X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6726 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Not a very welcoming place. Staff wasn't very enthusiastic or willing to answer questions etc... Wouldn't stay here unless you enjoy a prison/summer camp experience. No wifi in rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. We have just upgraded our wi-fi so it is available in the rooms for just £1 for 1 day OR it is available FREE in the common rooms.

54%

I felt that the value for money was not fantastic and the staff were not as friendly and helpful as they could have been. The hostel is also in an older building that is not in the best state of repair. There is no elevator so lugging backs up four flights of stairs after an 18 hour flight was less than ideal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback on your stay. Our hostel is based in a listed building and therefore we cannot modify the interior in a way to include an elevator.

54%

Many fees to keep the bags, ugly bedrooms and toilets. They seemed a little dirty.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. Our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight). When you compare this to the price you would pay at train stations and airports (which start at £6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is an affordable option for our Smart Backpackers!

77%

+ Well organized + Good value - Beds are too hard and short - The so called 'breakfast' was a joke - Have to pay extra to pay with credit card

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel in a great location. Our nine bed room had 3 triple bunk beds which were fun. If you are over 6' tall the bed can get a little cramped though. They have a nice large kitchen that is very spacious. Breakfast in the morning could be a little better as it is only cereal and white bread for toasting. We would definitely return here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

pros: good location, friendly staff, cons: too many beds in the rooms compared to the size of room, way to your bed is blocked by luggage, no showers and toilets in each floor, you must always go up and down, bad showers, water stops when you don't push the button.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the feedback! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms!

83%

I very much enjoyed my stay at Smart Russell Square. The rooms were great and even in the rooms with lots of beds I still felt as if I had privacy. Wifi was a little frustrating and breakfast was sub par but that is my only complaint. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope to see you again in the future :)

57%

I stayed in a basement room, and the closest working toilets are up two floors and across the building. The bunks are stacked 3 high and there is nowhere to put your luggage if you don't buy the locker, so everyone's stuff is in heaps on the very limited floor. The management seems like they are always arguing with the guests and the cleaning staff pushes by people to wash their drink cups first. The kitchen is nice, though they need towels for drying if they want guests to clean up properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. Hopefully if you return you will see the improvements and it will change your option on our Hostel :)

49%

the receptionist really ruined an ok hostel.First they tried to charge us double than the price we had seen online. When we pointed this out they said that we could pay online if we wanted. Then we had to be waiting for 20 minutes for him to get the confirmation email eventhough i had showed him mine.The sheets had blood and humidity stains, but the worst was the duvet, that had fresh blood stains on it. I told them and they didn't change them.luckily it was hot and no need to use it.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Really really pleased. After reading some really bad reviews we were very nervous about our stay. We chose a private room with a private ensuite. The room and bathroom were very clean. They were basic but very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay and very happy to be so close to a tube station. Would highly recommend.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely feedback. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! It would be great to see you in our Hostel again sometime in the future.

74%

Good enough for my work trips to London: central location, cheap, free breakfast and curtains on the dorm bands for privacy. Not great atmosphere in the common area if you want to socialise, people are too busy with their facebook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello.Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpacker and taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

there is very little space between the bunks to change or even make or strip the linen - the toilets are poor - it is not very convenient to have to go all the way to the basement to take a shower - it is far better to have shower facilities on each floor

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel, which should be finished soon (we hope!). One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms.

86%

All good, thanks.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

77%

+Fair value for the price. + I felt safe and that my valuable items were safe 100% of the time. + location is perfect: tube station very close, rental bikes very close, buses near, or you're close enough to walk around various places + the beds have curtains on them :) - Dull atmosphere, do not expect a party hostel. I did make friends ,however, by sitting in the common area - Toilets are on separate floor from showers& rooms - Smaller storage lockers- my large suitcase didn't fit inside

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

63%

It's ok to spend a few nights but it looks depressing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for you feedback. our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

57%

This hostel was disgusting. I only stayed here one night and purely for the location as I had a tour the next day down the road. When I arrived the staff who checked me in Weren't helpful at all. The place is a maze, they have 3 tiered bunk beds (not shown in the photos) you make your own bed, toilets are difficult to find and are disgusting, there are hardly power points, none for the bunk beds so you have to sit outside the dorm or In the common area, this is not a youth hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Clearly you didn't enjoy your stay, which is unfortunate. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will pass your comments onto the Hostel Manager to look further into. Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one :)

54%

the hostel was in a great location. but value for money it wasn't the rooms were ok. I actually booked online a 6 bed dorm and ended up in a 9 bed dorm. The beds were fine but you wouldnt have wanted to be tall. the linen had stains. the bathrooms always smelled not enough ventilation same with the showers. breakfasts were fine.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets. If for some reason you receive sheets which are not clean, please ask the reception team to swap them, they will. We will look in to why you were moved to a larger dorm, this doesn't normally happen.

71%

In my opinion the only great thing about this property is the location. The curtains on the bed are a nice touch for privacy and the kitchen/common area is a social environment. But, the showers are the worst I've ever experienced - on the basement level, water runs for about 10seconds and you have to keep pushing the button, they smell and are excessively hot. Wifi is not free (it's free everywhere else). No power points or lights by the bed and only 2 power points in a room of 6 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. The showers are one area yet to be completed. The team may have missed letting you know that at our Hostels we have two types of wi-fi. It is FREE in the common areas OR £1 for 1 day in the dorms. We hope to see you again!

77%

The place was alright, sort of standard London hostel. Bunk beds are a bit short for tall people (and they're walled in, so it's hard to circumvent the problem...). Nice big kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again.

83%

Nice,patient staff with kindly help.The room is clean,just a little bit bad smell.They gave us cleaned bedsheet when check-in.Good location in central of London,just by 3 mins to Russell Square station.With breakfast,good value for money.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you again some time. Cheers.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(136 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback