X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6953 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Location is great! I was only in for a couple hours but the privacy curtain meant that I could sleep even when people turned on lights. Bathrooms need some fixing/cleaning, and prices are a bit expensive, but I was happy with what it was and problem will try to stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, its important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again.

57%

The beds are really small, if you're taller than 180 cm you won't fit! you can't control the temperature of the water in the showers and every min the water goes off, super annoying! Some of the staff were super nice but some were really not friendly and kind of pissed of helping you. There are only 2 power supplies in a room of 9 beds, and they're next to the door, so if you're next to the window you're screwed. The place is being remodeled which I think is super good

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback, and yes, we are undergoing a refurbishment so there will be a power plug next to every bed and all the rooms are en suite. Thank you for the comment about our staff we will look into it.

34%

Our room, in the basement, was extremelly small for seven people (student dorm size). The only window in the room, which faced the street, had no lock and could be opened from the outside. The two toilets on our floor were unclean, broken and one could not be locked. The corridor was under construction and there was a huge hole in the wall. At 10-11 am, cleaners would enter our room and clean, while we were still in it. The staff was rude and kept giving us looks and comments on our clothing (!)

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are continuously seeking ways of improving our hostel's quality, and so will be considering your valuable comments when we do so. All maintenance issues are resolved promptly once reported. We are sorry you got the wrong impression about our staff. Hope you will stay with us again.

63%

Cramped dorms with as many bunks as possible fitted into. Too bad no one thought about any luggage the guests might bring along - so all the floors are filled with stuff. Better don't be there in case of an emergency. My dorm also had just 2 plugs for 16 people. Showers were awful - only few with water that was actually warm and the smell in the shower rooms is just disgusting. Extra charge for basically anything - lockers, luggage storage etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are continuously seeking ways of improving our hostel's quality so thank you for your comment. We are in the middle of refurbishment for every room to be en suite and with a plug next to every bed. The extra charges are there as not every guest needs every facility that we offer so you don't end up paying for the things you don't need whilst making a booking. We hope to see you again.

57%

The hostel is in a central and safe location, only minutes away from the British Museum. Hostel staff is nice and helpful. However, the hostel is pretty run-down I would say. Facilities are not being maintained and cleaning is variable. Shower facilities are the worse of all: the water is at best lukewarm and you have hold a button down for the water to come out. Hostel didn't seem to attract a lot of young and outgoing people. Overall, though, it's definitely livable and very cheap for London.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you were impressed by the service provided by our receptionist, though concerned you found the quality of the facilities below the standards we normally ensure to meet. You will be happy to hear that we are in the middle of refurbishment and around October this year all our rooms will have en suite bathrooms. We can also assure you that cleaning is our priority.

43%

Have you ever been to prison? You will have definitely felt like it after staying in the jail-like cells of this hostel. It comes, complete with staff who is, admittedly, always there, but only to tell you that they cannot do anything to help you. There are posters everywhere stating that they offer discounted prices to attractions around London, but every time you ask about any of them, you get one response, "the website is down". crappy, messy, small. Do not book!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good.I am really sorry again. Unfortunatley our website was down for a long time.

97%

I really enjoy to be there! Was a great night and good moments. See you soon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, its important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again.

77%

insufficient toilets and too far - 3 flghts of stairs from the 3rd floor is too far, and the shower was in the basement. i stay here for the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your appreciation for our location, we are aware about the shower issue and are solving it. The refurbishment will end around October and then all the rooms will be en suite.

57%

Yes, the location and the price are good and that's the only reason I would recommend this hotel. Stay was horrible from the get go: the staff were extremely rude. I was placed in a 14 person dorm that was extremely small with 3 beds stacked on top of each other. The room was located in the basement which was extremely cold, there were very few outlets and the facilities were not clean. The atmosphere of the entire place was awful: the majority of people actually seemed to be living there!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We want to offer affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers without missing on out on a perfect location. We are concerned you found the quality of the facilities below the standards we normally ensure to meet. Additionally, we are sorry if you got the impression that our staff was rude. Can you, please, send an email to manager to explain this matter?

74%

We were really bothered by the noise at night! No adults seems to react to the mess made by the french classes. The teachers should be warned that if they don't keep they class calm at night they should find another place to go!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We did speak to the teachers and gave them a warning, still we are sorry for all the inconvenience caused by the group.

77%

Really good in regards to location and price. Not the greatest social scene and beds were too short, although you get your own curtain that gives you a little extra privacy from late night comers. Dont expect anything flash but well worth it if your on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for a positive comment. We are pleased to offer an affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers without missing out on the perfect location.

69%

The bedrooms are good and each bed has a curtain which is good when other roommates arrive late / leave early. There is no lift so if you have heavy luggage be ready to carry it up. The showers are in the basement only which forces you to go down every morning. And the water was jist slightly warm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for very positive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed our hostel and hopefully see you soon again

60%

The toilet could be more cleaner

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

During our stay at Smart Russell Square, the hostel was actually under construction. We had construction workers walking through the halls every morning and the floors were covered in debris. Aside from that, nothing seemed to be entirely functional. From the lockers in the shower rooms and bedrooms to the vending machines, nothing worked right. Unfortunately, the staff was not helpful or very friendly. Every time someone in our group had a question, it could never be answered with confidence.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! First of all, thanks for choosing Smart Russell Square while you were in London. Unfortunately, sometimes we have unforeseen maintenance issues. Nevertheless, we try not to affect guests with these. We apologize for any inconvenience it might have caused you and we hope to see you soon! SRS Team

83%

I'm always happy to get back. It's very well located, very safe. I'd have a suggestion, separate men and women toilets would be a good idea. There are people of all ages there, sometimes it's awkward. Also bigger size sinks would be great. It's very difficult (if not impossible) to wash your face in the tiny ones they have there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, its important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again.

20%

This was the most awful hostel I have ever stayed in in my entire life! Tiny rooms, filthy corridors, filthy toilets, filthy showers, expensive, disgusting breakfast! Tried to spend the least amount of time in here as possible! Avoid like the plague!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance to show you the level of service we want to offer.

69%

My room smelled terribly of fish and it was inconvenient that the nearest toilets were 1.5 floors down and the showers were even further (basement of the hostel). also the bed was far too short

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. We are undergoing a refurbishment so every room will have en suite bathroom in a couple of months.

80%

Was actually a decent hostel.... loads of rooms, kitchen, nice big lounge, lots of benches to chill out... good staff, loads of cleaners, wash room..... can't moan at anything really, apart from the fact there was like 1 PLUG SOCKET in a room of 8 people and it didn't even work, so it was impossible to charge my phone. I must say, curtains on the bunk beds were a nice touch.... though beds were TINY, be warned!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are continuously seeking ways of improving our hostel's quality so thank you for your comment. We are in the middle of refurbishment for every room to be en suite and with a plug next to every bed. We hope to see you again.

86%

The busiest hostel that I have ever been. There are so many travelers in this hostel everyday and always get together in the common room. It is very good. Although the toilet and the shower room is little far away from the bedroom. I would also recommend this hostel to my friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive comment. Hope you will stay with us again.

77%

Good for the price, extra cost for locks and the showers could be better, but I would definitely come back :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the good words. We do not include some of the charges in the cost of the room so our guests don't end up paying for something that they don't need. We offer affordable accommodation in great locations.

(4481 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback