Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 8550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 8550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Apr 2017
6.3

The best thing about this hostel is the location. You won't get too comfortable there, with the rowdy masses of people in the common area in the evenings. The bathrooms are tiny and the light didn't work in mine so i had to use my phone torch to see. The staff is helpful but not particularly friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Apr 2017
4.0

Don't book this if you're a tourist. It will ruin your trip. No privacy, even in the showers. No hair dryers. The rooms are packed and look like a ghetto.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2017
2.9

Absolutely dreadful. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOSTEL! I cannot say enough about how terrible everything was. The bathrooms were disgusting, we were in the middle of a construction, the staff was incredibly rude. Also, breakfast was really poor and the overall cleaneness of the hostal whas terrible. The plugs didn't work and they tried to make money out of every little thing they could offer (not even free space to leave your luggage after check out). It felt sketchy and unsafe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
6.0

Very secure location. But the rooms were not that great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
6.6

This is the worst experience in a hostel I have ever had. I got no sleep. Everyone is loud, and the walls are paper thin. The bed frames rattle and I swear the people in the room above were throwing bowling balls all night. I had ear plugs in. It is stuffy and there is no ventilation. I get that this isn't a staff issue, and it's a cheap place to stay. But I've stayed up the road for £5 more a night and had far better experiences. The facilities are poorly done and it makes a difference.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
7.1

Good bedrooms and staff. My only complaints: Heavy construction in the bedroom neighboring mine and the hallway in front of my room, showers on the bottom floor were cramped and dark (no place to hang towel, toiletries, or clothing, the first shower I tried to use only had cold water), and the entire hostel lost wifi for about 2 days during my stay. This meant that I struggled to find directions before departing to the airport and that the credit-card readers at the front desk were useless. 7/10

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.4

It is nice hostel more than I expected with clean bedsheet, pillows, blanket. Location is great, very convenience. People there are nice and friendly. I would love to stay again. Only the checkout will be quite early at 10am but there are many notice to show you at the canteen invade you forget it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
5.4

Worst nights sleep in a hostel ever. The room was in the basement where all the water pipes were, everytime anyone had a shower or turned on a tap they made awful noise all night. One tiny window for ventilation. The room was over crowded, the bottom 'bunks' were matresses on the floor. Stunk. Just awful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.6

The rooms were very small (triple bunk without any space for bags) and the bathroom felt a bit dirty and unclean; my friends sheets had stains all over them and there was also a small blood stain on the ladder up to the bed... so it didn't exactly feel well maintained. There isn't much of a "hostel" atmosphere, but the staff were friendly however and the location is absolutely wonderful, so you get what you pay for really!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
3.4

I wish they did a better job of rooming people together by age as I felt very uncomfortable with those in the same room as me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.