Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Sea View Brighton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 1004 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 1004 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
8.6

It was a good value for money, staff extremely helpful! Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mossyfrog
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
4.0

Booked two beds in a 6 bed mix dorm. Was told we would be on 1 bunkbed, but after going to the room this was not the case and we were on opposite beds. Long reception queues as only one member of staff. Room was messy and the sheets looked dirty and unmade. There were 2 lockers in the room for 6 beds, and neither of them had any way to lock them. My friend's £40 went missing. Shower was a drip of water and the toilets were tiny. Advertised free wifi but couldn't connect all weekend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
15th Jul 2017
2.6

I checked in after midnight and the guy at the desk said he might not have a bed for me anymore when I had booked and paid a deposit online. There was 9 beds in the room and 2 charger point right next to the door. The room was filthy, there was tissues all over the floor and I'm not sure if it had blood or poo on it. I didn't have a shower there because they they were so filthy. I'm not usually too fussy on hostel accommodation but this place is a no go

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
6.3

Despite a run-down building, the bad smelts everywhere, the quite bad atmosphere and a staff absolutely moody, it could be a great option if you are short of money very cheap with a nice location, breakfast included, and not so dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jul 2017
5.1

I'm almost sure that it's haunted. It's not just the vampire-like reception and the peeling wallpaper. The dark bathrooms are decorated with cobwebs too. The kitchen is lived in though - dirty pots and dishes lay on the limited counter space and there are flies dancing above the trash can. Odd guests roam around the dorm rooms - where there ARE lockers, but you are not allowed to lock them (???) and few locks fit the locker doors. Yes, this is a cheap hostel, but I got the herby jeebies.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
6.3

Stayed at this hostel in a group of 16. Thought it was a bargain being only £20 each but once we arrived, realised this was no good deal. With all the money they're getting, they could repaint or fix the wall paper that's falling down all over the place. It done the job as a place to stay but we won't be staying again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • summerm93
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
3.7

I guess you get what you pay for. But I somehow got placed in a room with all men, a single ensuite between 16 of us and the windows could easily have been lifted to get into the rooms. Location is close to beach but a good walk to town

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
10.0

great place to stay and ideal location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
4.3

Very basic facilities, staff not helpful or kind, not very clean, location is OK.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.0

Dorm was clean with two new toilet/shower rooms ensuite. Some noise from other dorms but mine was quiet luckily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.