X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6752 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

The staff tells me that the duvet cover is not cleaned for a new visitor at all! while the sheets are for pillow and mattress, no such sheets are provided to duvet cover. That means u have to use some 2nd-handed to N-th-handed duvet covers!


71%

The lights are very powerful, the curtains should be washed and the fact that the facilities are only available in the vending machine at a much more expensive prize laughable. Otherwise, all good. I would recommend it if you're not too picky.


83%

Staff are friendly. The hostel dwellers seem to have a "good vibe". Strange, because some hostels attract "adventurers", others "boozers" others yet "mellow". This is the "mellow" group.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I don't understand other people's comments. SRS is really nice: curtains around your beds so even in a 9 beds room you have privacy, female bathroom really clean and never crowded (even though the hostel was full), free basic breakfast, GREAT location... Ok they make you pay to keep your luggage after checking out, or for a locker, but hey, they have to make some money as well! I'd definitely would go back again. Complainers might be people used to palaces. This is a great HOSTEL.

  • 16th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The windows needs to be open wide to allow sufficient ventilation. I don't want to die of carbon dioxide, esp of lots of ppl in the same room - suggest to open the windows wide or install ventilation fans.


86%

Excellent location and price. If I could suggest a couple improvements: earlier breakfast, especially if it is so simple, and free wifi that works in the rooms.


74%

Good hostel, nice location. very poor wifi and to go to the bathroom you must walk a lot and cross the dining room and the breakfast is not so good. the rest is acceptable...


86%

I stayed here for a couple of nights. It is a good place to get some sleep. Comfortable but short beds (not a problem for me but if you are over 1.80m (6ft) then you might feel squished. For the price it is very good value but you need to lower your expectations to the level of money you are paying, which is 1/10th of a 1* hotel in the area. Location is great and 24 hours security guard was reassuring. Highly recommended for what it is.


26%

this was my first experience at a hostel , for the amount of money I had payed I expected much more than a tiny bed in a cluttered room with very poor hygiene , the staff were difficult to understand and very unhelpful , I will not be back at the hostel , yes the location was ok but that doesn't make up for how poor my stay was .

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry you got the wrong impression as we are doing our best to provide best service possible to all our guests. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. SRS Staff

74%

Good location, have to pay extra for lockers... And towels and for paying for your room on debit card. Room was freezing though, so take warm clothes or a sleeping bag

  • 12th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The toppest beds in the room have no wooden cover, such that when the lights are on, it is hard to sleep - suggest to add a wooden cover on the toppest beds.


69%

Good basic hostel. In a really good location right near the metro station. Staff weren't overly helpful. Good basic accom for a few nights


74%

You desperately need to wash quilts and curtains around the bed. Everyrhing else is Ok. ;)

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I stayed in this hostel for two nights. The location is excellent for visiting all the main attractions in London. The staff was ok, they did their job but didn't seem to be very happy to work there... The "privacy curtains" by the beds were really nice so you could sleep in peace. However, the curtains definitely needed a wash! The hostel is a little bit dirty and run down and needs refurbishing. In the toilets there aren't anything to dry your hands with... That's pretty basic, isn't it?


74%

Good value for the price, excellent location, breakfast OK (it could start a little bit earlier!) Lockers in room are payable!

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Great location right next to the Underground. Very "meh" inside. Cramped quarters. Dingy. Not much light. Everyone seemed very subdued in the common areas.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are doing our best to create a really good atmosphere and we take all the feedback very seriously. SRS Staff

31%

This is impossible to book the rooms for a continuous time period e.g. one month. The available bookings of the rooms are often distributed. This makes me need to change the rooms once a while. This can be, in fact, solved when letting people to stay in the same room, regardless of the specific rooms (18-bed to 14-bed), as long as these room often have the same price.


69%

Having to pay extra money to store your things in a locker, half of which were broken is just crazy. Staff were mixed, some good, some bad but all lacked any kind of enthusiasm about what they were doing and unable to do any thinking for themselves. Breakfast is nothing to get excited about and a bit like feeding time at the zoo. Zero atmosphere throughout. But good location, comfy beds, clean hostel.


71%

The only showers are in the basement so have to descend 4 flights to get to them, and go through reception. Then they tell me off for walking through reception without a shirt. Pfffft.


63%

It was ok to stay the nigth, although bedrooms were dirty and stank (in the basement). Staff was nice. It may be nice to have a bar in the common room in the evening.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(4397 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback