Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Sea View Brighton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 5.6
Smart Sea View Brighton Located at 9-12 St Catherines Terrace Hove, Brighton, Brighton.
Smart Sea View Brighton
England
Brighton BN3 2RZ 9-12 St Catherines Terrace Hove, Brighton
63% 891
50.8252268 -0.1749401
Smart Sea View Brighton
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
3.1

This hostel was miserable. Filthy, depressing, and full of drunk and loud college students. I was harassed by a drunk older gentlemen in our room and felt very unsafe. Security was lax despite the key card entrance, as the door was hard to close so everyone left it open. The bathroom was disgusting and the toilets routinely did not flush. The kitchen was tiny, ill equipped, dirty, and the community fridge packed to the brim with rotting food. Could not wait to leave.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.6

Overally we were satisfied. The location is a bit away from Brighton but it's a nice walk along the coast. When we arrived there was a drunken guy in our apartment so after our complaint we vere moved to a better toom by a superhelpful staff. We had a very nice stay, it was quiet there and we had great and polite roommates. We had a problem with the bedbugs though so we were moved to another room again. The breakfast was nice, nothing fancy but it was satisfactory. I recommend to stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
5.4

I know this is a budget hostel but toilet roll would be nice. As would a toilet that didn't look like it had just been visited by a herd of cows! The room its self was fine and did what it said on the tin. But the random unconsious people scattered around the shared space was an interesting addition that I haven't experienced in before.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
5.7

Room was in a bad way , window frames were falling apart. Curtains weren't big enough to cover the whole window so light poured in. Some rusty old lockers on the room. Shower pressure worked but tiles were falling off the bath itself. Ron was very cramped we stayed in a 8 man room. And a friend stayed in a 12 and the space to move between the beds was considerably bigger in the larger room. Location is right on top of the beach however is a 30 minute walk to town and bars.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
2.3

worst ever hotel ive been so far... very dirty and the food is disgusting

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
5.4

The location was a little secluded and not that easy to get to. The staff weren't that friendly and facilities and entrance wasn't too disabled friendly. For being the most inclusive of all LGBT cities, this would be one of the worst stays I've had.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
3.4

The hostel had no hot water for three of our four nights there, meaning freezing cold showers. One of the pillows smelled of urine, while a number of spots in the room smelled of stomach bile. Small warning signs for asbestos, a dangerous insulation substance, were seen throughout the hostel, but this wasn't alerted to us before our stay, causing some of our party to have respiratory flareups and headaches. When asked for a refund for our stay, we were told there was a 21 day wait on answer.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
3.7

One of those hostels where they will charge you extra for anything they can. Rooms were standard but some guests enjoy hanging out outside the building above the only window which had to be kept open because of the heat. Everyone in the room were kept up most of the night because of this. Worst hostel I've ever been to and I've been to quite a few! Breakfast included was OK.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jul 2016
3.4

Very basic, would be okay for short term stay but wouldn't recommend long term. Location near beach is nice however

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
4.0

V bad hostel. Ive never stayed in hostel, that was our first and last time for sure. We've paid 30 pounds per person to stay in ugly room with 3 beds. 160 pounds for one night not even clean properly with dirty duvets, you can find better deals in 4 starts hotel. Breakfast - Jam, butter (not even the real butter) and toast, disgusting. I would never come back to the simmilar place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.