Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

SoBe Hostel & Bar Reviews

235 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained


3195 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


This is a big party hostel with different club every night of the week. Breakfast was good, alternates between waffles and bagels. But dinner wasn't that great. As someone who doesn't eat meat I found myself with a plate of rice almost every night. But the little Mexican cafe next door do some really good food. I stayed on the ground floor in a 12 girls dorm. It was quite small for all the suitcases that were in the room. But pretty quite seeing as there was a party happening in the lobby!


clean and comfortable enough! free breakfast and dinner were good. Didn't have any noise issues (even on a Saturday night)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Brother, We thank you for making us part of your Miami experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our free meals and that we were able to meet all of your expectations! We are currently changing all mattresses to provide extra comfort to the beds and we hope that you have the opportunity to come check them out soon! Thank you for being such an amazing guest and we wish you safe travels!


Everything is really good there, the atmosphere, rooms, the staffs are so kind and helpful. the only problem I had was that my cellphone was stolen in the lobby while it was charging next to the computers with another cellphones.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry to hear about your phone! It makes us very sad to know that people take what other have worked so hard to get, this is why we have cameras everywhere and we recommend all guest to not leave any belongings untended. We are happy to know that besides that incident you enjoyed our atmosphere, the free meals, and that the staff satisfied your expectations! We thank you for allowing us to host you while in Miami, and we hope there is a next time soon!


This a party hostel - if you want to go out every night then this is the place for you! They have a bar downstairs where they play really loud music until late (like 1-2am) and our room was right above it - no sleep :( As lots of other people have pointed out - the mattresses are really bad but I think they have taken steps to improve this. Breakfast is OK, dinner is good if you love meat (I am vegetarian and there was no alternative that I could eat :( Staff members are nice and helpful :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Dear, We are consider a "party hostel" and while we agree we would like to point out that we take extreme measurements so that this does not bother other guests. As you mentioned, many guest have pointed out that the mattresses needed a change and that is why i am happy to inform you and other guests that we will get all new mattresses within the next 2 weeks. We have also made changes to be able to provide vegetarian meals for guests who request it each morning :) Thank you!


Easy few minutes to walk to the beach. Decent bar and common area. Small kitchen, mediocre bathrooms. I didn't go out with the hostel since I didn't have much info re time and cost and heard that the club was terrible - friends who went didn't enjoy it either so do your research in advance. Bed was absolutely terrible and I couldn't even sleep. There was a sketchy 70 year old man on another top bunk in my room that got out of bed noisily every hour and a guy with a loud breathing machine. Weird.


Great for a one night party hostel, staff is knowledgeable of the party scene. The beds are pretty bad and the hostel isn't comfortable for more than a weekend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Friend, We are glad you enjoyed our night events. We are happy that you decided to stay with us and we thank you for your feedback. We are aware that the mattresses need to be changed, therefore I am happy to inform you that we have bough all new foam mattresses and they should arrive by mid June. We hope to see you again soon!


We were greatly disappointed with the beds and showers. The bunk beds were very unsteady and moved with the slightest movement from the person below. The aircon blew all the air on the person below, and nothing reached the top bed. We could feel all the springs in the mattresses and they were really hard. There was no place to leave your clothes when going into the showers, no shelf for shampoo, and no hair dryer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Dear, We are very disappointed in ourselves that we were not able to meet your standards. It always makes us really sad to hear that we were not able to provide you with a good time while you stayed with us. We take feedback very serious and you can be sure that we will do our best to improve. We are currently getting new beds for all the rooms, we will start remodeling the bathrooms soon, and we will change all air cons in the rooms. We hope the rest of your trip goes well!


Great place to meet people and have a good time. Close to beach and about everything else you would need. Very friendly/helpful staff. Very expensive stay for jagged mattress springs in your back all night and a bathroom similar the beach public restroom. Not sure why it has such high ratings. There are some very nice alternatives close by at same price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We thank you for choosing SoBe Hostel & Bar and we are happy you enjoyed some of our perks. We are a fun hostel that aims to provide guest with a great and fun atmosphere. We have already bought all new mattresses for the hostel and they should arrive by mid June. We are also remodeling the bathrooms soon for our guests convenience. We take feedback very serious and we are going to do everything in our hands to improve. we hope you have a wonderful trip.


I really appreciated the HUGE lockers in the room - I never had to worry about leaving my stuff in the dorm. Free breakfast and dinner every day were also some good additions to the experience.


I stayed 4 day at hostel and i had a super back pain cus of beds ! Beds are too old and extremely distrubing. There are 3 bathroom but only one is working.Its seems no one care about this hostel.Someone must remind to staff That they working at hostel not hotel.This hostel is ok just for weekend for party and drink.If you would stay longer go Another place.Only good thing is really good location !


Really enjoyed our stay, guys working at the main desk always really helpful. Breakfast really good, either waffles or bagels and big portions. Some dinners better than others, first three night great but then the guy serving them changed and the portions were tiny! Overall good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are very happy to hear that you had a good time with us! We thank you for making us part of your trip and we hope to see you another time soon. I will speak to the food server so we he can give better proportions :) Thank you.


It was an ok hostel for the value!


Very friendly staff, great location and free breakfast and dinner!


The morning cleaning lady on the 2nd floor was extremely rude & inconsiderate, I had places to be early in the morning and would not allow me to use the restroom. I had to go downstairs, explain the situation to mgmt. There was an older lady that seem to be living in the hostel (not sure) using multiple lockers. I understand that some ppl may not know how its goes in a hostel but someone from the hostel should have said something to her, its unfair to others. Front guys were very helpful.


Really good. The staff is the best. Fun all the time.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


If you're looking for a PARTY hostel with a great value, this is THE place for you. They have parties every night at the best South Beach clubs, the dinner was always delicious, the staff was super nice to me and the bar has drinks at a really good price. However, they could use some improvements. The room was too crowded and because the windows didn't open it was always smelling weird, and the bathrooms looked dirty most of the time. But I'd recommend it if partying is what you're looking for!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello friend! We are very pleased to know that you were able to enjoy our parties. We know that lots of people come to Miami to enjoy the nightlife so we do a great effort to provide them with a night to remember at an affordable price. We are under new management at the moment and in the next few months we will be doing some upgrades to the hostel to provide a better service for our guests. We hope you can come back soon to check all the modifications. Thank you for choosing us!


Really good overall experience, the hostel was right in the middle of South Beach. Only things to improve was the breakfast, which was waffle/bagel with a fruit and coffee/juice. The kitchen was also poorly equipped without a proper stove, so making your own breakfast was a challenge. Also, during the end of our stay the keycards didn't work properly, so we had to reset our cards quite a few times. It wasn't a huge problem, only a bit annoying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Friend, We are thrilled to know that you had a good stay with us and we thank you for your stay at SoBe Hostel & Bar. We want everyone to know that we take all feedback very serious. We are currently working on bettering the breakfast by giving more food options everyday. The kitchen will go under renovation soon and we are going to attempt to get a stove in there. Once again we thank you for your stay and we hope that you have the chance to come check out the modifications soon.


The worst hostel I've ever visited. Toilets are dirty. Common area is so small. Wifi is only available in common area where is stinky! At night the hostel is very noisy. I stayed on the second floor but I heard loud music as it was turned on from the radio in my room. Room is small and bed is super-unconfortable. You will wake up every time when a person above you move. Guests never care about the others, they just shut the door as if they want to kill something that stuck on it!


Cleaner than 2 other hostels in South Beach, and since the hostels there all organize events together, this is probably the place I'd pick to stay at the longest. I'm leaving all my reviews from Hostels and I forgot that this place was my fav, but it's a Miami thing. anyway, this place is great, clean, organized, and well worth the buck.


Friendly and inviting place. Showers could be better, but have seen worse.

(96 results)

View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback