X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6843 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

i will highly recommend this hostel, it is brilliant

Owner Comment (Hide)
We think you're brilliant too! Thanks for the recommendation and hope to see you again :)

40%

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the location. After reading the bad reviews & the fact that the property had responded apologising made me think that it might have improved. Nope! Every single member of staff we encountered was an absolute grump. Not a smile to be seen & they could not care less about helping. Seemed judgemental at times. Our room was in the basement - grotty, loud & the cleaners kept coming in & cleaning around our feet. Toilets were horrible. Ice cold showers.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you mention, our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London near to the British Museum, Covent Garden and so much more. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We also wish for the renovations to be over too!!

63%

Having the showers located in the basement was a pain but not as much as having no hot water available for three days running. And while we were able to put our cases in a locked room downstairs the hostel effectively forces you to pay for a locker under your bed as there is no other place to store your valuables when you sleep. You might want to bring an extension lead with you as well since there are few places to charge any electrical equipment, especially in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers

83%

A large hostel with many guests, but they manage to keep it clean (specially toilets). However, showers are awful: I don't mind they were in the basement but water was always very hot or very cold. And they had the kitchen out of service a whole day, which is very disapointing because you are paying for a service that you can't use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately our renovations are running late. We have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon.

74%

You should give some note in email that EU to UK adapter is not free to borrow. Also, showers are just weird.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel so the showers should be less weird. Unfortunately there are too many people for us to be able to loan power adapters out to Guests.We will look at adding that information to our "Useful Information" section. Thanks for the idea!

46%

The hostel is located very conveniently in central London and the bedroom/bed system was OK. The bunk beds had three floors instead of two, but it had the nice cover of the blinds around the bed. The bed linen is given to you when you arrive and you add it yourself, and it looked clean. However, the toilet and shower facilities were very disgusting. I literally puked while trying to use the toiled, and the showers were underground, in a very damp environment smelling like sewage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

71%

Showers were not clean, nowhere to put your clothes, only some worked.. Not advised there was no longer a laundry. Breakfast included always a bonus. Forgotten how badly some peoples feet/ shoes smell our the entire room. Unable to open window or get airflow through..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Apologies about the laundry, it will be back. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. Not a lot we can do about peoples feet but hopefully the airflow will improve once the renovations are finished.

91%

Bit noisy one night but the other was fine. Showers are basic but they do their job, annoying that they are in the basement and you have to walk through the canteen area to get to them!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

77%

Really not a fan of all the showers being in the basement. Otherwise the place was great.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback.

71%

Not a bad hostel. Close to Russell Square station which was handy. The rooms are packed in pretty tight though. Common room is great, plenty of room to sit around and meet other travellers although there was a school group here at our time which was less then ideal. Good breakfast in the morning. Clean common areas and showers.


89%

The hostel has a brilliant atmosphere, interesting people and excellent staff always ready to help guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words. Much appreciated.

46%

Prepare lots of coins! Everything costs extra here, even safe deposit box and luggage storage. Shower is in the basement, you have to constantly press it to keep the water going, no room to put your stuff. Bathroom stinks and you have to walk up and down the stairs to get there. The girls at reception are rude and unhelpful but all the male staff are really nice. Check in experience was my worst. Breakfast is basic but prepared to line up. I do like the curtains, you have some privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

60%

It's cheap for london prices, but the standard is very low.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your review. We are working on lifting our game. The renovations will go a long way. Cheers

100%

Always a great stay. Best Hostel in London by far.

Owner Comment (Hide)
AWESOME - We love you too, come back any time! Cheers.

43%

My hostel bed had gum stuck to it, as well as a weird piece of brown gunk on the wall. The room was very smelly and stuffy and didn't feel clean at all.The mattresses were stained (mine and my friend's) as well as the white sheets we were given at the front desk for our beds. The shower light turned off on my friend when she was down there by herself, still showering. There was no switch to get it back on. There were no rubbish bins by the toilets and no driers for our hands.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We will pass your comments about the bedding to the Housekeeping team to check out. Also the comments about the shower lights to our Maintenance team. Sounds a bit unusual so we definitely don't want that to happen to anyone again! Thanks for the review.

46%

Worse hostel I've ever stayed in Europe. The room was ok but the shower is HORRIBLE!!! It's so old, dirty and it's located at the basement and you have to pass through the common room, lobby to get there. I booked for 4 nights but I have to leave immediately after seeing the shower. Extra charge for luggage storage and lockers in the room!

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

57%

Not a good fibe. Everyone was more interested in doing their own thing and there was a big group who were very rude.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. That's a bit sad that you found some of your fellow guests unfriendly. We like to think that all of our guests are the most amazingly awesome people. Maybe you were just a little unlucky this time.

71%

people drunk and shouting during the night. problem with drawer under bed. Had to walk miles (seemed like) to loo and couldnt be bothered going for shower ---just had quick washdown in room. Hopefully that sorted out as you go along with building work. Then it will be "excellent" value for money.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We take on board your comments and eagerly await the completion of the renovations ourselves. Cheers.

97%

I was there for 3 times and would return there definitely again. Good location, nice and spacious common room, good breakfast, excelent atmosphere. Only comment is that due to the current reconstruction of a one part of the hostel, toilets are relatively far from the lower rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks so much for the kind words. Your welcome here anytime. Cheers.

66%

I wish that there had been WiFI in the room because it's a youth hostel and obviously almost everyone uses it. I wish that the showers had been better because every time you go and wash yourself your hair gets wet because the water goes everywhere. The location really was excellent, the metro station was right there, it was really nice, but given that one person per night has to pay more than 40 euros, I think that you could have done better.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for your review. As you have probably gathered we are currently upgrading the facilities at Russell Square. Our reception team may have missed the opportunity of telling you about the WiFi in the dorms. You can have access in the dorms for just £1 for 24hours. Of course WiFi is still FREE in the common areas.

(4437 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback