Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smartholiday

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 354 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.8
Smartholiday Located at Calle Dell'Anconeta, cannaregio 1981, Venice.
Smartholiday
Italy
Venice Veneto 30121 Calle Dell'Anconeta, cannaregio 1981
76% 354
45.4438200 12.3296917
Smartholiday
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.7

FYI If no one answers the door just call the number written on the buzz and somebody will come take care of you. I was taken to another (near) location, with big nice balcony, in a very quiet part of city. Amazing customer service. Only stayed one night but overall very happy I booked with them and will again next time I'm in Venice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • iamyuka25
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Location is good and cheap. First it's a bit hard to find where it is tho!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.3

Super basic which is fine just expensive for what it is

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

Very basic but great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
8.0

The sign for the hostel is a little piece of paper on the door so you have to be looking to find it. Otherwise, it was a good experience at smartholiday. I ended up staying in a different location than where I checked in but it was a nice apartment with lots of space. There was a living room area to socialize as well as a kitchen to cook in. It was clean and comfortable as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
7.4

Pretty basic hostel, which was just what we needed for Venice. Kitchen had necessary supplies to cook a quick meal, and the beds and linens were comfortable. No AC, which isn't necessarily expected for an Italian hostel, but is good to know ahead of time. Lockers were available, but we didn't feel the need to use them. Directions say to look for their sign - there is no sign. You have to use the building numbers to find the entrance, which isn't hard once you know there is not a clear sign.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
6.6

Only one bathroom for 9 people. The one and only toilet appears to be on its last leg (no toilet paper allowed to be flushed). No lock on women's dorm door, though Venice is a very safe place. The place is okay, bare bones, safe enough, not really the place to meet lots of people but it does the job.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
2.9

Staff here are hustling extra $$ at check-in, many of the guests here when I stayed complained about being charged extra on top of the standard rate. The place is a small house, with two and a half bedrooms and one small bathroom. In each room they cram 3-4 people. Staff when I was there were extremely unhelpful and wouldn't even attempt to answer basic questions about the local area, where to do laundry, restaurant recommendations, etc. Overall, a disappointment in terms of hostel quality.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

dear Andrew Voogel the venice city tax is 3,00 euro thats not extra charge thanks for nice comment

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.7

My friend and I actually did not get to stay at this hostel because upon arrival we were informed there was some type of problem and our room was unavailable to us. However, they took full responsibility and immediately moved us into a hostel that they have some type of affiliation with down the street. The room we got at this hostel actually ended up being a little bit of an upgrade from what we had originally reserved so I have no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
10.0

Danesh was helpful, giving great tips, room was clean & overlooked a canal! Fantastic location, right in the hubbub, leisurely walk from everything to anything. Whilst only one bathroom, everyone managed to work around each other's schedules. Small & very cosy and makes you feel Venetian! No lockers but if there is anything needed specifically to lock up, ie passports etc, Danesh is happy to lock things away for you. Get your own keys&no curfew, so Venice is yours for the taking! I will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.