X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Smyle Inn Reviews

916, Gali Chandi Wali, Main Bazaar, Paharganj 110055, New Delhi, India

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1264 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Had a good stay, friendly personnel, the fact that there was someone that spoke proper English helped out a bunch. Wasn't ever so clean and the shower got the whole bathroom wet, but hey, it cost next to nothing and was in the middle of Delhi

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Located right in the heart of Paharganj, near to New Delhi station, the surrounding area is a little crazy but the rooftop terrace provides some quiet time. The hotel is split into two buildings and there is free breakfast and free wifi, usable in your room.


69%

Don't expect anything fancy, but its a practical and convenient place to stay. We were on the top floor so carrying our bags up 4 flights of stairs was challenging, but nothing terrible. If you're looking for a cheap, clean place in a good location, this is for you.


100%

Safari worth to do it in vinayak!


63%

The hotel is right by the Main Bazaar in Paharganj so great location but actually difficult to find in the small alley (which begins with public men's urinals). The room and sheets were clean but smelled dusty. Additionally, do not expect any smiles from the staff at the Smyle Inn.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi Sorry about the experience. But we always tell our guests to tell us if there is something not correct. Had you told us about the sheets we would have changed them right away. But still I am sorry this happened. I will take care that it does not happen again. Regards Harish

60%

The staff in the tours and travels is very very very rude and racist. I got scammed in the railway station but i even got a dressing down from him. The room is very dirty when i get there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We ensure that our staff is respectful to each and every one of our guests. As the guest themselves have written, they got scammed at Railway Station in spite of us warning them of the same.They wanted us to compensate!!, that was not fair.

89%

Very close to the Delhi station. Clean room. Air-con regularly working. Not expensive. You'll feel comfortable here. And one thing that deserve special mention is staff's kindness. I asked them to stay in a cheep single, but they provided me 3 upgraded room with just a cheap single's fee because of no vacant cheap one. In addition, when I asked to take a shower there after checkout, they gently spared me a vacant room and let me take a shower. It was very impressed.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Bayezid1989
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel we've ever been !


83%

My girlfriend and I stayed at Smyle Inn toward the end of our trip and it worked out very while. No frills. You get a decent little breakfast, facilities worked, and the staff was nice. It's located in an alley of the main thoroughfare on Main Bazaar near the Railway station. It's about a 20 minute walk to Connaught Place which is a nice little shopping area with restaurants and the like. Can't complain.


89%

Forever Loving Ya


97%

We stayed at Smyle Inn for the last night of our 1 month in India, to catch a flight out of Delhi. It was a great starting point to see the city, and perfect for getting some last minute shopping accomplished. We were immediately impressed by the friendly staff, who were available and went out of their way to help make the best of our last days in India. Rooms were small and basic, but some of the cleanest we saw on our entire journey. A great home base in Delhi! (2 females, Canada)


100%

I had a really good stay here. After two months in India I would say this was the best value for money I've had in the country. Breakfast is good, and is just by the main train station. I dont remember nothing to complain about. Would come back for sure.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Manager was very accommodating, he didn't have a room for us because of a sick couple that had to stay a few extra nights so he put us in a nearby guesthouse. Centrally located, within walking distance to the main bazaar and metro train station. Breakfast area was very noisy but I think they had a backup generator running or something.


60%

Smyle inn is a reasonable place to stay on a budget. It offers a great location for the train station. Although the area is very busy at all times. The location is just of the main strip which is a little difficult to find. We book a guide with the travel desk which promised an AC car which was not produced. The staff lack in language skills other than their own which made it difficult to ask about this issue and pay. Lastly rooftop Terence generator is so loud you can't have a conversation.


60%

The location is in one of the more buzy part of town, close to the metro station, which is nice. But the hostel is placed in a really sketchy alleyway and kinda of difficult to find. Delhi really don't care that much for road signs, hence non of the people living there tend to know any road names. We had to take directions from a young man to go into the alley, being two girls travelling in India, proberly not the smartest thing to do.


97%

The hostal is directly located at Main Bazar close to the trains station. We enjoyed the stay!


91%

We had a great time at Smyle Inn, New Delhi. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, and the AC worked very well, the towels could have been more clean, but still okay though. The breakfast is simple but a good start of the day. It is very nice that Smyle Inn has an airport pickup. We used it and were very satisfied with this service.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Wasn't over joyed had a bit of fight to get them to allow us the room we booked.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Edward, Your review is a case of misunderstanding. Normal checkin time is 12noon. We gave you checkin at 9:30AM. We cannot provide rooms prior to 12 noon as per policy. However in some case we provide room after 8am if the rooms are vacant from last night. When you came at 8:30am there were no rooms ready. The moment we got the room ready we gave it to you which was about 2:30 hours prior to regular checkin time. Hope this clears your doubts. Regards Harish

63%

This hotel is Ok, you get what you pay for. Breakfast is free and is not bad, it is also not a bad spot to meet people (breakfast that is). Rooms are small but have excellent air conditioning and are cleaner than some other hotels in India. Staff were very helpful. The public urinal out the front is quite unpleasant but the location is good if you want to be near the train station.


77%

A decent budget hotel in New Delhi. Free breakfast and good wifi were bonuses, as well as the travel desk who helped to arrange tours and activities.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all New Delhi Hostels

Please give us your feedback