X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6956 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

This place is a ripp off when I went down to reception to book another night they charged me an extra 10 pounds because I didn't book it online. The rooms are tiny no room for bags, no pillow case or quilt cover and you can't sleep I it's too noisy. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are sorry you are unhappy with the price your paid for your additional night. We never stop our guests from looking online before making a booking. Upon check in each guest is provided with a clean pillow case and fresh bed linen. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.

69%

Your average large hostel. They are still in the middle of renovations so it's the luck of the draw whether you get an updated nice room or in my case an old crappy room, where there was no water in the taps and one of the shared bathrooms is out of order, meaning there is only access to one tiny sink for a tonne of people. Toilets were two floors down and showers 5 floors down. Beds are too short for tall people and I don't like how you have to even pay for lockers in your own room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London which is why we do not include lockers in the price.

80%

We had a wonderful time, stayed there for 3 nights. Conveniently located, very nice/helpful staff, not the best beds but definitely worth the money we paid! Thank you and see you soon!


57%

crammed in like caged chickens. Toilet are extremely small

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different size dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our main goal is to provide clean, inexpensive accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

54%

you have to pay for EVERY single service (wifi, locker, luggage room...), it's ridiculous. Breakfast is cheap. The hostel doesn't do anything against the noise/room parties during the night.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our main priority is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. To minimalize the cost of booking, our prices don't include extra supplements like lockers and Wi-Fi (which is free in common areas) as some guest will not choose to use these and therefore should not pay for them! Breakfast is included in the price and we have set hours in which noise restrictions must be adhered to! Thank you for staying with us.

46%

Debilitating place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our main goal is to provide clean, inexpensive accommodation in Central London. We hope you enjoyed your time in London and made use of our convenient transport links by our central location to get around! Thank you for staying with Smart Backpackers.

74%

ok, if you just want a place to sleep while you spend some days in London, it's a good choice, but there are some characteristics... you have to "travel" if you want to take a shower, there is wifi only in the common room and the wall of your room are made in paper... but atmosphere is good and you can find some interesting people there :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. We have free wifi available in our common areas and we charge £1 for 24 hour to access it in your room! We hope to see you again!

54%

The kitchen was always a mess. There were in total 4 knives and 3 forks available. The room is really really crowded, I'm not saying that 18 is too much, but 18 people in 20 square meters is not healthy. The staff were very rude and instead of lending things for a deposit they charge for everything (padlock, adapter, etc). Breakfast was awful, very sad meal.


57%

Security was reasonable although night watch guy was rude. Place is old, run down and in need of major repair. Showers are all the way down in the basement and there are only toilets on two floors out of 4. Bed was fine although we didn't get a pillow case. Breakfast was average. Corn flakes toast and jam only. It was an ok place to stay but not for the price although London seems to be the most expensive in Europe. Not sure if there would be any better value any where else

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guests. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

60%

The room could use a wardrobe, a shelf and at least three hangers. The bunk bed was pretty shabby and the room was quite damp. Compliments to the staff they were very helpful..

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows into all of our hostels to remove the restriction of window openings. We are really happy that you enjoy the manner of our staff and hope to see you again.

69%

The best thing with this hostel is its central location. But there are not enough showers and toilets, which is a big problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are situated very close to two major tube stations; Russell Square (Picadilly Line) and King's Cross St Pancras (Hammersmith and City, Circle, Metropolitian, Picadilly, Northern, Victoria underground lines as well as National and International overground rail services (Eurostar)). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations.The hostel is also undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms.

89%

The location is great, and the bunk beds have thick curtains around them so you can have more privacy while sleeping. Also, the beds all have plugs so you can charge your phone while you're sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the added privacy of our curtains for your bed as well as your personal power sockets. These were available to you due to our recent refurbishment! We hope to see you again!

77%

I arrived rather late at night, and there was a security guard outside the hostel, which made me feel rather safe staying in this hostel. However, there isn't a lot of space in the room, as it is packed with 6 tri-bunk beds, if you have a lot of luggages, you'd find yourselves unpacking your stuff outside the room in the corridor. The bed is also quite ting for tall people. The lockers in the shower are missing keys and the light in the shower room turns of every 15 seconds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you appreciated our security measures and felt safe in our hostel! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We are investing alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 (taller than the average), however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests!

60%

The hostel was overall what you would expect from a hostel. The staff, however, were extremely rude, aggressive, and uncooperative. What really made me mad was that the hostel was listed at 20 pounds/night on hostelworld but the woman checking us in made us pay 35 pounds PLUS the 10 pound deposit (returned at the end of the trip). She of course did not provide us with a receipt, and refused to talk to us about it when I approached her afterwards. The hostel is adequate but I feel swindled.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! When using HostelWorld to make a booking you pay a deposit for your booking, in your case £5 which is deducted from the total stay (£20 per person per night = £40), and when you check in we ask guests to pay the remaining balance (£35). This £10 deposit has been outlined in the terms and conditions when you made your booking and is refundable to you on check out. We are sorry if this wasn't properly explained by our reception staff and we hope you had a fantastic time in London!

49%

Horrible facilities. Showers are in the cellar. Half of toilets didnt work. Beds are tiny and matresses are made of plastic. Securty locks need to be rented. Towels to be bought gor 5£. Walls are made out of paper so one hears a needle drop outside in the hallway. I travelled around the world and this hostel was one of the worst experiences.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. Our foam mattresses are usually complimented on their comfort and we are sorry you didn't feel the same. Thank you for staying with us!

71%

Good value for money and good location near British Museum. Staff was friendly. the place is safe. Toilets were clean and showers were decent. Needs a bit or refurbishing. The beds were comfortable. My bed was quite squeaky but it was ok and I slept well. At beginning many hosts were noisy after 11pm where it was difficult to sleep. But I talked to the manager about it and things got better. Fridge was too full to put food in. I had internet in my room free. Beds fit no more than 1.8 m 10.9 in

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you were able to resolve any problems you had with the manager! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. We hope to see you again!

71%

Good value as ever

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Like us on Facebook to keep up with everything going on in London and at our hostels. We hope we will see you again!

74%

the security was unreasonably rude to me and my friends and made fun/ tried picking a fight with my friends and then i got yelled at as a result... and they threatened to kick me out. if it wasnt my second to last night sleeping there i probably wouldve switched...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We will pass your comments onto our hostel manager to look into further. We hope despite this, that you have had a good stay in the our hostel! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

91%

It would be great if the lockers weren't as noisy when we open them. And we could use fresh pillow covers per guest. Despite that, it's a great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! We will take your comments about our lockers into consideration with our refurbishment! Each guest is provided with fresh linen including a pillow case upon check in! If there was an issue and you hadn't received one, our reception is open 24 hours to help resolve any problems like this! We hope to see you again!

91%

It is very good, everything is good except length beds. Who is taller than 1.90m will have a problem. Location is great!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the location and your stay in our hostel. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We hope to see you again!

(140 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback