X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6729 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Bit noisy one night but the other was fine. Showers are basic but they do their job, annoying that they are in the basement and you have to walk through the canteen area to get to them!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

77%

Really not a fan of all the showers being in the basement. Otherwise the place was great.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback.

71%

Not a bad hostel. Close to Russell Square station which was handy. The rooms are packed in pretty tight though. Common room is great, plenty of room to sit around and meet other travellers although there was a school group here at our time which was less then ideal. Good breakfast in the morning. Clean common areas and showers.


89%

The hostel has a brilliant atmosphere, interesting people and excellent staff always ready to help guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words. Much appreciated.

46%

Prepare lots of coins! Everything costs extra here, even safe deposit box and luggage storage. Shower is in the basement, you have to constantly press it to keep the water going, no room to put your stuff. Bathroom stinks and you have to walk up and down the stairs to get there. The girls at reception are rude and unhelpful but all the male staff are really nice. Check in experience was my worst. Breakfast is basic but prepared to line up. I do like the curtains, you have some privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

60%

It's cheap for london prices, but the standard is very low.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your review. We are working on lifting our game. The renovations will go a long way. Cheers

100%

Always a great stay. Best Hostel in London by far.

Owner Comment (Hide)
AWESOME - We love you too, come back any time! Cheers.

43%

My hostel bed had gum stuck to it, as well as a weird piece of brown gunk on the wall. The room was very smelly and stuffy and didn't feel clean at all.The mattresses were stained (mine and my friend's) as well as the white sheets we were given at the front desk for our beds. The shower light turned off on my friend when she was down there by herself, still showering. There was no switch to get it back on. There were no rubbish bins by the toilets and no driers for our hands.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We will pass your comments about the bedding to the Housekeeping team to check out. Also the comments about the shower lights to our Maintenance team. Sounds a bit unusual so we definitely don't want that to happen to anyone again! Thanks for the review.

46%

Worse hostel I've ever stayed in Europe. The room was ok but the shower is HORRIBLE!!! It's so old, dirty and it's located at the basement and you have to pass through the common room, lobby to get there. I booked for 4 nights but I have to leave immediately after seeing the shower. Extra charge for luggage storage and lockers in the room!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

57%

Not a good fibe. Everyone was more interested in doing their own thing and there was a big group who were very rude.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. That's a bit sad that you found some of your fellow guests unfriendly. We like to think that all of our guests are the most amazingly awesome people. Maybe you were just a little unlucky this time.

71%

people drunk and shouting during the night. problem with drawer under bed. Had to walk miles (seemed like) to loo and couldnt be bothered going for shower ---just had quick washdown in room. Hopefully that sorted out as you go along with building work. Then it will be "excellent" value for money.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We take on board your comments and eagerly await the completion of the renovations ourselves. Cheers.

97%

I was there for 3 times and would return there definitely again. Good location, nice and spacious common room, good breakfast, excelent atmosphere. Only comment is that due to the current reconstruction of a one part of the hostel, toilets are relatively far from the lower rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks so much for the kind words. Your welcome here anytime. Cheers.

66%

I wish that there had been WiFI in the room because it's a youth hostel and obviously almost everyone uses it. I wish that the showers had been better because every time you go and wash yourself your hair gets wet because the water goes everywhere. The location really was excellent, the metro station was right there, it was really nice, but given that one person per night has to pay more than 40 euros, I think that you could have done better.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review. As you have probably gathered we are currently upgrading the facilities at Russell Square. Our reception team may have missed the opportunity of telling you about the WiFi in the dorms. You can have access in the dorms for just £1 for 24hours. Of course WiFi is still FREE in the common areas.

77%

Wish some of the staff would smile more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're on it! Thanks for the review.

40%

Poor facilities having to walk up and down stairs past construction workers and sites to get to bathrooms and showers. Unacceptable having unisex bathrooms with no mirrors or power facilities (hair dryers etc). Showers ANCIENT and in terrible condition -would not enter without shower shoes. No lights near mirrors. Too many people in dorms for space available and safety is questionable with bunks so high. Power facilities in dorms not enough. Light in dorms unacceptable if on the top bunk.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortunately for our current guests we are in the process of refurbishment; we can only apologise for the inconvenience. Fortunately in the near future our guests will find things much, much better! Power points, personal lighting and ensuite facilities are a few of the items we're addressing.

63%

Rooms very noisy, crowded, bad mattress, people living there (so bed hidden with linen or towels, stuff all around), showers without lockers (asked for the keys, they said "all the keys lost", there are 60 lockers), showers in basement. I couldn't sleep, all the night people is going in and out, the light was not switched off almost all the night. Big group of children running in the corridor. Mostly spanish staff. Right now building work and scaffolding, dirty and disturbing, workers there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortunately for our current guests we are in the process of refurbishment; we can only apologise for the inconvenience. Fortunately in the near future our guests will find things much, much better!

60%

Barely any plug sockets, only two in a four person room, no individual lighting next to beds and extra must be paid to use the lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of upgrading at the moment. Power points, personal lighting and ensuite facilities are a few of the items we're addressing.

54%

I will not go back to this hostel. Showers are in the basement, which is not nice when you are on the third floor ! No toilets on the third floor. There is a sink in the bedroom but NO water ! And only hot water in the toilets. It was hot in the bedroom and we could only open the window a very little. Bed are small (and I am only 1.60m tall). Breakfast is really really basic (no fruit juice or hot chocolate). Good point is the hostel seems safe and is well located.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We take the safety of our guests seriously, so happy to hear that you felt safe staying with us. We are in the process of refurbishing the premises and have had to temporarily close some facilities. We can only apologise that this has happened during your stay with us. Next time we see you all of our rooms will be new and improved Ensuites.

94%

Just a very noising and were workung early so people cant sleeping well

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on face book.

54%

The layout of the hostel is poor, and inconvenient, we had to pass through the dining room to the basement to get a shower! The room was over crowded and the beds uncomfortable, they were too short for an adult, so you could not strech your legs out for comfortable nights sleep. People in the room were noisy and coming in at all hours of the morning slamming the doors. The breakfast was appallling, the food was very very cheap with no choices. The atmosphere was very poor, with drunk charac

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We provide a 24 hour reception so that if our budget-conscious guests choose to travel through the night (when it’s cheaper) we are able to help. We are in the process of refurbishing the premises and have had to temporarily close some facilities. We apologise that this has happened during your stay with us. Next time we see you all of our rooms will be new and improved Ensuites.

(137 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback