X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3018 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

horrible stay.. everything smell veryyyy bad the corridors, rooms, beds, pillows, duvets.. i got allergic and maybe bugs from the bed.. rooms very small and lockers too small.. paying extra for everything lockers, towels and left luggage which is for free everywhere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your dorm wasn't as expected, we have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. we have inspected the later room you stayed in and found no trace of any animal, though we have cleaned the room fully and changed all bedding. SHPV Team

49%

I would not recommend it to anybody that wants to stay comfortably in London. I've stayed in a room of 6 beds and I find that the people there are not considerate as in they party even in the room until late at night!!! I don't know why the hostel permits this and because I was traveling alone I didn't make a fuss out of it. They were basically drunk and making so much noise at about 12am till late!!! It really annoyed me and it disturbed my sleep!!! But if u want to save cost, its ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your dorm wasn't as expected. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travelers depending on their budget., we do security checks during the night to keep the hostel quiet. SHPV Team

89%

Good location, smiling and friendly staffs, free breakfast. I will recommend it ;)

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon :)

77%

I actually enjoyed my stay. Not bad as some people thought it is. Everything is grand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist and that the facilities were up to scratch. Hope to see you soon.

63%

The rooms were really small and the floors were quite dirty. The mattresses were stained. Breakfast was quite poor - only cereal, butter and jam, and instant coffee (really bad), tea and milk. However, there was free wifi in the common area but not in the rooms. The hostel is at close walking distance to 2 underground stops and it is very easy to get anywhere from there...There were some stores where one could buy food or a drink, if they wanted.

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. Our housekeeping/cleaning times between 06:30 am- 15.30. beside of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. SPHV Team

97%

The rooms where lovely and the breakfast was good also (cold) not hot food.....bit noisy at some stages due to back packers being in the same building but on different floors. About a 10 min walk to the trains and buses 5 mins

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to learn that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed our free breakfast. As for the noisy we do security checks every hour to keep the hostel quiet during the night.

43%

1. No systems in place to remove smelly and unclaimed clothing from rooms. 2. No regular cleaning. Rooms dirty. 3. Lockers not large enough, cost extra and not secure. 4. Towels not included. Bring your own or $5. 6. Bfast was toast, cornflakes and instant coffee every day. 7. Staff were inconsistent in their ability to take care of problems. 8. No quiet times or curfews to ensure adequate sleep time. 9. The walls between bedroom and bathroom was thin. 10. Only one toilet per 6 persons.

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review.We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. About your comments: 1&2 Cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 15.30. We do regular check every one hour to maintain good cleaning quality. 3&4Lockers & towels are not included so travelers don’t end up paying for the things they don’t need. 7. Could you give us more details. 8. Quiet time is between 10pm and 6 am.

40%

Tiny and smelly rooms, no wi-fi in the rooms, small lockers for 1,5 GBP. 3 % charge for credit card usage (not mentioned anywhere!!) + 10 GBP deposit for the key card (not mentioned anywhere, I had to give my only 10 GBP, had only EUR and no FX was offered !). CHEAP breakfast (only toast, margarine, jam and cornflakes were among the selection). The only advantage is the location (great) but I would NOT return and NOT recommend this hostel to anyone..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take every feedback very seriously, our aim is to provide a comfortable accommodation for travelers with a budget in mind. All extra charges and the deposit are mentioned in 'Things to note' section of hostelworld page. Towels and lockers are not included so travelers don't pay for the things they don't actually need.

34%

I booked a 2 beds in 6 female dorm for a good value. I was not expecting very good conditions as you imagine however, when we got there...OMG!! The dorm was very smelly, was dirty towels everywhere. The toilet very smelly and dirty shoes and panties drying on the toilet. Staff very rude.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us fully. Our cleaning staff starts as early as 7.30 am and finished at 3.30 pm. We do regular check every hour and also all the reported issues are resolved promptly. We are not able to clean facilities after every guests and also we cannot touch/move items that belong to our guests.

71%

It was exactly what you would expect for a hostel. Comfortable and inexpensive. It would be nice to have better coffee and more healthful choices for breakfast..

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is well located, just behind Hyde Park, and near two underground stations. Member of staff are great and helpfull, except for one lady that couldn't do maths and tried to blame my friend and I for her mistake on spliting our bill. There's a small commom area at entrance hall that's nice and we can keep chatting around there until late. All dorms are en-suite, what is very good. Good experience.


91%

Great place to stay. Would definatly recommend.


57%

rooms were dirty and the male staff member on the thursday night was very rude and unhelpful the restoff the staff were great

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you got the impression that one of our staff members was unpleasant. We take our guest feedback very seriously. Though our housekeeping times are between 06:30 am- 23:00. beside of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. SCI Staff

57%

The night staff were very friendly, although upon arrival at 11pm the check in staff member was very rude and acting as though it was an inconvenience for her to do her job. Facilities were basic, but you get what you pay for. I felt the bedroom and bed could be cleaner. Duvet was dirty, and seems as though they don't clean them very often. Location was definitely perfect though, surrounding area is beautiful.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the good words and we will look into our comments about our staff and cleaning. SCI Staff

86%

Good place to stay in London


71%

The reception and it’s service is very good and informative. You feel welcome. The rooms are small and very well planned. The beds and sheets are nice. The TV and channels are ok. The temperature is ok. The bathroom looks nice, but the SHOWER doesn't work. No waterpressure!!! The sink is ok but there are no hangers on the wall. The lobby is pornred. But the service and breakfast are perfect.


57%

Pretty average place to be honest. If you have no other options then sure but if you can just avoid it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. SCI Team

80%

we've been in a double room - great value for money


71%

This hostel adopts the concept of low-cost airlines: A low base price but extras need to be paid extra, this includes luggage lockers, luggage storage, and recommended full english breakfast at neighbours place (each of the items for 2 to 5 pounds). Maps are free. The room is equiped with 3floor beds, independent if 6 or 8 bed dorms, and a shower/rest room. Not always an advantage versus shared facilities. If budget is the figure of merit this is the place to go. But you will feel it sometimes.


77%

Difficult as a solo traveller as not an overly social hostel. Lacking in cooking facilities (no kitchen, only a microwave).

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(2029 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback