Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smart Stay Hostel Munich City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 3915 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 3915 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2017
6.3

The hostel was clean and the rooms were nice. Some of the staff were not very friendly or helpful. The atmosphere is okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • subo2013
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
7.4

Pros: big rooms, wardrobes, laundry facilities, location near U Bahn, clean Cons: no individual lights, no plug sockets by bed, small under-bed lockers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jun 2017
7.7

The hostels wifi was rubbish and the room we stayed in only had a couple of power sockets. The kitchen doesn't have a proper oven as we found out after buying pizzas to cook, luckily the staff were awesome and cooked them for us. Our bathroom was pretty dirty and the smell was horrific but apart from that an alright hostel. Nice staff and a good location not too far from the main train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jun 2017
4.0

This hostel should be avoided, showers smell bathrooms flooded, wifi is poor and location is a bit too far to walk to things. One member of staff available at a time so takes a while for simple questions to be answered.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • rachelatkins1152
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.1

Pros: good location - short walk to city centre, nice bar to hang out in. Cons: my first impression was terrible - reception staff very rude, but this wasn't the case for all of them. Showers not brilliant, kitchen very poorly equipped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
6.3

Rooms are clean and bedding clean & comfy but very hot in summer and there was no hot water at all during my 3 night stay. Water particularly freezing in the morning but still too cold to stay in long or wash hair at night too. There are no shower curtains so as soon as one person in the dorm has showered, the whole bathroom floor is very wet until cleaners arrive if someone has checked out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
6.6

Some of the staff didn't really want to be there but one or two were really helpful. Luck of the draw really. Atmosphere is lacking. Beds and lockers are good. Decent price but nothing to go mad over. I'd stay again if there were no better options which is why I stayed this time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

Nice hostel, clean, the rooms were spacious and the location amazing!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2017
7.1

The staff screwed up my booking, so when I turned up I had no room for the night. After I insisted and showed them emails confirming the date I'd requested, they reluctantly got me a room (4 share instead of 6 share so lucky upgrade!), but only after making me feel like the bad guy for bothering them. This happened to another guy in my room the same day. Otherwise, amazing location, good value, clean comfy beds, and mostly decent facilities. Except for the kitchen which was tiny had no dishes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.3

Good location, you can walk to city and bus terminal. But kitchen is way too small and difficult to cook anything. also almost nothing place to eat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.