Hostelworld.com

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 8,020 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 8,020 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.5
Smart Russell Square Hostel Located at 71 Guilford Street, , London.
Smart Russell Square Hostel
England
London WC1N 1DF 71 Guilford Street
73% 8020
51.5225295 -0.1238107
Smart Russell Square Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

Only disappointment was that I had booked a 6 bed dorm and ended up in a 9 bed without explanation. Other than that we were very happy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Loved the free breakfast!!! Curtains on the bed is a good idea too and gotta love having your own charging point in your bed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
5.1

Excellent location, inexpensive hostel. The most important thing to note about this hostel are very short beds. I had really uncomfortable and unpleasant sleep because I had to be in shrunken position (I am 187cm tall). In my humble opinion there are too many beds/room. Basement floor was not sucked for several weeks. The atmosphere in that common room was horrible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
5.7

Below average. Very dated and cramped accommodation. In a 15 person dorm, I wouldn't expect less that 1 meter inbetween triple bunk beds. The mattresses were uncomfortable, my duvet cover had not been changed and the showers were abysmal: literally blasting you with 3 seconds worth of water before having to press it again. Not impressed with the arrival, I had to wait almost 45 mins when my bed couldn't be found and no sorry. They need to seriously up their game with customer service.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
3.4

Basically only 2 things positive about this hostel - the location (close to the city center) and the price. Everything else was pretty disappointing. Tiny rooms with 15 people cramped on 3-bunk beds. The beds were way too short - I'm just a little over 180 cm, but I couldn't stretch my legs. Showers, hallways and toilets weren't very clean. Free breakfast is a joke - unless you want to eat toasts every single morning. People at the reception were annoyed by any questions. Very bad experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Great Location - Very friendly staff and will definitely come back, one comment would be to see if you could invest in any more hooks to hand coats up in the rooms - as there is only one hook per bed - and if there is a blank wall opposite - some shelves - or a bench would be good to assist in dressing (somewhere to sit down on as if you are not on the bottom bunk - you have no where to sit. other than that - as always - very good :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
6.6

Location is good, really close to Russell square station. I think the locker usage and a towel should be included in the price. Wifi signal in the room was terrible. The worst part was the staff. Poor explanations were given. When I first came into the hostel, I didn't even get a hello (I politely greeted). No one smiled (!). Only on one occasion litterally ONE person said hi to me and smiled, I was shocked. Breakfast is ok, classic (cereal, tosts, spread, coffee, juice). Overall, not too bad...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.0

Cheap and cheerful, great location. Made travelling in London much easier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
6.9

Average hostel- nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
7.1

aside from the construction and the creepy older guests that constantly ask you where you're from, this hostel was pretty good. nice that lockers were included! beds were comfy and I liked that there was a curtain - blocked out light really well!! breakfast was typical. overall pretty good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.