Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

So Hostel Chiangmai

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 6.1
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
So Hostel Chiangmai Located at 64/2 Loy Khroh Road, Tambon Changklan, Amphur Muan, Chiang Mai.
So Hostel Chiangmai
Thailand
Chiang Mai Chiangmai 50100 64/2 Loy Khroh Road, Tambon Changklan, Amphur Muan
74% 407
18.7841576 98.9969390
So Hostel Chiangmai
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Apr 2016
4.9

Very basic room. The top bunks are sketchy as they are pretty rickety. I was afraid I was going to fall down (no guard rails) and it wasn't easy getting up and down. Lacks atmosphere in the hostel. No real friendly vibe. The staff were extremely unhelpful. Everytime I asked a question they either couldn't understand me or brushed me off. I ended up going to another hostel that was more helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.1

Probably my favourite hostel so far! You definitely get your money's worth.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Apr 2016
7.7

Good location and price. The staff on reception did seem very bored to be there though. The pictures are a little misleading, the first few levels are really nice but once yo get to the 8th floor it looks unfinished. The room it self had everything you needed though. Only stayed 1 night so didn't check out the kitchen/common areas or other facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location - close to both markets - the hostel is huge, 9 floors but has a kitchen and chill area - not the best for meeting people but still had an atmosphere - would be better if they had food or drinks to bring people together - comfy beds, decent amount of space in the dorms and a/c which was a necessity for the heat in April !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Mar 2016
9.1

Cleanest hostel we had stayed in yet with a quiet atmosphere. Would definitely recommend as cheap and nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
5.7

This hostel was okay, clean and has a modern look. However I think it is really over priced. We've stayed in much cheaper places that have been the same standard, or even included breakfast or had a pool or something extra to offer. The staff were very kind and helpful. The location is okay but much prefer staying inside the square as the places around seem much cheaper. I would stay again if the prices were halved but due to them being so high I'd give it a miss.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Mar 2016
8.0

Our stay in So Hostel was good. We stayed in a dorm room for 1 night which was fine and a private room for 2 nights which was fantastic. The hostel was clean, the communal showers were a little bit on the dirty side but not too bad. We didn't really meet any people there, a social atmosphere was lacking but of course that varies. The hostel was really well located close to many bars and restaurants. There were washing machines and a large, open plan kitchen. I would recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2016
4.3

My bed was with a whole in the side so i could only sleep on half of it , lots of don't do , although they have a nice kitchen and close to walk to the night bazaar other than that, stuff wasn't much helpful, they have the potential to be a great hostel but they just choose not to, regret to have stayed there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2016
8.6

One of best hostels we have stayed in in Asia, clean and modern.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2016
9.1

The Hostel was clean and exactly like the pictures. My only suggestion is when it gets busy, and the staff seemed to get stressed, it would help to acknowledge the other customers before you ask them to wait.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.