Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 8,196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 8,196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
Smart Russell Square Hostel Located at 71 Guilford Street, , London.
Smart Russell Square Hostel
England
London WC1N 1DF 71 Guilford Street
72% 8196
51.5227850 -0.1227949
Smart Russell Square Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
6.3

A bare bones hostel (bed and wifi). The room was insanely hot with one stationary fan. It was hard to get a good nights sleep because of the heat and lack of ventilation. Kitchen was not very clean and common area felt a bit dingy. Breakfast is included but I opted out. Staff were all right, some friendlier than others. Location was good, so if you want to save money in london by sacrificing a bit of comfort this could work for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.0

So shocked to see the 12-men room was a caged one, which I thought only happened in my home city. However, it was generally user-friendly in most aspects.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
8.9

reception staff were slightly rude and the fan in my room would not work. Apart from that, an excellent stay and fantastic facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jul 2016
5.7

Shared showers and toilets were not clean at all. Didn't get one good nights sleep over my three night stay as was hot/bright from the lights and fans were loud. Breakfast is good. Although bag was left dirty with some paint marks after some workers fixed the basin in room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
5.7

The location is good- conveniently located to a metro stop and everything. They don't make enough hot water, so if you wake up later than 8:30 am to shower.. you're going to get a literal drip of cold water. More or less what you would expect out of a sink faucet if you didn't turn it on all the way. It was also very, very hot in the rooms and the common areas despite the cool outdoors temperatures. The wifi was horrible. The staff seemed flustered and were not particularly friendly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel is decent. The rooms don't have very big windows, so there isn't much circulation and it gets very hot. Additionally, if you want to use the lockers in the rooms you have to pay extra. If you choose not to use them, you are asked to keep your belonging in your bed because there is nowhere else to store them. The shower worked quite well for me. I stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm and we had our own little bathroom. There was a large co-ed shared bathroom with 4 more showers and one sink.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
5.7

Dirty place. Hot and stuffy. Too many people in dorm rooms. Unfriendly staff. Bad breakfast and very poorly coordinated breakfast hours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Perfect for a night, nice free breakfast that get's a bit crowded after a while but there's plenty of places to sit. £10 for a key deposit is a bit steep mind. The privacy curtains on the dorm beds are perfect! This alone is a big reason why i'll book this hostel again, as well as a pretty decent price for London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
9.4

For the price - you can't beat it. Right next to the tube. Safe area. Free breakfast! Clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
6.3

Top up beds are extremely small (height). It is uncomfortable to stay in a bed were you cannot sit.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.