X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6957 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

A very typical hostel experience. An older building that needs some work, and very busy with a lot of young travellers. Wi-Fi only in the common area and even then it can be tough to get a connection throughout the whole room. Good security if you pay for your own locker, and the place is kept pretty clean. The location is great!


77%

All around good. One point of constructive criticism: educate the staff on how to tell tourists directions by using a map. This includes circling cool places to visit on the map, locating the hostel on the map, and explaining how to get from point A to B by *drawing a line on the map*. Advise is too oral-based in the UK, as compared to other European countries I've travelled to.


63%

The showers are located in a basement and it is pretty far from all rooms and really stuffy. The common room was big but more like a cafeteria. The location was good since it was so close to kings cross but all the places close early so you have to go further on the tube for a night out

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor. The second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. Hope you will enjoy your next stay with us better :)

83%

I had a great stay, and met some great people!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Cons - 4 floors and long way to not very clean showers - short beds - cca 190 cm only - very lowcost breakfest - only strange bread, strange margarine, strange marmelade and strange conflakes - obsolete interior Pros - location close to underground - not especially expensive - quite clean except of showers

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We are committed to quality and are trying our best. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. SRS Staff

57%

the key to the lockers stopped working a couple of times. the breakfast was not good and there was no were to sit because all the chairs were occupied. the showers were dirty and hot and there was no sleeping-lights (just one big lamp in every room). The toilets were flooded often. More mirrors are needed! Overall, the place was really dirty.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hank you for your review. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. Our housekeeping/ cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. SRS Staff

74%

location breakfast security lockers under beds beds with curtains - wifi overloaded in the evenings - ONE toilet for whole floor - ONE plug in room for 15


51%

Not a nice place. Poor internet connection. I dont recomend it.


77%

positive: a lot of showers, lockers under beds are perfect negative: mens toilets far from room 16, old showers

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel was just okay. I guess if you just need a place to sleep it works. The bunk beds are annoying because they're stacked in threes and shake whenever people get on them. The room also rumbles when people walk to hard pass your room. The showers are in a dungeon (basement) and breakfast is just white bread that can be toasted and cereal.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Loving the curtains around the beds, made a for a great night's sleep! Would definitely stay here again


77%

Well, this hostel was clean and safe, albeit I didn't like shower room much. And I expected bit more from breakfest. But location is very good, stuff is friendly and prices are low.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

A no-frills hostel, located just behind Russell Square subway station - just 10 minutes or so from Euston station on foot. Recommended for young travelers who really need to travel on a budget. The price is amazing for London, and it even includes breakfast! Older travelers may not like the packed dormitories (6 x 3-stored bunk beds), or the smelly pillows - but clean sheets and a pillow case are provided. The lockers under the beds do not lock though... (maybe just mine though?)


86%

Well, let me tell you the security in this hostel is top notch!! But they can really be a bunch of pricks about it. If I have a two bed private hostel room with my girlfriend and she doesn't carry her Keycard, it's like the world has ended. At first, they wouldn't let her in, only after threats of physical force, we got to go verify with the desk that she was really allowed in. Really? I'll never stay at this hostel again. Never.


74%

Small rooms but clean. Showers in the basement were a little uncomfortable, too many stairs and passages. We think thet Wifi connection only in the common spaces can be improved (even upstairs and in rooms) .Shared bathroom were however always clean. Good breakfast. Staff members always kind and friendly. Excellent position, near underground station, bus stops (even night services). Nice place for a weekend stay with your friends.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff were very helpful and I really liked how each bed had a privacy curtain! However, the room was very cramped-I would have liked a bit more space.


94%

More quiet than I imagined. Men also slept in the same room,but everyone is quiet when they came back, so I slept very well.


60%

dRoom door's electric lock was not working so the door was open all the time. Showers gave only boiling hot water. WiFi didn't work. One of the taps in the toilets spread water all over the floor. Drink machine didn't work. Not enought sockets for everyone in the dorm (16 beds, 4 sockets). No air conditioning but at least a fan on top of the door. Window could be opened 20cm. No paper, towel or drier in the toilet with what to dry hands. Thin walls, every footstep could be heard from up stairs


46%

Where do i start, Did not enjoy my stay at all. Didn't even know triple level bunk beds existed but apparently they do and I was allocated top level one. Dangerous to climb up, fell and hurt my ankle first night. ClaustrophobIc and hot as no fan and window didn't open properly so couldnt sleep. We complained about this and asked to change rooms but manager was unaccomodating.Toilets dirty and not even on same floor. Showers three floors down in basement and hair dryer facilities broken. Unhappy

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Awful place. Cold reception; everywhere in the walls there were interdictions ('don't eat/drink/smoke here, don't open the window, you won't be refunded your deposit if...' but never a "welcome"!), poor breakfast, horrible dormitory with 3 levels beds... the worst were the showers: shared showers, you had to remove your clothes in one room and take a shower in another room... besides, the water inside was really too hot. And the doors of the toilets didn't close very well... Avoid this place.


(4485 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback