Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Sea View Brighton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
7.1

When we arrived at the hostel, some linens and pillows cover have been handed to us, so it's been sort of do-it-yourself service. There are no lockers in the room, so no security. Also, the internet connection was very bad, so i had to use mine. The rooms are clean. The location is good. The hostel is located in a quiet area, 2 min walking distance from the beach. Also, there are plenty of shops and restaurants near by.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
5.7

It was definitely okay, but there's hostels 10000 times better for that price in Brighton!! The staff is a bit unwelcoming and chaotic, we had to change rooms after one night, cause when we got back the floor was ripped open and water was coming out. Nobody even told us, we had to ask what's going on. We were then transferred to a room of 15 people with ONE bathroom one toilet, one shower, one sink). So if someone was in there for an hour nobody could go to the loo. The location is top!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
6.0

Nice enough. Some obnoxious unfriendly staff. Some unfriendly residents. Clean and by the sea. But manners are missing. And rude name calling is not commensurate with quality staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2017
10.0

This is an exceptionally good hostel. Staff are great. Facilities are very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Great facilities for the price. Decent but basic breakfast and large common area. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is a a bit of a walk to get to the pier and city centre but still nice along the waterfront.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
3.4

Yes the hostel was very cheap, but I don't understand how this hostel is even allowed to exist in England. There are no standards whatsoever. It was dirty and smelly. Everything was very disorganised: I had to change my bed in the middle of my stay because their admin skills were poor & ask for the toilet paper. The people in the reception were friendly and it's not their fault. There was only one bathroom for 15 people and it looked awful. I would never ever stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
2.3

Card machine was broken, staff we not very accommodating, breakfast only run for an hour (not great when you have a marathon to run), there nothing much to say nice about this place. I've stayed in a few hundred hostels in my time but this would be right up there with the worst. DON'T STAY HERE - much better hostels in Brighon

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
7.7

Very nice staff and good atmosphere. A bit far from the center but for the price it's OK. The only thing I didn't like is they don't really have lockers to lock your stuff up and you have to pay for luggage storage. But all in all had a good stay, the staff and people staying there are very nice and the place is fairly clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.7

Exactly what you pay for. The location is closer to Hove apparently, but I personally really enjoyed the walk along the promenade after a night out. Staff are lovely, no problems whatsoever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.1

You get exactly what you pay for. Perfect for a lads weekend away, we went with 14 of us and it was ideal. Would definitely visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.