X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smile Taipei Reviews

Ln. 208, Sec.3 Chengde Rd., Datong Dist, details will be sent, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
252 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It was so lovely to stay here. Ray keeps the place very well looked after. The organisation and clenliness is spot on. Feels like your staying at home. Within 5 minute walk to mrt station and ray sends directions with pictures making it really easy to find. The bedding is so soft and the common area is great to feel at home and meet new people. We will definitely be back as is my favourite place to have stayed so far around asia. Thank you


100%

This is a super nice Hostel!! STAY HERE SERIOUSLY!!! I lived here the first week I moved to Taipei and I wish I hadn't moved out. Ray is super nice and very helpful, and you are a short walk to the MRT to take you anywhere. There is a small night market the next street over where you can buy cheap but excellent food. It's nice and quiet, and the beds are comfy. The security is great with cameras and lockers for your small personal stuff. Loved it here!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks Ray!


97%

Thank you, Ray! We had a great time we stayed, and wish it could have been longer. Loved the fact that there's recycling and compost available, and the map of the nearby restaurants and night market made it easy to take full advantage of the nearby neighborhood.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location near Taipei Expo. First time staying in this area and really liked visiting the shops at Taipei Expo, which is perfect for the artsy crowd. In the weekends, there is a farmer's market selling local produce from different areas in Taiwan.


100%

Such a lovely and charming place! Ray is one of the loveliest and friendliest person I've ever met, and so accommodating! The hostel is clean and has a great vibe, and Ray makes you feel so welcome. Highly recommend.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Highly recommended good location near two night markets , 24h supermarket , bus stop, 2nd floor of bulding , clean Ray is superb give him 100%


91%

Great communication, direction giving, and general helpfulness. The hostel is warm and pleasant and in a nice location, so definitely keep some time to explore around! I would definitely stay here again (and join in on a morning cycle to the harbor that time) and recommend to others.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The location is great, within walking distance to metro station, and only 4 Metro station to Taipei main station. There are direct bus to airport.


94%

Smile was a really cool place to stay, especially as the owner Ray gave us loads of tips on where to go and what to eat! Id definitely recommend it!


100%

My boyfriend and I stayed at Smile Taipei , and have only positive things to say! Ray, the host, and his hostel made our stay in Taipei such wonderful experience. The hostel feels like home, is VERY clean and has a nice kitchen and common room. There is a fantastic night market (Dalong Night Market) right around the corner from the hostel, which has a lot of yummy choices (beef noodle soup, dumpling buns...our favorite and both AMAZING). You will be very happy you stayed here!


94%

Owner was very nice and the entire hostel is clean, neat, and decent. All of the tenants also put effort on cleaning. Great location too. Only 20 min train away from Taipei Main Station.

  • 17th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff,Ray, is super nice. You can meet lots of people from different countries. Strongly recommend!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very close to MRT station. Nice and tidy rooms and a kitchen with everything you need. The owner Ray is so kind and talktive. He gave us so much information of tourist sites in Taipei and even booked the taxi for us. Definitely stay here again if I come to Taipei.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

a very nice hostel with a very friendly owner. the hostel has spacious rooms and a cosy lunge-kitchen area.


100%

Great place : two minutes to Yuanshan MRT, a great deal of little restaurants in Taipei Expo Park ( 3mn walk ), it's a perfect location. Ray helped us a lot to feel comfy, there is a great atmosphere。 Only thing is that the other guests made a little noise at night, but it was saturday night, so I guess it's easily understandable.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great stay in Smile Hostel. Ray and his little family is doing a great job in hosting people and trying to help you wherever they can! Thank you Ray!!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

good good good Excellent perpect


100%

Ray is an incredibly friendly and helpful hostel owner who makes you immediately feel at home. Would recommend to anyone


80%

Ray is a nice person, i arrived at middle of the night, and he are still waiting! The place is very clean, toilet, also the kitchen. i stay on 2nd floor. Not far from MRT, mini markets, or having breakfast around. The only things to note is the wall is thin, so you can hear voices sometimes. Overall i was happy to stay, and recommend to everyone.. Thanks Ray.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback