X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6847 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

This was the worst hostel experience I have had in my life and I have had a lot of that. I know that London is an expensive city, but even for London standards this place was way too filthy to charge that amount of money. On top of that, they charge you extra for almost everything you can think of, i.e. a proper internet connection, and you may even put the bed sheets on yourself.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. With the size of our hostel it is impossible to cover our whole hostel with free Wi Fi, we provide it in common areas and sometimes it acts up as e.g. 70-80 people are using it at the same time. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. SRS Staff

43%

It was so hot! Luckily it happened to be quite cold outside which I think helped the room cool down slightly in the middle of the night. I had the worse nights sleep ever! People running an tellig in the corridors all night and people in my room were loud too. The toilets are disgusting! Staff were average dodnt blow me away with there welcomin attitude. Asked for ID for my guest and I didn't bring any becuase on the site it only said I needed it. Overall glad it was one night! Never again

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your stay. We do not have an influence on disrespectful guest behaviour. We can only kindly ask them to follow our rules. Due to security reasons we require ID from every person staying in the hostel, no matter if it is not a person who originally booked with us, and this rule will not be changed. SRS Staff

74%

Well, I stayed in the female dorm for 5 days, it was not as bad as I thought. Just I didn't use the duvet at all as they didn't change it. The shower was a bit annoying as you cannot adjust the temperture by yourself-- just a button that pours water on you, and you have to wish the best the water is neither too cold or too hot, every 2 minutes. Oh, and the wall is a bit thin as I could hear sonebody upon me doing some nasty things. However, the location is great.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

For the money this is excellent value. The staff are friendly and professional, they would quickly sort out anything you were unhappy with, the location is excellent, the rooms are clean, the showers are good. I think it's great that I got to stay in Russell Square, Bloomsbury, a lovely area, close to everything, for only ten pounds a night.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I really liked it here! It was a great location from the tube and had a nice atmosphere. I felt safe and my stuff was secure. I liked that the beds had curtains, very private. It had a young people feel without being too partyish. The people were very nice and helpful. Could use some newer sofas in the lounge room, but the only problem was the sinks were hard to use because the water pressure was so weak and it was unsafe to drink so you had to buy bottled water. I would love to stay here again!

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It can feel a little impersonal, but is still a great hostel.


51%

There should be more powersocket in the rooms, not 2 for 9 people. There is no drinking water in the room, the showers are terrible. No keys for lockers, no decent shower facilities. The lamp in our room was not working. Wifi was not working.

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are currently working on refurbishment so every room has it's own bathroom, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience. If there are any complaints about facilities e.g. broken lamp, our staff fixes it as soon as it is reported. Wi-Fi sometimes acts up due to amount f people using it at the same time. Sorry again for all the inconvenience. SRS Staff

71%

There was an indian night worker that was extremely rude and had a severe ego problem. I believe he was a snooty club doorman in his past career. He would outwardly boost about my personal business! Extremely uncalled for :(


83%

Great location!! Short 15 min walk down to London Eye, Big Ben and pretty much everything! Great value for the price! The staff was helpful. 1 or 2 were rude but eh. That's everywhere. Majority of staff was very helpful and always smiling which is always good! Overall I had a great experience. Would def. stay here again. I was surprised how clean and how safe the place was. I love the no curfew bit & that there is a security guard there every night before the sun even goes down! Def. recommend!

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

very bad hostel....managers want to take the most benefit of their clients.....cleanliness was very poor...specially in the shower areas , and it was smelly as well.....too many beds on one room....not polite.....wouldnt go there again....

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you got the wrong impression about the managers. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. SRS Staff

89%

Should improve wifi coverage on all floor. Signal is very poor in the bedrooms. always have to go down in the common living area to use the internet.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mali
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


49%

I was under impressed by the facility. The staff was very unfriendly and had a, "we mean business," attitude. Also, my locker didn't work so I had no where to safely secure my things. There was also one outlet in the entire 15 bunk room. Unacceptable. Competitive hostels should know that every bunk should have an outlet no matter what the price of the hostel. The showers are also in the basement, very hard to find and stink of mold.


83%

The location was excellent, the facilities within the hostel left little to be desired and it was easy to get to know people from all over the world, especially when you were both sitting in the reception area struggling with the moody wifi. But put that aside and you'll be very satisfied. Unless you don't like blue. The rooms are very blue. Seriously though, its a great place to stay, I'd go there again any time!


51%

Staff's english is bad. Lot's of old people. For everything you have to pay extra. Building is old.


60%

everything costs u money. I have to pay for luggage storage when I go out, it's not free like other hostels. Btw, it's difficult to find ur room from reception room

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. Kind Regards SRS Staff

54%

I stayed in a mixed dorm room for 1 night while traveling alone. I would not return to this hostel unless I was desperate. They made me wait 20 minutes before checking me in (even though I was there after check-in time), my locker key didn't work at first, my roommates seemed sketchy, so I slept with my suitcase on my bed (and all other items in my locker). I have stayed in other mixed dorm hostel rooms and had much better experiences for similar costs. I would look elsewhere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Sometimes, due to workload and other guest checking in/asking questions, other guest have to queue. We are sorry for this inconvenience but there is nothing we can do about it. We do not have an influence on the appearance of the guest staying with us. Hope you will come and visit us again and change your opinion. SRS Staff

80%

Great location and value for money


77%

Beds are a little smalll for taller people (1,80m). Staff could be nicer. Overall good experience in my opinion.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

High price for the service. Poor breakfast. The showers remind me Auchwitz ... No separated toilets. Showers far from the room : basement.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor. The second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. SRS Staff

69%

The place is a maze. Really small boxed beds, im 1.80m and could't fit in! Must pay also extra for lockers and a fee for card payment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. This charges/deposit have been told you when making the booking. We are trying to make the accommodation charges simple and affordable to our guest. Should you choose to pay with debit/ credit card then these charges are imposed by our bank. SRS Staff

(4438 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback