X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3230 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Everything yery satisfactory - good location, good price, friendly staff. Reccomendable!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Me parece inaceptable que cobren por las taquillas, nunca lo había visto en ningún otro Hostel. Que tengas que dar dinero por dejar tu maleta unas horas es inaceptable. No volveré.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel is nicely located, 5mn walk from Lancaster gate undeground station. The rooms are clean and we were lucky not to be with noisy roommates (6-bed mixed dorm). However, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast; only bread & butter, some range of cereals but no fruit, no hot milk, no chocolate powder or yoghurt. The orange juice is disgusting - actually it is just water with added powder. Improvements could be made on breakfast, even if we should not expect a lot with a room at that price.

  • 7th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We offer an-all-you-can-eat basic breakfast, it includes toast, cereals, teas and coffees. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. We regret our breakfast service was not to your satisfaction on this occasion. We continuously monitor our performance to improve our standards of service. We hope if you come back you will notice the positive improvements we have made.

63%

Someone knocked at our doors at 6:30am. We was scared, but the guy of the reception help us quickly.


83%

Good location and facilities but limited plug sockets. Good job i brought an extention lead with me!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable review. We are actively working on increasing the number of power sockets in every room to supply enough service to everyone. We hope if you come back you will see the positive improvements we have made. We hope to see you again.

69%

Pretty good, close to Hyde park, if your over 6ft the beds are too short, in room wifi is not so great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft 10 which is taller than the average; however, we are currently looking in to extending this for the added comfort of our guests. We hope if you decide to come back you will notice the improvements we have made.

83%

Clean and tidy. However, people next door were so annoying.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, First of all, thanks for choosing Smart Hyde Park View while you were in London. We are sorry to hear you couldn't sleep well. We do hourly security checks during the night to keep the hostel quiet. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you and we hope to see you soon!

63%

Safe deposit box not working, shower water so slow and staff impolite its the bad from our opinion! But the point of the structure is good and the value for money is decent! At the end a good compromise.

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. Our maintenance staff starts at 08:00 am and finish at 17:00. For future reference any maintenance issues can be reported to receptionists by guests, once received they will be dealt with promptly.

74%

Mi estadía en general fue buena. Buena atención del personal y la habitación, agradable. Como inconveniente, creo que los lockers debieran ser diferentes. Son una especie de "cajones" debajo de las camas, y se debe pagar para acceder a ellos, que te habilitan la tarjeta llave de la habitación para el uso de los mismos. Además de significar un gasto adicional, son bastante ruidosos. El baño era lindo, y la limpieza me pareció normal. bien. El desayuno, no es muy variado pero es abundante.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travelers from a very good central location. The prices we offer do not include locker and towel charges, as most of our customers do not wish to use them, therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need.

89%

Other than the location the best thing about this hostel is the staff. Very friendly and helpful both when checking in and checking out early the next day. Bunks could be a little longer though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our convenient and central locations. Our Team are all highly trained and are there purely for the added comfort and security of our guests. They are available 24/7 and can manage any issues promptly and efficiently. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft 10 which is taller than the average; however, we are currently looking in to extending this for the comfort of our valued guests.

80%

Good hostel, rich breakfast if you are in a double bed room, clean bathrooms. Good location in the Zone 1 of London. The price is not so cheap because it is London, but it is reasonable. the wifi only works in the common areas and I had a problem there, because I had only two notes of £50 with me, and they said these 'old notes' would not be accepted. So I had to pay by card. My luck was because my English bank was not too far away, and I went there to change these notes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As for the £50 old notes, retailers and some banks can refuse to accept old £50 notes, due that they no longer have legal tender status. We apologize for any inconvenience it might have caused you. Hope to see you again!

100%

Enjoyed my stay for a week, great place, great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like or Facebook page to check our latest news, offers and photos. You are welcome back anytime!

71%

Un poco pequeño pero recomendable si lo que se quiere es estar todo el dia fuera para visitar la ciudad. Cuidado con el deposito de garantia. Piden al llegar 10 libras por cabeza como garantia que hay que pagar si o si. El desayuno es sencillo pero esta bien. Ademas, dos de las responsables del hotel hablaban español y eso nos ayudo mucho. Nos respondieron a todas las preguntas que les hicimos y siempre fueron muy amables con nosotros.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist you. The charges/deposit would have been explained to you when making the booking. We are trying to make the accommodation charges simple and affordable to our guests. Should you choose to pay with either a debit or credit card then these charges are imposed by our bank. The £10 deposit is refundable to you on check out. We hope to see you soon. Shpv Team.

86%

Très bon séjour , chambre propre, accueil souriant, à deux pas de hyde park et du beau notting hill, très bien desservi par les bus. Je recommande cette auberge!

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! :) We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon!

94%

Really friendly welcoming hostel, very secure with lockable safe in rooms.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist you. The charges/deposit would have been told you when making the booking. We are trying to make the accommodation charges simple and affordable for our guests. Should you choose to pay with a debit/credit card then these charges are imposed by our bank. The £10 deposit is refundable to you on check out. We hope to see you again soon. Shpv Team.

57%

Price is quite high in my opinion, but that might just be London. There is too little space in the dorms or too many beds.. The beds are rather small and the air in the dorm I stayed in was very bad. A system to get fresh air in is definitely needed. Breakfast (standard) was just toast, butter and jam plus tea and coffee. Also I had to pay extra for a locker and also sheets I think. Maybe all that is common for London (high price, low value), but I had hoped for more.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We offer cheap accommodation for low budget travelers for very good locations. The prices we offer do not include lockers and towel charges. Most of our customers do not need to use them therefore, they do not end up paying extra for things they do not need. The charges/deposit would have been explained when you made the booking. We are installing window fans in every room to maintain good ventilation. Please come back and see our positive improvements soon.

63%

La limpieza de camas, sabanas y edredones era muy deficiente. Aunque el personal de recepción era muy agradable, el del desayuno no. El wifi no siempre funcionaba y que en las habitaciones sea de pago no me parece correcto.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback very seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/cleaning staff start as early as 7.00 and finish at 15.30. We do regular checks every hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, any cleaning issues that are reported to receptionists by guests, will be dealt with promptly.

100%

I loved tha place it really seems like an Hotel. AWESOME!!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for rating the hostel so high. Please like our Facebook page to receive the very latest news, offers and photos. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Backpackers, we hope tp see you again soon.

89%

It's very nice, clean, quie place. Stayed in private room. TV, clean shower and bathroom. I have seen 4dorm too, nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page, for the latest news, photos and offers. We hope to see you again soon!

60%

Las toallas las cobran a 5 euros a pesar de poner que son gratis. Las cocineras son muy desagradables y no te calientan un vaso de leche.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(77 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback