X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6752 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

It's ok for the money, but if you dont have to spare every coin, next time, i would choose a dorm with less than 9 people.

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Showers located in the basement, meaning you had to go through the common area, not enough plugs in the room, staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. The only advantage of this place is its location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor. The second main reason is to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests to use unlike other hostels where guests have to walk around the hostel from one floor to another trying to find an empty shower. Also, sorry If our staff came across as unfriendly.

69%

near the Russell square station needless to say great location a couple of rude staff, you say a cheerful hello and they look at you like you owe them something the showers are horrible you have to push it every second for the water to come out and when you do it's gonna drown you no temperature control the lockers are not free!! you have to pay like 1.50 pounds a day for it what!? nice lounge area with Wi-Fi and television nice kitchen

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review we will definitely take everything under consideration. We are really sorry if our Staff came across as not friendly. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. SRS Staff

60%

You need to pay all the extra in this hostel. If you want to lock your stuff you need to pay, if you want a towel you need to buy it, and if you need to leave your luggages at the hotel at the end of your stay, you need to pay as well. Hopefully, no need to pay yet for hot shower or for using the toilets

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. Also all the extras are listed in our Things to note section. Hope to see you again. SRS Staff

57%

We weren't particularly pleased with the Russell Square Hostel. It's a nice location, it feels safe and the staff are good - but the room we stayed in was noisy all night long, towels cost five quid even after having spent over 20/night per person on a 15 bunk room. I know that those are both part of the hostel experience, but I've never been in such a loud room before. Russell Sq seemed to cater to a younger, noisier crowd than what we're used to. Not horrible, but wouldn't go here again.

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry your stay wasn't satisfactory but we can only ask guests to be quiet couple of times and we are not responsible for them being disrespectful to other guests. Hoe you will give us another chance in the future :) SRS Staff

31%

I hated the hostel, the rooms have a horrible bad smell, the security guards are obnoxious, the service is slow, little water comes out the shower and the internet is stressful. Terrible, wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We take customer reviews very seriously. So far we had only positive feedback about our security staff, the service might come across as slow, because we let every guest take her/his time whilst at the reception desk which is a part of our great customer care. The Wi-Fi can be slow at times due to amount of people using it. Still, we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. SRS Staff

51%

It is very expensive and the facilities aren't as good as what the hostel owners say in their official page. The toilets' doors and the showers don't work very well, Please pay attention to that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We try to solve all the problems on everyday basis. We are sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay fully. SRS Staff

86%

Clean; tidy and quite with cordial staff....so is what you will need from a hostel.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

When you pay £24 for a night you expect a locker to be included. It was unacceptable to charge, given that I had a padlock in my pocket that I was unable to use due to high falluted locker. When you are on the third floor on a boiling hot day and there are only showers in the basement, this is a bit crummy. A great idea to have curtains on the beds, but it could have done with some low lights for when people came in late. Staff were polite, but I expected better facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need.We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons to save energy and to make it easier for our guests to find free shower. We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay fully. Staff

69%

I stayed in a 12 people dorm but it didn't seem so crowded. Showers were great and there's a huge lounge so always have seats. But the kitchen will seem very small compared to the number of people who stay there. You've got to wait a lot to cook something during 8-9 pm. You can't smoke in front of the hostel so that really sucked. Not great to meet and get to know people. It's like a really really cheap hotel. Plus i was only a bit late and I lost 10 pounds deposit. boo.


34%

AWFUL hostel! worst one i ever stayed at. very old building, a lot of stairs. showers are in the basement, it's a labyrinth to get there and they suck (kinda high school gym and not clean). not enough plugs either in the room (only two in a room for 6 people!) and the common area, so people are constantly struggling to charge their stuff. wifi is horrible, almost inexistent. very basic breakfast. except for one girl the staff is not friendly nor helpful. only good side: it's close to a metro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take customer feedback very seriously. We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons: to save energy and to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest so we offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. Wi-Fi is slow due to the amount of people using it at the same time. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Maybe next time. SRS Staff

71%

The problem is the bathrooms too far from the rooms. The breakfast is quite poor, but its ok.


83%

great location friendly staff I have stayed there twice and would stay there again.


83%

every thing is SO SO.


94%

Amazing location, great value and friendly staff!

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Neat and tidy, Good location. Only minus point was that the showers are all down in the basement.


57%

London is generally expensive but I still thought this hostel was expensive for that it has to offer. No free locker space; GBP1.50 for a small space under the bed and then additional GBP1 to have your bag/luggage store in the closet on the main floor. Safe - Security guard on every floor at night All showers in basement Shared outlet - difficult to charge batteries/phones Not as modern Location good - close to tube & 15mins walk to St Pacras Station


83%

bit of a maze, difficult to find my room

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

I spent only 1 day there and it was weird. You have to pay for using lockers, the bathrooms didn't have hot water and the staff didn't seem nice... Overall is an average hostel, don't expect too much, but ok I necessary...

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

the problem is that the showers are too far form the rooms


(4397 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback