X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
6433 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Triple decker bunks. Bit small beds. The showers


60%

The bed is for midgets. You can't even sit up properly in it. I like the privacy, but that is quite uncomfortable, and I was very unimpressed with the other facilities. I didn't find there was a good atmosphere for meeting people really, either. However, the location is absolutely unbeatable, so it's okay for a few nights if you don't plan to spend much time the hostel. It's a good base to see London from!


66%

The place was ok...very basic..and in need of a bit of a facelift inside..... At busy times the queue at the main desk was very long....and the service was not prompt!!.and the staff spoke broken English which did not help!! I couldnt find room 105....and eventually had to ask one of the cleaning staff,who was very helpful!! As i have said..the room was very basic...in need of a lick of paint..and new curtains on the beds!!.i was also concerned as to when the last time the duvet was cleaned!

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Rooms were dirty on arrival had to walk four floors to get to the showers, I have stayed in many hostels in my time travelling through USA, Asia, Australia and NZ I found this hostel to be one of the worst I have stayed in!

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Well, security was good, and location fantastic. The staff at reception was mostly nice, but security and evening staff grumpy. A smile hard to come by. When it comes to atmosphere, cracks it the walls, very very worn IKEA sofas, really bad breakfast with Jam in squeezy bottles on toast. Cleaning of the toilett area, well pee on the seat, and/or floors not uncommon, the pillow was absolutely blackened with sweat from previous customers and the rooms were very warm. facillities a tad unsanitary

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Still the best hostel in London. Great hostel for partying and meeting people. Lacks character but its a big hostel with comfortable beds - plenty of showers and very good price s. Stayed in several London hostels and this one comes out tops every times.


63%

the hostel should make leaving the luggages after check out a free service. although the hostel bed rates are cheap, but u need to pay for use of lockers and for leaving luggages after check out. not enough powerpoints in the dorms too. the location of the hostel is really good though. there are no lights for individual beds.


89%

They have only one problem: internet does not work.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A nice place as in quality/price ratio. Central position, next to the underground, friendly atmophere, enough comfort for a non-demanding traveller. Nice moment the breakfast in common. Just one critics: beds are a little too short. Then, maybe a less slow internet connection and some borrowable plug adaptors would help...


66%

don't go shower!!! it's terrible


60%

positives- excellent location and extremely affordable negatives- there are a ton of people packed into the hostel so its a bit hectic. It's clean , but conditions are pretty dingy. The staff aren't knowledgeable (had never heard of Stonehenge). Security was an issue on one night as our room door was broken and was accessible to anyone . you pay for what you get- if you're willing to stay in a crappy hostel to save money and stay in a great location stay here. Otherwise look elsewhere


94%

Good hostel, very close to the city centre. Easy to find and with helpfull staff. Tall people might have a problem with short beds. During our stay, it was a bit overcrowded and therefore there was also a problem with wifi connection. However, I can definitelly recommend this hostel for short stay.


46%

Cleaning staff were awful. Really rude and shouting at each other every morning in Russian. Maybe I'm not a morning person but it wasn't the most pleasant of wake ups. The whole hostel is too hot, the showers are awful, really dirty and right down in the basement. If you're a female travelling alone don't go near this hostel. It's full of leery, drunk old men. I felt so unsafe. The only good thing about this hostel is how central it is, but to be honest I'd rather pay more for something nice


71%

Nice location near the Metro, but the 4 bed dorm we stayed in was too small. Unlike the rest of the hostels we stayed at, the locker was not included.


91%

It was was cheap and in a great location right next to a central tube station. The staff were helpful and I had a good nights sleep. It is a trek to the shower, down lots of stairs, but that is only a niggle.

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is centrally located, clean and pretty tidy for the money. However, I spent an absolutely terrible night there after 3 people were allowed into my 4 bed dorm - they had no luggage and had clearly just come in off the street at 4am. Thirty minutes later, the police were hammering on the door as one of them had been reported a missing person. Once the police had left, they were snorting cocaine off the handbasin next to my bed. I realise that the hostel cannot entirely be blamed for t


60%

The receptionist (girl) was obviously unhappy with us checking in and unwilling to try to resolve our reservation issues. Thankfully another guy stepped in and sorted out everything.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The best thing about the place is the location and the fact that there is always a lot of people. But some staff are pretty weird, this security guy who is supposed to be from Norway is always trying to hit on girls and freaking them out Its mad weird and also hates you if you hook up with any girl. First class hatter. The best guy from Staff is ROSHDI, the man for real! The tall italian girl is really friendly as well at the counter. Last time i was there though it was full of kids (12-16) nnnn

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

London hostels always suck...but this one sucked less than some so I guess that is good? Very good central London location, clean enough bathrooms, beds were fine.


63%

Better cleanliness concerning the toilets should definitely be considered! Also separated toilets would be a better option

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(4274 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback