X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3230 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The hostel was really close to the Underground and had everything we needed. The breakfast in the morning is very basic but included - very convenient to have and you can always upgrade for a (slightly) nicer breakfast. The bar inside the hostel is really cheap! The room was clean and the lockers were extra but secure. Downsides: The room had only two outlets and no internet in the rooms unless you pay for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast provided in our hostel. We are pleased you had fun at the bar and that the room was clean for your stay! We are looking into ways to upgrade our rooms so each guest has their own personal power socket and while internet may cost you a small fee of £1 for 24 hours in your room, we also offer fee Wi-Fi in our common areas! We hope to see you again!

60%

We though that the room in which we stayed was well maintained, albeit basic. There were no instructions on how to use the lockers provided, which would have been useful. Additionally, some of the plastic note holders in which we were supposed to place our bed reservations slips had been removed, meaning that one night we returned to find one of our beds had been done. Also, there was no way near enough plugs for six people.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. For future reference, our lockers are available for purchase for £1.50 per night at the reception desk, they are linked to your personal security key card! Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems such as no plastic wallet for your bed tags could be resolved instantly! We are currently looking into ways to include more power sockets in our rooms and hopefully very soon we will see each guest with their own personal power socket! We hope to see you again!

86%

The overall is good, the staff are very friendly and helpfull in general and the athmosphere is amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The only things that I wish they could have are: > A hair dryer to hire; > Plugs and individual lights on the beds (which would be good for Reading); > A kitchen with cooking facilities for the hosts.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are glad you enjoyed the comfort and atmosphere of our hostel! We are also pleased you were happy with the manner of the staff and the complimentary breakfast! We thank you for your constructive feedback and ideas. In reception, we do already have hair dryers for our guests to borrow. We are also looking at ways to implement personal power plugs for our guests’ convenience. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

57%

We stayed in a private room; the beds are very small, non comfortable and very noisy as they are made by metal. The bathroom was not really clean. And I found bad the idea that they want to sell you towels instead of leaving a deposit and borrow them as other hostels. The breakfast included is really poor and it is too much to want to charge you three pounds only to have the right to eat ham and cheese

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Felt like we paid money to stay in a prison.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. However we have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

71%

Very basic hostel, not bad for a few nights if your on a budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks you for your kind feedback! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London! We hope you enjoyed the complementary all-you-can-eat breakfast and free wifi available in common areas! We hope to see you again very soon!

1 2 3 Next » last »
(46 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback