X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6955 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Good for the price, extra cost for locks and the showers could be better, but I would definitely come back :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the good words. We do not include some of the charges in the cost of the room so our guests don't end up paying for something that they don't need. We offer affordable accommodation in great locations.

60%

Showers only downstairs which not only meant going 2 floors down but also going through the main hall- not very comfortable situation. Lack of reading lights in room was an issue. One person asked for lights to be off right after 10 pm - that meant no possibility to read, in bed write or study map in bed. Not ideal. Large groups of young people made terrible noise in the morning.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are currently undergoing a full refurbishment all the rooms will have en-suite bathrooms, reading light and a plug around each bed.

37%

The bed smells suck in dormitory.


60%

Incredibly camped and windowless


57%

Well, for the London standards - nothing surprising. Apart from the mouse. You do not expect a mouse to visit your room while your out, do you? Here's a surprise then!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry your stay was interrupted. We will investigate and resolve the problem immediately.

60%

The rooms in the basement are terrifying. To fill the rooms with bunk beds with 3 levels is awful. Too many people in this tiny rooms make it stink a lot there was also no space a all for the bags. The third level of the beds are straight under the lights so it's impossible to sleep if people turn on the lights because it's far too bright and the curton does'nt help if the light is right above you. Furthermore stinks the basement like it's mouldy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are undergoing a complete refurbishment so each of the beds will have own plug and a light so the people sleeping on the top bunks are not interrupted during the night. We offer variety of rooms to fit different budgets of our travellers.

94%

I always stay here! Great location near tube station and also the conference I was attending! Basic breakfast but good atmosphere and clean rooms. The bunks all have a curtain which I like a lot!


74%

Alot of people sometimes you can easily hear them from your room . Theres no facilities that was advertised on website Gym , pool tables. apart from that its ok. Need more storage place for food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are slowly renovating all the rooms and they will all have en suite bathrooms and the floors area will be turned into something else. SRS Staff

51%

Un lit rooms, very dark with no natural light or air. Not a lot of information provided at check in. And showers that belong in swimming pools. Great location, however a bad night sleep

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Internet is terrible

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your feed back. We are looking for solutions to make the internet faster. We are still working on it.

60%

It was a good place when it came to just having somewhere to sleep. The beds were not very comfortable and they tried squishing as many beds as possible in one room, however, at least each bunk had its own curtain. The showers were not very nice. It was a giant room with individual showers but no individual change rooms. Also it was a push shower and it was very short. Some of the people at the front desk were helpful. We had to pick who we talked to as some were more helpful than others.


86%

Friendly, welcoming staff that provided us with all the information we needed to know about check-in, check-out and the hostel facilities.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on Facebook.

60%

Ok, you get what you pay: the location is nice (you can visit the city centre on foot), 1 minute away from a tube which brings you everywhere. Toilets are mixed but quite clean, showers are only in the basement. For the first 2 nights we were in the basement, room 17, which was a terrible experience! The "soundtrack" of the room was the endless noise of the sewage pipe, but above all we were 12 guests in a room without a window. It was so smelly that we couldn't breathe!


89%

Would have been improved by individual lights in the bunks, also too few plugs to charge phone... Bring an extension cable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are renovating all the rooms and in a slowly process to provide more plugs. SRS Team

80%

Check in and check out was quick and easy, not too noisy in the evening x

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great for the money. Showers felt like a school/swimming pool. Sleeping on the top bunk was right below light so was very hard to sleep unless light was off.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The main problem was the noise :/ next to a busy street which kept me up all night sadly.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are slowly renovating all the rooms and they will all have a different windows. So the noise will be less. SRS TEAM

94%

All good - friendly sort of place, good facilities I thought, would cheerfully stay there again. Ear plugs and eye shades helped me; light sleeper.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on face book.

66%

People that work on the reception of hostels and hotels should always be able to be speak fluent English with a smile especially because they are having to deal with hundreds of people every day. But apart from that it's not a bad hostel it is just that the facilities at not all that good compared to a lot of the other hostels that there are in London. Now days, I have been completely honest and I hope that I haven't offended anyone, Christopher Micharl Wright

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback.We are sorry you weren't satisfied with your stay. We always try our best to make our guests feel welcomed and their stay comfortable. SRS Staff

54%

The hostel was ok for the price we paid, but the common toilettes on each floor, and a the DISGUSTING showers in the basement were really lame.

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are slowly renovating all the rooms and they will all have en suite bathrooms and the basement area will be turned into something else. SRS Staff

(4482 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback