Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SoBo House Brighton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 1238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 1238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 6.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 5.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.9

Great hostel! Loads of space and the staff when I arrived at 1am were great, super helpful and friendly :) the room was fine and ensuite for £16 you can't really complain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2017
4.9

The hostel didn't have a friendly vibe, it seemed the large majority of people in the hostel were using it to crash while working temp jobs. There a smell of weed around the place which wasn't very clean. If you need a cheap place to crash then this is the place, don't expect a nice place or a friendly atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2017
4.0

Definitly one of the worst hostels I've stayed in and I've traveled all over the world. The staff were nice & friendly but that's about as far as it goes. They double booked my bed so came home at 3am to find someone else sleeping in it. Long term residents are rude and messy. No lockers or secure bag stores. Shower head was hanging off the wall, and bathrooms were dirty. There are signs up saying if you want to garuntee a clean bathroom book a private room! Do yourself a favour don't stay here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall I liked this hostel and would stay again, the 6 bed dorm I stayed in was very clean and quite spacious with an ensuite, staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a little far from the town centre (40 min walk), not great when you have your luggage but a nice walk otherwise and there are restaurants and a Tesco nearby. There was a bit of a strange atmosphere because there were a lot of long-term guests (predominately men) and it felt like being in a strangers living room at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
4.6

The beds were dirty, but maybe just because whoever climbed up to change them brought up the dirt from the gross floor. The drains in the bathroom didn't work, but thankfully that was fixed our second night. While the hostel is just off the main road, it is almost 2 miles from the train station and 1.5 from the center of Brighton. There were also a lot of sketchy characters both around and staying in the hostel. There are also no individual lockers. Only stay here if you have no other options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
4.0

This will not be what you expect, it will be worse. The staff were helpful and nice but the place is very beat up and old. Needs a paint job and repairs done on everything. It is not very clean. The bathrooms did seem clean but the drains were constantly clogged. Also they don't say that they have no age limit. As a 21 yr old I was very weirded out by the all the older men there and felt uncomfortable and stared at constantly. We were trying to avoid going back there the entire time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
7.4

Place was a bit beat up, especially the kitchen, but it was clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
2.3

I'm easy going and not picky, but this hostel was horrible. The facilities were dirty and often broken and the staff sullen. The bunk beds in the 8 bed co-ed dorm were tiny with lumpy mattresses, two were three beds to one bunk with maybe a foot between each bed. The general vibe was hostile and full of rowdy drunks. One night there was a huge fight right outside and three cop cars arrived. I wouldn't have stayed here if the stars reflected the hostel, but apparently Hostelworld is unreliable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
8.9

Nice quiet location, yet still within 1km or so of the town center. Excellent staff - they even upgraded my room for free, and made arrangements for me to have an early breakfast. One thing about the room (and this is probably the case with several other rooms): The radiator was running at full capacity, and even when I reduced it to minimum the room was still too warm, such that it affected my sleep. As for on-street car parking - it is only free during the evenings (between 8pm and 9am).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.