X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

28 Rue de Dunkerque, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1342 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The staff of the hostel was very friendly and helpful with us. We arrived in the hostel at 7:30 am and they found us an available room through an earlier check-in. It was the first time that happened it in all my trips around Europe. Thank you so much. We were really tired. The room and toilet were clean and organized. The beds are comfortable and the sheets clean. I just have to add advice: there should be more control over the cleanliness of the kitchen dishes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share. We are happy to do anything in our power to make our guests happy... early check in, free up grade you name it if we can do it we will. As far as the dishes are concerned, guests are supposed to do their own dishes but we will be more careful in the future and make sure it is done. Thank you for your input and helping us improve. Looking forward to seeing you again!

100%

Considering I was the only girl in a dorm with boys the toilet and bath were clean. The stuff was nice , ready to help and obviously know paris so know how to help. Kind, sweet , and for France...good customer service...close to the Gare , next to a mini super market , and restos....I'm DEFINATELY coming back here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks you so much for your awesome review!!!! Such great feedback puts a smile on our faces and keeps us going! I know the french are not famous for their friendliness (especially parisians) but we hope to make every guest who pushes the door to the Smartplace feel welcomed and at home. We will be happy to have you again any time you're back in Paris. Until next time, safe travels!

77%

Our overall stay at this place was good. However there are some things that were annoying. First, there was no shower curtain in the bathroom. It's such a simple thing to add, I have no idea why they don't. It makes the floor wet and gross too. Also, their wifi is terrible. Like we might as well not have it if it's going to be that bad. Location is good next to the train station but it's in a kind of gross part of town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you may have read in other responses, we're in the process of renovating our last 4 bathrooms which have a bath and no curtains. As far as the Wifi you need to let us know while you are here if you are having problems. Most of our guests are very satisfied with the WFiI and if it's a little slow all we have to do is re boot the system. Thanks again for sharing, happy and safe travels!

74%

Great staff, very helpful. The only bad remark is that the bathroom did not have a shower curtain, so when someone showered everything got wet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to share your experience and helping us improve. We are in the process of renovating the last 4 bathrooms we have which have a tub and no shower curtains. Please come back in a couple of months so you can test our brand new bathrooms. Until we see you again, safe travels!

100%

The guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful:)

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Merci beaucoup for this 5-star review. We would like to thank you for taking time sharing your experience. We do our best to welcome the guests the best possible way. Feel free to come back again and visit the Montmartre District again. Smartplace Paris wishes you safe travels and a happy new year !

100%

I love this place! I always come back for the awesome ppl who run it.


74%

Nice location, hot water, near metro. It has a hair dryer, nice staff, good heater.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time sharing your experience at Smartplace Paris. We are glad that you enjoyed the Gare du Nord metro connections and the Montmartre district. It means a lot to us that you mention the kind character of the staff as we do our best to welcome our guests and make them feel just like at home. We hope to see you again at Smartplace Paris on your next trip to Paris and in the meantime we wish you fun travelling and a happy new year!

91%

I can't imagine why there's somebody rate down this hostel. Simply an oasis in Paris! Hot shower and wifi are fabulous. Great value. Attrative colour theme for young travellers! Those who get used to live in apartments won't consider it small. Bring your own padlock definitely help to boost security!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the warm review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the hostel's facilities. The fact that you had the feeling of great value means a lot to us and we hope to see you again at Smartplace Paris to discover the many streets of Montmartre District. Travel safe and happy holidays!

100%

Everything was great! Friendly staff, clean room, clean toilet, comfy bed and pillow, lockers in the room, great location (close to gare du nord)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A million thanks for your 5-star review. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hostel near Gare du Nord and the Moulin rouge. The house cleaners and the staff do their best to welcome you and keep the hostel clean the best possible way. We hope to see you very soon at Smartplace Paris. In the meantime we wish you safe travels and happy holidays!!!

54%

The beds were really bad, they were very old, unstable and noisy. The mattresses were smaller than usual. The top beds didn't have the anti-fall bar (at least in my room 24). The lightning in the hostel was very poor. The kitchen was really small. There was humidity stains in the bathroom. The staff was very nice and helpful but I wouldn't recommend this hostel because of the facilities and beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to expectations. We encourage our guests to let us know about any problems they may have right away so that we can do something straight away (it's only a matter of tightening a few screws to stop the bed from creaking). As far as our mattresses they are standard issue so they should be the same size as every other hostel. Size is a problem in Paris there just isn't a lot of it. Our kitchen may be small but it is accessible 24/7.Thanks for sharing

83%

The staff is helpful to assist me in extending my stay and contacting thalys when there is a strike and all thalys train were cancelled. On the other hand, for room with 4 beds, there are only 2 power plugs, which may not be enough for 4 people. Overall, the stay is very pleasant and it is close to Paris Nord (which have become much safer).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time sharing your saty at Smartplace Paris. We do our best to keep the place secure and security is very important to us. Regarding the room's number we are constantly doing renovations and we will definitely take this into account. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again on your future trips to Paris. Have fun travelling!

69%

The bathroom facilities were very poorly maintained, the shower head in our room was not attached to the wall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. Our bathrooms get a lot of use and because they are in the rooms, wer can not always detect technical problems immediately. We encourage our guests to let us know right away if anything is amiss so that we can act on it immediately. Please think of us for your next trip to Paris, we would be happy to welcome you again so that you can have the true Smartplace experience.

83%

Nice clean hostel, however in the mornings our room smelt like cigarettes and the lights were quite dim. However, only a short walk from Gare du Nord which was really helpful and the staff were quite friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Smartplace. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our best to make everyone feel at home.We are lucky concerning the location, everything is within walking distance or a short metro ride away. Concerning the cigarette smell, this should not happen as we are an entirely non smoking establishment, but we can't control what everybody is doing.We'll take your comment about the lights into consideration. See you soon!

94%

This was a birthday trip planned for two but only I arrived. They were very understandable about the situation. I felt safe in a city I didn't know because at the end of the day I had a safe home away from home to come back to after exploring paris each day. The room was spacious and very clean...Internet was great as all tv channels in French :( Would stay here again.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Smart Place Paris Hostel is definitely a place to keep in mind while looking for a place to stay in Paris. I would say you need to be realist about what you expect and are looking for. If you need a place close to the train station, relatively central and with a good atmosphere, I would definitely recommend you this hostel for a short stay. Only because it's not very spacious and facilities can be improved.


63%

I always expect to pay more for less in Paris hostels. This hostel was no exception. 4 people were squeezed into a room that should have had 2. We had to sleep with our backpacks on our beds, there was nowhere else to put them. When all four people were in the room we had to wait on our beds for the oportunity to move to the bathroom because there wasn't enough floor space. The en suite bathroom was moldy and not ventilated. 20% of staff were lovely and helpful.


74%

We got *upgraded* to another hostel down the street - Vintage Hostel. The upgrade was free breakfast. I guess Smart Place got packed. The lobby of Smart Place looked pretty decent and friendly. Vintage hostel.. not so much. The carpet wouldn't stay down by the door to our room so it was difficult to even open it and even harder to close it. Since we technically didn't book here, we weren't given free towels. At least we had a balcony. Would've rather stayed at Smart Place.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good for what we needed. Great location because it's close to Gare Du Nord but not a lot of atmosphere or 'party vibe' if that's what you're looking for! Very pricey but that's Paris for you. Wasn't anything super special here, but good.


51%

it was really small room. the second floor bed had no guard for safty. there is no soap for washing the hand. during 3 days Iwas there, there is no cleaning for room. the slop pail in bath room was really full and no one pay attention to this.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that your experience at the Smart Place was not up to expectaions. We have daily cleaning but in a shared dorm, you have to allow that other people may have used the room while you were out and after the cleaner was in. It is true that we do not provide soap in dorm rooms but we will take your comment into account. We also have 24 hour reception and we ask our guests to report anything that they think is amiss so that we can act immediately.Thank you for sharing and helping us improve

83%

There are so many beds crammed into each room that there was no room left for my suitcase........but it has a kitchen with a microwave and kettle so that is good for making a cup of tea and simple meal. Also an excellent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time sharing your impressions. Regarding the luggage storage, there is a luggage room downstairs where you can store your luggage before check-in, during your stay, and after your check-out. Every room now has lockers so that you can keep your important belongings in your room. We are glad you enjoyed the kitchen facilities and the location of the hostel near the Sacré Coeur Basilica and the famous Moulin Rouge. Safe travels and see you soon at Smartplace Paris.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback