X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
6438 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The staff during the night shift is really rude. The ones in the morning are lovely and polite. The location is great, next to an underground station and, if you want, you can walk to the main touristic spots of London.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We try our best to treat every feedback individually to understand the problem and resolve it promptly. Could you please email the hostel manager to explain your complaint about the staff.

37%

The bed was shorter than I was (and I'm not that tall), no power points in the room and the changing-room style (very small) showers were in the basement and had no privacy. Luckily there weren't too many people in the showers when I went at midnight.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have placed the showers together at one place for two main reasons, the first reason is to save energy by having one big boiler and to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests. The beds were custom built to accommodate our guests needs and it doesn't happen often for our guests not to fit.

86%

Remarkable place to stay during a visit in London. The atmosphere blends dorms with a large and friendly space to have a good meal that can be prepared in a constantly clean kitchen. My dorm was in the basement were white painted walls and floating tubes remained me a corridor of a ship. Recommended.

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on face book.

83%

Only problem was the room was overheated, even with the window open all night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are on process of installing window fans on every room to keep good ventilation process.

43%

Prison-inspired place. Rooms are smelly and chilly. Beds are stacked one above another in sets of three like drawers (claustrophobic). These have no more than 1.8 meters length. Toilets are dirty and smelly. Showers are in the basement, disposed one besides the other with no privacy. Floor awash. Water temperature is not constant (ranging from cold to slightly warm) and you should stay pressing a button to pump the water out. The environment is sad. Clearly the worst option for your night sleep.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We are going to upgrade our hostel on February 2014 where we will be having more en suite rooms. Regards, SRS Team

74%

Someone (probably the owner, or someone like that) was awfully rude. Not a way to treat his clients... The 14-bed dorm was very small, no window to bring fresh air into it and, worst of all, only two sockets for the whole room. Cheap and good location though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We try our best to treat every feedback individually to understand the problem and resolve it promptly. Could you please email the hostel manager to explain your complaint about the staff?

74%

Beds too small (length) - i am only 5ft 10 and couldn't fit on bed.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The dormitory for 8 people where I stayed for 3 days was ok, too hot but ok. I spent the last night of my stay in the dormitory for 16 people and it was really disgusting. It was dirty, it was impossibile to sleep in the higher floor of the beds, it was really really hot, the beds smell bad and an animal bite me during the night. I raccomended just the small rooms, but if you want a really cheap holiday maybe you can find something better.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. we have inspected the later room you stayed in and found no trace of any animal, though we have cleaned the room fully and changed all bedding. Kind regards, SRS Team

100%

For such a cheap price, I didn't expect much. But my stay was surprisingly nice!

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The - : Way too noisy (subway, doors smashing and people talking out loud and keeping the light on in the room even at 2am) Super hot in the room ( we had to sleep with a window open to prevent suffocation) Messy and not always friendly staff ( depending who is in front of you) The backpacker is quite a maze as there is so many doors and stairs The + : Breakfast bring to the night a better value

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. Smart Russell Square will be refurbished early 2014 which will be resolving the noise issues from doors. With regard to the heat, we have experienced very cold weather recently in London where we had to put the heating up based on guests requests, though we had some cooler rooms for guests would like to change their rooms. Kind regards, SRS Team

91%

I like this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hi, Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on face book. Kind regards, SRS Team

100%

Good value hostel in the center of London

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on face book. Kind regards, SRS Team

60%

The hostel is in a good location and has warm showers. However it is cramped and expensive for what you get. The staff are not the most friendly people and it doesn't feel very clean. The walls are very thin so it is extremely noisy.


57%

Beds are not made for tall people, not even for average hight people. They were boxy and you were not able to lay down straight. Rooms were not homely. It was a pit letdown how empty the room were. No table or chair where to land your stuff. There were only showers on the basements not every or even every second floor and the toilets were not good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. We have placed the showers together for two main reasons: to save energy by having one big boiler for these showers instead of small boilers on every floor and to ensure that there will always be a shower available for our guests. We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully.

80%

Good location, very close to the Tube. I like the fact the beds have curtains, so you can have your privacy. Always good value for the price. That's the hostel I go whenever I go to London.


74%

The only showers were in the basement. Guests weren't allowed in the common room after 20.30


29%

THE WORST STAY OF ALL!!! in a shortcut: there was a leak in the room and water all over the floor, no heating freezing cold for 2 days we stayed there, duvets filthy and smelly as they don't change them and all the guests share the same sheets, couldn't close or lock the window and at the end we got robbed someone stole money from our room... AND EVERYTIME WE COMPLAINED TO THE STAFF THEY SAID ITS NOT THEIR PROBLEM AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. The incident was reported to us late on the evening, and you were told that manager will look into it first thing in the morning. However, checking CCTV and Door Lock we could not find any going inside the room during the given hours. SO perhaps the money was lost outside the hostel. i can see that you are a regular customer with us since March 2013, i hope you enjoy your next stay with us. Regards SRS Team

74%

A couple of creepy guys block the door upon entrance which is uncomfortable as you try to squeeze past ( yuk)... Ditto walking past Reception to shower if upstairs - cue gawping men on Reception; again, not pleasant but this place is central and cheap which is great. It could be fab in the right hands. Cleaners are good.

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Been a guest for 5 years now: keep up the good work!


71%

The hostel was in a great location and reasonably priced. My only complaint was that the room I was in smelled HORRIBLE.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Your comments has been passed to our housekeeping department, new Air freshener unit has been installed inside the room in question. kind regards, SRS Team

(70 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback