X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
7464 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

One of the worst hostels Ive ever stayed at. Was told on my first night I was going to be kicked out for having my bare feet up on a couch. Staff were very rude. Added 10 pounds on to the online price. Rooms are cramped with triple bunks and 2 power points for 15 people. Had kids in my room. Very stingey and charge you extra for every little thing. Sheets and pillowcase are clean but doona covers are never washed and mine looked like it had stains on it. Only good thing was the location.


49%

I stayed in the fullest and smallest room ever. I just stayed for one night amd the room was tiny and 3 stories beds everywhere, with clothes everywhere. They should put less people in rooms to a better quality of staying.


54%

Would be great if the staff were more friendly and helpful The price is ok for the position, but not for the service given. Common area and showers are dirrty

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Almost everything was good. But some staff are.....

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff booked me in under a split booking without notifying me, so I went out one day came back and my stuff had been removed from my room! Staff were not friendly when helping with the situation!

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good value for the money: affordable, great location, clean, friendly and helpful staff, enough facilities, convenient breakfast, good atmosphere... Everything as described, with no surprises. 110% recommended.


54%

Really did not like this hostel. The staff were super unfriendly which does not make for a good first impression. I wanted to pay for my room with credit but the system was down which was super inconvienient. There is also no charm left on the inside of this building it is white and very generic. All the extra little cost add ons for baggage storage and room lockers was also annoying. Was impressed to see the enviromental initiatives taken by the hostel like water conservation in the showers.


66%

Showers are not great. There's barely any space to put your things while you shower and water comes on for maybe 3 seconds at a time which is annoying and makes it difficult to wash oneself. Breakfast was ok... Orange juice is disgusting as it's powder mixed with water. I can deal with all that for the price except for the showers... Making it turn on for at least 10 seconds or so and putting in more hangers, and maybe soap? Would make it much more enjoyable and still keep the price low.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Super cramped, toast rooms, with SUPER cramped bathrooms. The atmosphere is generally not good. There are lots of huge groups that came through that used the whole common area. No chance to meet people or interact much.


91%

The 8 female dorm I was in was fine and I actually enjoyed my stay all the girls were really nice and friendly the toilet was small but it was very clean but the small toilet didn't bother me? Breakfast was just ordinary but it was still good and the beds are pretty comfy too, I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be coming back to stay next month

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel. Very well located and very cheap.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The bed didn't provide curtain as picture show on the website. Electric plug should provide every bed, it is very inconvenience for the backpacker who want to recharge their electric devices for next day.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Its perfectly located in the heart of the city. Near tube stations, parks and a 20 minute walk from Covent Gardens. It is well laid out and kept modern and clean. The kitchen could you with 4 more hobs. Some of the cleaning staff are arrogant. Breakfast should start at 7 am, instead of yelling at guests that they can't touch it until 7:30 even though it is there from 7. Finally you have to rent a locker. It is just £1.50 per day, but given the hostel takes no responsibility for stolen property.


74%

Corridors are very noisy, and the sound isolation is insufficient. The security staff enforces the silence after 11pm, but nobody does that the days he is not there.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Overall a great hostel, it was my first ever and didn't really have much in regards to expectations, but it's right next to a park/square and the underground system, so you're never far away from the destination of your choosing.


66%

You can't pay with card at the reception and th breakfast was really bad, but free. A bit of a wait for th check in. Alright night sleep and ok quite in the big dorm. Could be cheaper

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Ok...so I have never stayed in a hostel before so had no idea what to expect, but did read reviews prior to my stay. I thought overall, the hostel was good value for money. I was on a top bunk, which was very stuffy due to the summer weather, so some fans to circulate the air would be a HUGE improvement...also with being on the top bunk, access to a charging socket was not convenient...but as I see from previous reviews, it IS something you are going to address.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Good central location - can't ask for better. You can save heaps by walking instead of taking the tube to key sights. Standard basic hostel breakfast of toast, cereal and coffee/tea. Big issue of security: the basement room I was in had windows to just below street level with no bars. Windows needed to be kept open in summer, so anyone from the steet could get into our room. Showers are clean but come with the standard timed-push button. Large change room for the men's.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Overall cheap and good hostel. Didn't like much the shower although it had hot water


71%

The rooms were badly ventilated. Particularly in Summer, it gets very suffocating with the curtains closed over beds when other room members have the light on. The washrooms were very tiny, thin walled and had to be squeezed into. Very possible for everyone outside to hear whats going on inside. The water control in showers could have been user friendly with hot and cold water control.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(171 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback