X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smart Sea View Brighton Reviews

9-12 St Catherines Terrace Hove, Brighton, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
738 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Noisiest and most caotic place I've ever seen.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

the staff was very unfriendly and we didn't get some clean blanket covers. the breakfast wasn't a breakfast and the rooms were not really clean, the windows didn't get to close and it was very cold in the night

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Before arriving to the hostel I was slightly cautious as the man I had spoken to when making the final payment for the booking was extremely rude. However upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised, staff where very helpful and polite just unfortunate I had been unlucky beforehand! Hostel was great value for money and our group had a great time for our friends surprise birthday. Would definitely stay again!

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

For £7 a night you can't really complain. I was slightly disappointed by was the location (about 2 miles to the pier and centre of town). The toilets may have been clean but looked horrible and the beds were very thin but not uncomfortable. Over all not bad value for money but would chose a hostel closer to the centre of town next time.


20%

There was 24 of us stopping here on a stag weekend and We all thought the facility's where of an extremely poor standard..... It was smelly, dirty, old and rotten.... It's hard to communicate with any staff members has they are all foreign and can't understand you or what they are saying.. Security is non existent, any one can walk in and out..if you want to actually sleep! Well you got no chance has people are in and out 24 hours a day... There's a reason it's cheap to stay.. And it's not good

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Nice location and staff. Decent bathroom in the 14 bed dorm with proper shower. Clean bed sheet and pillow case but re-using the duvet cover without being washed from the previous guest was really disgusting to me. No lockers in the room was another downside.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Awesome central location. Nice staff. No lockers for personals. Stayed on a Saturday night and the base from the club below was insane! So so loud. If you can sleep through anything, stay here but if sleep is required be cautious


37%

The location is far away from the centre, breakfast is really poor (just toast and jam, no coffee). The prices was extreem high, over 30P. Also my pasport was stolen, lots of alcoholics in front of the hotel. We were lucky with are roommates at the time. Only the staff at the reception speaks English, all the other staff doesn't.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Overall it was a good stay :) friendly staff and I liked the location.. Just a few things to improve. -lockers need to be able to lock -more powerpoints in rooms.


83%

It's weird to me to read condemning reviews; it's quite nice here. A bit basic, sure, but that's what you're paying for. Things *are* clean; the staff *are* lovely and I *would* recommend this place...what else needs be known? Xxx

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

I am a solo girl travelling along and did not feel at all safe here. There are a lot of long staying people on this hostel, their language and discussions with one another frightened me. There was poor security, lockers but no locks and the kitchen was very small and dirty. The male receptionist did his best to comfort me and shifted me to a quieter dorm. He promised there would be 3 females arriving that night to stay in the same dorm however this not happen. Solo females beware


94%

Basic but clean & friendly. Bit of a walk from Brighton.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Easy stay, should be able to check in earlier... Maintain cleanliness of linen!! More plug sockets in room!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We came down for Brighton Pride and we were pleasantly surprised with the decent price.The location was great because the beach was literally on our doorstep. Only hiccup was it was quite a walk to the pier (better off getting a taxi) and about a 15 minute walk to all the bars and restaurants.The corridors and stairs were very dusty and looked like they need a good hoover. However our 3 bedroom private room with and en-suite was clean, comfortable and affordable. Overall, good value for money.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I love the big living room/lounge. The breakfast was good as well, I am not used to have a breakfast included in a hostel. What I think is a bit strange is that the kitchen closes at 7pm. That's early!?

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location for a night out in Brighton. Had to get a taxi/bus there and back as it is a little too far to walk in heels. Beds were comfortable and hot water was sufficient, although the shower head wasn't fixed so I had to hold it to shower. A little expensive for the facilities we had, but I can understand putting the price up over the weekend. The hostel doesn't have parking, you have to park on a side street and pay and display - pot luck if you get a space. Good for after a night out.

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is very close to the beach which is great, but it's quite far away from the centre of Brighton (half an hour walk). Breakfast wasn't the best one I'd seen in hostels, but it's nice that it's included. it's a bit inconvenient that there's only one washbasin for 20 people in the room.


83%

Would stay there again. not too far away well worth the money !!!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It was ok :)

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Full of disease people, maybe because far away from the center. Dirty.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback