X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6953 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

First of all THANK YOU VERY MUCH . I heard lot of bad comments but this place is fantastic . Really value for money .Thanks to all in reception . It was a fantastic stay.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that we were able to assist and that the facilities were up to scratch. Hope to see you back sometime soon.

100%

The stay was amazing... The staff was cheerfully and great... Night shift staff were really helpful and friendly... I would really recommend this place to friends to stay in... ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much!

80%

It was very near to the underground and the British museum. Also, there are many shops and restaurant around the hostel. The room was clean and good. But the shower room was one in the basement, and it was little bit difficult to use. And there is no free locker. But it was okay to stay two nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you very much for your positive review! Hope to see you again.

60%

The hostel can't be very clean, three out of four of our group got a flu/asthma problems while staying there. We also saw a mouse in one of the dorms. Staff didn't seem very happy. We had also sent an e-mail about three or two weeks before we arrived, asking if we could all be situated in the same dorm. We never got a reply and when we arrived at the hostel and asked about it the staff member just said that we should have sent an e-mail. Great. But the location is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback.The booking you made was for two guests only, you were placed together in the same dorm for the entire stay. we can not guarantee that if you make multiple bookings that all these booking will be placed in the same room specially in a very busy period such as the new year eve. Hence, we advice our customers to make one group booking to avoid disappointments. In regard to cleaning issue, our housekeeping department is looking into it to improve our services.

54%

Good location, fair price, bad staff and facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, We are really sorry you didn't find our staff welcoming. We are doing our best to make all our guests happy. Could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services.

40%

One of the worst hostels I stayed at during a 3.5 month trip. This place is old, there were only 2 plugs in an 8 bed dorm, the showers are in the basement and to access them you have to walk through the common area/breakfast room. In the shower room everything is wet and there is nowhere to put your stuff. They try to suck every last dollar out of you, such as charging for using your locker in your room, and charging to use the wifi in your room. With so many options in London, stay elsewhere!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry you were so dissatisfied with your stay. Wi-Fi is free in the common areas and one have to pay extra for the connection in the room. We are providing a budget accommodation and we don't want our guests to pay for the things they don't need. We realize that showers' location is a bit uncomfortable that is why we are planning a refurbishment. We hope to get a another chance to prove our good service and quality.

54%

on check in, I was handed sheets to make my own bed ( half expected it) I had a heavy suitcase and had to walk down a very narrow set of stairs down to the basement ( with no offer to help) If i wanted a towel i had to pay. there werent any towels available so i had to use one of my sheets as a towel. no pillow the light was right above my bed, so regardless of curtains for privacy and darkness, i was woken up each time some one came to the room and turned the light on too hot in the room

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We try to provide an accommodation for a traveller with a budget in mind, towels are not included so our guests don't end up paying for the hings they don't need. If you reported any inconvenience we would have resolved it promptly e.g. change a bed and give you a pillow that was missing.

69%

The staff during the night shift is really rude. The ones in the morning are lovely and polite. The location is great, next to an underground station and, if you want, you can walk to the main touristic spots of London.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We try our best to treat every feedback individually to understand the problem and resolve it promptly. Could you please email the hostel manager to explain your complaint about the staff.

37%

The bed was shorter than I was (and I'm not that tall), no power points in the room and the changing-room style (very small) showers were in the basement and had no privacy. Luckily there weren't too many people in the showers when I went at midnight.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler and to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests. The beds were custom built to accommodate our guests needs and it doesn't happen often for our guests not to fit.

86%

Remarkable place to stay during a visit in London. The atmosphere blends dorms with a large and friendly space to have a good meal that can be prepared in a constantly clean kitchen. My dorm was in the basement were white painted walls and floating tubes remained me a corridor of a ship. Recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on face book.

83%

Only problem was the room was overheated, even with the window open all night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are on process of installing window fans on every room to keep good ventilation process.

43%

Prison-inspired place. Rooms are smelly and chilly. Beds are stacked one above another in sets of three like drawers (claustrophobic). These have no more than 1.8 meters length. Toilets are dirty and smelly. Showers are in the basement, disposed one besides the other with no privacy. Floor awash. Water temperature is not constant (ranging from cold to slightly warm) and you should stay pressing a button to pump the water out. The environment is sad. Clearly the worst option for your night sleep.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are going to upgrade our hostel on February 2014 where we will be having more en suite rooms. Regards, SRS Team

74%

Someone (probably the owner, or someone like that) was awfully rude. Not a way to treat his clients... The 14-bed dorm was very small, no window to bring fresh air into it and, worst of all, only two sockets for the whole room. Cheap and good location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We try our best to treat every feedback individually to understand the problem and resolve it promptly. Could you please email the hostel manager to explain your complaint about the staff?

74%

Beds too small (length) - i am only 5ft 10 and couldn't fit on bed.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The dormitory for 8 people where I stayed for 3 days was ok, too hot but ok. I spent the last night of my stay in the dormitory for 16 people and it was really disgusting. It was dirty, it was impossibile to sleep in the higher floor of the beds, it was really really hot, the beds smell bad and an animal bite me during the night. I raccomended just the small rooms, but if you want a really cheap holiday maybe you can find something better.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. we have inspected the later room you stayed in and found no trace of any animal, though we have cleaned the room fully and changed all bedding. Kind regards, SRS Team

100%

For such a cheap price, I didn't expect much. But my stay was surprisingly nice!

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The - : Way too noisy (subway, doors smashing and people talking out loud and keeping the light on in the room even at 2am) Super hot in the room ( we had to sleep with a window open to prevent suffocation) Messy and not always friendly staff ( depending who is in front of you) The backpacker is quite a maze as there is so many doors and stairs The + : Breakfast bring to the night a better value

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. Smart Russell Square will be refurbished early 2014 which will be resolving the noise issues from doors. With regard to the heat, we have experienced very cold weather recently in London where we had to put the heating up based on guests requests, though we had some cooler rooms for guests would like to change their rooms. Kind regards, SRS Team

91%

I like this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hi, Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on face book. Kind regards, SRS Team

100%

Good value hostel in the center of London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on face book. Kind regards, SRS Team

60%

The hostel is in a good location and has warm showers. However it is cramped and expensive for what you get. The staff are not the most friendly people and it doesn't feel very clean. The walls are very thin so it is extremely noisy.


(4481 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback