X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3207 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Clean and tidy. However, people next door were so annoying.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Other than the location the best thing about this hostel is the staff. Very friendly and helpful both when checking in and checking out early the next day. Bunks could be a little longer though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our convenient and central locations. Our Team are all highly trained and are there purely for the added comfort and security of our guests. They are available 24/7 and can manage any issues promptly and efficiently. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft 10 which is taller than the average; however, we are currently looking in to extending this for the comfort of our valued guests.

71%

Un poco pequeño pero recomendable si lo que se quiere es estar todo el dia fuera para visitar la ciudad. Cuidado con el deposito de garantia. Piden al llegar 10 libras por cabeza como garantia que hay que pagar si o si. El desayuno es sencillo pero esta bien. Ademas, dos de las responsables del hotel hablaban español y eso nos ayudo mucho. Nos respondieron a todas las preguntas que les hicimos y siempre fueron muy amables con nosotros.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist you. The charges/deposit would have been explained to you when making the booking. We are trying to make the accommodation charges simple and affordable to our guests. Should you choose to pay with either a debit or credit card then these charges are imposed by our bank. The £10 deposit is refundable to you on check out. We hope to see you soon. Shpv Team.

94%

Really friendly welcoming hostel, very secure with lockable safe in rooms.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist you. The charges/deposit would have been told you when making the booking. We are trying to make the accommodation charges simple and affordable for our guests. Should you choose to pay with a debit/credit card then these charges are imposed by our bank. The £10 deposit is refundable to you on check out. We hope to see you again soon. Shpv Team.

57%

Price is quite high in my opinion, but that might just be London. There is too little space in the dorms or too many beds.. The beds are rather small and the air in the dorm I stayed in was very bad. A system to get fresh air in is definitely needed. Breakfast (standard) was just toast, butter and jam plus tea and coffee. Also I had to pay extra for a locker and also sheets I think. Maybe all that is common for London (high price, low value), but I had hoped for more.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

La limpieza de camas, sabanas y edredones era muy deficiente. Aunque el personal de recepción era muy agradable, el del desayuno no. El wifi no siempre funcionaba y que en las habitaciones sea de pago no me parece correcto.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved tha place it really seems like an Hotel. AWESOME!!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for rating the hostel so high. Please like our Facebook page to receive the very latest news, offers and photos. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers, we hope tp see you again soon.

89%

It's very nice, clean, quie place. Stayed in private room. TV, clean shower and bathroom. I have seen 4dorm too, nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page, for the latest news, photos and offers. We hope to see you again soon!

60%

Las toallas las cobran a 5 euros a pesar de poner que son gratis. Las cocineras son muy desagradables y no te calientan un vaso de leche.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need.

51%

you can use wifi only common are it's stupid rule and the breakfeast is different between private room customers and shared room custemers also this stupid rule

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for your feedback. We are currently adding routers in the upper floors to offer Wi-Fi access in the upper floors. Slow internet only occurs when several guests are downloading incredibly large files such as high resolution images (and even films) at the same time. It's very tricky to go around this regardless of how many gadgets we install.

94%

Excellent value for money given the location (and for an ensuite room). Friendly staff and very good breakfast! Keep it up!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review, We are glad you chose to stay with us when you were in London! Hope to see you back sometime soon.

94%

A kitchen would be good

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Pequeno almoço muito simples. Incluindo pão de forma normal e integral. Doce e manteiga. Cereais, leite, chá e café. Pior café que já tomei na minha vida. Limpeza razoavel. Boas instalações, apesar de não termos acesso ao elevador nem a wifi nos quartos. Localização excelente, com o metro perto. Quartos novos mas com pouco espaço,

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent value for money given the location (and for an ensuite room). Friendly staff and very good breakfast! Keep it up! Hi, Thank you for your review, We are glad you chose to stay with us when you were in London! Hope to see you back sometime soon.

60%

Room was too small to be a 9 bed dorm, no kitchen, mediocre breakfast, free wifi only in common areas, good hot water, nice staff at reception. Not horrible, but not the best hostel I've stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location.

46%

I don't recommend this hostel. I've been a lot of hostel and this one is the first that I really didn't like. They don't have wi-fi at bedrooms, you have to pay for that, I paid for it but even paying the internet is extremely bad. They charge for everything, if you need to use the lock, you have to pay as well. The worst thing is the bedroom, If you really need to go to this hostel, don't go to the bedroom 308 and 309. They are really narrow and tiny. These bedrooms should be in the max 2 peopl


66%

too crowed in the nine people room.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Ottima esperienza a capodanno!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on Facebook. You are welcome back anytime!

69%

Good location, next to Hyde Park and Queensway tube station. Staff is o.k. Unfortunately, we - me and my friend - stayed with annoying people in our room (three french guys), but nothing really bad related to the hostel itselfs. The bathroom wasn't really clean (bathtub was a bit dirty) and beds made lot of noise during the night. Furthermore, the kitchen is poorly equipped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We have signs displayed throughout our hostel informing guests of our quiet hours (between 10pm and 6am). Our night staff do try their hardest to ensure everyone gets a good night sleep by asking guests to adhere to these quiet hours. Our wonderful cleaning staff work all day long to ensure the hostel is clean and hygenic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly!

77%

super verbindung zu underground und buss, sauberes bad, sauberes bett, nette mitarbeiter... für ein paar tage wirklich zu empfehlen

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our wonderful cleaning staff work tirelessly to ensure the hostel is kept clean and hygenic! Rooms are cleaned daily and public bathrooms are cleaned hourly. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

77%

I had a good stay in this hostel. The breakfast is included and u can repeat it. I met a lot of people there. The beds are small so if u r tall is a little uncomfortable but in general is a good hostel. There are a blond guy and one spanish girl in the reception who helped us a lot....thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your Smart Backpacker experience after your recent stay. We offer an-all-you-can-eat basic breakfast which includes toast, cereal, tea and coffee. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft 10 which is taller than the average; however we are currently looking at extending this for the comfort of our guests!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback