X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3182 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

The stay at the Smart Hyde Park View was less pleasant. The beds are to small for a regular size person, are located in the basement, wich is basicly ok if you could get a little air in. The ensuite bathroom was "cleaned" every day, which was nice. The breakfast was an uninspiring choice of one cereal, hot water, toast and two big bowls with jam and butter. "But a feast is a feast" The Location overall had no activities, no cider, but was close to a subway station and to lots of restraunts...


86%

Great location, very clean ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast included (w/b bread with margarine and jam and cornflakes with milk). Staff are friendly. Only minus points I can think of: - bunk beds are a bit small, if one is > 180cm long one cannot lie down fully straight it seems. I met one tall guy who moved hostel for this reason. - some bunk beds are three (3) high instead of two - some people smoke outside and the smoke can go into the room or in the common/coffee area on ground

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our central locations and budget-friendly clean accommodation. We offer a free all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We are pleased you enjoyed this complementary service. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We hope to see you again!

71%

No towels for us. come on! I think most people would like a shower and to have the only option being to buy a very expensive towel I think it just rude. The staff was very night. The rooms were very tight and crowded. There wasn't even a place to dry your hands in the bathroom. This place literally is just a bed and some weak breakfast. I think the location is great but thats about the best part. The staff was okay too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We advise our backpackers to bring their own towels, however if by chance you haven't packed one, we sell them for £5 at reception.

100%

I recommend it, really good and the staff was really friendly. Not so expensive for a good location. Close to the tube making easier to get anywhere.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. You are welcome back any time :)

74%

Global expérience was all right, but the breakfast is poor as the internet connection. The neibourhood is really Nice tho!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again :)

66%

I booked this hostel for a group of 24 girl guides - the facilities are OK, good location, staff was helpful to a large extent. Breakfast is OK (includes cereal, milk, toast, butter and jam). Generally the place is very small. The rooms are extremely small and the size of the en-suite bathrooms serving 6-9 people rooms needing to get ready at the same time are tiny. I appreciated the fact that there was a separate dining area for under 18, however, this area was still too small.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing for your group to stay with Smart Backpackers! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope you stay with us again.

71%

Overall a good experience for 1 night. Negative is that they at the end of your stay you need to bring your own linen back down to reception, which is really inconvenient when the lift doesn't go to your floor and you have to bring down 4 peoples linen as I was the last to leave (the other 3 left at 4am) and they didn't tell us this when we checked in. Breakfast was nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope we will see you again!

89%

Great and very clean but loud. Also quite a few additional expenses.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope to see you again! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

77%

The room and hostel itself were very good. Nice clean room, excellent location. The staff however were rubbish. I can't decide whether the man at the desk was incredibly rude or ridiculously incompetent. Eithet way he took about 15 mins to check us in. I tried to pay by card, put my PIN in then was told it was broken but he refused to give me a receipt. Had to then pay cash and it took 3 attempts of asking to get a receipt from him them.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. We have passed you comments on to the management team so they may address any training issues.

60%

The only good thing of this hostel was the location. Go only if you can deal with an overcrowded room with nine beds and just one bathroom with poor cleanliness standards.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one. Cheers

83%

Don't expect anything fancy for breakfast, get there early the dinning room fills up fast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the advice. We hope you had a great time in London!

1 2 3 Next » last »
(51 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback