X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6956 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The 15 person rooms are very small. The bunks are stacked 3 beds high and there is not much extra space in the room. The hostel rooms are also in the basement of the building. There were not enough seats for everyone at breakfast and the outlets were also very sparse. The atmosphere in the hostel was very strange; There were people of all ages staying there (Pensioners, families, tweens, young adults).


51%

Horrible rooms in the basement, it lacks proper ventilation and easy access.


46%

Dont really like the atmosphere, staff were very cold.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I hated it. It was very loud early in the morning, the rooms were tiny so there was no space to put anyone's bags and there was no fan or aircon so it got uncomfortably hot. The showers are so far away and smell terrible. I left early

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Connor, We are sorry for the heat in the rooms but we didn't expect a heatwave to last long in London. About the space, we have lockers in every room so it normally is not an issue to our guests. The showers are far away as the building of our hostel is a Listed Buildling. Hope your next stay with us will be more satisfactory. SRS Staff

71%

room smelled terrible.


37%

The rooms are tiny, the staff isn´t helpful and the atmosphere is dull. They charge you for everything you can imagine so be aware.

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Felipe, All the extra charges are listed in 'Things to note' section at the bottom of our page. We are sorry you had the impression that our staff is not helpful, we are trying our best to make everyone's stay in London unforgettable. Also we are located in a beautiful listed building and we cannot do anything about the sizes of our rooms. All the best SRS Staff

60%

When you're travelling by yourself and would like to meet other crazy backpackers (for party e.g.) this is not the right place. The staff seems to be annoyed most of the times and everything is really strict (no feet on the sofas - not even barefoot).

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura, We have a spacious common area which is a perfect place to meet people, maybe you were just unlucky. We are sorry that you got the impression that our staff was annoyed. With this amount of people staying with us sometimes we need to be strict with little things. Hope your next stay with us will be more enjoyable. SRS Staff

69%

Overall good stay, the showers in the basement were difficult, and you have to pay for the lockers, but good wifi in the common area.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is great which just behind Russel Square tube station and walking distance to British Museum. There is a kitchen which can be used, free wifi, and discounted city tour. Worth for every penny you paid.


57%

I didn't like the place at all. It was not very clean, to get the showers you have to pass the kitchen. The rooms were dark, but the beds were clean. The staff was not very helpful, and the euro exchange rate was too high! If you want a locker you have to pay for it. Also there was no atmosphere at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marija, Our cleaning staff is doing their best to keep our hostel clean and tidy but it is impossible for them to clean after every single guest, and some people are just a little disrespectful. We are located in a listed building and this is the reason why the setting of showers is not the most convenient but we will have refurbishment soon and all the rooms will be en suite. Also, all the additional charges are listed in Things to note section at the bottom of our page. SRS Staff

83%

I was really nice to stay there, I just didn't like the showers that were too hot and too strong. The noise of the chests opening was also really annoying when we try to sleep but that's all I can criticize.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Location was great, near the British Museum. There were no security problems and during the night you were asked to show your access card at the entrance. The hostel was very crowded (a lot of young people) and my bedroom was in a basement. It was very warm and humid in the rooms. Only 1 small window in the room and it was stuck to a half opened position. People packing at 3-4 AM made a lot of noise turned on the light and took longer than they should have so sleep was compromised for 1 night.


66%

Not terrible, but you can fin much better! Of all the hostel I stayed in this was the one I liked least. The rooms were so hot and no AC or fan. The beds were smaller than most. The wifi almost never worked. The common room was big and good. The security wouldn't let anyone else in after 7pm... Even to help me carry some heavy stuff out ( they even lectured me for asking).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christina, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry for the heat in the room, it not usual in London. We think free Wi-Fi is a must have facility and sometimes the line is being used so many people and acts up. Also, we take security very seriously and sometimes it causes inconvenience but we have our standards. Hope you'll enjoy next stay better :) SRS Staff

57%

We've had the worst night in our lives at this hostel. We booked for three nights but couldn't bare more than one and looked for a hotel instead after the first night. Guess we've had bad luck with the toilets, cause they were not clean. The people there were nice and helpful and the security was great, and the tube was close by.. BUT there was no way of getting rest at night. The beds were too small, the whole room was cramped and it was BURNING HOT inside, so we couldn't get any sleep actually.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jo-Stale, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. The heat in London was unexpected and we are located in a listed building so it is impossible to install air con. Our cleaning staff is working really hard to keep everything clean but some guests are sometimes disrespectful when it comes to using shared spaces. Hope you will give us another chance :) SRS Staff

74%

It had everything you will need, with a supportive staff that are multilingual. The issue was it was crowded and not fun too stay in.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Really well-located and a reliable security staff. Nonetheless, it's a pity to pay 1.5£ per locker PER NIGHT to keep your luggage secured and 2£ per bag after the checking-out. Facilities are quite clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kyoko, Thank you for your feedback and good words. We take security in our hostels very seriously. All the information about additional costs are listed in Things to note section. Hope to see you again in Smart Russel Square :) SRS Staff

66%

I used to come at this youth hostel when I come to London, as it is one of the cheapest and near from the center of the city.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The location was great, and the breakfast was decent. But the 18 bed dorm rooms were hot & stuffy, hardly had any windows, I can imagine the rooms in the basement to be a nightmare. The common area is too overcrowded with people and wifi only works in the common area/lobby and not in the rooms. Showers were either too cold or too hot, there isn't any in between and needed some days to get used to. Overall it was a decent stay, but it could have been better for the amount we're paying a night.


77%

The room in the 2nd floor was too hot, windows couldn't be opened more than 20 cm! There was no air for 6 persons! So sleeping was quite impossible!

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

Terrible facilities, a few toilets per floor which a few were blocked and very dirty. Showers for the whole building were in the basement- stinking hot with very little ventilation and really dirty. Window in bedroom wouldnt open leaving it hot and stuffy. Many underage children (10-13 year olds). Overall a very bad experience, considering the price is not cheap!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take guests feedback very seriously to improve our services. Our cleaning staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. We have placed the showers together at one place to save energy and to save our guests time of looking for a free shower. SRS Staff

(4482 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback