Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Sea View Brighton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 944 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.1

You get exactly what you pay for. Perfect for a lads weekend away, we went with 14 of us and it was ideal. Would definitely visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
4.0

After losing my friend and returning to the sea view hostel we were not welcomed nicely and told to leave by the night security. They did not offer to help my friend find us or support her when she was concerned only told her to leave and go out alone. We were then all reunited and the security asked us to leave. It was the early hours but after being treated so badly by the security and not being made to feel welcome we did leave at 6am! We felt at danger staying here and would sadly not stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
9.1

Always stay at Smart Sea view when visiting Brighton. Just a hop from the beach/promenade area and lovely walk into town. Friendly staff and has undergone refurbishment in the last year. Good hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.7

Cheap for Brighton but dirty and terribly basic

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
6.9

It is very good and the staffs are very nice and friendly also the guys who works in the reception are very friendly , but my point is the window which is in the room does not work so you can't open it to smell a new air , no hung in the bathrooms for clothes and the WIFI doesn't work inside the room Thank you

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • misk007
  • Slovenia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

If you want to keep your stuff under a lock, there is a locker, but you need to bring your own lock. Otherwise everything was ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
2.6

The staff were extremely rude, and the cleanliness of the rooms was an absolute disgrace. I didn't end up staying there in the end - I let my money go to waste and slept on a friends bedroom floor; because it was cleaner than the rooms provided in this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
8.6

Excellent for big groups, all together, can enjoy going out and not too far from the centre night life. Friendly staff and costed next to nothing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.7

I have no idea why Smart Sea View hostel have very low rating. I don't understand what people expecting to get for such a low prices, but all 4 of us where very satisfy with our stay. We rented 2 bunk beds en suite room. Room was clean, very quiet. Staff very friendly! Check out time is 10am but manager allowed us to stay until 13:30, no extra charge! Also, it was very close to our chosen night club for New Years party or any other club/pub, just few meters from the sea.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
7.4

The location is quite good, it takes around 30 minutes to go to the train station. It is a enjoyable walk along the seaside so it is alright.. The common area and breakfast is nice as well. However, the 16 person mixed dorms smells a little and the bunk bed is a bit too small for sitting up. Also during my stay a lot of people there seems to be staying there for a long term instead of travellers. And it feels a bit unsafe since there is not enough lockers for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.