X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
7455 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

The living room is really tight and small. It is impossible to breath, because there too many people and there are no windows. The room is tight and the bed really small.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows into all of our hostels to remove the restriction of window openings.

97%

Everything was good, my only thoughts would be - some form of individual lights in the sleeping pods - some people are very rude switching the lights on late at night - which keep others awake, and the shower curtains in the showers have black mould on - which happens - however a quick scrub with bleach wold make all the difference!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your ideas and will pass them on! Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times of the shared toilets to maintain good cleaning quality. In addition to this, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. We will pass your show comments onto the hostel. We hope to see you again!

74%

Great location for a very cheap price! The staff is nice and the breakfast correct. But don't expect too much about the facilities, especially the mattress which was very small and in the top of a 3-floor bed which makes the room looks like a submarine bedroom! Anyway it is good value if you want stay for a short night in London.


43%

We reserved two beds for a mixed room one week before. When we arrived, we had preffered to be toguether, but there was not enough space and we had to sleep in different rooms.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. When our guests book online they are reserving a bed not a room. If you contact the hostel prior to yoru booking we can allocate you in the same room to ensure you are placed together. We hope this didn't impact your stay too much and that you enjoyed London!

60%

Bed is too small. Bathroom smells bad. The breakfast is poor. Only one thing that I was content is price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guest.

66%

Liked the beds had curtains, didn't like that you had to pay additionally if you wanted to use the lockers. Breakfast was basic but fine, location was good being so close to the tube station and not far from other sites. Bathrooms weren't the best and bit annoying they were closed off a couple of times. Place wasn't great but was fine

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include a locker as most guests don’t wish to use them and this way they don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We pride ourselves on our central location and we are glad we enjoyed the free breakfast. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities!

69%

I took a suite room for 2.. it was very small.. In overall its a nice clean place.. just with strange atmospere.. and be ready for small rooms.. F.Y.I - no elevator.. and breakfest=toasts and jem and butter...

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel and all its staff is amazing. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your valuable feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your time at our hostel and the manner of the staff. We hope to see you again in the future!

71%

The beds have wood at each end so if you are any taller than 6' you will have trouble sleeping well. And one of the long term residents thinks he owns the place and can make his own rules. Other than this it isn't too bad. Thanks for the stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We will contact the hostel in regards to the long term resident. We hope to see you again!

63%

Good location showers and bathrooms suck

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are situated very close to two major tube stations; one being Russell Square and the other King's Cross St Pancras, we pride ourselves on our central and convenient location. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower.

49%

The staff did not speak english very well, but they were still friendly. The toilets and showers were not very clean and the "breakfast" was abysmal even in hostel-standards. They were building something there so it was noisy? Common area/dining area was sad looking open space with nothing to make it home-like.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the manner of our staff friendly. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. We also provide free breakfast for our guest! We hope to see you again!

40%

Facilities aren't very clean at all, bathrooms and rooms are super cramped, lighting is that horrid fluorescent kind. "Breakfast" of white bread and corn flakes is a frantic madhouse. Not enough power outlets in the entire hostel. Beware, some of the packed dorms have bunk beds 3-tiers high. Was not expecting, nor did I receive any warning/prior notice of, that sort of climb to the top bunk. Showers only in the basement, which is horribly inconvenient. Do not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. We are currently installing new bunk beds into our rooms to make the rooms even more comfortable to guests with personal power sockets and more storage space.

46%

we stayed in an ensuite room, the room was really really small, there was no wardrobe we stayed 5 days but they only cleaned once the stuff was not interested at all they took money for everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-friendly accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. They clean each room once a day and in addition to this, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly!

60%

I visited 26 hostels during my travels, and it was by far the Worst hostel I've been in. Triple bunk beds were a nightmare and there were three of those shoved in a tiny room. The showers are locker room style in the basement, felt unclean just walking there. Since the wifi only worked in the commons it was packed and hot and there were limited plugins.


63%

Really small bedrooms! There was not any space to the lugage.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for you feedback. We have work very hard on our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

77%

It's good for a short stay. Staff were good, facilities good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we are glad you were happy with your stay! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We are really happy that you enjoy the facilities and manner of our staff and hope to see you again.

80%

Enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was pretty basic but clean and tidy, there was no fuss which suited me fine. Would have liked more choice of breakfast, but I was happy with it for the price. Not sure about having to pay extra for the lockers though.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we are glad you were happy with your stay! We are really happy that you enjoy the cleanliness of the hostel and manner of our staff. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and this way guests don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We hope to see you again!

51%

I've stayed in 8 different hostel in London and this is by far at the bottom of my list. Booked into a 15 bed dorm and to my delight(!), the room barely had any space and 3 tier beds with people stacked like sardines waiting me with my bed on top. Should have got my climbing gear along. I paid as much for 4 bed rooms! To top it all, they handed my linen at the reception and had to make my bed at 3am (late flight)! The staff was pretty hit and miss too. Wouldn't stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers! Our main goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. However we are currently looking into installing new bunk beds into our rooms to make the rooms even more comfortable to guests with personal power sockets and more storage space.

80%

Overall a very good hostel very close to the British Museum and train stations. However the self catering kitchen could be improved to get a better review (it has no oven :( ) x

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The worst hostel ever. Orrible narrow rooms, curtains in the bunk beds useless for the top one (at least for the light), shared showers in the basement forcing people to pass through the common room to reach them, unpleasant toilets (really often out of order),unbalanced space and tools in the kitchen. My final opinion: the hostel is NOT well structured for the amount of customers, extremely badly organized. The staff at the front desk was not rude but definitely impolite Only position is good.


(4702 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback