X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Sea View Brighton Reviews

9-12 St Catherines Terrace Hove, Brighton, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
635 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

My non-smoking room (215) reeked of cigarette smoke.


77%

We stayed in a private double room. Good points: cheap, clean, recently decorated, tea making facilities, TV, towels & soap provided, polite staff, central location walking distance from station, 24hr reception, free wifi, breakfast included. Bad points: room quite small, uninspiring décor with bare light bulb on ceiling, shower far too hot, only one window, (of three), opened, had to top up kettle from shower as sink too small, breakfast only served until 09:30, couldn't get signal on wifi.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your helpful review. I’m glad to see that you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us. Please, accept my apology for any inconvenience caused; I’ll make sure to bring the issues that you experienced to our maintenance staff to solve it shortly. We would love to hear from you again, Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

97%

A bit far from the pier but definitely a very good place to stay at. Ensuite Twin room, perfectly clean, quite cheap compared to other hostels. I recommend warmly !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review! We would be delighted to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

83%

The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a twin ensuite and for value for money it was excellent. It wasn't noisy so had a good nights sleep. Sheets on the bed were brand new and the cleanliness of the room (apart from the windows) was very good. Outside of the windows were very dirty but not the cleaning staffs fault. Room was heated. Spotless shower room although a bit of a strange smell. Probably the drains as it is an old building. Cooked breakfast was included and perfectly adequate.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. I’m very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our staff really appreciated your positive comments. We will have our maintenance guys to check the problem that you mentioned. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future, Kindest regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

66%

Stayed at this place with my 2 teenage children. The private rooms were nice. But it felt as though the building was in need of some attention. Was dissapointed on arrival to discover I needed to put a £10 deposit down for the key as this wasn't advertised anywhere and I nearly didn't have the cash. Breakfast was alright and more than enough to fill up. Over all it was ok but charging per bed made it a lot more expensive than cleaner nicer places.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. The hotel is indeed going through a few refurbishments at the moment; we hope you will come back to enjoy the results! As for the £10 deposit for the key, I would like to point out that it advertised in our hotel profile – Things to note. We would be very happy to hear from you in the future, Kindest regards, Elisa A Smart Sea View hotel

51%

There is nothing smart about this hostel. There are homeless looking long term lodgers there. Bunk beds are small and 3 level high..breakfast consist the cheapest possible food. Basic bread, basic, spread, basic jam that's about it. I know it is nothing to do with the hostel but some of the roommates were returning from night out at 4am wake everybody up, broke a bottle of beer or something...I did not have good time there unfortunately. The only good thing is the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I am really sorry to hear that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations as we aim to make everyone’s stay pleasant and comfortable. Please, accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

100%

I am very happy and very cheap

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

86%

Admittedly I was concerned by the low reviews i found online for Sea View Brighton, so I had pretty low expectations. But it was great! Basic, yes, but the staff were really friendly and helpful. I was surprised to have a bath in the en suite, and really pleased with the level of comfort and cleanliness in the rooms. Not too sure what the dorms were like but the whole place was fairly quiet considering it was the weekend of the Brighton Half Marathon & a tattoo convention! Pleasantly surprised.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful review. I am very glad to learn that your stay with us left you with a good impression; our staff was very happy to hear your kind comments. Please, don’t hesitate to contact us next time you are planning to come to Brighton as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

94%

Way better than I was expecting. We had a king size bed, tv with multiple channels, tea making facilities and a brand new ensuite. The place itself is run down but it's a way better option than forking out big money for a hotel. Very close to the strand too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your positive feedback. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please, don’t hesitate in get in touch with us in your next stay in Brighton as we will be pleased to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

74%

I first stayed in a 20 bed dorm room. It was good for the price, but some of the beds don't have curtains which might make some people uncomfortable. I then moved to a single room, which was wonderful. Very clean. It came with a TV and kettle, which I wasn't expecting. It was quiet and everyone was friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to add your review. I was sorry to learn that the first room you stayed in didn’t meet your expectations. However, you’ll be happy to learn that we have replaced the curtains missing. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the single room and its facilities and that our staff made your stay pleasant. We look forward to hear from you in the future. Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

80%

Our room was a bit run down looking but was really clean. The lockers didn't look very secure but as we had the whole dorm it wasn't an issue for us. The staff were really helpful and were happy to answer any questions we had. Simple rooms at a good price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had an overall good impression of your stay with us. Nevertheless, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in certain areas of your visit. As for the lockers, we offer additional secured lockers in the reception area at the little price of £1,5 a day. We would be very happy to welcoming you back in near future. Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel

63%

The pipe of the tap in the room next door made a loud banging noise every time it was turned on, waking us up numerous times in the night. Dubious brown marks on the wall above the bed. Furnishings and decor were cheap and cheerful, but you get what you pay for I guess. Staff friendly.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. You might be happy to hear that the hotel is under renovation at the moment. On the other hand, I am glad that our staff made a good impression on you. We are looking forward to hear from you in the future. Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

97%

My stay here was great. The private room was a great price and quite large too. Also very very clean! Loved that I could make a coffee for myself in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us in your next stay in Brighton; we will be very pleased to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

94%

Absolutely nice and sweet place to stay on the coast, was really impressed by cleanliness of the dorms and dorm bathrooms, kitchen and common area are also very nice and comfy. Good wifi and welcoming stuff made our impressions perfect! Thanks for a good stay in sunny Brighton! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your wonderful review. I am really happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay at the hotel. We would be pleased to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

54%

stayed in 18 bed i think it was, bit squishy if it was full but didnt actually end up staying the night. got fresh sheet and pillow case but the blanket lookedlike it hadnt been washed in a while with some stains. its not the kind of place you would hang out at just a place to rest your head for the night. Mostly picked this hostel because it was the best price for a Saturday night. Its not the worst hostel, i would stay again if i couldnt find something nicer at an afforable price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn that our hostel didn’t meet your expectations. You might be pleased to know that we are currently renovating some of the rooms. I am surprise to hear that the blankets didn’t looked clean as we change them regularly. Nevertheless, I’ll bring the issue to our housekeeping department to make any required changes. We would be happy to hear from you in the future. Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

66%

the kitchen could be opened all day. the breakfast was a bit poor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. You will be happy to know that we are improving our breakfast and that we have increased the opening hours of our kitchen which is now open all day. We are looking forward to hear from you, Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

100%

Your Staff Marius and Zoltan are an investment and well trained!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive review. Our receptionists were thrilled to hear from you! Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel.

60%

The best of the hostel is the staff. I also liked the building, wich seems an old hotel with old forniture. The breakfast was welcome but just ok. The big room (15 bed) is one of the worse I've ever seen, with shaking triple bunk beds, no lockers, not space for our backpacks, etc. Baggage room has £2 fee. Location is not bad, near a big supermarket, but I still prefer Brighton more than Hove.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to add your review. I am sorry to hear that our hostel failed to meet your expectations in certain areas but I am pleased that our staff made a good impression on you. You might be happy to learn that since your visit, we have improved the room you stayed in. We would be pleased to welcoming you back in the future, Kind regards, Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel.

80%

I had mixed feeling before I arrived at the hotel after reading a few negative reviews. But to my surprise everything went well with a little surprises.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to learn that your stay with us left you with a good impression. We are looking forward to see you in the future, Kind regards , Elisa A., Smart Sea View hotel

83%

There was a crowd of 'Young Adults!' in the next room to my single room ...I didn't get much rest until they were thrown out of the hostel at midnight ... drunk, load & .... young. They all seemed to want to be in the room they were not assigned too & spent lots of energy knocking on doors (Including mine once) going from room to room with dramatic giggles ... before the tears. However ... It was alight for me to get my head down in a nice clean room after they went. Liam W

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Liam, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the inconvenience caused. However, I am pleased to read that our staff deal quickly with the situation and that you were able to get some rest after the incident. We would be delighted to hear from you again, Kind regards, Elisa A. Smart Sea View hotel



View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback