X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6910 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

i RESERVED, BUT I CALLED TO CLARUFY I COULD NOT STAY BUT YOU CHARGED ME THE COMPLETE AMOUNT NOT EVEN STAYING,THERE I DONT THINK THE WEB SITE IS SECURE AND ALL THE PEOPLE THAT TRUST IN YOU DOESNT KNOW THAT YOU CAN CHARGE WHAT EVER AND WHENEVER YOU WANT AYHE AMOUNT BECAUSE I NEVER AUTORISED YOU TO CHARGE THAT AMOUNT THAT IS A BIG RISK

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a clear cancellation policy, hostelworld.com is a very secure website that gives the credit card details of no shows to the accommodation providers if necessairly. SRS Team

77%

Located in the heart of London! Lockers in the room didn't work. Everything else really nice. Would definitely come back.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Only one shower block which is in the basement & I mean BASEMENT....it was a walk & a half to get all the way down to the showers. Apart from that it was a great place to stay for the price & location - would stay again.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I definitely won't be staying at this hostel again. In the morning's there's room for about 50 people in the breakfast room but about 200 people trying to sit down. Some mornings I had to stand to eat my toast. The shower room is a joke. There's nowhere to hang up your clothes while you shower and people resort to walking from their room and back just wearing a towel. If privacy is an issue for you don't stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. We have placed all the showers together to avoid queues and save energy. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. SRS Staff

69%

Worst showers ever- all in the basement, lights were on a sensor/ timer so they turned themselves off, the taps were also on a timer so the water came out in 15 second bursts. Having them all together seemed like a good idea but it was a fair trek to get to them. Seemed to have big groups of people staying who took over the common area. Also the place is like a rabbit warren & easy to get lost in. Better ventilation was needed in the rooms, also more powerpoints & a bag hook IN each bed space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. SRS Staff

51%

it just wasnt confortable at all, not enough plugs, it kind of rained in my bedroom, very low atmosphere, you had to pay to leave your luggage in the luggage room... the room was very grey and gloomy... yeah didnt come out a fan

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Atmosphere and comfort of our guests are our priority and we will take your feedback very seriously. SRS staff

71%

The hostel isn't nice or cosy, but it's in the centre of London and it's cheap. If you plan to be outside all day and only sleep in the hostel, you can definetly choose this place. Nevertheless I think the owners could do some small things to make this place more lovely. The breakfast is very poor (even for this price) and it was always too warm stuffy in the breakfast room. All in all, it's ok, if you don't expect much.


80%

Showers REALLY ARE in basement! Shower heads spray water everywhere drenching it head whether u want 2 or not. Curtains around cot/bed; sink in my room, lockers below bed (not huge but big, pay to use/not a locker for your own lock); guard at front door checking your pass. Wifi unacceptably bad. I barely could check email while the guy next to me is streaming cartoons using all the bandwidth. It works in 2 main rooms, where as many as 75 people were lounging talking. Impossible to


97%

Good hostel. Good location and clean.


37%

This was the worst hostel experience I have had in my life and I have had a lot of that. I know that London is an expensive city, but even for London standards this place was way too filthy to charge that amount of money. On top of that, they charge you extra for almost everything you can think of, i.e. a proper internet connection, and you may even put the bed sheets on yourself.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. With the size of our hostel it is impossible to cover our whole hostel with free Wi Fi, we provide it in common areas and sometimes it acts up as e.g. 70-80 people are using it at the same time. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. SRS Staff

43%

It was so hot! Luckily it happened to be quite cold outside which I think helped the room cool down slightly in the middle of the night. I had the worse nights sleep ever! People running an tellig in the corridors all night and people in my room were loud too. The toilets are disgusting! Staff were average dodnt blow me away with there welcomin attitude. Asked for ID for my guest and I didn't bring any becuase on the site it only said I needed it. Overall glad it was one night! Never again

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with your stay. We do not have an influence on disrespectful guest behaviour. We can only kindly ask them to follow our rules. Due to security reasons we require ID from every person staying in the hostel, no matter if it is not a person who originally booked with us, and this rule will not be changed. SRS Staff

74%

Well, I stayed in the female dorm for 5 days, it was not as bad as I thought. Just I didn't use the duvet at all as they didn't change it. The shower was a bit annoying as you cannot adjust the temperture by yourself-- just a button that pours water on you, and you have to wish the best the water is neither too cold or too hot, every 2 minutes. Oh, and the wall is a bit thin as I could hear sonebody upon me doing some nasty things. However, the location is great.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

For the money this is excellent value. The staff are friendly and professional, they would quickly sort out anything you were unhappy with, the location is excellent, the rooms are clean, the showers are good. I think it's great that I got to stay in Russell Square, Bloomsbury, a lovely area, close to everything, for only ten pounds a night.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I really liked it here! It was a great location from the tube and had a nice atmosphere. I felt safe and my stuff was secure. I liked that the beds had curtains, very private. It had a young people feel without being too partyish. The people were very nice and helpful. Could use some newer sofas in the lounge room, but the only problem was the sinks were hard to use because the water pressure was so weak and it was unsafe to drink so you had to buy bottled water. I would love to stay here again!

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It can feel a little impersonal, but is still a great hostel.


51%

There should be more powersocket in the rooms, not 2 for 9 people. There is no drinking water in the room, the showers are terrible. No keys for lockers, no decent shower facilities. The lamp in our room was not working. Wifi was not working.

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are currently working on refurbishment so every room has it's own bathroom, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience. If there are any complaints about facilities e.g. broken lamp, our staff fixes it as soon as it is reported. Wi-Fi sometimes acts up due to amount f people using it at the same time. Sorry again for all the inconvenience. SRS Staff

71%

There was an indian night worker that was extremely rude and had a severe ego problem. I believe he was a snooty club doorman in his past career. He would outwardly boost about my personal business! Extremely uncalled for :(


83%

Great location!! Short 15 min walk down to London Eye, Big Ben and pretty much everything! Great value for the price! The staff was helpful. 1 or 2 were rude but eh. That's everywhere. Majority of staff was very helpful and always smiling which is always good! Overall I had a great experience. Would def. stay here again. I was surprised how clean and how safe the place was. I love the no curfew bit & that there is a security guard there every night before the sun even goes down! Def. recommend!

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

very bad hostel....managers want to take the most benefit of their clients.....cleanliness was very poor...specially in the shower areas , and it was smelly as well.....too many beds on one room....not polite.....wouldnt go there again....

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you got the wrong impression about the managers. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. SRS Staff

89%

Should improve wifi coverage on all floor. Signal is very poor in the bedrooms. always have to go down in the common living area to use the internet.

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mali
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(4467 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback