X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6721 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The rooms were cramped standard Smart hostels. The beds were curtain style bunk beds. Wifi was fairly weak and didn't work in the room. There were many children running around at night and it was quite loud. The kitchen was a mess and the bathroom became quite filthy later on. Quiet neighborhood and right next to underground. Also easy walk to catch the n9 bus to heathrow. 10 pound deposit per person in cash required.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for you review. We would have hoped you could have raised these cleanliness issues with either our receptionist or even the manager. Wi-Fi is for free in our common areas but for the connection in the room we charge £1 per 24 hours. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the group staying with us, we did our best for them to respect our quiet hours. We try to offer affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers. We hopeto see you soon.

20%

Hello, i will recommend to do not go to this place, bed are complete boxes, and i had a dispute with the bed, and they say me to find somewhere else and they will refund the money and after 10 minutes they do not wanted, have to say, than even the mistake was for the girl working on there, she was amazing worker, and a lack of training in this situation, Also the manager is disgraceful!!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are continuously seeking ways of improving our service's quality, so thank you for your feedback. We have a strict 24 hour cancellation policy so after checking in we do not refund the amount for the first night stay. We do apologize if this rule was not communicated clearly. We hope you will stay with us again.

89%

Overall I would recommend to a friend. Pros: Curtains on beds allowed sleeping any time. Common room and kitchen modern and clean. Hot showers. Cons: Small draw lockers and after a few days I discovered if i yanked on mine it opened without a keycard. Showers weren't very private and were push button for 10 seconds worth.


51%

The toilet and shower facilities were very far away from the room. The showers weren't clean, the water was cold and the dressing area was public and used by a great number of people, very uncomfortable. The room itself had no drinking water, which was unacceptable especially considering there were no toilets or drinking water taps on our floor but only two floors below. The bed was very small and old.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. Our housekeeping/cleaning times between 06:30 am- 23:00. beside of our hourly check, we rely on guests to report any cleaning issues where we will get it resolved promptly.

94%

I know there are negative reviews for Smart Russell Square, but of the four hostels I've used so far, this was my favorite. My friend and I were in the 14 bed dorm on the ground floor for five nights. Room pros: curtains, didn't need lockers, respectful roommates, clean bathroom. Cons: cold at night, bathroom was used by more than just dormmates and was often occupied. Hostel pros: NO LOUD MUSIC OR BAR, clean and large kitchen, clean and large showers, decent breakfast. Con: basement showers.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Smart Russell Square and your positive and constructive review. We will work on the issues you have mentioned but you will be happy to hear that we are undergoing a full refurbishment and all rooms will be en suite.

57%

Small bed, fourth floor without bathrooms, we had to go down 1 floor and a half of stairs to go to the bathroom, the floor was noisy every time a person lifted woke up the others, the sink that was in the room did not work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. SRS Team

80%

Location is great! I was only in for a couple hours but the privacy curtain meant that I could sleep even when people turned on lights. Bathrooms need some fixing/cleaning, and prices are a bit expensive, but I was happy with what it was and problem will try to stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, its important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again.

57%

The beds are really small, if you're taller than 180 cm you won't fit! you can't control the temperature of the water in the showers and every min the water goes off, super annoying! Some of the staff were super nice but some were really not friendly and kind of pissed of helping you. There are only 2 power supplies in a room of 9 beds, and they're next to the door, so if you're next to the window you're screwed. The place is being remodeled which I think is super good

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback, and yes, we are undergoing a refurbishment so there will be a power plug next to every bed and all the rooms are en suite. Thank you for the comment about our staff we will look into it.

34%

Our room, in the basement, was extremelly small for seven people (student dorm size). The only window in the room, which faced the street, had no lock and could be opened from the outside. The two toilets on our floor were unclean, broken and one could not be locked. The corridor was under construction and there was a huge hole in the wall. At 10-11 am, cleaners would enter our room and clean, while we were still in it. The staff was rude and kept giving us looks and comments on our clothing (!)

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are continuously seeking ways of improving our hostel's quality, and so will be considering your valuable comments when we do so. All maintenance issues are resolved promptly once reported. We are sorry you got the wrong impression about our staff. Hope you will stay with us again.

63%

Cramped dorms with as many bunks as possible fitted into. Too bad no one thought about any luggage the guests might bring along - so all the floors are filled with stuff. Better don't be there in case of an emergency. My dorm also had just 2 plugs for 16 people. Showers were awful - only few with water that was actually warm and the smell in the shower rooms is just disgusting. Extra charge for basically anything - lockers, luggage storage etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are continuously seeking ways of improving our hostel's quality so thank you for your comment. We are in the middle of refurbishment for every room to be en suite and with a plug next to every bed. The extra charges are there as not every guest needs every facility that we offer so you don't end up paying for the things you don't need whilst making a booking. We hope to see you again.

57%

The hostel is in a central and safe location, only minutes away from the British Museum. Hostel staff is nice and helpful. However, the hostel is pretty run-down I would say. Facilities are not being maintained and cleaning is variable. Shower facilities are the worse of all: the water is at best lukewarm and you have hold a button down for the water to come out. Hostel didn't seem to attract a lot of young and outgoing people. Overall, though, it's definitely livable and very cheap for London.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you were impressed by the service provided by our receptionist, though concerned you found the quality of the facilities below the standards we normally ensure to meet. You will be happy to hear that we are in the middle of refurbishment and around October this year all our rooms will have en suite bathrooms. We can also assure you that cleaning is our priority.

43%

Have you ever been to prison? You will have definitely felt like it after staying in the jail-like cells of this hostel. It comes, complete with staff who is, admittedly, always there, but only to tell you that they cannot do anything to help you. There are posters everywhere stating that they offer discounted prices to attractions around London, but every time you ask about any of them, you get one response, "the website is down". crappy, messy, small. Do not book!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't as good as expected. We love what we do and we try to do it the best we can. If you come back and decide to give us a second chance, you might be surprised for good.I am really sorry again. Unfortunatley our website was down for a long time.

97%

I really enjoy to be there! Was a great night and good moments. See you soon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your feedback, its important for us and it will definitely help us to improve our hostel. We hope to see you again.

77%

insufficient toilets and too far - 3 flghts of stairs from the 3rd floor is too far, and the shower was in the basement. i stay here for the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your appreciation for our location, we are aware about the shower issue and are solving it. The refurbishment will end around October and then all the rooms will be en suite.

57%

Yes, the location and the price are good and that's the only reason I would recommend this hotel. Stay was horrible from the get go: the staff were extremely rude. I was placed in a 14 person dorm that was extremely small with 3 beds stacked on top of each other. The room was located in the basement which was extremely cold, there were very few outlets and the facilities were not clean. The atmosphere of the entire place was awful: the majority of people actually seemed to be living there!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We want to offer affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers without missing on out on a perfect location. We are concerned you found the quality of the facilities below the standards we normally ensure to meet. Additionally, we are sorry if you got the impression that our staff was rude. Can you, please, send an email to manager to explain this matter?

74%

We were really bothered by the noise at night! No adults seems to react to the mess made by the french classes. The teachers should be warned that if they don't keep they class calm at night they should find another place to go!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We did speak to the teachers and gave them a warning, still we are sorry for all the inconvenience caused by the group.

77%

Really good in regards to location and price. Not the greatest social scene and beds were too short, although you get your own curtain that gives you a little extra privacy from late night comers. Dont expect anything flash but well worth it if your on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for a positive comment. We are pleased to offer an affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers without missing out on the perfect location.

69%

The bedrooms are good and each bed has a curtain which is good when other roommates arrive late / leave early. There is no lift so if you have heavy luggage be ready to carry it up. The showers are in the basement only which forces you to go down every morning. And the water was jist slightly warm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for very positive feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed our hostel and hopefully see you soon again

60%

The toilet could be more cleaner

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

During our stay at Smart Russell Square, the hostel was actually under construction. We had construction workers walking through the halls every morning and the floors were covered in debris. Aside from that, nothing seemed to be entirely functional. From the lockers in the shower rooms and bedrooms to the vending machines, nothing worked right. Unfortunately, the staff was not helpful or very friendly. Every time someone in our group had a question, it could never be answered with confidence.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! First of all, thanks for choosing Smart Russell Square while you were in London. Unfortunately, sometimes we have unforeseen maintenance issues. Nevertheless, we try not to affect guests with these. We apologize for any inconvenience it might have caused you and we hope to see you soon! SRS Team

(4386 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback