Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 8590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 8590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2017
6.6

The hostel is rather far from tourist attractions. It is also quite loud in the evening, you can hear through the walls in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.1

Very much a place to stay for cheap, there isn't a huge atmosphere of people that want to hang out. It's more of just a place to stay. You must pay 2 pounds for a locker...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
6.0

Staff was great and location was nice but the whole hostel was filthy.i mean really dirty,I don't think it was because the staff was inattentive,it was just the sheer volume of people would make it impossible to keep up with.the 15 bed dorms were crammed in to 20 by 20 ft rooms and it was a bit claustrophobic.but....it was cheap and and ok for a place just to crash.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
7.7

Taking a shower can be tricky, the shower is a little bit small. But the staff is amazing and the breakfast is complete.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
9.4

A great spot right in the heart of London. Very clean and very good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.0

The showers and toilets were too small and there was no hot water for the showers sometimes. The breakfast was excellent, although a bit unhealthy. The cleanliness was excellent. The three story beds were interesting but it was unsafe to descend down the ladder from the highest bed. The staff were excellent. Maybe some more reading material can be provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2017
6.3

First shower hoped into was freezing cold, second one was extremely hot! Reception stunk of smoke when we came back from dinner. Beds were ok, a little short for us and our packs.... staff were friendly enough when we first arrived for check in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.1

The security guy and the house keeper are very smart.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
6.3

The best thing about this hostel is the location. You won't get too comfortable there, with the rowdy masses of people in the common area in the evenings. The bathrooms are tiny and the light didn't work in mine so i had to use my phone torch to see. The staff is helpful but not particularly friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
4.3

Literally felt like we were packed in the room like sardines which is absolutely fine considering the place is cheaper than others in the area. However, there aren't enough bathrooms causing you to wait for ages until people are finished and in the showers you have to keep pushing the tap for water to come out as they continuously shut off. The water wasn't even warm let alone hot! Felt like I was staying in a dog kennel. Do yourselves a favour and pay the extra money for some place else.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.