X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Hyde Park View Reviews

16 Leinster Terrace W2 3EU?, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
3019 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Dorm Room is really steamy and hot really small room with really many people


69%

I don't understand why they put 6 people in such a small room with only one window (that does not even open half way). Don't go there in summer, it's too hot and not at all clean. It is obviously an experience I don't want to repeat again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Les points positifs : un personnel agréable et à l'écoute des clients et ceci à toute heure du jour où de la nuit, un salon bien aménagé et un emplacement près des lignes de bus et de métro. Points négatifs : le dortoir de 6 personnes ressemble plus à une cage à lapin avec deux lits superposés à trois étage dans 10m², et la fenêtre bloquée volontairement pour qu'on ne puisse pas l'ouvrir du coup on se retrouve avec une chaleur insupportable du matin au soir, même la nuit !

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. London has been unusually hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for every room. We really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

57%

The location is very good, very close to Hyde Park and around 5 min walk from Underground Stations. The breakfast is included, what is good also. The room I stayed (6 bed dorm) was too small (two 3 decks beds and a tiny circulation), and it was super hot at night. The room was only cleaned after we arrived. Lockers inside the room has to be rented (I've never seen this before) and you have to pay for the luggage room as well. Wifi only at the common areas (you has to pay for wifi in the room).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. London has been unusually hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for every room. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the luggage room. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

69%

Nous avons dormi dans un dortoir à 6, les lits sont 3 par 3, Les uns sur les autres, il faisait extrêmement chaud, ce n'était vraiment pas agréable. Il n'y avait pas assez de taies d'oreiller donc on a du les enrouler dans des draps. Il y a pas mal de suppléments, ce qui n'est pas précisé lors de la réservation (1£ de plus pour le wifi dans la chambre, 3£ de plus pour upgrader le petit déjeuner - même si celui basique est bon...). Je n'y retournerai plus!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. London has been unusually hot lately and we are looking at improving the ventilation for every room. So you know for next time, we have wi-fi available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE in the common rooms. Thanks again

71%

The hotel component is an ex-hotel that has private rooms for a reasonable London price. Location is pretty good close to both Bayswater and Queensway tube's and a high street which has plenty of tasty Asian restaurants. The mattress in my private room was way too thin and to be perfectly honest not acceptable given the cost of the room - they've cut one corner too many with the dimestore super-discount mattress, you've been warned. Everything else is fine, the mattress is not.


74%

10am check out is far too early. Got fined for checking out at 11am... Otherwise a good hostel, clean and safe. Right beside Hyde Park.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel is in a quiet street near Hyde Park and Queensway tube station. Not extremely central, but still pretty good location. Stayed in a Double Ensuite; room had good size and was clean. Two issues: 1) the toilet flush pressure was very low and we had to flush many times, which was really incovenient , 2) the room was noisy, and there was a refurbishment on the room nextdoor at 8am. Overall, has a good value for money for budget travellers, considering London is such an expensive city.


37%

The room was tiny and cramped - possibly could have been made better by less beds in the room. Building itself was run down and dirty. Staff extremely unhelpful and uninformative. They also charged for everything possible. Overall, was not impressed.


71%

Stayed one night as was going to a concert. Not somewhere I would usually stay but wanted just a hotel that me & my grown children could sleep in for a few hrs. location is fab, staff are very helpful with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! We really enjoy our job so it's great to hear that you had a good time with us! Come back any time. We hope to see you soon!

34%

Mau atendimento, funcionários mentirosos e procedimento de cancelamento que não respeita a política de cancelamento estabelecida na reserva.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. As for the cancellations, we have a strict 24h cancellation policy (the 24 hours are counted backwards from the Check-in time 11:00 am).

51%

Extremely small rooms, no place to store luggage. By far the smallest rooms in a hostel Ive ever stayed in, and no common areas for guests to socialise

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Le petit déjeuné est ridicule. On paie pour l'avoir et on doit donner un supplément pour du jus d'orange!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires. Notre objectif est de fournir à nos clients un hébergement pas cher et abordable et à des endroits uniques. Nous offrons également à nos clients un petit déjeuner continental simple et gratuit. SHPV Team

86%

La stanza era pulita. Ottima posizione. Colazione inclusa e personale gentile. Ci ritornerei!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grazie per il commento. Siamo contenti che la tua permanenza con noi sia stata piacevole. Ora è possibile essere aggiornati sulle nostre offerte, news ed immagini su Facebook. SHPV Team

60%

The room was extremely hot and very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of installing window fans in every room to improve ventilation.

80%

Perfect location! Clean rooms. The only bad thing was the lack of air condition in the rooms.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your review rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on face book. SHPV Team

71%

I think that every hotel's room need an air conditioning.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of installing window fans in every room to improve ventilation.

83%

All-round good place, nice and helpful staff.


97%

Super auberge, emplacement parfait! Personnel sympathique et toujours ouvert pour répondre à nos questions et nous aider! Contente d'avoir trouver cet endroit et j'y reviendrai sans hésitation! Merci!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. We would love for you to come back. Many thanks and hopefully see you soon.

34%

The stuff are not very friendly nor helpful at all :( besides, it's the only hostel out of the many ones where we've stayed in the UK that doesn't offer any free coffee and tea to the residents at all. Breakfast very poor quality. An additional piece of bacon will cost 3 pounds which is incredible. neither my friend and I were happy about the experience of staying there.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. You must have missed the FREE tea and coffee at breakfast. Any other time though, those drinks (and others) are available at heavily discounted prices in the bar area. Please if you come back and find that you are unsure of where something is, see our reception team who will be happy to help.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(89 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback