Hostelworld.com

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 8488 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 8488 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location, right next to the tube a supermarket and the British museum.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
7.4

Had a decent stay at this place. The staff was a bit strange and they could've warned about repainting all the place, had a hard time breathing and got really woozy when they didn't vent it out properly either. And when I politely said: "Thank you for a lovely stay" to the reception, I got a strange answer: "Oh wow, really". So not overly impressed by the place really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
9.7

Great hostel, with good area for dining and hanging out. Rooms very clean and very nice fresh cotton sheets. I like the bunk curtains for privacy and the individual sockets for charging devices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
7.4

Well. The Hostel is quite big. The room is very nice but the toilet is really small, the wifi in the Hostel does not work very well even if you are at the reception or at the cantine. The receptionist are ok. But some of them still need to be trained. They don't know some information about location or transportation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
5.7

Very strong smell throughout the hostel, possibly damp. The staff when I got there were a little rude and contemptuous. Room ok, but as someone who suffers with migraines, the unmissable damp smell was not great. Also have renovations going on, which I think should be advertised, the place is a bit of a mess. Came back at 3am,walked straight in,wasn't asked for a key by security. Cheap hostel,great location but I'm unlikely to stay again. Main man at reception was lovely though, very kind.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
5.4

The lack of cleanliness in the place was ridiculous. There was a bed sheet at the front door, used as a door stop. The sheets we were given when we checked in were sticky...all of them, and once we got to our room we found unfolded blankets on the beds and a bag of trash. I'm assuming it was left behind by the previous guest which indicates that our beds were never cleaned. The bathroom had about 5 stalls, none of which closed. Worst hostel I've stay at

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.9

small beds if over 6ft very uncomfortable. hostel under renovations, small kitchen, breakfast ok

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
6.3

It's in zone 1 travelling through tube wont be an issue. Everything is good except smelly dorms and not any charging ports next to your bed. Staff is very good but the higher staff persons are kind of arrogant.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
5.7

Reception workers were really nice, the rest of the staff were really rude and talked to me like I was stupid. The atmosphere was not god for an English speaker like myself, since I barely heard many residents or staff speak English, so it was not easy to socialize. I found this strange in England. The kitchen is gross because nobody cleans up after themselves and cleaning your dishes is not enforced. You have to pay for security lockers, which is ok, except nobody tells you this at check in

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
5.4

staff didn't feel the most welcoming, showers smelt bad and the room smell bad but good for the price i paid

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.