X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6642 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

The worst hostel experience. The rooms where absolutely unlivable, and the common area was so dirty. Wifi didn't work properly, just for 10 minutes if you standed at the entrance.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. Our common area is spacious and meets all the travellers' standards. Our housekeeping times are between 06:30 am- 23:00. beside of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly. SRS Team

69%

Location is central but on annoying tube stop, you'll understand what I mean when you reach the elevator. This is hostel is very big and clean and has a good sized kitchen for communal use. Otherwise its not very good. One member of staff was consistently rude to me, I think he was management. The showers are in the basement and my bed was three bunks high. Stay here if everywhere else is booked out as it is safe and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you got the wrong impression that one of our staff members was unpleasant. We give our 100% to make every guests stay great but we will take your feedback very seriously to improve our services. SRS Staff

74%

Great location, good staff, hostel just set up a bit anti socially. Curtains on beds were good, but again at the same time a bit anti social, especially in such tiny rooms with large numbers.

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

IT was horrible... like flies in the room, stink, holes in the corridors. Not worth half the money I payed. Not even a free WI-FI... I also got a sore on my lip from the dirty dishes... I will never come there again...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. SRS Staff

29%

I've been some hostels for out there, and never found anything like this hostel. In the hostel though the price is the lowest in London, should be closed. This is because besides the lack of cleanliness of the spaces, the hostel offers degrading conditions, in addition to the lack of empathy of staff who feel that they are there for duty. The first night there I have provided all the elements and then not be dignified to apologize or even solve the problem. Should be closed, for good to everyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay though your comment seems to be biased. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. SRS Staff

66%

The hostel was under renovation so it looked like a construction site, its pretty big with a good common room and I am sure when the works done it will be a lot better. the dorm we stayed in was so so small you had no where to put your bag at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. SRS Staff

60%

Showers were three floors away. No water to the sink in the room. Everything cost extra.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We have put all the bathrooms together in order to save energy and eliminate queues to the showers. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. SRS Staff

60%

This place was Bedlam. Lots of construction going on as well as packs of students (30-40 at a time) coming through, so things were chaotic to say the least. Staff were helpful, though, and the cleaning ladies ARE OVERWORKED and likely underpaid. They had their hands full with all the people schlepping through. They need SHELVES and HOOKS throughout as bags strewn all over were a sure fire hazard Also ridiculous to charge for lockers given the volume of people and construction guys with access.


74%

too crowded


71%

i RESERVED, BUT I CALLED TO CLARUFY I COULD NOT STAY BUT YOU CHARGED ME THE COMPLETE AMOUNT NOT EVEN STAYING,THERE I DONT THINK THE WEB SITE IS SECURE AND ALL THE PEOPLE THAT TRUST IN YOU DOESNT KNOW THAT YOU CAN CHARGE WHAT EVER AND WHENEVER YOU WANT AYHE AMOUNT BECAUSE I NEVER AUTORISED YOU TO CHARGE THAT AMOUNT THAT IS A BIG RISK

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a clear cancellation policy, hostelworld.com is a very secure website that gives the credit card details of no shows to the accommodation providers if necessairly. SRS Team

77%

Located in the heart of London! Lockers in the room didn't work. Everything else really nice. Would definitely come back.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Only one shower block which is in the basement & I mean BASEMENT....it was a walk & a half to get all the way down to the showers. Apart from that it was a great place to stay for the price & location - would stay again.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I definitely won't be staying at this hostel again. In the morning's there's room for about 50 people in the breakfast room but about 200 people trying to sit down. Some mornings I had to stand to eat my toast. The shower room is a joke. There's nowhere to hang up your clothes while you shower and people resort to walking from their room and back just wearing a towel. If privacy is an issue for you don't stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. We have placed all the showers together to avoid queues and save energy. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. SRS Staff

69%

Worst showers ever- all in the basement, lights were on a sensor/ timer so they turned themselves off, the taps were also on a timer so the water came out in 15 second bursts. Having them all together seemed like a good idea but it was a fair trek to get to them. Seemed to have big groups of people staying who took over the common area. Also the place is like a rabbit warren & easy to get lost in. Better ventilation was needed in the rooms, also more powerpoints & a bag hook IN each bed space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. SRS Staff

51%

it just wasnt confortable at all, not enough plugs, it kind of rained in my bedroom, very low atmosphere, you had to pay to leave your luggage in the luggage room... the room was very grey and gloomy... yeah didnt come out a fan

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Atmosphere and comfort of our guests are our priority and we will take your feedback very seriously. SRS staff

71%

The hostel isn't nice or cosy, but it's in the centre of London and it's cheap. If you plan to be outside all day and only sleep in the hostel, you can definetly choose this place. Nevertheless I think the owners could do some small things to make this place more lovely. The breakfast is very poor (even for this price) and it was always too warm stuffy in the breakfast room. All in all, it's ok, if you don't expect much.


80%

Showers REALLY ARE in basement! Shower heads spray water everywhere drenching it head whether u want 2 or not. Curtains around cot/bed; sink in my room, lockers below bed (not huge but big, pay to use/not a locker for your own lock); guard at front door checking your pass. Wifi unacceptably bad. I barely could check email while the guy next to me is streaming cartoons using all the bandwidth. It works in 2 main rooms, where as many as 75 people were lounging talking. Impossible to


97%

Good hostel. Good location and clean.


37%

This was the worst hostel experience I have had in my life and I have had a lot of that. I know that London is an expensive city, but even for London standards this place was way too filthy to charge that amount of money. On top of that, they charge you extra for almost everything you can think of, i.e. a proper internet connection, and you may even put the bed sheets on yourself.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. With the size of our hostel it is impossible to cover our whole hostel with free Wi Fi, we provide it in common areas and sometimes it acts up as e.g. 70-80 people are using it at the same time. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. SRS Staff

43%

It was so hot! Luckily it happened to be quite cold outside which I think helped the room cool down slightly in the middle of the night. I had the worse nights sleep ever! People running an tellig in the corridors all night and people in my room were loud too. The toilets are disgusting! Staff were average dodnt blow me away with there welcomin attitude. Asked for ID for my guest and I didn't bring any becuase on the site it only said I needed it. Overall glad it was one night! Never again

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your stay. We do not have an influence on disrespectful guest behaviour. We can only kindly ask them to follow our rules. Due to security reasons we require ID from every person staying in the hostel, no matter if it is not a person who originally booked with us, and this rule will not be changed. SRS Staff

(4356 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback