X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
7022 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The best thing with this hostel is its central location. But there are not enough showers and toilets, which is a big problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are situated very close to two major tube stations; Russell Square (Picadilly Line) and King's Cross St Pancras (Hammersmith and City, Circle, Metropolitian, Picadilly, Northern, Victoria underground lines as well as National and International overground rail services (Eurostar)). We pride ourselves on our central and convenient locations.The hostel is also undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms.

89%

The location is great, and the bunk beds have thick curtains around them so you can have more privacy while sleeping. Also, the beds all have plugs so you can charge your phone while you're sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the added privacy of our curtains for your bed as well as your personal power sockets. These were available to you due to our recent refurbishment! We hope to see you again!

77%

I arrived rather late at night, and there was a security guard outside the hostel, which made me feel rather safe staying in this hostel. However, there isn't a lot of space in the room, as it is packed with 6 tri-bunk beds, if you have a lot of luggages, you'd find yourselves unpacking your stuff outside the room in the corridor. The bed is also quite ting for tall people. The lockers in the shower are missing keys and the light in the shower room turns of every 15 seconds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you appreciated our security measures and felt safe in our hostel! We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We are investing alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 (taller than the average), however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests!

60%

The hostel was overall what you would expect from a hostel. The staff, however, were extremely rude, aggressive, and uncooperative. What really made me mad was that the hostel was listed at 20 pounds/night on hostelworld but the woman checking us in made us pay 35 pounds PLUS the 10 pound deposit (returned at the end of the trip). She of course did not provide us with a receipt, and refused to talk to us about it when I approached her afterwards. The hostel is adequate but I feel swindled.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! When using HostelWorld to make a booking you pay a deposit for your booking, in your case £5 which is deducted from the total stay (£20 per person per night = £40), and when you check in we ask guests to pay the remaining balance (£35). This £10 deposit has been outlined in the terms and conditions when you made your booking and is refundable to you on check out. We are sorry if this wasn't properly explained by our reception staff and we hope you had a fantastic time in London!

49%

Horrible facilities. Showers are in the cellar. Half of toilets didnt work. Beds are tiny and matresses are made of plastic. Securty locks need to be rented. Towels to be bought gor 5£. Walls are made out of paper so one hears a needle drop outside in the hallway. I travelled around the world and this hostel was one of the worst experiences.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We are currently investing alot of money to improve the facilities in our hostel so very soon a majority of our rooms will be upgraded to include ensuite facilities. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. Our foam mattresses are usually complimented on their comfort and we are sorry you didn't feel the same. Thank you for staying with us!

71%

Good value for money and good location near British Museum. Staff was friendly. the place is safe. Toilets were clean and showers were decent. Needs a bit or refurbishing. The beds were comfortable. My bed was quite squeaky but it was ok and I slept well. At beginning many hosts were noisy after 11pm where it was difficult to sleep. But I talked to the manager about it and things got better. Fridge was too full to put food in. I had internet in my room free. Beds fit no more than 1.8 m 10.9 in

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you were able to resolve any problems you had with the manager! We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. We hope to see you again!

71%

Good value as ever

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Like us on Facebook to keep up with everything going on in London and at our hostels. We hope we will see you again!

74%

the security was unreasonably rude to me and my friends and made fun/ tried picking a fight with my friends and then i got yelled at as a result... and they threatened to kick me out. if it wasnt my second to last night sleeping there i probably wouldve switched...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We will pass your comments onto our hostel manager to look into further. We hope despite this, that you have had a good stay in the our hostel! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London.

91%

It would be great if the lockers weren't as noisy when we open them. And we could use fresh pillow covers per guest. Despite that, it's a great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback! We will take your comments about our lockers into consideration with our refurbishment! Each guest is provided with fresh linen including a pillow case upon check in! If there was an issue and you hadn't received one, our reception is open 24 hours to help resolve any problems like this! We hope to see you again!

91%

It is very good, everything is good except length beds. Who is taller than 1.90m will have a problem. Location is great!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed the location and your stay in our hostel. Our bunks were chosen to suit guests up to 5ft10 which is taller than the average, however we are currently looking extending this for the comfort of our guests! We hope to see you again!

74%

Good: Price, location, was a good atmosphere in the common area, breakfast was decent, I thought the showers were good Bad: yes the beds aren't very big in dorms, there aren't outlets in the room, the wi-fi only works in the common area, but it's good hostel for the price, just don't expect to stay at a Hilton Hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We are currently looking into installing new bunk beds into our rooms to make the rooms even more comfortable to guests with personal power sockets and more storage space to make the rooms feel that little bit bigger. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and the location of our hostel. We hope to see you again!

71%

Small beds, only one bathroom for 3 floors; showers in basement; small, narrow shower cabins without shelf or hanger for items. Noisy guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your feedback. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. In the meantime, we have a large gender split shower room in our basement to ensure our guests don't have to wait for a shower. We hope to see you again after our renovations!

54%

Staff didn't provide any information on how things at the hostel worked such as having to pay for the lockers. The bunks are three high and the top bunk is difficult to access. The location is great for central London but this didn't really make up for the rest of the experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We aim to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. The rate we offer does not include lockers as most of our guests don’t wish to use them and this way guests don’t end up paying for services they do not need. We pride ourselves on our central location! We are currently looking into installing new bunk beds into our rooms to make the rooms even more comfortable to guests with personal power sockets and more storage space!

60%

I found that the beds are really hard to get into as they are stacked 3 high. You have to make you own bed and when it's stacked so high there is a fear of falling. I was also woken up very early in the morning by either the staff or some other guests yelling and speaking very loud in the morning. I would not stay there again.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

You dont have a bord autside to se the name smart rusle hostel ,i dont like your bodygard oudside its too much,i dont like the showers , and kids above as was runing and schreming all the time i cudnt sllip. Tanks

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for providing valuable feedback. We are currently being refurbished and we will have brand new sign soon so all of our guests will be able to find our awesome hostel. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are sorry you didn't like the security; we only wish to ensure the safety of our guest. Our reception is open 24 hours, so any noise complaints should be reported for immediate action. We hope to see you again.

20%

The living room is really tight and small. It is impossible to breath, because there too many people and there are no windows. The room is tight and the bed really small.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. To improve ventilation we are installing safety bars for the windows into all of our hostels to remove the restriction of window openings.

97%

Everything was good, my only thoughts would be - some form of individual lights in the sleeping pods - some people are very rude switching the lights on late at night - which keep others awake, and the shower curtains in the showers have black mould on - which happens - however a quick scrub with bleach wold make all the difference!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your ideas and will pass them on! Our housekeeping staff start as early as 06:30 and finish at 23:00. We do regular check every one hour during these times of the shared toilets to maintain good cleaning quality. In addition to this, if any cleaning issues get reported to receptionists by guests, it will be dealt with promptly. We will pass your show comments onto the hostel. We hope to see you again!

74%

Great location for a very cheap price! The staff is nice and the breakfast correct. But don't expect too much about the facilities, especially the mattress which was very small and in the top of a 3-floor bed which makes the room looks like a submarine bedroom! Anyway it is good value if you want stay for a short night in London.


43%

We reserved two beds for a mixed room one week before. When we arrived, we had preffered to be toguether, but there was not enough space and we had to sleep in different rooms.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. When our guests book online they are reserving a bed not a room. If you contact the hostel prior to yoru booking we can allocate you in the same room to ensure you are placed together. We hope this didn't impact your stay too much and that you enjoyed London!

60%

Bed is too small. Bathroom smells bad. The breakfast is poor. Only one thing that I was content is price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We have invested alot of money into our hostels to ensure we provide our valued guests with fresh, clean and hygienic rooms. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London We offer an all-you-can-eat basic breakfast includes fresh toast, cereal and tea and coffee. We provide this service free of charge for our valued guest.

(141 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback