X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6726 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Suitable for students. Good value for money. Basic breakfast of cornflakes or toast. Would stay again.

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Was good location being very close to the tube, supermarket and a few places to eat or have a drink. Rooms were tight but clean and beds had curtains for privacy. Showers however were far down in the basement with no ventilation and poor shower pressure. Breakfast was average with cereal and toast but there was plenty for everyone.


86%

The location is great (close to tube and bus, and can walk easily to many great parts of London--Soho, Bloomsbury, Camden), the curtains are nice, the lounge is nice and big--good for meeting people and relaxing. The shower facilities are not the best (the floor is kind of slimy), and the beds are pretty uncomfortable and short (I am 63 inches tall and I just fit, length-wise).


60%

The location is great but many would struggle with the showers being unclean and right in the basement. The common room is often crowded and the rooms are very hot but you can deal with it. Everything extra - lockers, left luggage, etc - you had to pay for and staff weren't exactly the greatest


60%

Beds are extremely small, even for private twin room. The shower is in the basement so not that convenient.


83%

Friendly staff and clean place.


54%

Staff didn't seem happy to be working there, no smiles, depressed looks on their faces, not very helpful, didn't tell me anything about where the toilets or showers are, how to use the security boxes. I felt like necking myself after checking in.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

There aren't enough showers that work properly, there aren't enough wash basins. Individual dorms, especially bigger ones, should have more sockets - one per dorm is absolutely not enough if there are 10 people in it. Food supply could be more diverse.

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice place in a nice location. Wide variety of travellers. Not a party hostel. Rooms are very small with even less room for the individual. But overall not bad


66%

PROS: Nice location. Descent cleanliness. CONS:.The internet was rather expensive (1 pound per 30 min.) and we even had to pay for the printing of our boarding passes. The showers were too far away from our floor which renders bathing quite hard for shy or inconfident people. The dorm beds were too close to one another-a bit claustrophobic -which was awkward and we were being waken up constantly by rude guests. Smokers had to stay at least 10 metres away from the hostel.

  • 19th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Bad experience in bathing, room a little narrow, air not fresh enough. Good location, good security, friendly environment, good for the low price if you can suffer the bathing place.

  • 19th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

hostel had a great location and atmosphere, friendly guests. the beds in the basement were stuffy, but it was fine for a place to crash for the night.


63%

It was good all together. They should mention that the twin room is located at the 3rd floor, and without elavator. So if you are not a very energetic person, just order mix rooms. 6 persons room located on 2nd floor, and others on 1st. They should say that on the sites, its important information. Also the wifi, only in the reception. And almost never worked while I was there 3 days. People living their said it worked OK till 4 pm, after that it stopped working. Asked reception, he didnt know.

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Doors to dorms are noisy and a curfew is needed on noise


69%

The common areas were comfortable and all the hostel very clean, the very best thing is how it is located. Staff was not very nice, specially one day when the wifi internet they advertise was not working and they wouldn´t take any responsability, leaving as an only option to pay to use their internet cafe, without at least a discount.


80%

Good value but the noise a night can be stressful :(


57%

when I arrived I was told to wait 10mins as the staff were changing shifts... then a big group of italians rock up and they start checking them in!! there's no soap+handtowels in the bathrooms to even wash and dry your hands. internet is in the common area only and hardly works. this place is for for one night though


83%

When you go to London to visit the city and just need a place to stay its good. If you want to spend a lot of time in the hostel you might want to look for something else, although they do have a big common room and a kitch wich was clean (since we didn't have much time we actually didn't use). Breakfast is nothing special. Tost, butter, jelly, cornflakes, milk, instant coffee and tea. But you can eat as much as you want. It was a bit hot in our room, but that was the worst part about our stay.

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The Manager is a doll. Really tried to accommodate us the very best service. This place has a heart for everyone ! Warm Regards Christina Prince

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

You should take photo of rooms to your site! I don't like that shower was one for all, but on site you wrote that it would be one for block.

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(4388 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback