X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6412 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

bit of a maze, difficult to find my room

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

I spent only 1 day there and it was weird. You have to pay for using lockers, the bathrooms didn't have hot water and the staff didn't seem nice... Overall is an average hostel, don't expect too much, but ok I necessary...

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

the problem is that the showers are too far form the rooms


80%

Almost perfect given its extremely low price. However... The 1 hour rule for non-guests in the common area is unnecessarily strict. Only troublemakers should be ejected during the daytime. A non-guest is quite likely to be a resident of London, perhaps showing their friend around, rather than a guest at a rival hostel.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

communal areas were too crowded and I suggest if you dont want to be bothered by hoards of loud, ignorant teenagers this is not the place for you. The room was so hot and stuffy, even with the window open and the luggage storage under the bunk was extremely loud when people wanted to open with a key card at night. I was on the third floor, and the only shower room was in the basement! Very inconvenient! And the shower only lasts 10 seconds, so you have to keep pushing it in. Wifi was also down.


71%

Overall, the hostel is reasonable and, it has a great location. There are two things which make the hostel very unpleasant to stay in for longer than one night, though..first, the showers. They are located in the basement, and there are many (sort of swimming-pool style ones). Since there are many of them, the doors cannot be locked, and so anyone could just wander in. The second thing is fresh air - there is very little, and the fact that the beds are more like little cubicles does not help.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Old and decaying building. Was given a room on the top floor which felt like a sauna. Bed linen smells moldy and showers facilities are inconveniently all located in the basement. Staff : not impolite but not very welcoming either. Breakfast: regular offering of toasts, tea, coffee and cereals. Additional 2 pound charge to store luggage on the day of departure.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

the hostel is in a good spot, the bathroom is not the nicest, but the hostel certainly gets the job done.


34%

My room strongly smelled like stinky feet, and I don't know when was the last time that they washed the quilt. Some reception staff flirt with girls guests, which makes the environment unpleasant. I saw it more than once, and include happened with me. Finally, the breakfast is horrible. From nearly 20 countries I know, this hostel was one of the worst I've ever been.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

Their electronic payments were down and I was told to walk to the atm at 11pm. They did not inform me of an extra £10 deposit so I was told I had to go back to the atm, with no apology. All in all it took over 30 minutes to check in. Bed was comfortable enough, but room was too warm.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The room was extremely narrow; you had to turn sideways to move. No curtains on windows so light streamed in at 5 am. No curtains on beds,though hostel advertised bed curtains. Hostel charges for EVERY thing, incl. lockers under the bed (only 2 lockers and 4 beds, so that was a problem.) Noisy, thin walls, so every footstep and door slam was heard thru the night. Breakfast was white bread and a bowl of some cheap colored cereal. Wifi basically nonexistent. If you can afford it, go elsewhere.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Rooms were not cleaned between guests, plastic bottles everywhere, ants in the rooms and the lockers in the ad came w an untold charge. Showers all the way down in the basement and out of the three toilets on our floor one worked properly. Breakfast was alrite but the cleaners practically ripped plates and mugs from u if u so much as put them down on the table. Staff felt very unorganized and one promised things the others didnt agree to and so on. Great location though and very comfy bed.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Suitable for students. Good value for money. Basic breakfast of cornflakes or toast. Would stay again.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Was good location being very close to the tube, supermarket and a few places to eat or have a drink. Rooms were tight but clean and beds had curtains for privacy. Showers however were far down in the basement with no ventilation and poor shower pressure. Breakfast was average with cereal and toast but there was plenty for everyone.


86%

The location is great (close to tube and bus, and can walk easily to many great parts of London--Soho, Bloomsbury, Camden), the curtains are nice, the lounge is nice and big--good for meeting people and relaxing. The shower facilities are not the best (the floor is kind of slimy), and the beds are pretty uncomfortable and short (I am 63 inches tall and I just fit, length-wise).


60%

The location is great but many would struggle with the showers being unclean and right in the basement. The common room is often crowded and the rooms are very hot but you can deal with it. Everything extra - lockers, left luggage, etc - you had to pay for and staff weren't exactly the greatest


60%

Beds are extremely small, even for private twin room. The shower is in the basement so not that convenient.


83%

Friendly staff and clean place.


54%

Staff didn't seem happy to be working there, no smiles, depressed looks on their faces, not very helpful, didn't tell me anything about where the toilets or showers are, how to use the security boxes. I felt like necking myself after checking in.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

There aren't enough showers that work properly, there aren't enough wash basins. Individual dorms, especially bigger ones, should have more sockets - one per dorm is absolutely not enough if there are 10 people in it. Food supply could be more diverse.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(4260 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback