X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3126 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Auberge tres bien situee, propre. Wifi gratuit. Petit dejeuner compris dans le prix, simple mais suffisant. Prix vraiment attractif par rapport aux services et a l'emplacement. Quartier calme. Seul petit bemol : au 21eme siecle, j'estime que les fenetres des chambres puissent avoir un double vitrage pour diminuer le bruit de la rue. Je recommande vivement et y retournerai sans aucune hesitation !


66%

Alles kostet extra.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include towels or lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and this way they don’t end up paying for services they do not need.

77%

The hostel is good for the money you pay. Location is ok, next to Notting Hill but a bit far from the centre. Room is nice but a bit dirty. Bathroom needs some cleaning. Definitely not enough sockets in the room so it's a fight to charge your stuff. The linen smells a bit. Wifi works fine in the bedroom. Very poor breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you believed your stay was value for your money. Our hostel is located in central London, with close links to public transport! Our wonderful cleaning staff would all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygienic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly! We are working on increasing the number of power sockets in each room! It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy the free basic breakfast we provide.

63%

Terrible dorm rooms, bunk beds are 3 beds high and dangerous, no toilet paper in the bathrooms, depressing common area in the basement. The only redeeming quality was the staff, who very nicely changed our rooms without charge when I fell off the third bunk ladder due to loose screws. If you planning to stay GET A 4 BED DORM. Would not stay here again unless it was a last resort. Make sure you book ahead in London if you want decent accommodation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the 4 bed dormitory and the manner of our staff. We apologize if you weren't satisfied with your stay, if you please could contact us at customercare@smartbackpackers.com to provide further information on what you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services.

80%

Good location and friendly staff. I ve been at several hostels in London but this had the most basic breakfest ever. But still a realtively value for money ratio overall.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and found it to be good value for your money! We are pleased to hear you liked the location and the manner of our staff. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests!

77%

Frühstück nur Toast und eine Marmelade

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests! We hope to see you again!

91%

Hotel pas très cher, bien placé, propre. Je conseille!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear you would recommend our hostel. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London and it pleases us to hear you found your stay inexpensive and good value for money. We hope to see you again!

91%

Very friendly staff. The location is great. Opposite Kensington Gardens with lots of nice restaurants around. Although it could get a little loud at night on the street in front of the hotel. But I think that has to be expected if there are lots of students in the hostel ;) Overall I enjoyed my stay and can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel and the friendly manner of our staff. We apologize for the excessive street noise. In our hostel, we have set hours in which noise restrictions have been set to minimalize this but we appreciate your understanding! We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

69%

A lounge would be nice. The rooms were too warm and a bit crowded. The breakfast is very simple, would not re recommend to choose the hotel for this reason. Staff was really nice though and the location is good :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostel and the friendly manner of our staff! We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows to remove the restriction of window openings. We hope you come back and see the difference this will make!

89%

Nous avons passé un bon séjour de deux nuits. Bon accueil et bon emplacement.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hostel and that you found our hostel welcoming! We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

57%

Muito sujo! Péssimos banheiros e chuveiros. Não há limpeza nem nos quartos, nem nos banheiros.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times of the shared toilets to maintain good cleaning quality. In addition to this, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. Thank you for staying with Smart Backpackers!

94%

The hostel was really close to the Underground and had everything we needed. The breakfast in the morning is very basic but included - very convenient to have and you can always upgrade for a (slightly) nicer breakfast. The bar inside the hostel is really cheap! The room was clean and the lockers were extra but secure. Downsides: The room had only two outlets and no internet in the rooms unless you pay for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary breakfast provided in our hostel. We are pleased you had fun at the bar and that the room was clean for your stay! We are looking into ways to upgrade our rooms so each guest has their own personal power socket and while internet may cost you a small fee of £1 for 24 hours in your room, we also offer fee Wi-Fi in our common areas! We hope to see you again!

60%

We though that the room in which we stayed was well maintained, albeit basic. There were no instructions on how to use the lockers provided, which would have been useful. Additionally, some of the plastic note holders in which we were supposed to place our bed reservations slips had been removed, meaning that one night we returned to find one of our beds had been done. Also, there was no way near enough plugs for six people.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback. For future reference, our lockers are available for purchase for £1.50 per night at the reception desk, they are linked to your personal security key card! Our reception is open 24 hours so any problems such as no plastic wallet for your bed tags could be resolved instantly! We are currently looking into ways to include more power sockets in our rooms and hopefully very soon we will see each guest with their own personal power socket! We hope to see you again!

86%

The overall is good, the staff are very friendly and helpfull in general and the athmosphere is amazing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The only things that I wish they could have are: > A hair dryer to hire; > Plugs and individual lights on the beds (which would be good for Reading); > A kitchen with cooking facilities for the hosts.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We are glad you enjoyed the comfort and atmosphere of our hostel! We are also pleased you were happy with the manner of the staff and the complimentary breakfast! We thank you for your constructive feedback and ideas. In reception, we do already have hair dryers for our guests to borrow. We are also looking at ways to implement personal power plugs for our guests’ convenience. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

80%

En general la estadia fue muy buena, en realidad solo lo utilicé para dormir. Está muy bien ubicado, la recepcionista habla muy buen españo y ayuda bastante. La limpieza bastante bien, las camas resultan confortables (pero si sos un poco grande de talla o peso, podria resultar incomodo). Mi unica recomendación es mejorar la estabilidad del wifi, no es buena la conexión.

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the cleanliness of our hostel! Most of our reception staff are bi-lingual and this helps with most language barriers! It pleases us to hear you found your bed comfortable and liked the location of our hostel. We will pass your comments about our Wi-Fi onto our IT company to look into. We hope to see you again!

57%

We stayed in a private room; the beds are very small, non comfortable and very noisy as they are made by metal. The bathroom was not really clean. And I found bad the idea that they want to sell you towels instead of leaving a deposit and borrow them as other hostels. The breakfast included is really poor and it is too much to want to charge you three pounds only to have the right to eat ham and cheese

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Für ein paar Tage absolut ok :-)

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your few days in our hostel and we hope to see you again!

74%

Tutto sommato va bene pero magari bisogna intervenire sui bagni almeno noi avevamo camera ptivata ma la doccoa/vasca lasciava a desiderare, sala colazione essendo troppo piccola per l'ostello abbiamo dovuto farla fuori a pagamento Pero la posizione eccellente comunque lo consiglierei ad amici

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We are proud our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London and we will continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation.

86%

Llegamos al hostel bien entrada la noche, aunque no hubo problema ya que hay personal en recepción 24 horas. El chico que nos atendió fue amabilísimo y nos facilitó mucho el check-in, ya que íbamos con niños que estaban agotados; eso sí, las camas nos las hicimos nosotros. Las habitaciones no están nada mal para ser un hostel: todo bastante limpio y un aseo por cada habitación. El desayuno es estilo norcoreano: pan y café rebajado, pero esto en Londres es desayuno habitual.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our reception is open 24 hours so for the guests convenience, you are able to check in at any time! We are glad you enjoyed the check in process and that the rooms were very comfortable for you! We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

69%

+ :Localización y baño en la habitación - : La WIFI gratis no funcionaba, desayuno deficiente (dista de ser un desayuno continental medio), y las recepcionistas son poco simpáticas

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hostels and the ensuite facilites found in each of our rooms. We provide free wifi in our common areas for the guests convenience and paid wifi (£1 for 24 hours). We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We hope to see you again

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(105 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback