X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
7185 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was a nice surprise.


43%

C'est à boycotter,je n'ai jamais vu un personnel aussi mauvais le pire c'est l'équipe de nuit en réception et la sécurité,des gens sans aucune éducation ne sachant même pas parler seulement aboyer,bref endroit à décommander absolument.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

O pessoal poderia estar melhor informado a respeito da cidade para repassar as informações aos hóspedes que as solicitassem. O ambiente (área comum e quartos) não são agradáveis. Os banheiros e quartos são mal-cheirosos. A diretoria do hostel deve saber que há ratos nas duchas femininas.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Auberge de jeunesse très bien située, à 3min du métro et d'un petit supermarché. Cuisine à disposition (peu de vaisselle mais on se débrouille), dortoir et sdb propres (meme si on a un peu galéré pour avoir de l'eau chaude le premier jour). Petit dej' compris dans le prix (pain de mie, cereales) Les nuits ne sont pas toujours calmes (quand certains rentrent de soiree en oubliant que d'autres dorment mais bon.. Accueil et sécurité excellents. Tres bon rapport qualité/prix, je recommande !!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Bonne auberge de jeunesse, très bien située.

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Está muy bien ubicado, es seguro. El personal te ayuda a saber cómo llegar a los lugares de interés. Aceptan a personas de TODAS las edades y no me gustó. La limpieza es deficiente, sobre todo en los baños. Sólo hay baños en un piso para todos. Debes cuidar muuuuuy bien tus cosas ya que las regaderas son para todas, no puedes dejar secando tu toalla ni cosas de baño (shampoo, jabón, etc.) ya que te las roban, a mi me las robaron jaja. Me he quedado en hostales mucho mejores por el mismo precio.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

My friends and I only stayed for one night and I'm happy it was only one night. Fairly low price but they charge you for everything, the atmosphere is terrible, and I found the staff to be completely rude and even mocking sometimes. Although it was a clean place I will not stay in this hostel again.


46%

I thought the photos of the hostel were very deceiving! The room was so scary with three bunk beds stacked on top of eachother. The shower was like a locker room which the shower you had to hold the entire time. It was so hard with the wifi because it says free wifi but it's not in the rooms. There is no plugs to charge your phone on the rooms as well.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Just what you expect from a cheap hostel, everything you need but nothing more. Unfortunately the beds are pretty small (185cm I think) So if you are taller than that it is not that comfortable sleeping. Poor internet connection :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We hope we will see you again!

51%

Elegí la pieza de 16 y tiene. Cuchetas triples en dónde es imposible dormir arriba de todo por el calor! A favor tiene la ubicación... Excelente!

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • ffueyo
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We hope we will see you again!

66%

called the hostel to make sure i have booked the hostel, the staff was impatient to check it out for me hurt my arm before i went to the hostel when i checked in that night, the reception staff gave me a nasty unfriendly look the bathroom door and the exhaust fan were too noisy

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We've passed you comments on to the team leader to assist us with our training. We hope we will see you again!

60%

It was a nice place for it's value but it was dirty and I didn't feel the safest there

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for the feedback. Our housekeeping team clean day & night for Guests comfort, but facilities are only ever as clean as the last person who used them. We will try to do more however. If any Guests feel uncomfortable about something, please see the friendly receptionists who will try to help.

100%

A great deal between what you get from what you pay. A true backpackers comfortable hostel


71%

L'auberge est bien placée et le personnel très sympas. Mais il ne faut pas attendre plus et s'y rendre juste pour dormir.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Por el precio está bastante bien. Pero es MUY masivo. Y en Pascuas estaba lleno de gente. El desayuno es muy básico pero llena. No brinda toallas (las vende a 5 libras, caras) y hay que pagar por el locker, lo cual no me parece correcto. Otra contra es la falta de enchufes en la habitación! Y las habitaciones son chicas para la cantidad de gente. La ubicación excelente. El staff ayuda. El precio es bueno en general. Lo recomiendo aunque no es el tipo de hostels que prefiero...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thanks for your feedback. The rates we offer does not include certain extras, for the majority of our guests won't choose to use them. In this way they are not being charged for a service they do not wish to use. We are shortly upgrading our beds to include personal power sockets; some of our rooms are smaller than elsewhere, however, our prices are competitive for central London. We are pleased you enjoyed the manner of our staff. Come back soon!

77%

Rooms are very tight. Nowhere to put your bags. Plenty of showers and hot. Hate the timers on it lasts only 10 seconds. Should really increase the timer mechanism on this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your review. Some of our rooms may be smaller than elsewhere. However our rates remain competitive for central London. We are relaying your comments to the relevant departments, regarding the timer mechanism on our showers. Thank you for choosing to stay with Smart Hostels we hope to see you again.

80%

El albergue está bastante limpio y el desayuno gratis viene muy bien. Lo único malo es que las habitaciones son muy pequeñas, pero realmente nosotros la usamos solo para dormir, así que esto último no ha sido un problema. Se puede llegar andando en menos de 10 minutos al Museo Británico, y en unos 15-20 a Covent Garden, así que la ubicación es muy buena y se puede evitar usar transporte público, que es bastante caro.


71%

The location is good since it is quite near to the subway and train station. The breakfast was nice and most of the staffs are helpful and friendly except one girl. A self-catered kitchen is convenient too. It could be noisy though during nights, so it won't be ideal if u look for a quiet place. All in all, the place is nice and clean. Short/term staying is not bad.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Don't forget tocheck our latest news, offers and photos on Facebook :)

97%

For the price I paid, this hostel is phenomenal. Having read the negative reviews, some people seem to have been expecting a posh hotel. It isn't, and doesn't pretend to be. Go in expecting a HOSTEL and you'll be completely satisfied. No issues with anything. 24 hour check-in is extremely handy, free breakfast (again, it's FREE so don't expect haute cuisine. I didn't expect breakfast so was pleasantly surprised to be given free toast and cornflakes.) and great location! Thoroughly recommend.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your review and for taking the hostel so high. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest, news, photos and offers. You are welcome anytime!

60%

Met my expectations, nothing more.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your valuable feedback. We are pleased your expectations were met during your stay with us. Please like our Facebook page to receive the latest news, offers and photos. We hope to see you again!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback