Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • natalieeverett1077
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.0

Cheap and cheerful accommodation. We had our own room for a travel group and ensuite. Room for parking. Room/ensuite was clean and requests for additional towels was happily fulfilled. The Scottish owners were very helpful with their distinct humour to match! Would suggest a few upgrades needed in the kitchen for cooking, especially given many stay here as a self cater holiday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
5.7

The hostel did not have our reservation when we arrived, but was able to accommodate our group. The bunkhouse building contains a common lounge room, a kitchen, and the bedrooms. The bedrooms open directly onto the common room. Another very noisy group was staying at the hostel at the same time, and we they were loud except 2-7am. No quiet hours are posted and the owners are not present, so there is no remedy for this. The place could use a good cleaning: lots of dust bunnies and cobwebs.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
8.0

Bunk house was clean and tidy, staff were friendly and the location was great for starting the great glen canoe trail.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
7.1

Got really what expected. Just a bit far out from Fort William. Clean and tidy and functional.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, shop just a short walk away, pub only 10min walk or a 5 min drive. Awesome views of Ben if the weather was decent. Had a good stay, would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
10.0

Was good accommodation set in stunning views helpful staff very clean overall top place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2017
6.0

Expensive Had to pay for 4. Only 2 of us. Microwave not working. No towels provided

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Sorry that you may have misunderstood when you booked but we only let by the room with a minimum room for 4 - this is made clear in the booking process. We did test the microwave and it is working fine. If you had asked we could have easily provided towels for you on request. It was a shame that your Glasgow flight was changed so that you had to leave so very early in the morning - if you had known this would have saved you a night's accommodation with us. As it was we did give you a small discount. Except for the microwave none of these issues were mentioned to us before your departure and you had enjoyed your stay with us.We hope that you have a great time in Scandinavia.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
7.4

I have stayed here twice now over an 18 month period and both times the staff/owners have been incredibly rude. I am not some "namby pamby" sensitive human being that complains at every opportunity, but I do expect a certain level of decency from people, especially from those who claim to work in the tourism/hospitality industry. If you cannot be civil and polite with guests, please employ somebody to represent your facilities who will be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
8.6

A very nice place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.6

This is a totally perfect ace to stay if you're going to climb Ben Nevis. Beautiful setting

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.