X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6837 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

the hostel was in a great location. but value for money it wasn't the rooms were ok. I actually booked online a 6 bed dorm and ended up in a 9 bed dorm. The beds were fine but you wouldnt have wanted to be tall. the linen had stains. the bathrooms always smelled not enough ventilation same with the showers. breakfasts were fine.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets. If for some reason you receive sheets which are not clean, please ask the reception team to swap them, they will. We will look in to why you were moved to a larger dorm, this doesn't normally happen.

71%

In my opinion the only great thing about this property is the location. The curtains on the bed are a nice touch for privacy and the kitchen/common area is a social environment. But, the showers are the worst I've ever experienced - on the basement level, water runs for about 10seconds and you have to keep pushing the button, they smell and are excessively hot. Wifi is not free (it's free everywhere else). No power points or lights by the bed and only 2 power points in a room of 6 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. The showers are one area yet to be completed. The team may have missed letting you know that at our Hostels we have two types of wi-fi. It is FREE in the common areas OR £1 for 1 day in the dorms. We hope to see you again!

77%

The place was alright, sort of standard London hostel. Bunk beds are a bit short for tall people (and they're walled in, so it's hard to circumvent the problem...). Nice big kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again.

83%

Nice,patient staff with kindly help.The room is clean,just a little bit bad smell.They gave us cleaned bedsheet when check-in.Good location in central of London,just by 3 mins to Russell Square station.With breakfast,good value for money.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We hope to see you again some time. Cheers.

94%

Basic hostel but great value for money wi-fi only works basically down stairs but is quick which is a massive bonus ! Would defiantely stay here again it's everything you need in a hostel .


60%

The rooms were too small and with not enogh plugs for everyone; in additon, internet was only available in the common areas, not in rooms. Showers were in the basement, so you have to walk a long way and cross the kitchen and the dinning room to get there. Regarding the staff, the girls were all right but the guys were kind of rude. After checking out, I wanted to leave my bag and they charged me 2 pounds for that...The cleanliness and the breakfaste was all right, but not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for you feedback. We've just finished upgrading our wifi so guests can access it in their rooms for £1 for 24 hours. As you mentioned we still provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms. Our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight). When you compare this to the price you would pay at train stations and airports (which start at £6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is an affordable option for our Smart Backpackers!

74%

Room was ok. Liked curtains on each bunk. But showers were all the way down in basement and didn't have doors, just a single curtain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. Hopefully you will have a chance to come back and try them out. Cheers.

89%

I loved this hostel. It was clean, the people were very nice and helpful, and there was an excellent atmosphere. The only complaint I have is about the lack of mirrors in the showering area, and that it costs 2 pounds to store our luggage after checking out. Otherwise, a great experience.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the kind words. We loved having you stay with us! The atmosphere in any Hostel is directly linked to the mood of the Guests. The more people have a good time the more people who will. Hope to see you again. Cheers.

63%

Okay for one night if you need to be in the area. Showers in the basement through the lobby. Bed was small and room had poor ventilation/was hot. Close to train station at Russell square.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably gathered we are busy trying to improve the facilities at the Hostel. We are also looking at room ventilation following our unusually hot London summer. At least we hope you were able to enjoy the many attractions in the surrounding area. Cheers.

57%

The guests and employees of this hostel were awesome! They were very friendly and helpful. But the cleanliness and the facilities themselves were not what I expected. The room had trash all over it, and the bathrooms were not kept clean. Having the showers in the basement was also a huge inconvenience (although I understand it was under construction so I understand that some things can't be helped.


80%

the first night taking the shower, water was iced. and sadly lockers in the changing room were all closed.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately our renovations are running late. We have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon.

77%

It's ok for the price, cold shared showers tho....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are refurbishing our hostel so we can continue to provide clean, low-budget accommodation in Central London. Unfortunately our renovations are running late but we have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

74%

Stayed here on the night of the 24th July as i was out in the city for my 21st as i'd had a bad experience with a London Hostel before i was dreading it. We checked in at 8pm and the staff explained everything. Room was a comfortable size (we were in a 6 bed mixed dorm) and the beds were comfy. Slight lack of powerpoints (2 between 6) but that was expected. Shower facilities were basic but clean and because their all together we didnt have to queue and the water was hot.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Happy birthday!! Hope you had a great time. And thanks for taking the time for your review.

37%

This one night they had no hot shower at 12 in the midnight when we got back and it was fantastico! We had to shower in ice cold water. Room cleanliness was bad, one of the staircases leading up to rooms were falling apart and it was worrying. In addition, refurbishment work was taking place right next to the room I was in so it wasn't at all a pleasant stay. I must say having their kitchen and shower open 24 hours a day is a bonus.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

60%

Just a place so you can sleep and take a bath, nothing else is importante here. Showers are on the basement... Breakfast is very basic: toasts with butter/jelly, coffee/tea and cereals. FYI: staff, 1,5 pounds p/day to rent a locker? You guys aren't a 5 start hotel, why those prices?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the lockers.Not everyone wants one. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

80%

As always Smart Russell is best hostel in central London. Its central, near very good food outlets and a couple of good pubs which allow you an economic stay in London. Staff are fantastic although some could improve their English and bring it to the level of their enthusiasm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers.

83%

i will highly recommend this hostel, it is brilliant

Owner Comment (Hide)
We think you're brilliant too! Thanks for the recommendation and hope to see you again :)

40%

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the location. After reading the bad reviews & the fact that the property had responded apologising made me think that it might have improved. Nope! Every single member of staff we encountered was an absolute grump. Not a smile to be seen & they could not care less about helping. Seemed judgemental at times. Our room was in the basement - grotty, loud & the cleaners kept coming in & cleaning around our feet. Toilets were horrible. Ice cold showers.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you mention, our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London near to the British Museum, Covent Garden and so much more. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We also wish for the renovations to be over too!!

63%

Having the showers located in the basement was a pain but not as much as having no hot water available for three days running. And while we were able to put our cases in a locked room downstairs the hostel effectively forces you to pay for a locker under your bed as there is no other place to store your valuables when you sleep. You might want to bring an extension lead with you as well since there are few places to charge any electrical equipment, especially in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers

83%

A large hostel with many guests, but they manage to keep it clean (specially toilets). However, showers are awful: I don't mind they were in the basement but water was always very hot or very cold. And they had the kitchen out of service a whole day, which is very disapointing because you are paying for a service that you can't use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately our renovations are running late. We have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon.

(151 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback