Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 8,270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 8,270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.4
Smart Russell Square Hostel Located at 71 Guilford Street, , London.
Smart Russell Square Hostel
England
London WC1N 1DF 71 Guilford Street
71% 8270
51.5227850 -0.1227949
Smart Russell Square Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
3.7

The room door did not lock and when I told reception, they said maintenance would look at it, but it was not fixed. I asked about a locker to store my valuables, and was told it was £1.50 per day. I argued that I shouldn't have to pay since there was the room did not lock. Kitchen smelt like snow food had died, and was always dirty. Bathrooms had no ventilation, and staff were not very friendly. Will not be staying at a Smart Hostel again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2016
3.1

Only stayed here because it was cheap and in a pretty good location. However everything else about this hostel isn't great. They have these annoying Trimble bunk beds, if your at the top your literally climbing about 2 meters up. The room was smelly, and the staff were not all that helpful. This is an average hostel, don't expect big things, but if you want a cheap stay in a location close to lots then this place is fine for a night or two.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.1

Very good location. You have to pay for the lockers in your room. In another room 2 people got their laptops stolen although they were in a closed locker. Breakfast is only basics. Cuttelry is all plastic and basic. Toilets are very small and not enough. Same for the showers. Not enough showers, very basic with some curtains. Some have cold water and the entire floor of the bathroom is wet and slippery. The bunk beds in the room are too high. The staff do their job but a smile would help a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
5.4

We stayed for 1 night. The staff was very unhelpful and there were a lot of hidden fees upon arrival. People were very closed off and inconsiderate of others, which isn't the hostels fault just made for an unenjoyable stay. The washrooms were filthy. We did laundry and when it came time to dry, we paid and the dryer ran but didn't dry, so we tried again in hopes that we would have clean and dry clothes and they came out soaked.... Overall, not my best hostel experience!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
4.0

There was a big security problem in this hostel. Lots of stealing and many guests belongings has been stolen, with proper locker being cut off and the locker that they provided with a charged fees being worthless. There were a few problematic long stay guests created bad atmosphere especially after drinking in the evenings. Served bad quality of tea, coffee and bread for breakfast. The nicest part of the hostel are the seemingly decent front desk staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2016
7.1

Based on other reviews my expectations for this hostel were not all that high but it was better than I would I have thought. The beds had curtains which added that little bit of privacy as I had 5 other people packed into a fairly small room. The hostel provided a basic breakfast in the morning and the amenities that you would need. It was reasonably priced for a London Hostel. I found the demographics a bit strange--I think some people lived there but again London is expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
9.1

I was only there from Friday to Sunday, but I enjoyed the experience immensely. The location could not be better and the staff were friendly and hard working.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.4

Great International Hostel, Great locatiion and great value for money/ Great holiday,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
6.6

The showers in the hostel were horrendous, the second day i was staying in the hostel i went to have a shower and the water was only dripping out of the showerhead and everything was wet. it was also dissapointing to not be able to have internet access in my room which was in the basement of the hostel. I could only get wifi if i went out into the hallway by the toilets or upstairs into the usually always crowded common area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Aug 2016
7.1

This hostel was in a great location and okay price for that. But the rooms were so hot that it was really hard to sleep. The rooms were also made up for triple bunk beds and getting into the top one could be difficult. Breakfast was between 7:30--9:30 but was very simple toast, cereal and coffee. Tight on security with a man checking room cards between 7pm and 8am.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.