X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3094 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Für ein paar Tage absolut ok :-)

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your few days in our hostel and we hope to see you again!

86%

Llegamos al hostel bien entrada la noche, aunque no hubo problema ya que hay personal en recepción 24 horas. El chico que nos atendió fue amabilísimo y nos facilitó mucho el check-in, ya que íbamos con niños que estaban agotados; eso sí, las camas nos las hicimos nosotros. Las habitaciones no están nada mal para ser un hostel: todo bastante limpio y un aseo por cada habitación. El desayuno es estilo norcoreano: pan y café rebajado, pero esto en Londres es desayuno habitual.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our reception is open 24 hours so for the guests convenience, you are able to check in at any time! We are glad you enjoyed the check in process and that the rooms were very comfortable for you! We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

69%

+ :Localización y baño en la habitación - : La WIFI gratis no funcionaba, desayuno deficiente (dista de ser un desayuno continental medio), y las recepcionistas son poco simpáticas

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostels and the ensuite facilites found in each of our rooms. We provide free wifi in our common areas for the guests convenience and paid wifi (£1 for 24 hours). We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We hope to see you again

51%

Felt like we paid money to stay in a prison.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. However we have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

89%

El hostal muy bien... su ubicación es buena, pero no la mejor, el personal muy bien, muy atentos... El único problema fue que mi habitación tenía ventana a la calle, y era una calle muy ruidosa

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. With our central location, it is difficult to mute the street noise which is an issue all over London. We hope this didn't affect your stay too much and hope you had a wonderful time in London!

91%

Todo muy bien!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your positive feedback! We hope to see you again at Smartbackpackers!

71%

Very basic hostel, not bad for a few nights if your on a budget!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks you for your kind feedback! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London! We hope you enjoyed the complementary all-you-can-eat breakfast and free wifi available in common areas! We hope to see you again very soon!

54%

Staff were rude and not helpful, I was not aware at the time of booking that I would have to pay for wifi and locker space. The price is suitable for the location, but not for the service and facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found our staff rude, we invest alot of time into the training our staff in customer service and care. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and in turn they don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We do provide free wifi in common areas!

60%

I checked the room and it was disgusting and dirty, I was absolutely appalled by its condition. After they cleaned it it seem a bit more livable. But for the price I guess you cant really complain, however my roommate broke the faucet and they didn't give us a new room or apologize for the inconvenience. Don't ever pay more than 15 pounds for this place or more than 25 pounds on a saturday night. Everything was an up charge and a ridiculous one at that. I would def recommend another hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we allow guest to check in as early as 11am for their convenience however this is also the same time our cleaning team start to remake the rooms in the hostel. We are glad that upon your return the room was to yours and our standard. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

63%

THE 9 BED BEDROOM IS VERY LITTLE, HOT, JUST A LITTLE PASSAGE FOR THE AIR, IT SMELLS OF SWEAT. THE BOYS AT THE RECEPTION WERE VERY KIND THE DINING ROOM WAS A MESS, LIKE A PIG PEDDOCK, FOOD AND DISHES EVERY WHERE, HOT, BLEAH!!! BREAKFAST HAS TO BE A RELAXING MOMENT.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! We are really happy that you enjoy the manner of our staff! We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times of the shared toilets to maintain good cleaning quality. We hope to see you again!

74%

Room plain but clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a bath which is a bonus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

43%

Good Location. The 6 bed dorms are quite small, the toilet inside is not very clean.They don't rent towels, you have to buy them. The beds are too close, claustrophobic feeling inside. Expensive choice for what they offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback! As you mentioned, we are situated in a very centrl location by two major tube stations; Bayswater (district & circle line) and Queensway (central line). We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

86%

Convenient location, friendly staff. The bathroom needs repair.


97%

The place is worth your money. Very clean. And the staff is quite responsive.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the manner of the staff and the cleanliness of the hostel. We are glad you believe our hostel is worth the money and we really hope to see you again!

49%

It is not located in an appropriate place for visitors because it is far from important touristic attractions in London. It takes even 20 minutes from hostel to Oxford Street so i did not like walking too much between Picadilly Circus, Trafalgar , Big Ben and Hostel. In addition to this , I did not have bedding pack at the first night of stay and i did not know which bed was reserved for me. I spent 2 days and since everybody could sleep any bed he likes , When i came to hostel for the second

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. London is amoungst the largest citiest in the world and all of our hostels are brilliantly located right in prime central London. Our reception team are available 24 hours which is great for any problems you have, such as no sheets. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation!

51%

Receptionists are friendly. But the Room is quite small. And the equipments are poor inside. There are just 4 wall-sockets in a 6 beds room, and two of these are even hide by the bedstead! It was not reasonable to be asking to return the hairdryer which I paid the deposit in 2hrs, because after the shower, putting on the night wearing, I had to go down the stairs and waited for the desk to return the hairdryer. It will be more friendly when I check out with returning the hairdryer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. Hostels are a shared environment, therefore these extra special facilities are limited and shared between our fabulous guests and for this reason we have a time limit to ensure everyone who would like to use the facilites are able to! Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care, we are glad you had a positive experience! We hope to see you again at Smartbackpackers

63%

Waited at reception for 40 minutes one time. i don't even know what to say about that. one of the girls at reception was new and all, but come on...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to provide vaulable feedback. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass on this issue to the Hostel Manager to look into! We hope to see you again at SmartBackpackers to see the improvements!

86%

Bonne auberge il est juste dommage que l'espace dans la chambre, dans celle ou l'on était toujours, soit très restreint Le quartier est très rassurant , très posh donc en tant que filles on s'est senties très a l'aise ! Métro a 5min a pied

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! As you mentioned, we are situated very close to two major tube stations; Bayswater (district/circle line) and Queensway (central line). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations.We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budgets!

100%

Nice hostel with excellent, helpful staff. Recommendable! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for providing your valuable feedback! We are glad to hear our reception team were able to help you and glad to see positive experiences coming from our staff continually receiving training on customer service and care! We hope to see you again at Smartbackpackers!

46%

I stayed at this hostel for three days and had a really bad time. The room was never properly cleaned, the staff was rude and they made me pay extra to get a small locker in the room and expected me to just leave the rest of my luggage unguarded in the room. There was a high school staying at the hostel as well and there was a lot of noise (door slamming, shouting, running) which the staff did nothing about, both late at night and early morning. Very overpriced for what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for providing your valuable feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. Thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(101 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback