Hostelworld.com

Smiths Cottage

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 66 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 66 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8
Smiths Cottage Located at 5 Mount Argus Road, Umgeni Heights, Durban.
Smiths Cottage
South Africa
Durban 4051 5 Mount Argus Road, Umgeni Heights
97% 66
-29.8052922 31.0164213
Smiths Cottage
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Apr 2016
10.0

charming secured residential neighborhood. was excited to finally see the inside of a home in S.A. It was a charming home. Truly home away from home. pat and Keith were so kind and helpful from the moment I arrived. They are both a wealth of information and ever so friendly. The beds, rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Nice pool outdoors. The neighborhood is lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
9.7

Awesome place! I booked a bed in the 4-bunk room, but there were two guys staying there and the family room was unbooked for the night, so the owners upgraded me for free :) Super friendly people, willing to help give advice around the area. Definitely would recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

This was an awesome stay for me.Was like being home.Nice relaxed atmosphere.Warm people.Not too far from town.Just a quick Uber to all the popular locations.Weather was nice and cool but the rooms will definitely need aircons in the Durban summer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel, very nice staff and helpful, I recommand. Superbe hôtel, les propriétaires sont super sympas et aident pour tout, je recommande.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
8th Mar 2016
9.4

Great. Like staying at my folks. Thanks again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2016
9.7

Pat and Keith are extremely kind and generous people. Even though they are slightly further than most places, they offer rides to central locations. They also are a great source of local information. If you're looking for a relaxing stay in a safe area, this is the place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2016
9.7

A little bit out of town, but the owners make up for this by selflessly shuttling tourists around town for a very minimal fare. The atmosphere here is very relaxed, as it's in a residential neighborhood. The owners are extremely knowledgable about Durban, and very helpful, kind and accommodating. They have basically opened up their home for tourists. They also use a lot of their time to help out tourists. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Dec 2015
9.4

Very nice hosts and hospitality. Really loved talking with them. Thank you for taking care of us and all your tips!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.