X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6712 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel in a great location. Our nine bed room had 3 triple bunk beds which were fun. If you are over 6' tall the bed can get a little cramped though. They have a nice large kitchen that is very spacious. Breakfast in the morning could be a little better as it is only cereal and white bread for toasting. We would definitely return here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

pros: good location, friendly staff, cons: too many beds in the rooms compared to the size of room, way to your bed is blocked by luggage, no showers and toilets in each floor, you must always go up and down, bad showers, water stops when you don't push the button.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the feedback! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms!

57%

I stayed in a basement room, and the closest working toilets are up two floors and across the building. The bunks are stacked 3 high and there is nowhere to put your luggage if you don't buy the locker, so everyone's stuff is in heaps on the very limited floor. The management seems like they are always arguing with the guests and the cleaning staff pushes by people to wash their drink cups first. The kitchen is nice, though they need towels for drying if they want guests to clean up properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. Hopefully if you return you will see the improvements and it will change your option on our Hostel :)

83%

Really really pleased. After reading some really bad reviews we were very nervous about our stay. We chose a private room with a private ensuite. The room and bathroom were very clean. They were basic but very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay and very happy to be so close to a tube station. Would highly recommend.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely feedback. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! It would be great to see you in our Hostel again sometime in the future.

74%

Good enough for my work trips to London: central location, cheap, free breakfast and curtains on the dorm bands for privacy. Not great atmosphere in the common area if you want to socialise, people are too busy with their facebook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello.Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpacker and taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

66%

there is very little space between the bunks to change or even make or strip the linen - the toilets are poor - it is not very convenient to have to go all the way to the basement to take a shower - it is far better to have shower facilities on each floor

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel, which should be finished soon (we hope!). One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms.

86%

All good, thanks.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

77%

+Fair value for the price. + I felt safe and that my valuable items were safe 100% of the time. + location is perfect: tube station very close, rental bikes very close, buses near, or you're close enough to walk around various places + the beds have curtains on them :) - Dull atmosphere, do not expect a party hostel. I did make friends ,however, by sitting in the common area - Toilets are on separate floor from showers& rooms - Smaller storage lockers- my large suitcase didn't fit inside

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

57%

This hostel was disgusting. I only stayed here one night and purely for the location as I had a tour the next day down the road. When I arrived the staff who checked me in Weren't helpful at all. The place is a maze, they have 3 tiered bunk beds (not shown in the photos) you make your own bed, toilets are difficult to find and are disgusting, there are hardly power points, none for the bunk beds so you have to sit outside the dorm or In the common area, this is not a youth hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Clearly you didn't enjoy your stay, which is unfortunate. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will pass your comments onto the Hostel Manager to look further into. Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one :)

54%

the hostel was in a great location. but value for money it wasn't the rooms were ok. I actually booked online a 6 bed dorm and ended up in a 9 bed dorm. The beds were fine but you wouldnt have wanted to be tall. the linen had stains. the bathrooms always smelled not enough ventilation same with the showers. breakfasts were fine.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets. If for some reason you receive sheets which are not clean, please ask the reception team to swap them, they will. We will look in to why you were moved to a larger dorm, this doesn't normally happen.

71%

In my opinion the only great thing about this property is the location. The curtains on the bed are a nice touch for privacy and the kitchen/common area is a social environment. But, the showers are the worst I've ever experienced - on the basement level, water runs for about 10seconds and you have to keep pushing the button, they smell and are excessively hot. Wifi is not free (it's free everywhere else). No power points or lights by the bed and only 2 power points in a room of 6 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. The showers are one area yet to be completed. The team may have missed letting you know that at our Hostels we have two types of wi-fi. It is FREE in the common areas OR £1 for 1 day in the dorms. We hope to see you again!

77%

The place was alright, sort of standard London hostel. Bunk beds are a bit short for tall people (and they're walled in, so it's hard to circumvent the problem...). Nice big kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again.

83%

Nice,patient staff with kindly help.The room is clean,just a little bit bad smell.They gave us cleaned bedsheet when check-in.Good location in central of London,just by 3 mins to Russell Square station.With breakfast,good value for money.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you again some time. Cheers.

60%

The rooms were too small and with not enogh plugs for everyone; in additon, internet was only available in the common areas, not in rooms. Showers were in the basement, so you have to walk a long way and cross the kitchen and the dinning room to get there. Regarding the staff, the girls were all right but the guys were kind of rude. After checking out, I wanted to leave my bag and they charged me 2 pounds for that...The cleanliness and the breakfaste was all right, but not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for you feedback. We've just finished upgrading our wifi so guests can access it in their rooms for £1 for 24 hours. As you mentioned we still provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms. Our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight). When you compare this to the price you would pay at train stations and airports (which start at £6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is an affordable option for our Smart Backpackers!

74%

Room was ok. Liked curtains on each bunk. But showers were all the way down in basement and didn't have doors, just a single curtain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. Hopefully you will have a chance to come back and try them out. Cheers.

89%

I loved this hostel. It was clean, the people were very nice and helpful, and there was an excellent atmosphere. The only complaint I have is about the lack of mirrors in the showering area, and that it costs 2 pounds to store our luggage after checking out. Otherwise, a great experience.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the kind words. We loved having you stay with us! The atmosphere in any Hostel is directly linked to the mood of the Guests. The more people have a good time the more people who will. Hope to see you again. Cheers.

63%

Okay for one night if you need to be in the area. Showers in the basement through the lobby. Bed was small and room had poor ventilation/was hot. Close to train station at Russell square.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably gathered we are busy trying to improve the facilities at the Hostel. We are also looking at room ventilation following our unusually hot London summer. At least we hope you were able to enjoy the many attractions in the surrounding area. Cheers.

57%

The guests and employees of this hostel were awesome! They were very friendly and helpful. But the cleanliness and the facilities themselves were not what I expected. The room had trash all over it, and the bathrooms were not kept clean. Having the showers in the basement was also a huge inconvenience (although I understand it was under construction so I understand that some things can't be helped.


80%

the first night taking the shower, water was iced. and sadly lockers in the changing room were all closed.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately our renovations are running late. We have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon.

77%

It's ok for the price, cold shared showers tho....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are refurbishing our hostel so we can continue to provide clean, low-budget accommodation in Central London. Unfortunately our renovations are running late but we have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(130 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback