X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
6418 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice clean hostel, great beds with curtains so everyone can do their own thing (doesn't matter if the light is on). the only bad thing were very noisy lockers!


71%

Smart Russell Square is youth hostel with a great location, but don't expect any luxury.

  • 9th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Well located, cheap and clean, these are the two advantages of this youth hostel. A pity that breakfast was so poor and that we had to go three floors down to have a shower. Deposit cash for groups is really not handy because we get the money back at the end of our stay and we can't spend the pounds anymore. A deposit with the credit card would be more convenient.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I spent 6 nights at Smart Russel Square Hostel into a Double Private Room. In the room there are only the beds, no chair, no hanging things to put your stuff hung. The big safety-drawers can be used paying 1£ per day. if you don't wanna pay, leave everything on the floor. The room (floor and little sink) is cleaned up everyday. Toilet's quite clean for being an hostel where you don't spend so much time. Showers are Okay. The people are ok, breakfast also (cereals, milk, bread, butter and jam)

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

Rude staff, demeaning. Rodent boxes around the walls of the common area. Uncomfortable beds and a bad pool table. Common area reminded me of a school dinner hall . If you're looking for a cheap backpacker hostel with a central location then this is it but it has to be the worst hostel I've ever been to and I was glad to leave. Representative of everything the hostel experience should not be about. It's a halfway house.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

great location!

  • 6th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location in the centre of London. Friendly and helpful staff. The showers are in the basement, the shower room reminds me of showers in gyms, a big room with many showers. There was always hot water and newer a queue. The hostel is basic, no reading lights, no chears etc. in the rooms. You get what you pay for.

  • 5th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Showers are located in the basement. Not really convenient. Also, the water in the showers was too HOT and it was impossible to take a shower without getting hair wet.


74%

Your typical company-run hostel. Less character than an independent hostel - less of the travellers atmosphere, but an excellent price for such a central hostel. Clean enough - you get what you pay for. The curtains on the beds make the dorms much nicer to sleep in.


94%

Very good!


74%

Good big hostel. Good location.


77%

The stay I spent in the Russel square hostel was very pleasant, me and my friend really enjoyed the atmosphere, the bedroom, which was completely appropriate, we spent two night very comfortable. Nothing to say except for we've already plan another stay there! See you soon!

  • 4th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good and cheap spot to stay at.

  • 4th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice Hostel with a great location in the centre of London. The staff were friendly and it had a large kitchen and dining room which was good because it got very busy. The provided breakfast was a nice touch.

  • 4th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is well located, clean and it has a good price, but they charge for lockers and to keep your baggage after you do your check out, and this is not acceptable. I'll never go back there again because of this, unless they change it.


63%

21/Female/Australia The showers were so difficult no water actually landed on my body it went all around me and turned off in 5 seconds. The toilet always smelt so bad which wasn't the toilet itself but was the toilet paper dispensers. Lockers should be free as there is no extra room to put your stuff at all. Great location though


91%

I live in this hostel for a long time, life is good, there is' a great feel like a big family. staff is excellent. I can recommend it to everyone to come to the SMART RUSSEL SQUARE


51%

Shower in the basement when you sleep on the 3rd floor !!!! Without any elevator ! you can find better in London

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This hostel is quite impersonal as it is very big. Not very clean and quite noisy, but still a quite good value for money if you want to stay for a couple of days in the center of London.


63%

Staff at the front desk were not friendly nor welcoming. When checking in they only told me my room number and did not bother advising of the facilities or when breakfast is etc.


(4264 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback