X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6710 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel in a great location. Our nine bed room had 3 triple bunk beds which were fun. If you are over 6' tall the bed can get a little cramped though. They have a nice large kitchen that is very spacious. Breakfast in the morning could be a little better as it is only cereal and white bread for toasting. We would definitely return here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for staying with us and taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

83%

Nos preocupaban bastante los comentarios negativos sobre el hostel. Nuestra impresion ha sido excelente. Buena ubicacion, buena recepcion, limpio, habitacion privada con retrete incluido .. calidad precio muy buena, desayuno incluido. Lo unico malo es que te cobran por dejar las maletas, 2 libras por cada una y ademas, te obligan a pagar 20 libras de clausula por si pierdes las llaves, las cuales tienen que ser en efectivo y te cobran 4 libras de conision por sacarlas del cajero. pero muy bien.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our luggage storage rates are a very low £2/bag (from check-out until midnight). When you compare this to the price you would pay at train stations and airports (which start at £6/bag for 3 hours), we believe this is an affordable option for our Smart Backpackers! We hope to see you again :)

66%

pros: good location, friendly staff, cons: too many beds in the rooms compared to the size of room, way to your bed is blocked by luggage, no showers and toilets in each floor, you must always go up and down, bad showers, water stops when you don't push the button.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for the feedback! Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms!

57%

I stayed in a basement room, and the closest working toilets are up two floors and across the building. The bunks are stacked 3 high and there is nowhere to put your luggage if you don't buy the locker, so everyone's stuff is in heaps on the very limited floor. The management seems like they are always arguing with the guests and the cleaning staff pushes by people to wash their drink cups first. The kitchen is nice, though they need towels for drying if they want guests to clean up properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. Hopefully if you return you will see the improvements and it will change your option on our Hostel :)

91%

ESTA TODO MUY BIEN ESCEPTO LAS DUCHAS QUE ESTAN EN EL SOTANO.SI ESTAS EN LA TERCERA PLANTA POR EJEMPLO TIENES QUE BAJAR 4 PLANTAS Y ME PARECE UNA BARBARIDAD

Owner Comment (Hide)
As you probably noticed during your stay, our hostel is undergoing refurbishments. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms :)

83%

Really really pleased. After reading some really bad reviews we were very nervous about our stay. We chose a private room with a private ensuite. The room and bathroom were very clean. They were basic but very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay and very happy to be so close to a tube station. Would highly recommend.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely feedback. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! It would be great to see you in our Hostel again sometime in the future.

77%

Was mich gestört hat: Keine Toilette im Untergeschoss, wo mein Zimmer war. Es gab dort nur Dusche und Wäsche. Um die Toilette zu benützen, muss man die Treppe hochsteigen, am Aufenthaltsraum und dem Empfang vorbei, durch eine gesicherte Tür in einen Gang, wo sich zwei WCs befinden. Als ich einmal am Morgen auf die Toilette musste, wurde ich von der Frau am Empfang ermahnt, etwas anzuziehen. Ich trug einzig Unterwäsche. Das war nicht gerade freundlich.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. Hopefully if you come back you will be able to take full advantage of these improvements

74%

Good enough for my work trips to London: central location, cheap, free breakfast and curtains on the dorm bands for privacy. Not great atmosphere in the common area if you want to socialise, people are too busy with their facebook.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello.Thanks for choosing to stay with Smart Backpacker and taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

49%

Douche froide, petite et sale. Chambre très mal aménagée donc on a eu trop chaud. Check in très long. Pas assez d'infos lors du check in.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. We will make sure to pass your comments onto the Hostel manager.

66%

there is very little space between the bunks to change or even make or strip the linen - the toilets are poor - it is not very convenient to have to go all the way to the basement to take a shower - it is far better to have shower facilities on each floor

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel, which should be finished soon (we hope!). One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms.

60%

Es un lugar viejo, muy grande pero las habitaciones son pequeñas y con poco espacio libre para caminar o poner el equipaje. Huele feo y sólo dan sábanas limpias pero hay que usar la colcha y la almohada que dejó el viajero anterior ya usada. No es muy cómodo aunque cada cama tiene una cortina que te separa del resto de viajeros en la habitación. Dan un desayuno muy sencillo en el área común. Los vamos son compartidos hombres y mujeres y las regaderas están en el sótano. Tiene buena ubicación

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets including a fresh pillow case. We hope to see you again!

71%

V pokoji nesnesitelné vedro, nefunkční okno, bez skříní (úložný prostor za další poplatek, zamykatelný kartou). Bonus je snídaně v ceně (kafe, čaj, mléko, cornflakes, toastový chléb, máslo, marmeláda). Celý den v hostelu uklízí parta uklízeček, všude je čisto. Ve společenské místnosti/jídelně je málo míst. V porovnání s mou zkušeností v minulosti je v hostelu velmi neosobní nálada, lidé se ani nepozdraví.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. The recent high temperatures have highlighted our need to work on the ventilation, which we are. Hopefully if you come back you will see the difference. We are very proud of our cleaners and the work they do to ensure our hostels are clean for our valued guests and we thank you for recognising their hard work!

86%

All good, thanks.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

77%

+Fair value for the price. + I felt safe and that my valuable items were safe 100% of the time. + location is perfect: tube station very close, rental bikes very close, buses near, or you're close enough to walk around various places + the beds have curtains on them :) - Dull atmosphere, do not expect a party hostel. I did make friends ,however, by sitting in the common area - Toilets are on separate floor from showers& rooms - Smaller storage lockers- my large suitcase didn't fit inside

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

80%

Es muy céntrico, esta muy bien para salir en Londres.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you again on your next trip to London :)

83%

El hostel está muy buen ubicado. El problema es que las habitaciones son muy pequeñas y estan muy poco ventiladas. Para ir a las duchas hya que pasar por el sector del comedor. Igualmente es recomendable

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. The recent high temperatures have highlighted our need to work on the ventilation, which we are. Hopefully if you come back you will see the difference.

57%

This hostel was disgusting. I only stayed here one night and purely for the location as I had a tour the next day down the road. When I arrived the staff who checked me in Weren't helpful at all. The place is a maze, they have 3 tiered bunk beds (not shown in the photos) you make your own bed, toilets are difficult to find and are disgusting, there are hardly power points, none for the bunk beds so you have to sit outside the dorm or In the common area, this is not a youth hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Clearly you didn't enjoy your stay, which is unfortunate. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will pass your comments onto the Hostel Manager to look further into. Next time could we suggest a smaller dorm, sometimes the larger ones aren't for every one :)

54%

the hostel was in a great location. but value for money it wasn't the rooms were ok. I actually booked online a 6 bed dorm and ended up in a 9 bed dorm. The beds were fine but you wouldnt have wanted to be tall. the linen had stains. the bathrooms always smelled not enough ventilation same with the showers. breakfasts were fine.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. Every guest who arrives is given clean bed sheets. If for some reason you receive sheets which are not clean, please ask the reception team to swap them, they will. We will look in to why you were moved to a larger dorm, this doesn't normally happen.

71%

In my opinion the only great thing about this property is the location. The curtains on the bed are a nice touch for privacy and the kitchen/common area is a social environment. But, the showers are the worst I've ever experienced - on the basement level, water runs for about 10seconds and you have to keep pushing the button, they smell and are excessively hot. Wifi is not free (it's free everywhere else). No power points or lights by the bed and only 2 power points in a room of 6 people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for staying with us and providing your feedback. As you've probably gathered we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. The showers are one area yet to be completed. The team may have missed letting you know that at our Hostels we have two types of wi-fi. It is FREE in the common areas OR £1 for 1 day in the dorms. We hope to see you again!

77%

The place was alright, sort of standard London hostel. Bunk beds are a bit short for tall people (and they're walled in, so it's hard to circumvent the problem...). Nice big kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(184 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback