X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3057 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

The room was tiny and cramped - possibly could have been made better by less beds in the room. Building itself was run down and dirty. Staff extremely unhelpful and uninformative. They also charged for everything possible. Overall, was not impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sad to hear about your negative time with us, your comments are welcomed so that we may improve our services for the future. We are concerned to hear about your experience with our staff and the building. We charge separately for items so that customers who do not need them do not get charged for them, helping them save money. We are very sorry about your experience with us but thank you again for your comments which will be looked over very thoroughly.

71%

Stayed one night as was going to a concert. Not somewhere I would usually stay but wanted just a hotel that me & my grown children could sleep in for a few hrs. location is fab, staff are very helpful with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon!

51%

Extremely small rooms, no place to store luggage. By far the smallest rooms in a hostel Ive ever stayed in, and no common areas for guests to socialise

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comments and review, we are sad that you had issues with the room, we try to offer a selection rooms from 9, 6 and 4 bed dormitory's. It seems you were not aware of our large dinning room, which is open 24 hours for our guests to use as they please.

60%

The room was extremely hot and very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of installing window fans in every room to improve ventilation.

80%

Perfect location! Clean rooms. The only bad thing was the lack of air condition in the rooms.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on face book. SHPV Team

71%

I think that every hotel's room need an air conditioning.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of installing window fans in every room to improve ventilation.

83%

All-round good place, nice and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks for taking the time provide this valuable feedback. You're welcome back any time! :)

34%

The stuff are not very friendly nor helpful at all :( besides, it's the only hostel out of the many ones where we've stayed in the UK that doesn't offer any free coffee and tea to the residents at all. Breakfast very poor quality. An additional piece of bacon will cost 3 pounds which is incredible. neither my friend and I were happy about the experience of staying there.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. You must have missed the FREE tea and coffee at breakfast. Any other time though, those drinks (and others) are available at heavily discounted prices in the bar area. Please if you come back and find that you are unsure of where something is, see our reception team who will be happy to help.

94%

My stay at Smart Hyde Park View couldn't have been better. The staff was extremely friendly (even while dealing with long check-in lines) and my room was clean and comfortable. The location is quiet, unlike many other London hostels, but not at all inaccessible.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Many thanks for the kind words. Please come back and stay any time! Cheers.

86%

For a hostel it's quite good, definitely one of the better ones i've stayed at. Stayed in 6-bed room with bathroom, beds were comfy and with privacy curtains, everything was clean and nice. Rooms miss place to sit and electricity plugs. There is a kitchen/common area, very useful for charging devices and making a more affordable meal on you own (should note that there is only wicrowave, no other appliances). WiFi worked quite well, no complaints there. Would stay again 8/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for your kind words. You're welcome back any time! Cheers.

74%

Seemed more like a hotel, which can be good. The bathroom in the room was clean but a little hot, and the room is not very spacious. Overall a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you again.

80%

The rooms can get quite hot and the beds are small, but the standard of cleanliness at this hostel are good. It can get quite loud from the school groups they have coming through...

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. It's much appreciated.

60%

Great location being near Hyde Park and the tube. Not much of a social atmosphere at all so probably not ideal if you are travelling alone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thanks very much for the feedback.

86%

This place is in a fairly nice location, not too far from transit options and the parks. The staff is quite helpful and nice. They let me stay in the bar / lounge area for several hours after I checked out, while I was charging and using my phone, without saying a word. They seem to respect people's desire to have a little quiet time alone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers. You're welcome back any time! Cheers.

80%

My stay was in general good. But I have a few recommendations. First of al the dinning room has no window and therefore the room literally stinks. I think at least half an hour in a day you should let some fresh air in (somehow, by letting all the doors opened) Also about the breakfast, it was fine. Actually it was great that you offer some free breakfast. But maybe you can also offer some different kinds of jams or cerials. I mean do not change the types just supplement it a little bit. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your review. Your feedback is important to us and we will pass your suggestions on to the Team. Cheers.

86%

Friendly and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're always welcome! Thanks for the kind words.

80%

This was a decent hostel, the key card security is very convenient. The bar up front is great too, although the beer selection isn't very good. But if you just want good ole cheap beer, the prices cant be beat. The staff did their job, but wern't overly friendly. The massive groups of school kids can get a little annoying. Dont expect to be able to rent anything, but things are for sale for marked up prices. Triple bunk beds are used, the privacy curtain is great. Super humid in the summer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for the feedback, it's much appreciated.

66%

The location of the hostel is very good (20 steps away from Hyde Park) and the staff is very friendly. The room was a little disappointing, because when I arrived it was extremely hot (even with the window open..) and the bathroom wasn't cleaned (there was hair on the toilet......). Overall it was okay, but not very good.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We're always trying to improve, so we'll pass your comments on to the housekeeping team. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Cheers.

89%

Good value for money. Central location and not too far from tube and train station. Had to leave early in morning so didn't get to try the breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
It would be fantastic to see you come back. Cheers for the review.

74%

Nicely placed right next to a train station and its only one stop to Amsterdam Centraal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again some time.

(65 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback