X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Snuffel Backpacker Hostel Reviews

Ezelstraat 47-49, Bruges, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
4859 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Snuffel was pretty close to the center of Brugges. It has a lively bar that locals come to. There was a nice included breakfast in the morning and the bedding is all fresjly laundered. The key cards make the building quite secure.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The only bad thing is that you cannot use shower between 123am and 73am because you to walk pass through the bar and the bar is closed at that time. But i like this hostel becaus eyou can buy bus ticket for 1.3 euro (2 euro if you buy from the bus driver . room is spacious. great hostel after all


74%

The staff was very helpful and awesome, the location was great. Take advantage of the cheap bike rental, so worth it! The only downside is the showers as a lot of people have mentioned, it's not the most comfortable place to stay at but all in all it was a great experience! (:

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel I stayed in in Europe. Great vibe in bar area all day long!! Staff are amazing and really enjoyed my stay!! whooo


91%

We love Snuffel. Yeah, the showers are hilarious and tend not to have hot water, but the bar makes up for it. Super good vibes and cheap beer. It's a local hang. The rooms are clean and my bed was the most comfortable.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Poor wi-fi, dirty and few bathrooms. Small rooms with dirty linens! Staff not very friendly. Very few plug.


83%

Very nice and helpful staff. The staff should remind or explain every guest during check-in to keep the noise low while in the rooms. Having the showers and restrooms after crossing the bar and through the patio is the only thing I disliked for the price.


83%

Great bar, very helpful staff, this was our second time staying here


60%

A great location, good breakfast, and a perfect place if you want to party late and not get much sleep, but not very ideal for a good nights rest or simply hanging out.


94%

Great location, brilliant atmosphere in the really cheap but lovely bar, and a comfortable bed to sleep in. The staff also gave us lots of really helpful information and a humorous, easy to use map which we used constantly. Would reccomend to anyone travelling to enjoy their time in Bruges with a casual, relaxed atmosphere.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, loads of character, friendly staff, lively bar downstairs, I love Snuffel!


74%

Great bar, accommodating staff, good free breakfast. The blanket on the bed smelled like dirty feet and made me think it hadn't been washed. The showers were also in the strangest place; walk through the bar and its patrons to get to them. Overall though it was a good stay and the bar does have a great atmosphere. Definitely a backpackers bar if your looking for that. Not sure I would recommend for solo travelers but it could have been because I went over new years where there were big groups.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really good staff and atmosphere, everyone there was a big help to us from directions and recommendations and even the other backpackers and locals using the bar couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Great location, a short walk through town. Reasonable breakfast, good deals on drinks especially happy hour. Kitchen, stocked with basics like oil, salt etc. good set of pans, cutlery etc. suitable for cooking for groups. Damian is also a legend!


26%

Dirty, old, dark and unwelcoming feel in general. Showers and toilets are in a separate building and are in very bad state. Wi-Fi doesn't work.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

1.Shower facility located in another building. and water temperature keeps changing while taking a shower. 2.30+ ppl on the same floor and there're only 2 toilets on that floor. 3.Loud music from the bar happening until the midnight on a MONDAY NIGHT!

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Good hostel with a nice pub and a brilliant city tour.


91%

I loved this hostel. It was like home from home for me. It is a small, friendly and local in that many locals use the bar not just backpackers. The kitchen was just like being in my own kitchen at home. The bar has a warm, lively, personal atmosphere with a great soundtrack which puts you at ease and is non obstrusive. It is also in a great location less than 10 minutes walk to the Markt.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent staff, awesome experience on the common area!


77%

10' from the center & bus right in front. Staff was ok and I liked the breakfast. At night the hostel's transformed into a bar and is full of people which is a bit awkward if you want the reception. Hopefully there's another door for the dorms and there's no problem with the noise. 1 WC per floor for 20+ people's not much & neither the only AC outlet near the door. Poor/No wifi signal on the 2nd floor. Also, the staircase was so narrow & a bit dangerous I was praying not to run into someone...


100%

We loved it there, a great place to settle for the night so close to the city centre. The kids were really pleased with the bunk beds, & the staff were so helpful. Water in the shower was just right, only negative was that the shower push button didn't hold in. All in all, we would recommend to anyone.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Bruges Hostels

Please give us your feedback