X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6710 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

High price for the service. Poor breakfast. The showers remind me Auchwitz ... No separated toilets. Showers far from the room : basement.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor. The second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. SRS Staff

69%

The place is a maze. Really small boxed beds, im 1.80m and could't fit in! Must pay also extra for lockers and a fee for card payment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. This charges/deposit have been told you when making the booking. We are trying to make the accommodation charges simple and affordable to our guest. Should you choose to pay with debit/ credit card then these charges are imposed by our bank. SRS Staff

83%

Please make sure that you open the windows in the morning to take the heat out that builds during the day. Allows some windows to be open it is healthier as they are crowded. Make sure that the people are friendly and washrooms are always clean as this is one of the most important points in a hotel. I think it is quite a good hostel as it is very well located and the prices are super reasonable. Keep the good job.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

If you like Lino floors and no room for your bags, One window, no ac, no rental on towels (buy for 5pound) walk down 3 flights of stairs and through 8-9 doors for a shower in what felt like a gas chamber oh and faulty power points in your room, and having to make your own bed. Other than that. It Was a bed. Period. It's was the least favourite of any hostel I've stayed in. Up to you

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have placed the showers together for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy and the second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. SRS Staff

60%

Room was stupidly humid. There may be little curtains on the beds for privacy but this does not help with 2 americans walk in at 2am and stick the light on... very very bright strip lights... these need to be removed. Door also bleeps whenever said Americans walked in and hour for the next few hours

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but we cannot tell our guest when to come into the rooms or how to behave. SRS Staff

54%

Iris a dive best avoided better hostels around

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. SRS Staff

86%

:( 1.80m beds (short!) Internet expensive! (2 pounds for 20mn...) Poor breakfast :) Nice kitchen Helpful staff


63%

under storage box didnt lock, room was dirty


91%

You got what you payed for.


69%

In general I was satisfied by what the hostel had to offer. It's a hostel, you get what you pay for. The location is the biggest plus I can give here, it was fantastic, over the 3 days I stayed not once did I have to use the underground or bus system; there's so much that's comfortably within walking distance.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A very nice Hostel clean friendly beds are very comfortable

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

It smelled, and there was no ventilation. The bunk beds had 3 bunks instead of 2 and felt like it was going to tip over. The duvet covers had major stains on them.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The showers were very poor. There are no showers on each floor; all the showers are grouped together in the basement. It was a poorly ventilated, dirty place with cubicles separated by shower curtains. The shower jets are very strong are you can't control the temperature. No where to put your toiletries but on the dirty, hairy floor. Piping was gross, while I changed (with difficulty, cause there weren't enough hooks) water dripped from the rusty piping above. I do not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor. The second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. SRS Staff

77%

The pool table was broken, no wifi reception outside of the lobby and the beds were really, really short. Otherwise great stay.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Quite good location, considering the size of London (and the price of transport there). Unfortunately, rooms look like a prison or a bad hospital. If you don't mind about where you sleep, take shower or even rude staff, that's a good place to be. 15 min walk from many turistic points. But if you do mind about hostel quality and a little bit less about the location, you can find better for the same price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. We are sorry that you got the impression that our staff was rude and that you didn't enjoy your stay. We hope you'll give us another chance when you visit London next time :) SRS Staff

77%

A very typical hostel experience. An older building that needs some work, and very busy with a lot of young travellers. Wi-Fi only in the common area and even then it can be tough to get a connection throughout the whole room. Good security if you pay for your own locker, and the place is kept pretty clean. The location is great!


77%

All around good. One point of constructive criticism: educate the staff on how to tell tourists directions by using a map. This includes circling cool places to visit on the map, locating the hostel on the map, and explaining how to get from point A to B by *drawing a line on the map*. Advise is too oral-based in the UK, as compared to other European countries I've travelled to.


63%

The showers are located in a basement and it is pretty far from all rooms and really stuffy. The common room was big but more like a cafeteria. The location was good since it was so close to kings cross but all the places close early so you have to go further on the tube for a night out

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor. The second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. Hope you will enjoy your next stay with us better :)

83%

I had a great stay, and met some great people!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Cons - 4 floors and long way to not very clean showers - short beds - cca 190 cm only - very lowcost breakfest - only strange bread, strange margarine, strange marmelade and strange conflakes - obsolete interior Pros - location close to underground - not especially expensive - quite clean except of showers

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We are committed to quality and are trying our best. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. SRS Staff

(4380 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback