X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3395 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The room was absolutely tiny especially for a 6 bed dorm when there was no storage for suitcases. Very difficult for 6 people with luggage to fit into the room.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. With our ideal location in Bayswater London and being so central living space is at premium. To help offer our guests the best option for them we do offer 9, 6 and 4 bed dorms. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you'll be able to visit again.

77%

A friend & I stayed in a room together, double bed. the room and bathroom were quite small but not so much so that we were uncomfortable. both were clean but some of the flooring under the bed were out of place and a spot between the sink and shower looked like it could use a bit of TLC. The water pressure was really low but the water was hot so I've really got nothing to complain about (aside from the heat, but that's just london in the summer).

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for you review and feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with and hope you will come back to stay again soon. We will pass on your comments about the water pressure to the relevant departments too check for needed maintenance or future improvements. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

51%

The directions on the website to get to the hostel were wrong. We ended up getting lost trying to follow the directions, and when we called for new directions the receptionist would not giggling at us and seemed unable to help us at all. The room was incredibly tiny for nine beds. The hangout room was nice, but no one seemed to be able to show us the kitchen. The hostel says there is a kitchen, but when we asked no one seemed to say anything. Overall, its over priced for what it is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you lost your way to the hostel and we will investigate our Directions information. Our staff receive regular training in customer service, if there are any problems with staff please email the manager directly to help us take further action. There are no kitchen facilities on the premises but there is a microwave and kettle for guests use at our bar and in the common room. We offer a selection of room sizes from 4, 6 and 9 bed dorms. Thank you

63%

Room is too small and stuffy. There are 3 beds in one stack, the highest one is really hard to climb up to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have a variety of room sizes to help find the right match for our range of guests needs, with 9, 6 and 4 bed dorm being available to select from. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon.

100%

Great hostel on Great place with Great people! Felt really good, nice atmosphere, everyone was very helpfull, definitelly place to stay! :) Thanks, Martina!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us. Come back any time, we hope to see you soon.

63%

We came in this hostel to meet our friends coming in London, we asked 2 weeks before our week-end if the 2 booking could be in the same room, when we arrived, the very slow man welcoming us didn't do anything for us. Nevertheless friends told us that the french woman was really nice. Rooms are very small and too hot but the bathroom was quite good. The location is very good with a 24h bus not too far and a Underground Station really close. Then, two bracket for 9 beds is really not enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you could not stay in the same room. We try our best doing the allocations but sometimes when the hostel is near to capacity we have difficulties getting everybody together. We apologize for any inconvenience it might have caused you and we hope to see you again soon.

66%

The room was very hot and fans not working properly.Did not get very much sleep,which defeats the purpose of booking a room for the night.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback I am glad to inform you that your comments have been considered carefully and we are currently installing fans in our rooms to help ventilation. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels, we hope you'll visit us again.

100%

The Ukranian and Greek assistance were very helpful and professional, it really create a good atmosphere, all the people working at the hostel are well informed and very well mannered and therefore extremely diplomatic. I did enjoy my stay. The breakfast staff and the maintenance guy also very helpful and friendly, my room I stayed in was clean and quiet, the only obstacle was voices outside the hostel at night but that was beyond the control of the hostel staff as the people were outsiders.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments, we're super happy you enjoyed your stay and that all are staff were helpful, we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon.

80%

We had a lovely stay. The hostel was nice and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The only problem we had was with the room. It was very small to have three bunkbeds and six people sleeping. It was so small one of the bunkbeds actually went all the way across the only window in the room. The person in this bed refused to have the window open at night which meant the room was unbearably hot and too uncomfortable to sleep.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments,its great that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate about the temperature of the room but we are happy to say that we are installing new fans in the dorms to help keep the rooms cooler and better ventilated. Thank you again for your review and for staying with Smart Hostels.

100%

Ideal location for the music festival in Hyde Park, the hostel was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you review and kind comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay took advantage of our location next to Hyde Park. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope your visit again soon

69%

The location was great, and the staff were very friendly. However, the 9 person dorm we stayed in was tiny! Out of the three triple bunks squeezed into the room, one of them blocked the window. This made the room extremely hot and stuffy. Because of this, we wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we so glad you found our staff welcoming and hostel well Located. Being in such a central location, room space can is limited when offering competitively priced accommodation, we offer a range of dorm sizes from 4 to 9 to as many options as possible. During the summer month rooms can get hot, that is why we have recently invested in procuring wall fans to to help ventilate the rooms. Thank you again for staying with Smart Hostels.

74%

Hostel located right beside the hyde park with good tube/bus connections. The staff was nice but the facilities were two small for the money you pay for them. No free lockets inside the bedroom and bathroom with no air circulation. Not bad for the price, but not so good either.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We charge £1.50 per night for use of a locker, we do not include this price in the bookings as some guest do not require their use. Thank you again for staying with us and for your comments, they are helpful to us, allowing for future improvements to our service. We hope your visit us again soon.

71%

Felt more like a hotel than a hostel, with a small cafe downstairs but not a lot of opportunities to meet fellow travelers. Additionally, I stayed in a 6 bed female ensuite dorm that was incredibly small (only one person could reasonably move around the room at a time) and miserably hot with no fan or AC. Staff was friendly and always helpful and location was convenient, but accommodations themselves were not enjoyable.


74%

Our room happened to be fully occupied when we entered it, had to be moved to another. It was great to have a simple breakfast included, really appreciated.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are sorry for the mix up with your room but glad that we quickly corrected the situation and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.. We're happy your stay with us was pleaseant and hope you'll be able to visit again soon

51%

I have never spent a worse night in my life. We stayed at a mixed 6 dorm which was the tiniest room possible with three vertical bunk beds next to each other. All six of us could not stand in the room together much less change, etc. And when someone moved or climbed up or down the whole structure would shake. They were also not big, and I am not a tall person. I could not stretch my legs comfortably. There was no a/c so we were sweating the whole night and no sound insulation from nearby rooms.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we would hope. With our aim to provide competitive accommodation close to the centre of London floor space is limited but we do offer a range of room size to help our guests pick the right choice for them. I am happy to announce that we are rolling out new fans for our dorms to help with temperature control and ventilation. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

89%

As usual (I have stayed here many times) the staff both in the evening and the morning were helpful and friendly. Room was very warm but clean as was the en-suite. I like the privacy screen around each bunk. Bunk was rather short - I am 1.8m and so is the bunk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, we're happy that you return visit was as good as the last. Your comments on the bunks will be passed on to the relevant department for future considerations. Thank you for staying with us at Smart Hostels, we look forward to your next visit.

97%

Lovely helpful staff and a lovely area to be based in London close to transport and the parks. Thank you!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we're really happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff welcoming, we hope your be able to visit again soon.

63%

The hostel was ok for one night, was quite a small room and quite cramped. I wasn't initially told about the lockers under the bed, for which you had to go back down and ask for them to activate something on your keycard, and you had to pay extra. I didn't mind paying, It just would be helpful to be told when you check in and asked! As most people want to keep their stuff safe. The vibe in the hostel was a bit odd but I didn't really spend much time there, it was in a really good location though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate that you were not informed about our lockers on your arrival, your comments will be passed on to relevant department to incorporate this into our regular staff training. For clarity, draws underneath our beds a lockers for which we charge £1.50 per night, the key is written on the same key card as your room. We are happy you enjoyed the location of our premises and hope your be able to join us again soon.

77%

Smart Hyde Park View is a basic hostel but gets the job done. The staff were friendly and helpful, plus it's a great location for accessing central London and the beautiful Hyde Park. However, the room felt a little crowded and it wasn't the cleanest hostel I've stayed in. However, you can't complain at the price, which is definitely better value than a lot of London hostels at the weekend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are happy that you took advantage of our excellent location and found our staff helpful. Our housekeepers clean the rooms daily to keep the hostel clean and hygienic, but if there are and issues our reception is always, to help in any way possible. Thank you again for staying with us at Smart Hostels.

80%

Nice place, nice staff and good location, the place is just the way it looks on the pictures.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are very happy that our staff were welcoming and that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you will visit again soon

(87 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback