X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Place Paris Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

28 Rue de Dunkerque, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1298 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The staff is helpful to assist me in extending my stay and contacting thalys when there is a strike and all thalys train were cancelled. On the other hand, for room with 4 beds, there are only 2 power plugs, which may not be enough for 4 people. Overall, the stay is very pleasant and it is close to Paris Nord (which have become much safer).


83%

Nice clean hostel, however in the mornings our room smelt like cigarettes and the lights were quite dim. However, only a short walk from Gare du Nord which was really helpful and the staff were quite friendly.


94%

This was a birthday trip planned for two but only I arrived. They were very understandable about the situation. I felt safe in a city I didn't know because at the end of the day I had a safe home away from home to come back to after exploring paris each day. The room was spacious and very clean...Internet was great as all tv channels in French :( Would stay here again.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Smart Place Paris Hostel is definitely a place to keep in mind while looking for a place to stay in Paris. I would say you need to be realist about what you expect and are looking for. If you need a place close to the train station, relatively central and with a good atmosphere, I would definitely recommend you this hostel for a short stay. Only because it's not very spacious and facilities can be improved.


63%

I always expect to pay more for less in Paris hostels. This hostel was no exception. 4 people were squeezed into a room that should have had 2. We had to sleep with our backpacks on our beds, there was nowhere else to put them. When all four people were in the room we had to wait on our beds for the oportunity to move to the bathroom because there wasn't enough floor space. The en suite bathroom was moldy and not ventilated. 20% of staff were lovely and helpful.


74%

We got *upgraded* to another hostel down the street - Vintage Hostel. The upgrade was free breakfast. I guess Smart Place got packed. The lobby of Smart Place looked pretty decent and friendly. Vintage hostel.. not so much. The carpet wouldn't stay down by the door to our room so it was difficult to even open it and even harder to close it. Since we technically didn't book here, we weren't given free towels. At least we had a balcony. Would've rather stayed at Smart Place.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good for what we needed. Great location because it's close to Gare Du Nord but not a lot of atmosphere or 'party vibe' if that's what you're looking for! Very pricey but that's Paris for you. Wasn't anything super special here, but good.


51%

it was really small room. the second floor bed had no guard for safty. there is no soap for washing the hand. during 3 days Iwas there, there is no cleaning for room. the slop pail in bath room was really full and no one pay attention to this.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that your experience at the Smart Place was not up to expectaions. We have daily cleaning but in a shared dorm, you have to allow that other people may have used the room while you were out and after the cleaner was in. It is true that we do not provide soap in dorm rooms but we will take your comment into account. We also have 24 hour reception and we ask our guests to report anything that they think is amiss so that we can act immediately.Thank you for sharing and helping us improve

83%

There are so many beds crammed into each room that there was no room left for my suitcase........but it has a kitchen with a microwave and kettle so that is good for making a cup of tea and simple meal. Also an excellent location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time sharing your impressions. Regarding the luggage storage, there is a luggage room downstairs where you can store your luggage before check-in, during your stay, and after your check-out. Every room now has lockers so that you can keep your important belongings in your room. We are glad you enjoyed the kitchen facilities and the location of the hostel near the Sacré Coeur Basilica and the famous Moulin Rouge. Safe travels and see you soon at Smartplace Paris.

91%

Good location and friendly staff. Kitchen and communal space together makes the space feels rather tight and compact but you adjust to it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your warm review!! As you will see in Paris, space is always a challenge and hotels tend to be short on spaces but we do our best to keep the kitchen area clean and ordered. It was a real pleasure welcoming you and we hope to see you again soon at Smartplace Paris. Have fun travelling!!

91%

Great central hostel. Close to most attraction. Helpful staff. Good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for sharing your experience. Gare du Nord offers a lot oftrainc onnections to every attraction site and we are glad you enjoyed the location. Staff does its best to help and make everyone feel just like home during their stay in the hostel, it’s our philosophy and we were very happy to welcome you. We hope to see you again at Smartplace Paris on your next trip to Paris.

80%

I stayed in the hostel for 4 nights and I was fine with the accomodation. The location is good. Its fast to get into the city and with Gare-du-Nord you have one of Paris´ big centraö-stations just around the corner. The staff was nice and - more important for me - the cleaning and cleanliness was very good. The price is absolutely ok - remember you are in Paris. The room i had (4 persons with bathroom) was a bit to small. But...dear staff: install a shower-curtain to avoid a flooded bathroom :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would like to thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the staff and the cleanliness of the hostel as every member of the staff does its best to welcome and keep the areas very clean. It also means a lot to us that you have had the feeling of good value for money as we do our best to make you feel just like at home. Regarding the shower curtains, we are constantly doing renovations so this takes a little time. We hope to see you again very soon at Smartplace Paris! Safe travels!!

71%

nice and clean, rooms are big for pairs, Close to train station no much of a vibe though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would like to thank you for your review. We are sorry the atmosphere did not answer your expectations but as you know the current guests play a part in the atmosphere. We organize events every week like French classes, games so that guests have the opportunity to meet each other. We hope to see you again at Smartplace Paris on your next trip to Paris. Safe travels !!!

83%

Good clean place to stay, near the Gard du Nord which is super helpful. Random charge to credit card though.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again for your kind comment about the place and we are glad that you were able to benefit from the good location and the rooms. We hope to see you again very soon at Smartplace Paris. Have fun travelling !!!

100%

Extemelly recomended !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
A million thanks for your 5-star review. We were very happy to welcome you and we are glad you enjoyed everything. Do not hesitate to come back and visit us again at Smartplace Paris, we will be happy to welcome you again. Have fun travelling!

77%

Rooms are very very small. Unfortunately my bag was stolen whilst sitting in the kitchen area, a lot of people where in the hostel at the time so we couldn't see on cctv. Staff where really good about it, let me print out copies of my passport and forms for emergency travel documents, gave me free breakfast, gave me directions to the police station


83%

We couldn't at first find the hostel, because the Rue de Dunkerque split and we didn't know on which road it continued. The Hostel however seems very safe and calm compared to the busy dirty Gare du Nord. It is the perfect location to travel further in Europe (which we did the next morning) and only used the hostel as a stop over. Very neat and clean little hostel and friendly staff

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time sharing your experience. The staff does its best to welcome everyone and make them feel very cozy just like at home. If you plan to visit the city any time in the future, maybe for a longer stay, we will be happy to welcome you again at Smartplace Paris.

100%

It is a great hostel. Nice location. Very clean. My four-bed dorm room was kind of small, but you wouldn't spend much of your awaken time in the hostel though.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A million thanks for your 5-star review. Space is always a challenge in Paris so everything is usually smaller than in other cities so we sincerely apologize you had this feeling. We are happy you enjoyed the stay and the hostel's facilities and the lovely Montmartre District. We hope to see you again at Smartplace Paris on your next trip to Paris. Safe travels !!

94%

I stayed at a "Budget Hotel" kind of room. Paris is a rather expensive place to stay, and not being the cheapest hostel ever, the value for money is really good. Fully functional kitchen. Lots of grocery shops and supermarkets next door. Literally dozens of take away restaurants. Located 5 minutes to 4 and 5 metro stops it makes it really easy to get anywhere in the center. The room is comfy, small but cozy. Very clean. The staff is simply the best. Would go back again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your warm review, it means a lot to us that you had this feeling of value for money as we do our best to offer the best service regarding the staff and cleanliness of the hostel. Thank you very much once again it was a real pleasure welcoming you and we hope to see you again at Smartplace Paris.

74%

Very nice hostel with a helpful staff! The atmosphere was pretty dull but I think it was more due to those staying at the same time than the hostel itself. A little pricey since they don't offer any breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We would like to thank you for your review. We are sorry the atmosphere did not answer your expectations but as you know the current guests play a part in the atmosphere. Concerning the breakfast, we offer free tea and coffee in the morning. Regarding the price, Paris is an expensive city but we try to give you the best value for your money.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback