X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
6438 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

Horrible Hostel. Staff was rude and unhelpful. Rooms really tiny and beds claustrophobic. General cleanliness was bad, whole hostel smelled disgusting and showers were constantly dirty. I felt unsafe.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times to maintain good cleaning quality. However, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guest, it will be dealt with promptly. SRS Team

51%

the worsth that i have had seen... the rooms were like a prision.. and we were at the 3th floor and the showers at the basement...

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay and hank you for your feedback. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. All the bathrooms are placed in the basement in order to save energy and eliminate the queues. Hope you will stay with us again. SRS Team

34%

The staff were really RUDE and cold! The security guards were rude as well. They watch you and try to find something to discipline you about, like REALLY? They try to charge you for everything, don't even have free computers, and the hostels smell. I felt musty staying there. Also the showers are downstairs in the basement? So you have to walk with all your stuff in the common room. At least the free breakfast was okay. I just had a bad experience there. Do not recommend.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The shower room was in the basement. It wasn´t fine to have a shower and go from the first floor in the basement and back.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Awful! Do not waste ur time on there. Stayed for 3 nights and wanted to cry all day. No showers in any floor, the only ones available was in the basement. PS: I was in the 3 floor (no lifts). Staff do not much care about you, friendliness from them is something that do not exist in the environment. They charge you for everything, if you breath more than twice in the same second you might have to pay 2£ for that. Great location thou, is the ONLY positive point of the nightmare. Try something else

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you got such a bad impression of our hostel. All the showers are put in one place in order to save energy and eliminate queues. We try to offer cheap accommodation for low budget travellers at very good location, the prices we offer do not include lockers charges and towels as most of our customers do not need to use them therefore they do not end up paying for things they do not need. SRS Team

77%

Extra costs for credit and debit card payments were not made clear when booking. I had no sleep as the dorm was noisy after 1AM. People switched on the lights and spoke which I think is reasonable until 11pm after which time they should really use the lounge. Beds have plastic coated mattresses. Lower bunks no reading lights. Showers do not have toilets on same floor, but were hot. Kitchen is useful. I saw cleaners feverishly cleaning floors and things so the place is clean.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

Very bad quality for a relatively high price....many other hostels offer very friendly and clean environment for the same price or less... Never again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. 
 SRS Team

69%

Breakfast was appalling - cheap white toast, jam and cheap spread (not even butter) served out a dirty giant pot. Other hostels in the area offer a selection of breads, jams, cereals, fruit juices, teas and coffee. I wasn't expecting a full English - just some thing basic - but this was really poor - they may of not have bothered.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests. SRS Team

69%

A 'busy' type of hostel - busy localtion, busy common area.. Staff at reception are lovely, playful... Door security on the other hand is rude and even lacking respect. Although security is good - you have to show your room key at the door, the attitude of the security guard should be checked. Rooms are small and clean(ish), shared bathrooms not so clean but I was impressed by the shower cleanliness. People there are friendly, I think it would be easy to make new friends. Quite a 'young' crowd.


57%

WI FI JE SPOR ODNOSNO NEMOGUĆ, SVE JE -2, OSIM POLOŽAJA

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(70 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback