Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 8781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 8781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
4.6

The rooms are cramped, I was in a three person high bunk bed and whenever anyone moved it made a lot of noise! The large room sizes mean they got very hot and smelt. The beds are not long enough for someone over five foot six, the sheets they give you don't actually cover the duvet so throughout the night they come off, I find it a little gross to be sleeping in someone else's bedding withough a sheet. the rooms are very small with hardly any space to put your belongings.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andresnoregrets1619
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2017
2.0

There were mice inside of the room, we stayed in the basement it’s like a prison, dirty people, wifi doesn’t work, the security guards aren’t very nice, breakfast is overpriced. When we arrived we had an issue with a booking that wasn’t added to my reservation, the guy at the front desk wasn’t very polite to the point that it was hard to explained him what the issue was, I will not recommend this to couples or people who appreciate to live in a clean environment or smoke free environment

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2017
6.0

Really squashed rooms, hardly any space to move. Bed hadn't been cleaned and the room STANK. Three beds stacked on top of each other. Also had the super annoying experience of all the tables being reserved for paying breakfast guests between 7.30-10.30. Made preparing breakfast quite tricky. Plus side: staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. And I liked the curtains on the beds, good for privacy. We left halfway through our stay, wouldn't recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2017
5.4

6인실 했는데 설마설마했지만 3층침대 두개 나란히 있어서 미친듯이 좁았습니다.. 캐리어 놓을 공간 따로 없구요, 나이제한 없었던 숙소라 여행 목적으로 온것이 아닌 뭔가 목적성이 수상해보이는 나이드신 남자분들 많았습니다. 저때는 옐로피버인 남자들 두명 부엌에서 만나서 소름아닌 소름을..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
6.3

100% not for young solo travellers!! Was good for location if you don't mind a lil walk getting pLaces but also right by Russell square station if your not afraid to use tube. Would definitely not recommend for young travellers as many middle age + adults

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
6.6

I stayed at this hostel for only one night so I didn't really care where I was staying, I just wanted it to be cheap and in the city centre. As far as that goes, the location is great and the price is good for London. That being said, I stayed in a 15-person dorm (again, because I wanted it to be cheap) and there really wasn't much space. The worst thing was the cleanliness though - the ladies' showers were absolutely awful, hair and dirt on the floor everywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2017
5.7

Kind staff but this was one of the dirtiest hostels I've ever stayed in. The 3-tiered bunk situation was new for me and felt extremely cramped/unsafe; the 'self-cater' facilities were also lacking as the kitchen was tiny and dirty. Overall, the hostel became a place to sleep and store belongs, but nothing more. I would recommend for the location and price, but compared to the many hostels I have stayed at in Europe & SE Asia, it is not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
8.3

Great location, close to the tube and several attractions. A little chaotic around the check in desk but run OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2017
9.1

It's fine, a nice hostel. Only 'complaint' is that the lockers have to be rented by them as they open with a key card, it's not the kind of locker where you just bring your own lock, like in every hostel I've ever stayed at. It was only 1.50 but all those little things add up, like the 2.00 towels. I would probably stay again if I needed another London hostel in this area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2017
8.3

The beds are nice and private and the rooms feel secure. The kitchen is adequate, but feels very full with only 2 or 3 people cooking in there. The dining area is great- you can eat on your own or meet new people. Very close to shops and the tube as well the main tourist and shopping locations in central London.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×