X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Hostel Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
7545 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

There were many pricey upfront costs that we were not made aware of before hand (like £10 deposit for a card, and you have to pay to have a locker). The beds were short and being 5'8" my feet easily touched the footboard. The room was extremely hot but the window was nailed shut. The floor was sticky, there was no room to put anything. Bathrooms are far away, there is not a good common space to socialize, and wifi is incredibly slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy much of your stay with us. Regarding the lockers we try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at a very good location, the prices we offer do not include locker charges as most of our guests do not need to use them, therefore they do not end up paying for things the do not need. We are now upgrading the rooms for lockers with locks so the guest can bring their own locks if they wish to use a locker.

91%

WIFI was woefully lacking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear you had a problem with the Wifi. We are always trying to update the Wifi so there will no issues in the future. We also thank you on behalf of all Smart Russell Square hostel team for the high rating.

26%

The shower are very cold (15% hot), impossible to control the weather. The staff are very rude with customers and they lie. They charge 1,5p per day to lock your thing, its impossible with your own locker. I do all the Europe and it's the worst staff and cleanliness hostel that we did. I wanted to pay with credit and they charged me a fee of 3% (never specified on the site) with the calculator, nothing very formal. I never do review. But my story with smart rusell square is inhuman.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. Regarding the showers we have placed the showers together for two main reasons. First is to save energy by using one big boiler for all the hostel instead of one small boiler for each floor. Second reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another to find an empty shower. Regarding the 3% fee for credit cards, it is imposed by our bank.

86%

A standard corporate/chain hostel, everything clean, brightly lit and functioning well. Some people might find the atmosphere alienating and bad for mental health (there was a Japanese man crying in the corridor when I went for my shower), but then again others would say it's a great cheap 'in & out' option. Free breakfast is: bread/toast, jam, butter, cornflakes, muesli, milk, tea, coffee and squash. At least adding brown bread and soy milk would be nice but otherwise can't complain.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are always there to help you with all enquiries you may have and make you feel safe and comfortable.

86%

I would add hairdryer in rooms and lockers for free (now some fee). Apart from that excellent location and super friendly staff! Very clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at a very good location, the prices we offer do not include locker charges as most of our guests do not need to use them, therefore they do not end up paying for things the do not need. We are now upgrading the rooms for lockers with locks so the guest can bring their own locks if they wish to use a locker.

49%

18 people room is just a narrow walkway. You don´t have space to move your lugagge. Difficult to walk. In the bathroom is diffilcult for showering. The water flow is not continuos, it´s like a buttom tap, you have to press the buttom for the water to flow every 6 seconds, it´s ridiculous. The breakfast is included, but it´s very poor. There´s not wifi at the room (at least the one I stayed). Heard about other hostels for the same value, but better values. Don´t stay here.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at a very good location.

54%

The location is really good, but the atmosphere of the hostel not so much. It is really large, which makes it a bit anonymous. The showers are not really nice, all in one very large room. The breakfast is very basic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are currently undergoing upgrade work by giving our rooms en-suite facilities, making our guests experience much more pleasant. Thank you again for staying with and we hope you visit us again to see our improvements.

71%

This is a very large hostel in central London, so is always very busy. It will appeal to many for those reasons, and making allowances for it's size, I can't fault their operation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on facebook.

94%

I love it! So good service, helpful staff, clean and peaceful! Nice atmosphere. Would have been fair to borrow adapters for persons who stays in London for one day :) I think every good hostel can organize it, so even few adapters for few hours loan could be possible to make. Now I bought adapter I needed once. Waste of everyones' money :)

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and lovely comments. Your ideas can help us improve our service so you thoughts on the adapters will be pass onto the relevant departments. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

71%

This hostel was OK. It was very well priced for London. However the rooms were small with tiny bathrooms and there ain't much of an atmosphere.


66%

Location was the best part, close to the tube which meant we could get in and out really easy. The staff were good, just one who didn't really understand our frustrations with the bathroom in our ensuited room. They have sensor lights which means once the shower curtain is pulled across it can't sense you so your forever waving your arms around to activate the light whilst trying to wash your hair etc.. The ensuite was also so small that you had to sit down sidewinders to do anything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location. Your problem with the shower is unfortunate and I will be contacting the relevant department to investigate and resolve these issues for the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come stay with us again soon.

40%

Showers are not okay at all. Something out of Orange is the New Black. Not sure the sheets are clean so bring your own. But for £10 a night that's what you get


71%

You definitely get what you pay for. It is a big hostel with any beds In one room. The 18 bed room stacks three beds on top of each other in six rows which gives it a prison feeling. HOWEVER the location for the price you're paying is excellent. If you stay for a couple nights to do something specific in London I don't think there is a place that could beat this hostel


57%

Location is excellent. However, there are not enough utensils at the kitchen for all guests (we had no forks or glasses to use) and bathrooms could be cleaner. Also, he heard about guests having their personal belongings stolen by other guests - twice in a week!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and your excellent score for our location. Our rooms are cleaned by our housekeepers daily to keep the facilities clean and hygienic, if there are issues, our reception is always open for a hasty resolution. Your comments on the kitchenware will be passed on to the relevant department so we can improve our services in the in this area. Unfortunately thefts can happen and we asks guests to be vigilant with there belongings, with lockers available to rent. Thank you.

91%

I almost didn't go here because of all the negative reviews. But we had a great experience. We stayed in the 8 bed female dorm. The ensuite bathroom was such a perk! The other ladies were quiet and polite. We slept well! We did not do the free breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. The internet worked! And it was in walking distance of so many things! I'd stay here again!


77%

It was really cool. However it would be nice to have a bit more possibilities for breakfast, like hot milk, different kind of jelly, etc. Shower water was not hot enough... and most of the showers didn't work properly. Rooms are quite small... there's almost no space to manipulate luggage and all that staff... The rest was very nice. I'd recommend it for a 2-3 nights stay


77%

It's a bit far away but very clean and nice. We stayed in the female room just because it was the only one left. Maybe because of that, we didn't get a fun hostel vibe (there were also some big school groups), but it was quiet and nice to get a good night's sleep.


63%

There was renovations going on that we weren't told about so got woken up fairly early because they were loud, strong smell of paint coming into the room too and we paid a lot so expected a better stay. Not the best hostel to meet people - school groups and old people staying there not just youth. Some staff were friendly. Wifi worked everywhere and bunk had a curtain. Good location and good security. Breakfast is not good unless you like white bread and cornflakes.


71%

This hostel seems to cater to large groups of traveling student groups. There were 20+ member student groups from the U.S. and Finland during our stay here. This plays a role in the atmosphere- definitely not a hostel to stay at if you're looking to make a lot of new friends. No locked storage unless you pay £1.50 per night. Overall though, good value for the money and right by the Russell Square tube which has an elevator/lift for you and your luggage.


69%

The safes really should not cost money.. No one uses them because of that and it needlessly makes theft much easier.


(192 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback