X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3161 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

I had to cancel my booking due to the death of a family member but they refuse to give me a refund because of course it was not within the 24 hours limit. I can understand that but still I do not like it. I have some other urgent cancellations with other hostels and they were happy to give my money back.


89%

Great staff - helpful and pleasant.- unlike other Smart hostels. I stay every two weeks when I am in London and have never had a bad experience .in perhaps 20 visits.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are always happy to receive positive comments. We do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us And we are especially happy to see returning guests who frequently visit us . Don't forget to like us on Facebook to receive the very latest news and offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

89%

Lovely staff and very comfortable beds. Very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your positive feedback, we are really pleased to receive such comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main aim is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation to our guests. Our wonderful housekeeping staff work tirelessly to maintain a high standard of cleanliness. We look forward to you seeing you again soon.

91%

Very happy! Will b back for sure!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback, we are always happy to receive good comments and returning guests. Don't forget to like us on Facebook to receive the latest news and special offers available. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

83%

It was really nice here. The rooms were OK, but a bit small. Staff was very friendly, and the location just perfect. I would definitely return here one day. Cheers and thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback. Our rooms may be smaller but

83%

This hostel was good, but the rooms and especially the breakfast room were rather cramped. Also, you have to pay a 10 pound deposit (which you get back) that was unexpected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We have invested a lot of money to ensure we can offer a variety of dormitories, to suit our guests needs in accordance to their budget. The security deposit is outlined in our Terms and Conditions and is available to guests at the time of booking. We do our best to ensure the accommodation charges are made simple, yet affordable and are refundable to you when you checkout.

86%

my stay here is always very nice.. great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoy your time in our hostel and we can't wait to see you again!

69%

The room was simple, but worked well. The water pressure was awful in the shower. Taking a shower was close to pointless. The hotel was a bit difficult to find because it has a very small sign and shares lobby with another hotel. If we had read the instructions more closely that wouldn't have been an issue. Wifi in lobby only and not that good. Cheap beer. Overall it was fine.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed there for a over a week and had many people come and go from the room over that time, I was there every morning the cleaner came in and not once did I see the quilt get changed, which is completely unacceptable. Room was very, very crammed and the staff were quite unpleasant. Other than that it's no too bad, and the location is excellent.


80%

The hostel is in a very good location, near Bayswater and Queensway tube stations, and Paddingon too! the room with private bathroom is a very good idea, also because you don't need to share it with so many people but jast with who's in your room :) Cleanliness was enough, and really good for a Hostel in London (I had so bad experiences before) I think it's also an hostel where you can find people over 30 and families, I think it's a good atmosphere for all :)

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind and positive feedback about our wonderful hostel. We have endless options for public transport at our door step. As you said, 3 tube stations within walking distance and night buses make our location convenient and perfect for a first timer to London! All of our rooms come with an ensuite and we are so glad to hear you found the hostel clean! We really hope to see you again!

83%

Although neither clothes drier was functional, the rest of the equipment was in good working order. If repairs are necessary they are often done within a day. Staff are efficient. This may be the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. By happy coincidence the driers are bring replaced this week! The next time you come to visit, you will have the cleanest and driest clothes in London!

80%

The staff was friendly and helpful and the location next to Hyde Park was great. It was all very positive except to having been accommodated in the basement floor. We hoped for a better solution, however, it was not a problem. The room was clean and livable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our wonderful cleaning staff work all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic for your use. Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly. We would love to see you again! During your next visit if you mention to our brilliant Receptionists you are a repeat customer and would prefer a dorm on a different floor, we will do our best to make it happen.

77%

The hostel is good for the money you pay. Location is ok, next to Notting Hill but a bit far from the centre. Room is nice but a bit dirty. Bathroom needs some cleaning. Definitely not enough sockets in the room so it's a fight to charge your stuff. The linen smells a bit. Wifi works fine in the bedroom. Very poor breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you believed your stay was value for your money. Our hostel is located in central London, with close links to public transport! Our wonderful cleaning staff would all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! We are working on increasing the number of power sockets in each room! It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy the free basic breakfast we provide.

63%

Terrible dorm rooms, bunk beds are 3 beds high and dangerous, no toilet paper in the bathrooms, depressing common area in the basement. The only redeeming quality was the staff, who very nicely changed our rooms without charge when I fell off the third bunk ladder due to loose screws. If you planning to stay GET A 4 BED DORM. Would not stay here again unless it was a last resort. Make sure you book ahead in London if you want decent accommodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the 4 bed dormitory and the manner of our staff. We apologize if you weren't satisfied with your stay, if you please could contact us at customercare@smartbackpackers.com to provide further information on what you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services.

80%

Good location and friendly staff. I ve been at several hostels in London but this had the most basic breakfest ever. But still a realtively value for money ratio overall.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and found it to be good value for your money! We are pleased to hear you liked the location and the manner of our staff. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests!

69%

Rooms were small and WiFi only works in the bar or common room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.


91%

Very friendly staff. The location is great. Opposite Kensington Gardens with lots of nice restaurants around. Although it could get a little loud at night on the street in front of the hotel. But I think that has to be expected if there are lots of students in the hostel ;) Overall I enjoyed my stay and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel and the friendly manner of our staff. We apologize for the excessive street noise. In our hostel, we have set hours in which noise restrictions have been set to minimalize this but we appreciate your understanding! We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

69%

A lounge would be nice. The rooms were too warm and a bit crowded. The breakfast is very simple, would not re recommend to choose the hotel for this reason. Staff was really nice though and the location is good :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel and the friendly manner of our staff! We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows to remove the restriction of window openings. We hope you come back and see the difference this will make!

94%

The hostel was really close to the Underground and had everything we needed. The breakfast in the morning is very basic but included - very convenient to have and you can always upgrade for a (slightly) nicer breakfast. The bar inside the hostel is really cheap! The room was clean and the lockers were extra but secure. Downsides: The room had only two outlets and no internet in the rooms unless you pay for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast provided in our hostel. We are pleased you had fun at the bar and that the room was clean for your stay! We are looking into ways to upgrade our rooms so each guest has their own personal power socket and while internet may cost you a small fee of £1 for 24 hours in your room, we also offer fee Wi-Fi in our common areas! We hope to see you again!

60%

We though that the room in which we stayed was well maintained, albeit basic. There were no instructions on how to use the lockers provided, which would have been useful. Additionally, some of the plastic note holders in which we were supposed to place our bed reservations slips had been removed, meaning that one night we returned to find one of our beds had been done. Also, there was no way near enough plugs for six people.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. For future reference, our lockers are available for purchase for £1.50 per night at the reception desk, they are linked to your personal security key card! Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems such as no plastic wallet for your bed tags could be resolved instantly! We are currently looking into ways to include more power sockets in our rooms and hopefully very soon we will see each guest with their own personal power socket! We hope to see you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback