X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Hostel Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
7905 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Smart Russell compares very favourably with any other hostel in this borough or otherwise, It's assets are for me the power showers and the ambience created in the Tv room , it's location is second to none and the reception staff and security are very flexible and accommodating., albeit there are times when I have to leave this hostel but that is mostly because they are already fully booked , just for value for money this is hard to beat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

100%

Great hostel in a very convenient location with polite stuff, nice atmosphere, good and clean toilet facilities!! Totally recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for the amazing review and feedback and we hope to see you very soon in our hostels. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

The towels are a bit expensive (£5) but the staff are very good.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us such a high rating. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our bed prices are low considering the central location of the hostel. In order to keep our prices low, we need to charge about some extra services, like for the towels. We hope to see you soon again, Smart Hostels Team

100%

Second stay and this hostel is soooo well run and the management and staff are excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating us so highly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards from Smart Hostels Team

80%

Stayed here for 3 nights, was perfect for my needs! Not many complaints apart from staff not overly friendly and dorms a little too crowded. Nice common area with sofas and great location next to British museum and Covent Garden. It lacked a fun hostel atmosphere but maybe it's just not that kind of place :)

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for rating us so highly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We understand the dorms, which have many beds, can seem too overcrowded. However we offer different types of dorms ranging from 18 beds to 2 beds. Therefore why don’t you try to book a room with fewer beds the next time? We look forward to seeing you again soon, Smart Hostels Team

71%

Showers were not very clean a used sanitary towel was found in a shower cubicle Room could do with better ventilation it was too hot and the air freshener could be turner on more frequently the room smelled of sweaty feet.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Please note that our housekeeping staff works really hard in order to ensure that each room and toilet are clean. We hope that you will have a better stay the next time you choose our hostel. See you soon,Smart Hostels Team

100%

I am 70+ and needed to stay in London for a week on my own. The hostel was fantastic, I met the most fabulous young people from all over the world. The staff were totally helpful and I got to do all that I had to attend. My business was various and this hostel was such fun and a glorious change from the dailly grind. Russell Square is so central and then straight to the airport at Heathrow by Piccadilly tube line.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for rating us so highly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

46%

Dirty rooms and bathrooms, no ventilation in the rooms. Poor breakfast. And the atmosphere is not nice also, not many backpackers and a lot of elderly people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t have a nice stay. Please note that our housekeeping staff cleans each room and toilet daily. Furthermore, we offer a large variety of food for breakfast so that each guest can choose the food he likes best. We hope your next stay will be better. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

60%

Day staff were exceptionally unfriendly, night staff were great, very limited breakfast options in the morning, stains on the linen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations. Please note that our reception staff is highly trained in customer service and making sure that each guest enjoys his stay. Also, the breakfast menu consists of a variety of different kind of food and drinks (cereals, bread, nutella, coffee, tea…). We hope you will have a better stay the next time you stay at our hostel. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

54%

If it were possible for this hostel to make their policies less convenient, I'm sure they would. My room was filthy upon arrival (& smelled funky for my whole visit), the locker rental procedures require multiple trips (up 3-floor walk-up) to secure a locker, the building is kept unlocked w/ minimal security & my fellow guests were partying into the night in their rooms - not in the common space. (Not surprising, as the common space is far from inviting.) Location good, all else needs attention.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Please note that each room is cleaned daily by our housekeeping staff. Furthermore, we have a security guy working each night in order to keep the hostel safe and ensure that only guests enter the hostel. We hope your next stay will be better. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

86%

Great location good facilities, love the curtains for each bed for a bit of privacy even in dorms. Bit frustrating that a dorm of 10 had to share two power sockets for charging phones etc. But other than this it was a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating us so highly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback regarding the only two power sockets inside the room will be taken into account in order to improve our standards and ensure that you will have a better experience the next time you decide to stay at our hostel. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

The water of the bath was cold and the kitchen closes in a inappropriate time (9:15 pm).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating us so highly. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Please note that we have at least one maintenance guy working in our hostel every day. Therefore, the next time you notice that the water in the shower comes out cold, just inform the reception staff and they will make sure that it will get fixed. We hope to see you again. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

71%

stayed 1 night,staff ok,give it 8/10 for everything! would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us your feedback about the hostel. We are happy to hear you had a good stay :). Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

31%

1. Staff needs to be friendlier. The blond girl at the reception desk looks as if she couldn't be bothered talking to people. 2. Charging people 2 pounds for luggage storage is quite a cheap thing to do. 3. Add covers for the top bunk. I slept on a top bunk and I couldn't sleep since I was literally sleeping right under the lights and next to the toilet lights. 4. Improve ventilation. the room was stifling hot. There was only one fan in a tiny room with 18 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t have a nice stay with our hostel. Please note that our reception staff is highly trained in delivering excellent customer service and in helping the guests with any problem or inquiry they might have. We hope to see you again soon in our hostels, Smart Hostels Team

77%

my 2nd time staying at this hostel.8 bed mixed room is quiet,the ensuite toilet+shower is good. needs more power outlets for all the guests/or get 5 plug gangways

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and you came back in our hostel. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hostel :) Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

97%

This place is awesome! Love the hospitality and love the fact that it's right next to the train station. Worth the money and the location is great! The place is very friendly and I made a lot of friends! The only downside is that if you are using your card to buy/rent a towel, it was hard because I guess there's a minimum for a debit card purchase. Ali is the man! And the female workers there are also very attractive! I would come back again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for rating us so highly and the amazing feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Please note that for any payments done by credit card, there is a 3% extra charge, for payments done by debit card, there is no extra charge. We look forward to your next stay. Best wishes, Smart Hostels Team

57%

I expected more for the amount of money I paid. Locker storages were in the room but we had no access to it as our key cards could not unlock them. As the room was small I could not put my bag anywhere as it would block the walkway and therefore left it on the cramp bed at my feet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please note that the reason why your key card didn’t open the locker under the bed is because we charge £1,50 per night for the use of them. The next time if in doubt about something, just ask the reception staff and they will help you. Also, we understand that in the rooms there isn’t enough space especially for very big luggage. In this case, you can leave your luggage in our luggage storage room paying £2,00 per day. We hope you will have a better stay the next time you choose our hostel. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

80%

I really love the location of the hostel. It is the center of London and I can go everywhere easily. I stayed 18 people room and I was really shocked that there was 3 floor bed. Wow......But it is really cheap and they give breakfast. I cannot believe that I can stay in great location, with breakfast, from that reasonable price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for rating our hostel so highly. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay. Best wishes from Smart Hostels Team

37%

The Hostel workers were not very helpful, and seemed annoyed when we asked questions. The room was over crowded, dirty, and did not have working outlets. The showers needed curtains in the mens room. Overall, very overpriced for the quality, but the location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations. Please note that our reception staff is highly trained in delivering excellent customer service. They are the ones who will help with any problem or inquiry you might have. We understand that the mixed dorms, in which many guests are staying can seem overcrowded. Therefore why don’t you book another room type with fewer beds next time? Finally, our housekeeping staff clean each room and toilet each day. We hope you will have a better experience the next time you choose to stay at our hostel. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

74%

In general is a good cost/ benefit. Good location, close to metro station or 25min walking from major attractions. Wi-fi is a little bit limited and there were only 2 plugs in a bedroom with 9 beds. So you have to charge your devices in the common area. Kitchen free to use and breakfast has juice, coffee, milk, cereals, bread, butter, jam and Nutella ("all you can eat"). Bathrooms are clean but are commonly shared by men and women which could be uncomfortable for some persons.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an overall good stay. Please note that sometimes the WiFi is really slow because too many people are using it at the same time. Also, with the exception of the female dorm, all our rooms are mixed dorms. This means that you will have to share the bathroom with both female and male guests if you are staying in an en-suite dorm. Come back any time in our hostels! Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(159 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback