X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3388 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Need to inform customers what does the Breakfast consist of. Staff did not have a very good local knowledge of where things where.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

More for breakfast, not only toast but also somthing more calorical.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is clean and well located. However, the room (6 bed female dorm) was small, with only 1 bathroom ensuite (toilet & shower) and thus the queue could get really long, I would suggest waking up early if you are tight with time. The towel rent is £5, which I consider outrageous, and for every luggage you'd like to store, the hostel charge you £2. There is a lift, but it was not working, I don't think it ever did.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This was my first time to a smart hostel. Frstly. The staff were excellent. They excelled at assistng us if they could. The room was very disappointing. Nine persons to such a small room. I'll know better next time. My biggest complaint was the lack of wifi. We never had internet access at all during our two night stay. No internet meant no cntact with home and no research on local attractions.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good location. Staff were helpful. They were refurbishing the bar area when we arrived but it was finished by the morning so we were able to have breakfast. The room was spacious, clean and good facilities.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and excited to tell you that our reception and bar area refurbishment has been finished and we hope you'll be able to come back soon to see. Thanks again for staying at Smart Hostels.

80%

Good hostel, though very very small room. I got unlucky to get, in a 3-bed bunker, the top bed, so it was not the most comfortable to get up / get down. In addition the 09-bed mixed dorm is small enough for 09 people. And the bed was just about my size (5'10"), but anyone taller would find difficult to fit in the bed. Staff was nice and helpful. Good cleanliness.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We try to offer accommodation at a competitive rate near the centre of the city, being in such a desirable place, floor space is reduce but we do have a variety of room sizes to select from including 9, 6, and 4 bed dorms. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be able to visit again soon.

74%

Everything was nice. Maybe have the towel included?

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your say with and hope you'll consider coming back soon. Many guests supply there own towels but if a towel is needed then our 24 hour reception sells towels for £5 each. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

57%

Breakfast was very limited. The beds were not long enough (and I am not even that tall) and £5 for a towel is in my opinion quite expensive. Furthermore, to not even provide a hand towel in the bathroom was very poor - once I washed my hands I had no way of drying them (until I went and hired a full sized towel). I think you could at least provide a hand towel with the main towels once paid for. Also, the curtains do not cover the windows so I woke as soon as the sun came up. Shower too low.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank for your review and feedback. All our beds are European Standard size, unfortunately the standard is not ideal for people who are 2 meters tall. We do not supply towels in our dorms as many guests do not require them, Your thoughts on a hand towel will be passed on to the relevant department to be considered for future improvements to our service.Thank you again for your feedback and thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

57%

Our toilet in our room barely worked and the hostel staff was not friendly at all. Common area was mediocre at best and no community feel. Location was awesome and clean enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as enjoyable for you as we would have liked. Our staff receive regular training in customer service as we strife to supply the best service possible. Our maintenance staff start at 08:00 and finish at 17:00. However, if any maintenance issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

86%

Great stay, was affordable and well located. The staff were really lovely. Only thing was in the 9 bed dorm the windows didn't open and it got very hot in the room, and there was also very limited space to put bags etc in the room. Apart from that, everything else was great!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the window issue, our maintenance staff start as early as 08:00 and finish at 17:00.. However, if any maintenance issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. We hope to see you soon again.

86%

We were delighted with our room. The beds and bedding were comfortable. Breakfast was nice too. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The seating area outside is wonderful for a bit of people watching and outdoor drinks. There was a nice atmostphere among the guests which made it a very pleasant stay. I would only stay here from now on - we all LOVED it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon!

63%

The Hostel is very well placed and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were very cramped and small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. We try offer a cheap and competitive accommodation in a very central location which does have a knock on effect of limiting floor space. We do however have several dorm sizes to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels, we hope your be able to visit again soon.

83%

very good location, perfect for families, added value in proximity to parks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Please read our Facebook page for the latest deals and what's ons in London.

66%

Great location. Friendly and thorough staff upon check-in. Minimal security, meaning no lockers in the rooms. Breakfast was enough, they serve brown bread!:) bathroom was cleaned well everyday which was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hostel and sad at the same time as you did not find the lockers. They are the draws underneath the bed and available for £1.50 per night, paid for at reception. Hope to see you back sometime soon.

80%

It was nice to find a excellent location to stay. The staffs in canteen were great. Roommates were nice as well. I like 24hrs reception. Thx.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review and comments. We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a great time while staying with us. Come back any time. We hope to see you soon!

77%

Was lovely and clean, staff efficient but a little impersonal which is unusual for hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay. As for the staff, we are sorry to hear you felt we were a bit impersonal, we love what we do and we do it the best we can. We hope you will come back for a second stay where we will strife to surprise you. Thank you again.

66%

The room was absolutely tiny especially for a 6 bed dorm when there was no storage for suitcases. Very difficult for 6 people with luggage to fit into the room.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. With our ideal location in Bayswater London and being so central living space is at premium. To help offer our guests the best option for them we do offer 9, 6 and 4 bed dorms. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you'll be able to visit again.

77%

A friend & I stayed in a room together, double bed. the room and bathroom were quite small but not so much so that we were uncomfortable. both were clean but some of the flooring under the bed were out of place and a spot between the sink and shower looked like it could use a bit of TLC. The water pressure was really low but the water was hot so I've really got nothing to complain about (aside from the heat, but that's just london in the summer).

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for you review and feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with and hope you will come back to stay again soon. We will pass on your comments about the water pressure to the relevant departments too check for needed maintenance or future improvements. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

51%

The directions on the website to get to the hostel were wrong. We ended up getting lost trying to follow the directions, and when we called for new directions the receptionist would not giggling at us and seemed unable to help us at all. The room was incredibly tiny for nine beds. The hangout room was nice, but no one seemed to be able to show us the kitchen. The hostel says there is a kitchen, but when we asked no one seemed to say anything. Overall, its over priced for what it is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you lost your way to the hostel and we will investigate our Directions information. Our staff receive regular training in customer service, if there are any problems with staff please email the manager directly to help us take further action. There are no kitchen facilities on the premises but there is a microwave and kettle for guests use at our bar and in the common room. We offer a selection of room sizes from 4, 6 and 9 bed dorms. Thank you

63%

Room is too small and stuffy. There are 3 beds in one stack, the highest one is really hard to climb up to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have a variety of room sizes to help find the right match for our range of guests needs, with 9, 6 and 4 bed dorm being available to select from. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback