X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3018 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Friendly and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're always welcome! Thanks for the kind words.

80%

This was a decent hostel, the key card security is very convenient. The bar up front is great too, although the beer selection isn't very good. But if you just want good ole cheap beer, the prices cant be beat. The staff did their job, but wern't overly friendly. The massive groups of school kids can get a little annoying. Dont expect to be able to rent anything, but things are for sale for marked up prices. Triple bunk beds are used, the privacy curtain is great. Super humid in the summer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for the feedback, it's much appreciated.

66%

The location of the hostel is very good (20 steps away from Hyde Park) and the staff is very friendly. The room was a little disappointing, because when I arrived it was extremely hot (even with the window open..) and the bathroom wasn't cleaned (there was hair on the toilet......). Overall it was okay, but not very good.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We're always trying to improve, so we'll pass your comments on to the housekeeping team. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Cheers.

89%

Good value for money. Central location and not too far from tube and train station. Had to leave early in morning so didn't get to try the breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
It would be fantastic to see you come back. Cheers for the review.

74%

Nicely placed right next to a train station and its only one stop to Amsterdam Centraal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again some time.

80%

Very nice neighborhood with one of the most beautiful parks ever only a couple minutes away from your room! The metro is very close as well and you won't have any trouble getting home at night after partying! Clean but small rooms!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic having you stay with us. Cheers for the review.

80%

Overall great place. Staff was friendly, rooms were fine, bathroom good size,. No issue with hot/cold water. Wish they were not charging for internet in rooms but ok. One minor observation (didn't bother me) - faucets in shower are due to maintenance Slight touch and water could get too cold or too hot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Will pass on your comments to the maintenance people. Thanks for the review. Cheers

60%

Don't mind the cramped space but it was smaller than anticipated. Could have been improved if the room was less stuffy (keep windows open) and public amenities cleaner. Water pressure in the toilet was poor; overheard other customers complain about it as well. Lift was broken when we came, and with heavy luggage on wheels, it was difficult getting up and down. Room only had 2 charging ports - could use an extension chord.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Coming into summer as it is, we are all thinking about the comfort of our fabulous Guests. Throughout the day our housekeepers repeatedly make their way through the building. Sometimes though it is true that a facility is only as clean as the last person who used it. That’s why they repeatedly move through the building. Unfortunately too, maintenance is required for equipment. We can only apologise for the lift being out of service while you were staying with us.

54%

The staff was unfriendly except for one employee. The facilities are old and shabby. The window was so thin it broke on my hand trying to open it and I had to spend 2 days in the hospital for surgery and stitches. Not only did it ruin much of my stay in London, but the staff offered no compensation or apologies. This place is relatively cheap but it's worth paying extra to stay somewhere more professional. Also the neighborhood here is boring and basically dead at night. I would never recommend

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. First of all we once again feel for you that you had an accident while here in London. Ironically it is for Health and Safety reasons that the windows are locked open at a certain point. It’s a shame your holiday was ruined. Perhaps if you come back to London we can show you a better time.

83%

We stayed in a double ensuite room and it was really nice and clean!!!! Location is good as there are tube stations and many shops and bars around. We would definitely come back to this hostel!!!

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist and that the facilities were up to scratch. Hope to see you back sometime soon!!

80%

A 4 beds dorm in the basement good. Breakfast was better that the one I use to have at home, even, you can upgrade it paying a very little difference. Is was very clean. Blankets, towels and breakfast included in the price. Luggage room for $2 pounds per bag per day. Restricted in some way free Internet only in common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to learn that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed our free breakfast, as for the internet it is Free Wi-Fi in the common areas but it cots £1/24hours if you want to use it the rooms. SHPV Team

74%

I had to book into this hostel after a mix-up in my hotel reservation that was only discovered AFTER I got to London. Overall, I wasn't disappointed in the hostel. There were faults that I couldn't overlook. The toilet in my "dorm room" required several attempts to successfully flush it. The room was uncomfortably hot and there was no way to control or alter the temp in the room. The staff was intolerant almost to the point of belligerent when it came to friends that were visiting.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that it was too hot in the rooms. We always leave the windows open after cleaning, but it is possible that someone just closed it. As for the visitors we have a strict Non-resident policy. Non-residents are allowed into the common room (Bar area 10am-10pm). For safety and security reasons, guests are not welcomed into the rooms at any time. SHPV Team.

80%

Good location, decent price, overall pretty clean, but poor water pressure in the shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback, as for the water pressure in the shower unfortunately it might occur when several guests are having shower at the same time. Hoping to see you back in the hostel soon!

80%

There was only a single wall outlet in our room for 6 beds- could easily amend this with a power strip. Also only one toilet/ shower attached to our 6-bed room, which was a tad hard to share in the morning. Also would be nice if there were lockers to use for free.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your feedback. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. He hope to see you soon. SHPV Team.

91%

I enjoyed my stay. The location was great, and the staff gave the easiest directions to find the hostel.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the good words. We hope to see you soon. SHPV Team.

77%

We have stayed here before and would stay again. There were a lot of school parties staying too, so it was very loud, day and night, and the breakfast area was hectic. I personally don't mind at all, but some people may not like it. It's a very good location near Hyde Park, and within a shorter travelling distance from all central London attractions. Our room mates were very nice too.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, first of all thank you for choosing Smart Hyde Park View for your stay in London and for the positive words. Hope you will visit us again.

91%

I strongly recommend this hostel! The staff was really nice and friendly. They showed confidence and were talkative. The toilet was in the room so it was very comfortable. Even the hostel offers discounts in a close pizzeria so it's perfect for travellers. The only negative aspect is that it hasn't a kitchen, so you can't cook there. It has included breakfast (the basic thing as cereals and toast, but less is nothing). It's really worth :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We would like to thank you for choosing Smart Hyde Park View and your positive review. We hope to see you soon!! Smart Hyde Park View Team

94%

Great value, really friendly staff, very clean and good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank so much!

91%

Needs more bathrooms, one bathroom for nine people is not enough

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for such a high rating we are glad to see you were impressed by the service provided by our receptionists! We will look into solving the issue you've mentioned. We hope you'll visit us again.

91%

This was possibly the best hostel out of the four I stayed in. It was clean, close to what's happening, the staff were nice, there was a bar, and a tv with music playing most if the time. I found the wifi hard to get in the rooms, however the front dining area it worked fine. Also I had problems sleeping with the amount of kids that stayed here. Running around and thumping all night long. I wasn't sure kids were aloud at hostels? Well they are at this one. Invest in ear plugs.....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your review and rating the hostel so high :) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! We are sorry to learn you couldn't sleep well. We do hourly security checks during the night to keep the hostel quiet . As for the Wi-Fi, we are currently trying to fix the connections during busy periods, unfortunately is can be tricky when lots of the hostel's guests are downloading large files at the same time. Hope to see you back sometime soon!

(56 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback