X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6650 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Room was ok. Liked curtains on each bunk. But showers were all the way down in basement and didn't have doors, just a single curtain.


37%

This one night they had no hot shower at 12 in the midnight when we got back and it was fantastico! We had to shower in ice cold water. Room cleanliness was bad, one of the staircases leading up to rooms were falling apart and it was worrying. In addition, refurbishment work was taking place right next to the room I was in so it wasn't at all a pleasant stay. I must say having their kitchen and shower open 24 hours a day is a bonus.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

As always Smart Russell is best hostel in central London. Its central, near very good food outlets and a couple of good pubs which allow you an economic stay in London. Staff are fantastic although some could improve their English and bring it to the level of their enthusiasm.


83%

i will highly recommend this hostel, it is brilliant


40%

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the location. After reading the bad reviews & the fact that the property had responded apologising made me think that it might have improved. Nope! Every single member of staff we encountered was an absolute grump. Not a smile to be seen & they could not care less about helping. Seemed judgemental at times. Our room was in the basement - grotty, loud & the cleaners kept coming in & cleaning around our feet. Toilets were horrible. Ice cold showers.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Having the showers located in the basement was a pain but not as much as having no hot water available for three days running. And while we were able to put our cases in a locked room downstairs the hostel effectively forces you to pay for a locker under your bed as there is no other place to store your valuables when you sleep. You might want to bring an extension lead with you as well since there are few places to charge any electrical equipment, especially in the rooms.


83%

A large hostel with many guests, but they manage to keep it clean (specially toilets). However, showers are awful: I don't mind they were in the basement but water was always very hot or very cold. And they had the kitchen out of service a whole day, which is very disapointing because you are paying for a service that you can't use.


74%

You should give some note in email that EU to UK adapter is not free to borrow. Also, showers are just weird.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel so the showers should be less weird. Unfortunately there are too many people for us to be able to loan power adapters out to Guests.We will look at adding that information to our "Useful Information" section. Thanks for the idea!

46%

The hostel is located very conveniently in central London and the bedroom/bed system was OK. The bunk beds had three floors instead of two, but it had the nice cover of the blinds around the bed. The bed linen is given to you when you arrive and you add it yourself, and it looked clean. However, the toilet and shower facilities were very disgusting. I literally puked while trying to use the toiled, and the showers were underground, in a very damp environment smelling like sewage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

71%

Showers were not clean, nowhere to put your clothes, only some worked.. Not advised there was no longer a laundry. Breakfast included always a bonus. Forgotten how badly some peoples feet/ shoes smell our the entire room. Unable to open window or get airflow through..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Apologies about the laundry, it will be back. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. Not a lot we can do about peoples feet but hopefully the airflow will improve once the renovations are finished.

91%

Bit noisy one night but the other was fine. Showers are basic but they do their job, annoying that they are in the basement and you have to walk through the canteen area to get to them!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

77%

Really not a fan of all the showers being in the basement. Otherwise the place was great.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback.

89%

The hostel has a brilliant atmosphere, interesting people and excellent staff always ready to help guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words. Much appreciated.

46%

Prepare lots of coins! Everything costs extra here, even safe deposit box and luggage storage. Shower is in the basement, you have to constantly press it to keep the water going, no room to put your stuff. Bathroom stinks and you have to walk up and down the stairs to get there. The girls at reception are rude and unhelpful but all the male staff are really nice. Check in experience was my worst. Breakfast is basic but prepared to line up. I do like the curtains, you have some privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

60%

It's cheap for london prices, but the standard is very low.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your review. We are working on lifting our game. The renovations will go a long way. Cheers

100%

Always a great stay. Best Hostel in London by far.

Owner Comment (Hide)
AWESOME - We love you too, come back any time! Cheers.

43%

My hostel bed had gum stuck to it, as well as a weird piece of brown gunk on the wall. The room was very smelly and stuffy and didn't feel clean at all.The mattresses were stained (mine and my friend's) as well as the white sheets we were given at the front desk for our beds. The shower light turned off on my friend when she was down there by herself, still showering. There was no switch to get it back on. There were no rubbish bins by the toilets and no driers for our hands.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We will pass your comments about the bedding to the Housekeeping team to check out. Also the comments about the shower lights to our Maintenance team. Sounds a bit unusual so we definitely don't want that to happen to anyone again! Thanks for the review.

46%

Worse hostel I've ever stayed in Europe. The room was ok but the shower is HORRIBLE!!! It's so old, dirty and it's located at the basement and you have to pass through the common room, lobby to get there. I booked for 4 nights but I have to leave immediately after seeing the shower. Extra charge for luggage storage and lockers in the room!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

57%

Not a good fibe. Everyone was more interested in doing their own thing and there was a big group who were very rude.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. That's a bit sad that you found some of your fellow guests unfriendly. We like to think that all of our guests are the most amazingly awesome people. Maybe you were just a little unlucky this time.

71%

people drunk and shouting during the night. problem with drawer under bed. Had to walk miles (seemed like) to loo and couldnt be bothered going for shower ---just had quick washdown in room. Hopefully that sorted out as you go along with building work. Then it will be "excellent" value for money.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We take on board your comments and eagerly await the completion of the renovations ourselves. Cheers.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback