Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Smile Taipei

  • Ln. 208, Sec.3 Chengde Rd., Datong Dist, details will be sent, Taipei, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 473 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
8.0

The staff was wonderful and the beds were very comfortable. The hostel was in a safe location and close to a nearby MRT station. Some areas in the bathroom were not entirely clean, but otherwise everything was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

it was such a treat to stay at smile taipei! the place has the most "homey" feel away from home. the beds are the most comfortable at any hostel/guesthouse I've stayed at... I got a good night's sleep every night! everyone was free to use the showers, complementary shampoo, body wash, toothpaste, coffee, tea, snacks, kitchen facilities to cook, etc. ray was the nicest host !!! he is interested in every guest's story, their travels, etc. if I ever come back to taiwan, this is the place I'll stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jasonseanweiss
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

500 characters are not enough to express my gratitude for Ray and all that Smile has given us. The help/communication for transportation, sightings, food, getting around, etc. was impeccable; Ray is the man, a professional host who has clearly figured out how best to host a visitor in his country. The location was perfect, just a pleasant walk to the rail line and right around the corner from a sweet local night market. And the house felt like home in a matter of minutes. A++ hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
10.0

This is a great place to stay especially if you're travelling alone. Most welcoming atmosphere I've felt in a hostel, just like having your own family in Taipei! Ray did everything he could to make us feel comfortable, even went out to get fried chicken for us! Location is clean, quiet and about 6mins walk from yuanshan MRT, 1 stop away from Shilin night market. There are a few long term foreigners here, who are ultra friendly and provide a weath of information! We'll be back one day- dan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jan 2017
9.1

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Free lockers available to store your stuff. Great, fast WiFi, we were able to watch Netflix. Close to Yuanshan MTR station, food, and a couple big temples.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • greenappletwist
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.1

Smile has been one of the best hostel experiences I've had. The hostel is located at a 5 min walk from Yuanshan Station and is a 15 min MRT ride from the main city. Shoes aren't allowed inside, but they give you their own slippers that you can wear inside the hostel. We rented a private room and everything from the cleanliness and water pressure to the comfort of the room are on point. Language barrier is no issue, Ray is your man to go to! Only negative: no windows in the room. Must try!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ZaaidO
  • South Africa, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

We stayed in a private room (couple) for 5 days. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was convenient. There were temples and restaurants close by, and the subway was a short walk down the road. The staff gave us useful information on our first day. We were out most of the time, but there was a big communal area and kitchen. It was most a chilled and friendly vibe. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
8.6

Have been in there in 03 days. Smile Taipei is like a shared apartment with friendly staff and good location. I will live in here when visit Taipei again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice place, great location :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Oct 2016
8.0

Ray is a great host, very friendly and willing to advise on how to get around Taipei. Hostel is well located, near the metro station (best way to get to the city). Only complaints would be no security boxes in rooms and there aeroplanes quite frequently fly directly above the hostel and make a racket. Overall slept well and was a good base to see the city, I will stay again when I am back in Taipei at the end of the month.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.