allow guest on certain budgets to have a choice, they range from 9, 6 and 4 bed dorm with the latter having the most space. The lockers underneath the bed cost £1.50 per night and activated at our 24 hour reception. We are pained that you did not have a good experience and will review your points to better stays with us in the future,

46%

The room was too small to lodge 6 guests because the living space was limited. No wardrobes were available, but under the beds were present drawers of doubtful hygiene and available only with fee.The bathroom missed power outlets and clothes hanger. 2 power outlets for 6 guests aren’t enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. It is regrettable that your stay was not as good as expected, with are central location and competitive pricing, floor spacing is at a premium in the rooms. We try to offer as many travel options as possible, with this in mind we do not initially charge for use of a locker but leave it to the guests if they wish to purchase one on arrival. Our conscientious staff are always on hand to help if you feel something needs attention. Thank you again staying with us

83%

More outlets for charging would be nice. I was running on low battery power the whole trip

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comments.The power point situation is currently under review. Our reception is always open with several free sockets for customer use if needed. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

97%

Poor breackfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and your review. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast which includes fresh toast, cereal, tea and coffee which we provide this free of charge but are always looking to improve upon ourselves, so your comments will be passed on and considered. Thank you again for staying with and we hope to see you again in the future.

63%

The guy who checked me in took what felt like a lifetime to complete the simple task of checking me in. I didn't know triple bunk beds even existed. Was a little scary sleeping in them. The shower taps were faulty so I got blasted with boiling hot water. There aren't any charging ports near the beds. The beds are comfy and the linen is clean. I got a decent sleep, it's a quiet kind of hostel. The location is excellent with the lovely Hyde park and easy to access the rest of London.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our location setting met with your expectations. We are also very proud of our central and convenient locations. For future reference, we have different types of dormitories to suit different travellers, depending on their budget. Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels we hope to see you again.

69%

The bed wasn`t ready before I got there, with blanket`s duvet from the last customer (I guess). This gives the impression that the hostel staff relied on that the last customer left it tidy, it shouldn`t be this way. The staff even didn`t gave me new ones at first moment, I had to ask for them and replace them myself. Suggestion: The room in the hall of the hostel seems too busy (from my point of view) maybe removing some tables or just reordering it, plus tiding it up and a good paint. Not red

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I was stolen there and all the paper bills in my wallet were gone : (

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had some money go missing. Can we suggest next time, please report it to us during your stay. The Receptionists and Manager are there to help you. If any issues are reported, they will be dealt with promptly. Please note that we also provide safety boxes to guest for extra security.

83%

honestly it was nice the staffs were so kind to everyone and they trying to keep cleanliness

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Hostels experience after your recent stay. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, photos and offers. You are welcome anytime!

77%

Clean. Helpful staff. Breakfast was ok. Overall good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest photos, news and offers. We hope to see you again soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback