X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smart Russell Square Reviews

71 Guilford Street, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
6648 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Room was ok. Liked curtains on each bunk. But showers were all the way down in basement and didn't have doors, just a single curtain.


37%

This one night they had no hot shower at 12 in the midnight when we got back and it was fantastico! We had to shower in ice cold water. Room cleanliness was bad, one of the staircases leading up to rooms were falling apart and it was worrying. In addition, refurbishment work was taking place right next to the room I was in so it wasn't at all a pleasant stay. I must say having their kitchen and shower open 24 hours a day is a bonus.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Die Räume sind viel zu spartanisch. Ich war in einem 16 bed dorm untergebracht dessen Zimmer max. für 8 Betten akzeptabel gewesen wären. Mit meinen 1,78m Körpergröße habe ich auch schon das Maximum ausgereizt bezüglich der Betten. Wer grösser ist kann in diesem Hostel definitiv nicht in einem Dorm Raum schlafen. Das Frühstück ist zwar vorhanden, aber sehr sehr spartanisch. Ausser Butter sollte doch vll mal min. Nutella o.ä. zur Verfügung stehen, das können andere Hostels besser !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again.

80%

As always Smart Russell is best hostel in central London. Its central, near very good food outlets and a couple of good pubs which allow you an economic stay in London. Staff are fantastic although some could improve their English and bring it to the level of their enthusiasm.


91%

if the room has an A/C then it would be much better....but anyway, it's been pleasure experience with this hostel and i am looking forward to coming back(when it's cold weather) hahahaha

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

ヒースロー空港からピカデリーラインで乗り換えなしで行け、駅からも5分以内で行ける好立地。大英博物館に徒歩圏内。ピカデリーラインで、Hyde ParkやAlbert Museum、バッキンガム宮殿、Covent garden等に行ける。シャワールームは部活動で使用するような感じだがお湯の出も良く、値段相応。9人男女混合ドミトリーに宿泊したが、他宿泊客が廊下を歩く足音、廊下や別階での他客の話し声がよく聞こえ、大変うるさいため慣れていれば寝れるが、騒音に耐えられなければ一睡も出来ない印象。ただ、周囲のホステルに比べ値段も安く好立地のため、一泊宿泊後or見学後に連泊を考慮するのも得策かと思われる。スタッフは親切でフレンドリー。早朝出発の飛行機に乗るためにどうしたらよいか、一緒に考えてくれ&予約方法まで親切に教えてくれ大変助かった。

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

i will highly recommend this hostel, it is brilliant


40%

The only thing this hostel has going for it is the location. After reading the bad reviews & the fact that the property had responded apologising made me think that it might have improved. Nope! Every single member of staff we encountered was an absolute grump. Not a smile to be seen & they could not care less about helping. Seemed judgemental at times. Our room was in the basement - grotty, loud & the cleaners kept coming in & cleaning around our feet. Toilets were horrible. Ice cold showers.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Having the showers located in the basement was a pain but not as much as having no hot water available for three days running. And while we were able to put our cases in a locked room downstairs the hostel effectively forces you to pay for a locker under your bed as there is no other place to store your valuables when you sleep. You might want to bring an extension lead with you as well since there are few places to charge any electrical equipment, especially in the rooms.


83%

A large hostel with many guests, but they manage to keep it clean (specially toilets). However, showers are awful: I don't mind they were in the basement but water was always very hot or very cold. And they had the kitchen out of service a whole day, which is very disapointing because you are paying for a service that you can't use.


46%

La ubicacione a muy buena sin embargo el staff es muy grosero y arrogante , no te ayudan en nada y te complican mucha las cosas , las instalaciones son pequeñas y sucias. No hay ventilación y la atmósfera es pesada. No es caro pero la relación precio y servicio es muy malo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. It's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for the feedback which feeds into our staff training programme.

74%

You should give some note in email that EU to UK adapter is not free to borrow. Also, showers are just weird.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel so the showers should be less weird. Unfortunately there are too many people for us to be able to loan power adapters out to Guests.We will look at adding that information to our "Useful Information" section. Thanks for the idea!

46%

The hostel is located very conveniently in central London and the bedroom/bed system was OK. The bunk beds had three floors instead of two, but it had the nice cover of the blinds around the bed. The bed linen is given to you when you arrive and you add it yourself, and it looked clean. However, the toilet and shower facilities were very disgusting. I literally puked while trying to use the toiled, and the showers were underground, in a very damp environment smelling like sewage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

71%

Showers were not clean, nowhere to put your clothes, only some worked.. Not advised there was no longer a laundry. Breakfast included always a bonus. Forgotten how badly some peoples feet/ shoes smell our the entire room. Unable to open window or get airflow through..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Apologies about the laundry, it will be back. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. Not a lot we can do about peoples feet but hopefully the airflow will improve once the renovations are finished.

69%

Desayuno muy pobre. De las 4 noches, nos cambiaron de habitacion 3 veces. No se cumplio la reserva: Reservamos en una habitacion de 12 y nos dieron cama en una de 14 y de 16, sin modificar el precio.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Bit noisy one night but the other was fine. Showers are basic but they do their job, annoying that they are in the basement and you have to walk through the canteen area to get to them!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. It's unfortunate you hit the Hostel while we're upgrading. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

77%

Really not a fan of all the showers being in the basement. Otherwise the place was great.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback.

89%

The hostel has a brilliant atmosphere, interesting people and excellent staff always ready to help guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words. Much appreciated.

46%

Prepare lots of coins! Everything costs extra here, even safe deposit box and luggage storage. Shower is in the basement, you have to constantly press it to keep the water going, no room to put your stuff. Bathroom stinks and you have to walk up and down the stairs to get there. The girls at reception are rude and unhelpful but all the male staff are really nice. Check in experience was my worst. Breakfast is basic but prepared to line up. I do like the curtains, you have some privacy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. As you've probably read we are busy improving the facilities at the Hostel. We appreciate your feedback though and cannot wait for the renovations to be finished too. Cheers.

74%

teniendo en cuenta el precio calidad el hostel está bien; lo único me ha parecido que no hay muchos espacios para estar tranquilos; mucha gente y mucho ruido.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for the feedback, it's all appreciated.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(164 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback