X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3352 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

For some weird reason the bed would squeak. Literally laid awake for two hours mind you not moving and it still made this constant squeaky noise... But the first 4 hours of sleep was nice:) It was 4:30 in the morning outside and I was like why not walk around so I check out and left. Everything else was great!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review and feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay overall but it is unfortunate that you had trouble with the bed, we will investigate to find the cause and alleviate the problem. Remember our reception is operated 24 hours a days to help ease any problems that may arise. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us, we your visit again soon.

74%

On the plus side: location is really good, staff was nice and the bar downstaris is failry comfortable and chilled (for having a beer and working on your computer - not for partying). Free earplugs (you need them). Cleanliness! The downside: There wasn't a proper locker for valuables, just a small box under the bed that you have to pay extra for. The dining room wasn't that special, especially because it was underground and there weren't any windows. Rooms a really hot (even in early June).

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. For clarification, all our rooms have security draws which can be rented from our reception for £1.50 per night and opened using a key-card. We are happy to say we are starting to add new fans to all our rooms to help with ventilation. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

74%

Really tight for space. More expensive and not as nice as other hostels I have stayed in. The common room is a little small as well.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hostel is located close to the centre of London with easy access to the tube network and 24 hour bus routes. To offer our competitive prices at such a central location floor space is reduced but we do offer a range of room sizes to provide a several option to our guests. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels

86%

Was in a great location. Clean, with friendly and helpful staff. But you need to take your own towels as none provided in dorm rooms. But hotel just off Hyde Park, and near 2 tube stations, for £25. Great!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and wonderful comments, we'll really happy our staff were helpful during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll stop by again soon.

83%

The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful to me! I felt happy to stay there and all my things were secure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and lovely remarks for our staff whom we are very proud of, it was great having you and we hope you'll be back soon

51%

Great location but very disappointing rooms and services for an expensive price. Bunks were incredibly small, the room was not clean and not ready upon arrival. Using a towel cost 5 pounds whereas at other hostels it was free or very inexpensive. Breakfast was provided which was nice but minimal. Staff didn't seem to be concerned with comfort of patrons. Most disappointing was the fact that the tap water in the bathrooms was not for drinking. Would not wish to stay here again.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. With our aim to provide accommodation so centrally located , floor space is limited but we do have a range of room sizes to suit many different budget requirements of our guests. Our rooms are cleaned daily buy our dedicated cleaners but if there are any problems our reception is open 24 hours to help . Water from the rooms is not for drinking but our bar will serve glasses of water at any time and bottles of water are also on sale. Thank you for staying with us.

86%

PROS: -Ensuite bathroom -Location close to Queensway and Bayswater stations CONS: -Breakfast is paltry and 3 GBP upgrade for a few slices of ham and cheese is ridiculous. Use real orange juice instead of orange colored water; that's just gross. -Charging for lockers in the room means the rooms become quite crowded with luggage. Just include it in the price of the room.


60%

Overall, considering the location, it's a good price. My biggest complaint would be the lack of ventilation in the 6 dorm room I was sharing because of set of bunk beds that blocked the window. When the person on the lower one would close their curtains for the night, it would cut off the fresh air flow (the window only opened a ruler's worth). The room wasn't big enough for three sets of bunk beds---as a result, one was stuck smack in front of the window and there was no where to put luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. Our aim is to provide accommodation close to the centre of London at a competitive price. Being so central our floor space is reduced but we do have a range of room sizes for a variety of budgets. I am glad to inform you that your comments have been considered carefully and we are currently installing fans in our rooms to help ventilation. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels, we hope you'll visit us again.

97%

Friendly Staff, free wi-di, free breakfast and really cheap prices at their Bar, on average really good hostel!

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, We're really happy you enjoyed you'll stay with us and hope you will be able to join us again soon.

83%

Location was convenient to metros and food, and the neighborhood was nice. Facilities were sufficient, though could feel cramped at times. My only true complaint is that there weren't enough outlets and they were all 1 meter (3 feet) off the ground. Very inconvenient.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your experience with the power outlets was unfortunate and we will consider your comments for future improvements. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

86%

Staff was friendly and sheets were clean. Good Breakfast. Overall a good stay.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a great review and friendly comments, we hope to see you again soon.

86%

Very nice staff, nice hotel. We were in a 6 bed room, the room was small but it was enough to spend a good night! We missed the breakfast on both mornings of our stay...

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry to hear that you missed our breakfast. Again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.

71%

Great location. Good value. Room keys didn't work 3 times which was very annoying considering we were only there for 1 night! 3 tier bunks are too high, windows need curtains (not just beds). Check in process needs to be quicker, it was quite a painful wait while receptionist struggled with the systems/form filling/IDs/room keys/deposit cash etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that you had some difficulties. We are in the midst of new staff training and thank you for your patience, we continually evaluate our performance to provide the best service and care possible. We will look into your recommendation about curtains for the windows for future considerations and thank you again for you comment. We hope you will consider us again for future stays here in London.

69%

Small beds. Make your own bed. Very poor breakfast (although inclusive), only toast and one cereal. Internet didn't work in room (at basement level). Nothing great about it.


66%

London is an outrageously expensive city. This hostel should purchase inexpensive foods from Sainsbury and Tesco and provide free breakfast to the guests (as a show of appreciation for the high rent). Also they should provide 24x7 free coffee/tea and hot cocoa. Instant coffee, tea bags and hot cocoa are not expensive.


57%

The room was Ok. Actually we didn't expect more than we had seen in the pictures. We were 6 friends and took a room for the 6 of us and the bathroom inside it. The bathroom had small ants and different insects. The breakfast wasn't good at all. The location is great and it's very well communicated. The price is not high taking in account that we are talking about London, but the hostel really needs remodelling.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel in an excellent location. The rooms are a good size with a shower in each one. The only fault would be the lack of sockets. There is a wide variety of nationalities that stay there so it's great for meeting new people. The staff were extremely helpful, no matter what hour of the day, or night it is. Very friendly atmosphere and would definitely stay here again. Not to mention the wonderful prices.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Very smallsmall room for 9 people. Not clean. Someone took mymy comforter, and reception did have a replacement. Very cheap, good for emergencies.


74%

Hostel is clean though basic. I like the privacy curtains around each bunk. Refurbished rooms have a toilet/shower pod which is small but clean. each bunk has its own electricity socket which is useful. Staff not exactly friendly and smiling but they are helpful.


49%

I only stayed here for one night and didn't have a good experience. The room was really dirty, the sink didn't have soap, and the bathroom was dirty enough for me to not take a shower at all when staying here. Also, triple bunk beds are a bit scary.


(69 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback