X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6908 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The guests and employees of this hostel were awesome! They were very friendly and helpful. But the cleanliness and the facilities themselves were not what I expected. The room had trash all over it, and the bathrooms were not kept clean. Having the showers in the basement was also a huge inconvenience (although I understand it was under construction so I understand that some things can't be helped.


80%

the first night taking the shower, water was iced. and sadly lockers in the changing room were all closed.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately our renovations are running late. We have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon.

77%

It's ok for the price, cold shared showers tho....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave valuable feedback! We are refurbishing our hostel so we can continue to provide clean, low-budget accommodation in Central London. Unfortunately our renovations are running late but we have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon. We appreciate your understanding and hope to see you again at Smart Backpackers!

74%

Stayed here on the night of the 24th July as i was out in the city for my 21st as i'd had a bad experience with a London Hostel before i was dreading it. We checked in at 8pm and the staff explained everything. Room was a comfortable size (we were in a 6 bed mixed dorm) and the beds were comfy. Slight lack of powerpoints (2 between 6) but that was expected. Shower facilities were basic but clean and because their all together we didnt have to queue and the water was hot.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Happy birthday!! Hope you had a great time. And thanks for taking the time for your review.

37%

This one night they had no hot shower at 12 in the midnight when we got back and it was fantastico! We had to shower in ice cold water. Room cleanliness was bad, one of the staircases leading up to rooms were falling apart and it was worrying. In addition, refurbishment work was taking place right next to the room I was in so it wasn't at all a pleasant stay. I must say having their kitchen and shower open 24 hours a day is a bonus.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

60%

Just a place so you can sleep and take a bath, nothing else is importante here. Showers are on the basement... Breakfast is very basic: toasts with butter/jelly, coffee/tea and cereals. FYI: staff, 1,5 pounds p/day to rent a locker? You guys aren't a 5 start hotel, why those prices?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. One way to keep the prices down is to have "User pays" for some extras like the lockers.Not everyone wants one. Having said that, we provide free wi-fi in the reception/TV & dining rooms and our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight)

80%

As always Smart Russell is best hostel in central London. Its central, near very good food outlets and a couple of good pubs which allow you an economic stay in London. Staff are fantastic although some could improve their English and bring it to the level of their enthusiasm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers.

66%

Hostel is in a really handy place, very easy to walk to sites as well as the tube and bus stations. So if a good location at a reasonable price(as london goes) is what you are looking for, this is the place. However, the room smelt terrible. The showers are shared between everyone and whilst there are a lot of them there isn't much in the way of facilities. The room had one sink, between a lot of people (I think I was with 12) and not very many power outlets. Simple but adequate breakfast.


83%

i will highly recommend this hostel, it is brilliant

Owner Comment (Hide)
We think you're brilliant too! Thanks for the recommendation and hope to see you again :)

40%

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the location. After reading the bad reviews & the fact that the property had responded apologising made me think that it might have improved. Nope! Every single member of staff we encountered was an absolute grump. Not a smile to be seen & they could not care less about helping. Seemed judgemental at times. Our room was in the basement - grotty, loud & the cleaners kept coming in & cleaning around our feet. Toilets were horrible. Ice cold showers.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you mention, our Hostel is very conveniently located in Central London near to the British Museum, Covent Garden and so much more. We continue our endeavour to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation. We also wish for the renovations to be over too!!

63%

Having the showers located in the basement was a pain but not as much as having no hot water available for three days running. And while we were able to put our cases in a locked room downstairs the hostel effectively forces you to pay for a locker under your bed as there is no other place to store your valuables when you sleep. You might want to bring an extension lead with you as well since there are few places to charge any electrical equipment, especially in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers

83%

A large hostel with many guests, but they manage to keep it clean (specially toilets). However, showers are awful: I don't mind they were in the basement but water was always very hot or very cold. And they had the kitchen out of service a whole day, which is very disapointing because you are paying for a service that you can't use.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your review. Unfortunately our renovations are running late. We have been told that these types of problems will be fixed soon.

74%

You should give some note in email that EU to UK adapter is not free to borrow. Also, showers are just weird.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel so the showers should be less weird. Unfortunately there are too many people for us to be able to loan power adapters out to Guests.We will look at adding that information to our "Useful Information" section. Thanks for the idea!

46%

The hostel is located very conveniently in central London and the bedroom/bed system was OK. The bunk beds had three floors instead of two, but it had the nice cover of the blinds around the bed. The bed linen is given to you when you arrive and you add it yourself, and it looked clean. However, the toilet and shower facilities were very disgusting. I literally puked while trying to use the toiled, and the showers were underground, in a very damp environment smelling like sewage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

71%

Showers were not clean, nowhere to put your clothes, only some worked.. Not advised there was no longer a laundry. Breakfast included always a bonus. Forgotten how badly some peoples feet/ shoes smell our the entire room. Unable to open window or get airflow through..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Apologies about the laundry, it will be back. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. Not a lot we can do about peoples feet but hopefully the airflow will improve once the renovations are finished.

91%

Bit noisy one night but the other was fine. Showers are basic but they do their job, annoying that they are in the basement and you have to walk through the canteen area to get to them!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

77%

Really not a fan of all the showers being in the basement. Otherwise the place was great.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback.

71%

Not a bad hostel. Close to Russell Square station which was handy. The rooms are packed in pretty tight though. Common room is great, plenty of room to sit around and meet other travellers although there was a school group here at our time which was less then ideal. Good breakfast in the morning. Clean common areas and showers.


89%

The hostel has a brilliant atmosphere, interesting people and excellent staff always ready to help guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words. Much appreciated.

46%

Prepare lots of coins! Everything costs extra here, even safe deposit box and luggage storage. Shower is in the basement, you have to constantly press it to keep the water going, no room to put your stuff. Bathroom stinks and you have to walk up and down the stairs to get there. The girls at reception are rude and unhelpful but all the male staff are really nice. Check in experience was my worst. Breakfast is basic but prepared to line up. I do like the curtains, you have some privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

(146 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback