X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
6416 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I'm always happy to get back. It's very well located, very safe. I'd have a suggestion, separate men and women toilets would be a good idea. There are people of all ages there, sometimes it's awkward. Also bigger size sinks would be great. It's very difficult (if not impossible) to wash your face in the tiny ones they have there.


54%

Realmente, muy pobre la calidad del alojamiento. Deben exigir más EDUCACIÓN Y RESPETO a quienes estén alojados en las habitaciones. La privacidad en líneas generales, es NULA.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We take our customers opinions very seriously and we will do our best to enforce our quiet time policies.

83%

Dommage que l'on ai eu de l'eau froide le lundi matin dans les douches. Je pense qu'un gardien devrait surveiller de temps en temps dans les couloirs ce qui permettrait peut être d'éviter à certains jeunes de se croire en boite de nuit ! (trop de bruits, trop de gens qui courent, qui crient, etc = en pleine nuit). Sinon pas mal du tout pour une auberge de jeunesse.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do our best to enforce our quiet time policy and we are sorry for the trouble times with the water.

20%

This was the most awful hostel I have ever stayed in in my entire life! Tiny rooms, filthy corridors, filthy toilets, filthy showers, expensive, disgusting breakfast! Tried to spend the least amount of time in here as possible! Avoid like the plague!

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We hope that you will give us another chance to show you the level of service we want to offer.

69%

My room smelled terribly of fish and it was inconvenient that the nearest toilets were 1.5 floors down and the showers were even further (basement of the hostel). also the bed was far too short

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully. We are undergoing a refurbishment so every room will have en suite bathroom in a couple of months.

86%

The busiest hostel that I have ever been. There are so many travelers in this hostel everyday and always get together in the common room. It is very good. Although the toilet and the shower room is little far away from the bedroom. I would also recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your positive comment. Hope you will stay with us again.

77%

Good for the price, extra cost for locks and the showers could be better, but I would definitely come back :)

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the good words. We do not include some of the charges in the cost of the room so our guests don't end up paying for something that they don't need. We offer affordable accommodation in great locations.

60%

Showers only downstairs which not only meant going 2 floors down but also going through the main hall- not very comfortable situation. Lack of reading lights in room was an issue. One person asked for lights to be off right after 10 pm - that meant no possibility to read, in bed write or study map in bed. Not ideal. Large groups of young people made terrible noise in the morning.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are currently undergoing a full refurbishment all the rooms will have en-suite bathrooms, reading light and a plug around each bed.

57%

Well, for the London standards - nothing surprising. Apart from the mouse. You do not expect a mouse to visit your room while your out, do you? Here's a surprise then!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really sorry your stay was interrupted. We will investigate and resolve the problem immediately.

60%

The rooms in the basement are terrifying. To fill the rooms with bunk beds with 3 levels is awful. Too many people in this tiny rooms make it stink a lot there was also no space a all for the bags. The third level of the beds are straight under the lights so it's impossible to sleep if people turn on the lights because it's far too bright and the curton does'nt help if the light is right above you. Furthermore stinks the basement like it's mouldy.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are undergoing a complete refurbishment so each of the beds will have own plug and a light so the people sleeping on the top bunks are not interrupted during the night. We offer variety of rooms to fit different budgets of our travellers.

66%

Muy básico, demasiado básico, pasable para estar un par de días. Bien ubicado, instalaciones pobres, el personal muy amable, ninguno de ellos habla español, falta de conexiones para aparatos eléctricos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review, could you please advise us on what way you did not like our hostel so we can improve our services. We also do have a Spanish speaking receptionist,but probably you didn't check in under her shift. SRS Staff

74%

Alot of people sometimes you can easily hear them from your room . Theres no facilities that was advertised on website Gym , pool tables. apart from that its ok. Need more storage place for food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are slowly renovating all the rooms and they will all have en suite bathrooms and the floors area will be turned into something else. SRS Staff

31%

El hostal más cutre que he visto en mi vida. Sucio y en mal estado. Nada que ver con lo que muestran en las fotos. Ibamos para 2 noches y tras ver la habitación, decidimos marcharnos a otro hostal, fue justo tras haber pagado y no quisieron devolvernos el dinero. El toilet de nuestra planta estaba fuera de servicio. Extremadamente caro para el standard que ofrece. Probablemente cualquier albergue para sin techos tenga un standard similar o más elevado. Recomiendo no ir a este lugar.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had bad experience at our hostel. We are improving our facilities at the moment by upgrading all rooms, toilets and common areas. hence they seems to be different from what you saw online. We assure you will love your stay next time you stay with us.

51%

Un lit rooms, very dark with no natural light or air. Not a lot of information provided at check in. And showers that belong in swimming pools. Great location, however a bad night sleep

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Per gli standard italiani il paragone si puo' fare con una casa circondariale, va inteso che il prezzo nella stessa zona di un b&b molto piu' sordido e' quantomeno quadruplo. Personale talora rigido ma c'e' da comprenderli vista la assoluta varieta' di avventori, tra cui anche gente che prova a dormire a scrocco. Per quello che costa va benissimo, non per piu' di 5 giorni se non si vuole rischiare la sanita' mentale

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Now you can check our latest news, offers and photos on Facebook.

74%

Internet is terrible

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your feed back. We are looking for solutions to make the internet faster. We are still working on it.

86%

Friendly, welcoming staff that provided us with all the information we needed to know about check-in, check-out and the hostel facilities.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and rating the hostel so high. Now you can follow our latest news and offers on Facebook.

60%

Ok, you get what you pay: the location is nice (you can visit the city centre on foot), 1 minute away from a tube which brings you everywhere. Toilets are mixed but quite clean, showers are only in the basement. For the first 2 nights we were in the basement, room 17, which was a terrible experience! The "soundtrack" of the room was the endless noise of the sewage pipe, but above all we were 12 guests in a room without a window. It was so smelly that we couldn't breathe!


74%

Ostello in posizione perfetta per visitare la città .... Offre tutto quello che dovrebbe offrire un ostello ... Bagni puliti , possibilità di usare la cucina ... Camere non grandissime per 9 persone piu che altro perchè non c è lo spazio per le valigie ... unico neo il wi-fii non libero ... Se dovessi tornare a Londra tornerei di sicuro in questo ostello , ottimo per qualità/prezzo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grazie per il commento. Siamo contenti che la tua permanenza con noi sia stata piacevole. Ora è possibile essere aggiornati sulle nostre offerte, news ed immagini su Facebook.

89%

Would have been improved by individual lights in the bunks, also too few plugs to charge phone... Bring an extension cable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are renovating all the rooms and in a slowly process to provide more plugs. SRS Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback