X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6624 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Not terrible, but you can fin much better! Of all the hostel I stayed in this was the one I liked least. The rooms were so hot and no AC or fan. The beds were smaller than most. The wifi almost never worked. The common room was big and good. The security wouldn't let anyone else in after 7pm... Even to help me carry some heavy stuff out ( they even lectured me for asking).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christina, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry for the heat in the room, it not usual in London. We think free Wi-Fi is a must have facility and sometimes the line is being used so many people and acts up. Also, we take security very seriously and sometimes it causes inconvenience but we have our standards. Hope you'll enjoy next stay better :) SRS Staff

57%

We've had the worst night in our lives at this hostel. We booked for three nights but couldn't bare more than one and looked for a hotel instead after the first night. Guess we've had bad luck with the toilets, cause they were not clean. The people there were nice and helpful and the security was great, and the tube was close by.. BUT there was no way of getting rest at night. The beds were too small, the whole room was cramped and it was BURNING HOT inside, so we couldn't get any sleep actually.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jo-Stale, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. The heat in London was unexpected and we are located in a listed building so it is impossible to install air con. Our cleaning staff is working really hard to keep everything clean but some guests are sometimes disrespectful when it comes to using shared spaces. Hope you will give us another chance :) SRS Staff

74%

It had everything you will need, with a supportive staff that are multilingual. The issue was it was crowded and not fun too stay in.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Really well-located and a reliable security staff. Nonetheless, it's a pity to pay 1.5£ per locker PER NIGHT to keep your luggage secured and 2£ per bag after the checking-out. Facilities are quite clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kyoko, Thank you for your feedback and good words. We take security in our hostels very seriously. All the information about additional costs are listed in Things to note section. Hope to see you again in Smart Russel Square :) SRS Staff

66%

I used to come at this youth hostel when I come to London, as it is one of the cheapest and near from the center of the city.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The location was great, and the breakfast was decent. But the 18 bed dorm rooms were hot & stuffy, hardly had any windows, I can imagine the rooms in the basement to be a nightmare. The common area is too overcrowded with people and wifi only works in the common area/lobby and not in the rooms. Showers were either too cold or too hot, there isn't any in between and needed some days to get used to. Overall it was a decent stay, but it could have been better for the amount we're paying a night.


77%

The room in the 2nd floor was too hot, windows couldn't be opened more than 20 cm! There was no air for 6 persons! So sleeping was quite impossible!

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Terrible facilities, a few toilets per floor which a few were blocked and very dirty. Showers for the whole building were in the basement- stinking hot with very little ventilation and really dirty. Window in bedroom wouldnt open leaving it hot and stuffy. Many underage children (10-13 year olds). Overall a very bad experience, considering the price is not cheap!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback very seriously to improve our services. Our cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. We have placed the showers together at one place to save energy and to save our guests time of looking for a free shower. SRS Staff

60%

I stayed in the basement. First there was only one toilet for a couple of rooms. After one day stay it was broken.. so we had to go upstairs. Showers where very very small and have only very hot water!

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry your stay with us wasn't satisfactory. We are fixing all the mechanical faults on everyday basis, but still we are sorry for the inconvenience. SRS Staff

40%

Although it appears I have rated this at 40% I don't agree with that figure. I would say in a nutshell - slightly better than camping. My leastfavorite part was getting sprayed by the shower directly in the face with scalding hot water. It's not just the one shower that does this it's a basement full of them. My favorite part was leaving.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We try our best to treat every feedback individually to understand the problem and resolve it promptly. Could you please email the hostel manager to explain your complaints about the hostel as too hot water is too little feedback. Thank you. SRS Staff

80%

Great price for the location. Rooms are very crowded though and not much space for bags. Seemed like there were lots of groups of students


91%

For little money this hostel is the best choice!!! This hostel is very very CLEAN and has a lot of facilities. The only problem was the stale air in the room, because the window could be opened only a little. Notice, that we can go to the rooms without keycard from the kitchen! It can be a problem, because during the daytime anyone can come in, nobody asks for the keycard in the entrance.

  • 22nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

As a cheap hostel in London it seves its purpose. I have stayed here before and it is nice enough but you get what you pay for.


49%

The rooms are horrible, no air conditioning, or even windows that would open, and the toilets are horrible and almost non-existent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are on process of installing window fans on every room to keep good ventilation process. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. SRS Staff

66%

Everything is said . There are plenty of comments and they are all true. Maybe the management should stay at some other great hostels in order to experience what its like to stay in a great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location. Could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. 
 SRS Staff

74%

very prison like


71%

Staff on morning shift was very friendly. Shower room was too small.


54%

The hostel charges you extra for security, like using a locker or putting your bags in a secure room. The beds are really short and the staff cares little for your comfort. For example, my room was sweltering hot, on a night that wasn't very hot outside, and they couldn't be bothered.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. We are on process of installing window fans on every room to keep good ventilation process. An we are really sorry if you got a wrong impression about our staff attitude. SRS Staff

83%

The hostel was cleaned everyday regulary. Staff on the desk were helpful. It is a safe place. I totally recommend it to people who want to stay in an economic and cosy place.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Worst stay in a hostel I've ever had, no ventilation in rooms, no lockers in the showers, the showers don't work, no activities at all to get to know people and the staff aren't helpful. This place is just a place to sleep and that's it, and even that you can't do because it is so hot in the rooms. Wouldn't suggest this place to anyone.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We didn't expect this kind of weather in London. Our common are is perfect for socializing so we think that maybe you were just unlucky with meeting new people. Hope your next stay with us will be more satisfactory. SRS Staff

(4350 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback