Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 8515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 8515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.6

The rooms were very small (triple bunk without any space for bags) and the bathroom felt a bit dirty and unclean; my friends sheets had stains all over them and there was also a small blood stain on the ladder up to the bed... so it didn't exactly feel well maintained. There isn't much of a "hostel" atmosphere, but the staff were friendly however and the location is absolutely wonderful, so you get what you pay for really!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
3.4

I wish they did a better job of rooming people together by age as I felt very uncomfortable with those in the same room as me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.4

A great Hostel at the heart of London. Very nice location, place and very nice and friendly staff. Best value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
4.0

Had absolutely no sleep, people being noisey all night, people in my room coming and going constantly turning the light on and off, and some suspicious noises during the night! I also really struggled to put a sheet on the 3rd storey bunk bed as needed one hand to hold on the ladder. Would deffinately not return. Staff were agreable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
6.9

Too many people staying and space is less. location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.7

Lovely location. 2 mins to underground. Clean bedding given on arrival. En suite was very clean. Powerful shower. Security staff on door is reassuring. Very impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.1

Rooms are CRAMPED! I had a 4 bed dorm but had 6 beds, which turned out to be a good thing as I could put all of my stuff on the spare bunk above me. Literally no floor space and the bathroom is a tiny plastic portable placed in the corner of the room. Security is good, a guy stands at the door and you have to show your key. Breakfast was decent. I would probably pay that little bit extra for the next step up hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2017
6.0

Definitely not the worst hostel I've stayed in. But the room slept like feet, 5)3 shower was either freezing or way too hot and there was really no atmosphere. But it's relatively cheap for London.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
6.6

The location was good just because London is definitely better to see with a bus pass and a lot of busses stop in a 3-5 minute radius. Stayed in a 9 bedroom dorm and was not expecting a three bed "bunk bed" which was a little uncomfortable. The bathroom was coed which wasn't much of an issue just the bathrooms were pretty dirty as well as the sink (which were only two small ones) and the showers which were in use most of the time. However, the security at the door was really good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Great friendly staff always there to help you.Nice meeting people from other parts world.. Great location and friendly atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.