Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

SoBo House Brighton

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Dec 2016
8.9

Nice quiet location, yet still within 1km or so of the town center. Excellent staff - they even upgraded my room for free, and made arrangements for me to have an early breakfast. One thing about the room (and this is probably the case with several other rooms): The radiator was running at full capacity, and even when I reduced it to minimum the room was still too warm, such that it affected my sleep. As for on-street car parking - it is only free during the evenings (between 8pm and 9am).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
7.4

Overall this was a good place to stay, although I have a few concerns on the security with my two night stay. In my room on the ground floor the main window was lacking a lock, this was a shash window which had a broken lock. The window is quite large and facing the street. Please SoBo address this. I also experienced trouble with the pin number system on two occassions and was unable to exit the property, which I find disturbing as I had used the pin number many times during my stay with succes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
8.3

The breakfast buffet was good and worth it because although basic is was fresh and it as eat as much as you like, big communal area with a TV and ping pong tables which gave it a really nice social atmosphere which I’ve never had with a hostel before which was really nice. You definitely get what you pay for with this hostel – basic but clean and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
8.9

I did stay in a 6 bed dorm room with bathroom -it was really clean and everyone in the room was really respectful of each other. Cheap clean and staff pleasant 7/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

OK, it's not the luxury as some would like want to accept, but for the great price you can't expect everything. I would recommend to others who are looking for cost effective accomodation . The atmosphere is good and remains quiet in the later hours, providing good sleep, though an extra pillow would be nice. Wifi was not good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
8.0

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm room which had an ensuite it was really clean and everyone in the room was really respectful of each other. Cheap clean and staff pleasant 7/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.7

Staff where very eager to help and to make us have the most comfortable stay we possibly could. The location was fairly good with it being opposite the beach and lovely restaurants nearby with good bus connections to Brighton’s city centre. A few long stay guests but it was a quiet time and they were doing very cheap week deals

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • spanielgolden3227
  • India, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Sep 2016
9.7

A cheap and family-friendly hostel open to all ages, and located by the sea

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
4.6

First impressions count, so not good start when met by person smoking something funny on the front step with head in hands. Pictures on website must have been taken before occupancy! Team were very nice. Swearing, drinking, leaving cans out on the street and half eaten food on the steps of the main entrance let the hostel down. Shower traps are missing so you can see what's festering in the drain. Mattress like lying on a waffle iron. Unclean and Expensive. Read reviews and go elsewhere!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
4.0

Although the room was basic but ok.The overall building was in a poor state of repair and some areas very dirty, We didn't stay for our inclusive breakfasts after we saw the disgusting filthy kitchen sink cookers fridges and utensils which made us feel sick. So we had the extra exspence of eating out. There seemed to be some people who were living there permently who were constaantly drinking alchol and smoking drugs.They also made a lot of noise at night making it difficult to sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.