X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3101 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel was really close to the Underground and had everything we needed. The breakfast in the morning is very basic but included - very convenient to have and you can always upgrade for a (slightly) nicer breakfast. The bar inside the hostel is really cheap! The room was clean and the lockers were extra but secure. Downsides: The room had only two outlets and no internet in the rooms unless you pay for it.


60%

We though that the room in which we stayed was well maintained, albeit basic. There were no instructions on how to use the lockers provided, which would have been useful. Additionally, some of the plastic note holders in which we were supposed to place our bed reservations slips had been removed, meaning that one night we returned to find one of our beds had been done. Also, there was no way near enough plugs for six people.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. For future reference, our lockers are available for purchase for £1.50 per night at the reception desk, they are linked to your personal security key card! Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems such as no plastic wallet for your bed tags could be resolved instantly! We are currently looking into ways to include more power sockets in our rooms and hopefully very soon we will see each guest with their own personal power socket! We hope to see you again!

86%

The overall is good, the staff are very friendly and helpfull in general and the athmosphere is amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The only things that I wish they could have are: > A hair dryer to hire; > Plugs and individual lights on the beds (which would be good for Reading); > A kitchen with cooking facilities for the hosts.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are glad you enjoyed the comfort and atmosphere of our hostel! We are also pleased you were happy with the manner of the staff and the complimentary breakfast! We thank you for your constructive feedback and ideas. In reception, we do already have hair dryers for our guests to borrow. We are also looking at ways to implement personal power plugs for our guests’ convenience. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

57%

We stayed in a private room; the beds are very small, non comfortable and very noisy as they are made by metal. The bathroom was not really clean. And I found bad the idea that they want to sell you towels instead of leaving a deposit and borrow them as other hostels. The breakfast included is really poor and it is too much to want to charge you three pounds only to have the right to eat ham and cheese

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Felt like we paid money to stay in a prison.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. However we have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

71%

Very basic hostel, not bad for a few nights if your on a budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks you for your kind feedback! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London! We hope you enjoyed the complementary all-you-can-eat breakfast and free wifi available in common areas! We hope to see you again very soon!

54%

Staff were rude and not helpful, I was not aware at the time of booking that I would have to pay for wifi and locker space. The price is suitable for the location, but not for the service and facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found our staff rude, we invest alot of time into the training our staff in customer service and care. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and in turn they don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We do provide free wifi in common areas!

60%

I checked the room and it was disgusting and dirty, I was absolutely appalled by its condition. After they cleaned it it seem a bit more livable. But for the price I guess you cant really complain, however my roommate broke the faucet and they didn't give us a new room or apologize for the inconvenience. Don't ever pay more than 15 pounds for this place or more than 25 pounds on a saturday night. Everything was an up charge and a ridiculous one at that. I would def recommend another hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we allow guest to check in as early as 11am for their convenience however this is also the same time our cleaning team start to remake the rooms in the hostel. We are glad that upon your return the room was to yours and our standard. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

74%

Room plain but clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a bath which is a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

43%

Good Location. The 6 bed dorms are quite small, the toilet inside is not very clean.They don't rent towels, you have to buy them. The beds are too close, claustrophobic feeling inside. Expensive choice for what they offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! As you mentioned, we are situated in a very centrl location by two major tube stations; Bayswater (district & circle line) and Queensway (central line). We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

97%

The place is worth your money. Very clean. And the staff is quite responsive.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the manner of the staff and the cleanliness of the hostel. We are glad you believe our hostel is worth the money and we really hope to see you again!

49%

It is not located in an appropriate place for visitors because it is far from important touristic attractions in London. It takes even 20 minutes from hostel to Oxford Street so i did not like walking too much between Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar , Big Ben and Hostel. In addition to this , I did not have bedding pack at the first night of stay and i did not know which bed was reserved for me. I spent 2 days and since everybody could sleep any bed he likes , When i came to hostel for the second

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. London is amoungst the largest citiest in the world and all of our hostels are brilliantly located right in prime central London. Our reception team are available 24 hours which is great for any problems you have, such as no sheets. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

63%

Waited at reception for 40 minutes one time. i don't even know what to say about that. one of the girls at reception was new and all, but come on...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to provide vaulable feedback. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass on this issue to the Hostel Manager to look into! We hope to see you again at SmartBackpackers to see the improvements!

100%

Nice hostel with excellent, helpful staff. Recommendable! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for providing your valuable feedback! We are glad to hear our reception team were able to help you and glad to see positive experiences coming from our staff continually receiving training on customer service and care! We hope to see you again at Smartbackpackers!

46%

I stayed at this hostel for three days and had a really bad time. The room was never properly cleaned, the staff was rude and they made me pay extra to get a small locker in the room and expected me to just leave the rest of my luggage unguarded in the room. There was a high school staying at the hostel as well and there was a lot of noise (door slamming, shouting, running) which the staff did nothing about, both late at night and early morning. Very overpriced for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for providing your valuable feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. Thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers.

91%

Good hostel with really nice staff, the girls in the mornings are really helpful giving good directions and nice places for lunch, they upgraded my booking from 9 to 6 beds dorm. I will come back soon, cheers!!

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are so glad to have this positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again!

49%

Don't stay here. I was in a 9 bed è suite room (3 bunk high)..every bed was filled and there was barely space for 2 people to go trough their things on the ground so you had to rush to be the first up in the morning. Bad breakfast in a hot and smelly common area. I felt like the staff was inconvenienced by my questions. They make you pay for a locker...not comfortable at all, horrible value, will never stay in a Smart again.


34%

The stay at the Smart Hyde Park View was less pleasant. The beds are to small for a regular size person, are located in the basement, wich is basicly ok if you could get a little air in. The ensuite bathroom was "cleaned" every day, which was nice. The breakfast was an uninspiring choice of one cereal, hot water, toast and two big bowls with jam and butter. "But a feast is a feast" The Location overall had no activities, no cider, but was close to a subway station and to lots of restraunts...


86%

Great location, very clean ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast included (w/b bread with margarine and jam and cornflakes with milk). Staff are friendly. Only minus points I can think of: - bunk beds are a bit small, if one is > 180cm long one cannot lie down fully straight it seems. I met one tall guy who moved hostel for this reason. - some bunk beds are three (3) high instead of two - some people smoke outside and the smoke can go into the room or in the common/coffee area on ground

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our central locations and budget-friendly clean accommodation. We offer a free all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We are pleased you enjoyed this complementary service. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We hope to see you again!

71%

No towels for us. come on! I think most people would like a shower and to have the only option being to buy a very expensive towel I think it just rude. The staff was very night. The rooms were very tight and crowded. There wasn't even a place to dry your hands in the bathroom. This place literally is just a bed and some weak breakfast. I think the location is great but thats about the best part. The staff was okay too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We advise our backpackers to bring their own towels, however if by chance you haven't packed one, we sell them for £5 at reception.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback