X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Hostel Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
7907 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

This place is whats wrong with hostels. dirty rooms, bathrooms, and showers. expensive. Most people there were not backpacking but just looking for work in London. Staff was either apathetic or incompetent with a few exceptions. stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We are continually working on the hostel to improve it for our guests :(. As you can see we are having some changes to our rooms which will make our guests have a wonderful stay. Hope seeing you soon in our hostel once more again Thanks again from all the SRS team.

97%

No strange people there, but people from all over the world and of all ages. Located in the very center of London is easy to go to all the touristic places. The hostel also provide a good breakfast. The staff is very nice and I want to say THANK YOU to the receptionist boy.We arrived earlier, at 6am and he let us stay in the common room and also eat the breakfast even if the check-in is at 11am.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review, thank you! We hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team

89%

The location could't be better in such rate, you don't need any transfer to connect the airport,and it's easy to reach by other public tranports. And the place is lovely,it's neither too bustling nor too quiet all around. Nothing to complain except only two sockets in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for the review! We are having a major refurbishment in our hostel and one of the them is installing sockets on all beds. Looking forward to see you in our hostel very soon! :) Smart Hostels Team

71%

There are lots of tables and chairs in the public room which is great for travelers chatting together and writing postcards. The breakfast is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We always try our best to keep everything to our guests standards and progress in further improvements. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on Facebook :). Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

77%

Good hostel, everything one needs for London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! Much appreciated :) Smart Hostels Team

77%

good hostel location but not having a bar is a cardinal sin in my book

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the review! Suggestion noted :). For further reference, Hyde Park View hostel has a bar inside . Hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team

77%

I had a 7 beds room and that was only 2 plugs next to the door... My friend had a 6 bedroom dorm and there is shower and toilet inside!! Commun showers are pityfull, you can't hang up your things anywhere and water is going all over the place, girls don't have to wash their hair everyday!!!! Otherwise good surprise to have breakfast included

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are having a major refurbishment in our hostel and one of the them is installing sockets on all beds. We have different types of rooms/dorms in our hostels, for further reference, the en-suite ones have the bathroom inside the room :) We hope to see you soon, Smart Hostels Team!

34%

worst hostel ever. the location is ok, near to a tube station, but that's it. the staff is unfriendly, the bed is too small, the rooms and holloways have a terrible smell, you have to pay for a locker (that never happened before), etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Regarding the lockers,the prices we offer don't include locker charges as most of our guests don't need to use them, therefore they don't end up paying for things the don't need. We are now upgrading the rooms for lockers with locks so the guest can bring their own locks if they wish to use a locker.We are now having a major refurbishment in our hostel, so we hope you'll be back soon and check it :) Smart Hostels

63%

Good, a few weirdos staying in. Very hot, needs air con. Beds are VERY small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are continually working on the hostel to improve it for our guests. We will pass on your comments. Thanks again from all the SRS team.

80%

I went at that hostel with presumptions as : snoring, smelly shoes, noise etc...... But I was very surprise by sharing a room 18 peoples without anyone snoring BRRRillliant . Would definitely Recommended.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We're happy you had a good sleep :) Come back any time! Smart Hostels Team

71%

The staff were fantastic especially Caroline and Angelica

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we really appreciate your feedback :) ! Have a lovely day! Smart Russell Square Team

31%

There was a BLOODY HANDPRINT on the wall next to my bed. Horrific. We originally booked a three bed private room with en suite, when we arrive they put is in a six bed dorm with no ensuite. No one at the desk even mentioned it to us, they allowed us to go upstairs with all our stuff after a tiring journey to discover it wasn't was we had booked. They didn't even offer us any money back!!! Terrible. Will NEVER stay at a Smart hostel again. Worst hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your much appreciated feedback! We are sorry you had some problems and didn't enjoy your stay, we are going to investigate this further. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team

69%

The bathroom in the dorm was extremely small and not clean. The duvets did not have sheets on them so they are probably very dirty. However, there is a large common room downstairs which is socialable and there is free breakfast :)

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our rooms are serviced everyday however if there are any additional cleaning requirements please just let our friendly staff at reception know and they will help you :). We are giving all our guests a fresh bed linen at the point of check-in. Thank you very much and we hope we'll see you soon in our hostels! :) Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

71%

worst hostel I've stayed at over the past 3 months. luckily only stayed one night. But the 6 hours I was there was enough Firstly I stayed in the 18 bed dorm. absolutely no room in there for luggage what so ever! bags were piled high against the walls. (I stayed in a 40 bed dorm with more room then this) Secondly the staff were so slow and had no urgency at all, my checkin took 15min. And this was at 2am. Only positive is the location and breakfast Would not recommend this place to anyone.


77%

While it was in a pretty good part of town, the rooms were very small. I was on the third floor and it was very annoying getting my suitcase up and down. It wasn't a bad experience, just not quite what I was expecting. If you just need a bed, it's perfect but if you're looking for more it may not be the place for you. The bathroom was the size of a closet with the toilet on one side and the shower on the other. The staff was fairly nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review! We'll take in consideration your suggestions and we hope you'll be back soon to see our new improved changes :) Best regards, Smart Hostels Team.

54%

Fantastic location, friendly staff on reception but grumpy staff elsewhere. Paid £80 for 2 bed room, not even a chair to sit on or hook to hang clothes. Sensor in bathroom went out literally every 5 seconds so had to shower in dark. Cleaners just let themselves in without knocking and caught my elder mother half dressed, no apology just a grunt to move bags. Not a pleasant stay at all and has totally put me off hosteling. We could of stay in a decent hotel for not much more.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback, much appreciated! Our rooms, toilets and showers are serviced everyday, however if there are any additional cleaning requirements or problems regarding this or our staff, please just let our reception team know and we'll be there to ensure everything is perfect for your stay :). We would love to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, Smart Hostels Team

86%

The Wifi didn't work most of the time I was there. Free wifi is a criteria I use when selecting hostels.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for review! Slow internet only occurs when several guests are downloading incredibly large files such as high resolution images (and even films) at the same time. It's very tricky to go around this regardless of how many gadgets we install :( Hoping to see you back in the hostel soon! Regards from Smart Hostels Team

91%

Definitely above expectations! I have no idea why this hostel has only average reviews. (-) The only disadvantage is wifi - no connection for all 3 days. (+) Perfect location - we did all the sightseeing in 3 days without using public transportation. (+) 14 persons room was clean and equipped with the curtains in beds, so the light on was not a problem. (+) Clean and looking like new showers (IBIS Budget style), clean bathrooms, even with hairdryer. (+) Hostel style breakfast Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you very much for the fantastic feedback and rating! Come back soon :) Have a nice day from Smart Hostels Team

43%

The staff at reception was really rude, and the private twin rooms are really small, no space to hang coats and other things.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Our reception and housekeeping teams are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are disappointed you did not enjoy the manner of our staff. Also, our hostels offers a range of different sized rooms, suitable for different guests we accommodate and we try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location :( Regards from Smart Hostels Team

57%

Good location, stayed in a 16bed dorm, no windows for fresh air, showers were shocking - either boiling hot or freezing cold - no where to store your bags in your room. Would no stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your much appreciated review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected :(. Our hostels offers a range of different sized dormitories, suitable for the different guests we accommodate. Some rooms may seem a little overcrowded, but it is not the case with all our rooms. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good as we are doing some changes to the rooms and hostel. Smart Hostels Team

(159 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback