X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Smile Society Reviews

130/3-4 Silom Soi 6, Silom Road, Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1141 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Nice little common area - hosts are very responsive - bedrooms and dorms are upstairs and very quiet!


100%

I had a nice stay in Smile Society, you can easily travel around Bangkok, and the staff gives you all the information you need.

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean, comfortable and quiet and close to transport.


97%

Great hostel in a great location. Staff are extremely accommodating and helpful and I met some great people here. Very clean and safe.


60%

Only one person working here speaks English. When she is around she was helpful, but she was hardly around. I checked in with her over the phone, and checked out the same way. Basically impossible to ask about the area, or buses, or anything helpful from any of the other staff. Laundry was expensive but was done quickly. Dorm beds squeeky but comfortable. Because of the lack of helpful staff I would not stay here again.


100%

The hostel is located really close to the BTS Station and night markets. The owner is very helpfull and there is breakfast and even a lunchbox on the day of departing. Everything is very clean and there is a cozy living room as well.

  • 16th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was kind of hard to find first time because there wasn't really big sign. The lady in the front desk was so helpful with everything you asked so thank you so much for that.


94%

I stayed at smile society for a week whilst I sorted out my south aisa plans. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the lady on reception gives great advice on where to visit and how to get there. The hostel is really clean and has lockers for each person. The hostel is located right near the night markets although there is not a lot of street noise which is great. It is not near the main backpacker area but you can easily get there in a cheap tuk tuk. Definitely recommend.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Smile Society is a great place to stay at. It's very clean, modern, and quite comfortable for the price. The staff is very kind and helpful. The location is great, you can walk to the subway station from there and try many kinds of international foods.


94%

The staff at Smile Society was so friendly! They helped us find taxis several times, they gave us directions many times, and they even made us a sack lunch on our way out! I had a great experience!

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved it! So nice and helpful staff and sooo clean

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Don't be afraid of the news at the moment, the protests are on the whole non violent, and although there have been one or two serious clashes, life in the Silom area continues unhindered. The Smile Society is a nice hostel, great communal area and the Silom area is great, lots to see just walking down street. Would definitely stay here again.


77%

It's a fairly nice hostel, clean and newly renovated. The room was big enough, with good lockers and massive beds. The breakfast is great. When I was there they were still doing some renovations so the whole place was a bit cluttered, but I assume that it will be sorted out soon. The staff and friendly and knowledgeable. My only complaint is that whilst the keycard system is very secure, it's also very frustrating as you need the card to use anything or go anywhere


97%

Really nice and clean guest house! Owner is more than happy to help you with whatever you need to know. Was in the middle of the street food and market area where you can eat delicious food, also in the restaurants. Only down side is that is not in the middle of the main center? You have to take the sky train, taxi or tuk tuk.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a lovely stay at Smile Society. Very clean and the owner was really kind, gave us a packed lunch on the morning we left! The location was brilliant too, close to the underground and skytrain and lots of bars and places to eat on the doorstep. Perfect for people travelling alone as the owner really looked after us.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Smile Society hostel is run by a family in a Thai house. Place has a charm in itself. It is a very comfortable, clean and friendly place. Excellent location. BTS and MRT stations are 5 mins walk. Though it is close to night market, you will not hear the noise of traffic at all. Will definitely stay here again. We did early checkout at 6:00 Am to catch morning flight. The care taker was kind enough to provide packed breakfast at the time of checkout.


100%

The location is very convenient because it is near Sala Daeng BTS station and many restaurants around the area. The staff are very friendly, they will gladly assist you if you have questions on how to navigate around BKK. They even prepared breakfast early in the morning during my day trip to Ayutthaya and going to airport to catch my next flight.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good hostel with helpful

  • 12th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

the hostel is newly painted, so there's a little smell in the common area and rooms. If you check out early, do remember ask the owner's cellphone number beforehand. otherwise you're doomed...


83%

The location is awesome, pretty close with BTS and MRT. The Staff is good, pretty caring. But there's kind of weird smell in the room and the second floor. Maybe it can be solved anyway.

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback