X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6646 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The rooms are horrible, no air conditioning, or even windows that would open, and the toilets are horrible and almost non-existent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are on process of installing window fans on every room to keep good ventilation process. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. SRS Staff

66%

Everything is said . There are plenty of comments and they are all true. Maybe the management should stay at some other great hostels in order to experience what its like to stay in a great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location. Could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. 
 SRS Staff

74%

very prison like


71%

Staff on morning shift was very friendly. Shower room was too small.


54%

The hostel charges you extra for security, like using a locker or putting your bags in a secure room. The beds are really short and the staff cares little for your comfort. For example, my room was sweltering hot, on a night that wasn't very hot outside, and they couldn't be bothered.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. We are on process of installing window fans on every room to keep good ventilation process. An we are really sorry if you got a wrong impression about our staff attitude. SRS Staff

83%

The hostel was cleaned everyday regulary. Staff on the desk were helpful. It is a safe place. I totally recommend it to people who want to stay in an economic and cosy place.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Worst stay in a hostel I've ever had, no ventilation in rooms, no lockers in the showers, the showers don't work, no activities at all to get to know people and the staff aren't helpful. This place is just a place to sleep and that's it, and even that you can't do because it is so hot in the rooms. Wouldn't suggest this place to anyone.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We didn't expect this kind of weather in London. Our common are is perfect for socializing so we think that maybe you were just unlucky with meeting new people. Hope your next stay with us will be more satisfactory. SRS Staff

57%

The price for the 2 bed room (about 45€ per night) is really to high for the service. room located in the 3rd floor, in July it was so HOT and the windows are locked in the whole building; the asked us 2-3 £ for opening the card-locked drawer in the room; we had to go throug 3 floors (and several doors) to reach the showers room; Breakfast included: a cup of cereals with cold milk, bread with butter and 1 type of jam, stop. 2 £ per baggage for the baggage custody the last day.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location. We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons: to save energy and to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests. SRS Staff

60%

The room that i stayed was in the basement and i looked like a prison by the amount of three-level bunk beds pilled up together. The bunk bed with curtains was nice, but the room was very dirty in the day that i stayed. They charge you extra if you want to leave a bag for a few hours after you checkout. Walk-able distance from Kings Cross and very near a Tesco express and a metro station.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation. The prices we offer do not include luggage storage as most of our customers do not need to use it therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. We take cleanliness comments very seriously. SRS Staff

77%

I expected less given the previous reviews. This hostel is in an amazing location. It was safe. It was cleaner than I expected. The showers were good and the people staying in the hostel were friendly. The staff were not sociable, BUT they were helpful.


51%

Me and my friend stayed 4 nights in this hostel, really bad decision, but is what you got. First at all the staff is nice and helpful which is the only pro point for me. I stayed in a room with 18 persons which was terrible. The room was really smelly so I couldn't get any sleep every night, the bad point was NO windows in the room, or at least to small. was really warm in the room, with now windows so the air was recirculating. My first thought was to get another hostel or hotel but was to late

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. SRS Staff

63%

It was an ok hostel, fair for the price. It was a shame that they charged for every little thing though, lockers, wifi etc. especially since wifi was advertised as free.

  • 17th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. Also all the extra charges are listed in Things To Note section. And the Wi-Fi is free, you have to pay if you would like to use the computer. SRS Staff

37%

Absolutely terrible. Filthy. Local homebums and junkies more than tourists. I've stayed in cleaner places in third world countries.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, though it seems to be biased. Our cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. Also, we do not have an influence on the behavior of our guests. SRS Staff

60%

unfriendly staff, tiny beds and showers only in the basement - would not stay again for the price paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry you got the wrong impression about our staff. We try our best to treat every feedback individually to understand the problem and resolve it promptly. Could you please email the hostel manager to explain your complaint about the staff. We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons: to save energy and to to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use. SRS Staff

63%

The hostel has a good location, but the bathrooms were very dirty and the room was too hot. Only one fan in a 18 bed dorm, no airconditioning and one window to open.

  • 15th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review. We take customer feedback very seriously. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. We are located in a listed building so it is impossible for us to install air con. Also, weather like this doesn't happen very often in London :) SRS Staff

80%

Always enjoy staying here, staff are friendly and rooms are always clean. Well organised and cheap hostel. Checkout procedure could be faster, and lots of visitors are caught out by having to have cash for the key-card deposit, and by being charged to pay on credit card - Advertise these requirements more?


69%

Rooms were very hot and the hostel could do with air-conditioning, there was a heatwave on. Breakfast was Ok for the price but there should have been a choice of white or wholemeal bread and marmalade as well as jam. There was nowhere to hang clothes in the shower so you have to risk leaving them outside. Staff were helpful enough. All in all quite cramped but a central location and lots of information about sights

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we are not able to install air con as we are located in a listed building. Hope to see you again in SRS :) SRS Staff

80%

This is a good centrally located hostel. It is efficiently run and offers excellent value fro money to those who want to stay in central London. The downsides are that it gets a bit crowded and the third tier of the bunks is high and there is no external space or bar - although Tavistock Square is close and open daytime and there are pubs in the area.


31%

The worst hostel I've stayed in on my 5 months of traveling. Wifi didn't work in lobby, showers and toilets are not in same room. The dorms windows do not open, so it was very hot and smelled. Would not stay, would not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry for all the inconvenience, we don't have the heatwave too often in London :) Wi-Fi works all the time though it is sometimes overloaded from the amount of people using it. SRS Staff

69%

I was there just two nights, I could not sleep any. It was really warm, and sleeping there was impossible because of the airless.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(4357 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback