X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6867 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The beds have wood at each end so if you are any taller than 6' you will have trouble sleeping well. And one of the long term residents thinks he owns the place and can make his own rules. Other than this it isn't too bad. Thanks for the stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We will contact the hostel in regards to the long term resident. We hope to see you again!

63%

Good location showers and bathrooms suck

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are situated very close to two major tube stations; one being Russell Square and the other King's Cross St Pancras, we pride ourselves on our central and convenient location. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower.

49%

The staff did not speak english very well, but they were still friendly. The toilets and showers were not very clean and the "breakfast" was abysmal even in hostel-standards. They were building something there so it was noisy? Common area/dining area was sad looking open space with nothing to make it home-like.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the manner of our staff friendly. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. We also provide free breakfast for our guest! We hope to see you again!

40%

Facilities aren't very clean at all, bathrooms and rooms are super cramped, lighting is that horrid fluorescent kind. "Breakfast" of white bread and corn flakes is a frantic madhouse. Not enough power outlets in the entire hostel. Beware, some of the packed dorms have bunk beds 3-tiers high. Was not expecting, nor did I receive any warning/prior notice of, that sort of climb to the top bunk. Showers only in the basement, which is horribly inconvenient. Do not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. We are currently installing new bunk beds into our rooms to make the rooms even more comfortable to guests with personal power sockets and more storage space.

46%

we stayed in an ensuite room, the room was really really small, there was no wardrobe we stayed 5 days but they only cleaned once the stuff was not interested at all they took money for everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-friendly accommodation in Central London. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. They clean each room once a day and in addition to this, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly!

60%

I visited 26 hostels during my travels, and it was by far the Worst hostel I've been in. Triple bunk beds were a nightmare and there were three of those shoved in a tiny room. The showers are locker room style in the basement, felt unclean just walking there. Since the wifi only worked in the commons it was packed and hot and there were limited plugins.


63%

Really small bedrooms! There was not any space to the lugage.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for you feedback. We have work very hard on our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

77%

It's good for a short stay. Staff were good, facilities good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we are glad you were happy with your stay! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We are really happy that you enjoy the facilities and manner of our staff and hope to see you again.

80%

Enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was pretty basic but clean and tidy, there was no fuss which suited me fine. Would have liked more choice of breakfast, but I was happy with it for the price. Not sure about having to pay extra for the lockers though.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we are glad you were happy with your stay! We are really happy that you enjoy the cleanliness of the hostel and manner of our staff. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and this way guests don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We hope to see you again!

51%

I've stayed in 8 different hostel in London and this is by far at the bottom of my list. Booked into a 15 bed dorm and to my delight(!), the room barely had any space and 3 tier beds with people stacked like sardines waiting me with my bed on top. Should have got my climbing gear along. I paid as much for 4 bed rooms! To top it all, they handed my linen at the reception and had to make my bed at 3am (late flight)! The staff was pretty hit and miss too. Wouldn't stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with Smartbackpackers! Our main goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. However we are currently looking into installing new bunk beds into our rooms to make the rooms even more comfortable to guests with personal power sockets and more storage space.

100%

I had a great time at smart russell square. my room had bunk beds and a good number of windows which one could open and had good air in the room for sleeping. I really loved the curtains that each bed has - a great way of still having privacy in a dorm. showers, toilets, kitchen all fine and i liked the security after 11p.m. friendly staff, a simple breakfast included in the already low price - what more can one want in the middle of London, at walking distance to all major sights?

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your awesome feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! All of our beds in the hostels have curtains for privacy and all rates include our free basic breakfast. We hope to see you again!

66%

Worst hostel I've stayed in. No atmosphere and everyone is on their laptops. Beds are terrible and anyone over 6 foot will struggle to fit. Overpriced for an old run down hostel.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average; however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We leave the atmosphere up to our awesome guests, we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time.

51%

Staff were very rude and not helpful in any way. They had very little knowledge of the area or they were unwilling to share it. Overall a terrible experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We will pass your comments onto the hostel manager. Our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation.

91%

I booked the female ensuite dorm. The room itself looked like it had newly been refurbished and was fair enough for what you're paying. I was staying right on the top floor which was fine for me but I don't recommend it if you have a heavy suitcase. I didn't receive a towel and it's important to note that you will be charged a £10 deposit which they want in cash upon arrival. The location is excellent and the staff were pretty nice all in all great choice if you're on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! Our hostel is nearing the completion of an amazing refurbishment. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

91%

Smart Russel Square is only a block from Russel Square tube station. The ensuite was quite new and very convenient. The curtains on the end ensured you could sleep even when the light was on. Kitchen facilities supplied. Great, affordable place to stay.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback. We are currently investing alot of money into our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities as you experienced. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hostel and hope to see you again!

31%

The staff at the front desk are poorly trained, so things take ages. Their operations are poorly designed, making the process even more stressful. This is not a hostel worth your money, despite the low cost. You expect what you pay for, and here you get even less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope you enjoyed our central location and hope to see you again!

49%

Shower only in the basement??? What a hell??? And how about the dwarf and claustrophobic size of the bed beds? How can people fit there??

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! Thanks for staying with us!

80%

The hostel was fine. I did not appreciate some of the guests there, but I know you can't help that.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope to see you again!

74%

The russell square hostel is located very good place. U can touch national museum by walk. And many places u can go by walk. Walking to north direction u can find many cheap restaurants. But breakfast is simple.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the central and convenient location of our hostel. We provide a free all you can eat breakfast for our guest including fresh bread, cereal, tea and coffee. We hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers.

46%

I liked but the communication of the receptionists is horrible, speak lower and who does not understand the language very just do not understand the rules and schedules of the hostel. But the givenin are great for those who want to spend one or two days in London.

  • 21st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our reception team are continually receiving training on customer service and care, we will pass this onto the hostel manager! We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation and hope to see you again to see the improvements for yourself!

(157 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback