X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sobe Mara Reviews

4 Sumetska Str., Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
164 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This was a wonderful place to stay, the hosts were very welcoming and extremely helpful! The room was very clean and spacious! Our room had the most wonderful view of the town and the sea.The number 3 bus from the Old Town drops you opposite the house which is situated down some stairs - very easy to locate. There are around 500 stairs to climb from the outside the old town to the flat - if you are not fit this is not for you. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the town.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

As a group of 5 school leavers travelling on a tight budget Sobe Mara has been perfect. Our two rooms were clean and comfortable, and having access to the balcony was fantastic; the views are truly special and it was handy having a sunny spot to hang our wet beach stuff. The kitchen facilities are minimal, but Dubrovnik is cheap enough to eat out mostly, so it wasn't at all an issue. Getting up to the hostel is tough, but the bus is frequent and cheap (12 kuna). Thank you for having us!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good accommodations! Thanks for hosting us.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We loved our stay here! Very clean and inviting, our room had balcony access with absolutely outstanding views. The apartment is about 15 mins walk down hill to old town which was great, however we only ever attempted walking home at night after a few drinks as it is quite the trek back up. Its also quite easy to catch a bus back as the stop is just across the road. The only negative I can think of is the lack of signage as we had a bit of trouble finding the place. Overall we highly recommend


66%

No kitchen! Only microwave

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It's a bit of a walk from the old city to get to this place, but I really enjoyed the view and being away from the masses of people in the old town. The two women running this place could not have been any nicer. Just wonderful people! It was so nice to come home to this place at the end of the day and watch the sun set. Again, the staff were just wonderful. Thank you for your hospitality!


100%

Very nice place with an amazing view over the bay! Definitely recommendable!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Myself and my friend only stayed here for 3 nights but it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay! We hired a car and when trying to locate the hostel, we found it slightly difficult as my phone had died which gave us the map. We rang the hostel off a local phone and the couple that owned it came and met us and drove us to the hostel! Such a lovely couple, couldn't have asked for better service. Rooms are very clean and bed was very comfy! Would definitely recommend!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A bit hard to find the first time because it is in a narrow street with stairs. Then it was ok, and quite close to the city walls. The woman carrying the apartment was really nice and received us with some water and juice :)


91%

This is a guest house located not so far from the Old Town, but on a very steep hill, so it's not easy to walk with a suitcase. The hostess is a very pleasant lady, very helpful and she can advise you where to eat for a cheaper price (Dubrovnik is expensive!). The rooms were clean and airy, there was an AC unit, and the price was extremely good for Dubrovnik. Bathroom was clean and with good facilities.


83%

Very good place to stay in Dubrovnik. Lovely hosts and a very nice view from our balcony. A lot of steps when walking back from Old town, but worth it for the view!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed staying here. The staff was very kind, the room & bathroom were clean, the air conditioning and wifi worked fine. The location is not excellent--it's a bit of an exaggeration to say that the walk to the old city is 10 min, it's more like 15-20. The bus ride back up is ~20 min; we never walked back to the sobe, it would've been a hike. It was a good deal compared to other more expensive options but if I were to stay a short time in Dubrovnik I would probably try to get a closer place.


91%

Very nice people and place lots of walking


94%

Just like staying at a relatives house, its a really homely hostel. when we arrived we were greeted by the lovely smiley staff who offered us juice and told us about the area. The room was clean and comfy with a big ensuite and nicely air conditioned. Only downside is its up 483 steps from old town, but its a good work out and the view from the window is a real pay off!


97%

The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The owners were friendly, welcoming and extremely efficient. When we were checking out, our bus did not arrive to take us to the port so the owner drove us there in her car and refused to accept any money from us which was a very nice thing for her to do!!!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We were 5 girls traveling together. Mara and Sandra (her daughter?) were so accommodating, and it was nice to feel like we were in a home after many days in hostels! We still had our own private space-- 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a hallway, so we felt like we had privacy but also the warmth of the hosts that is often missing when you're in hostel dorms. GREAT value, super clean, comfortable, and good location with spectacular views of the Adriatic. Choose Sobe Mara-- you won't regret it!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice view..about 15 min from the old town.


94%

Would 100% stay again - loveliest woman who ran the hostel, offered drinks upon arrival and told us everything we needed to know about buses etc. Beautiful views and very clean. Only thing I'd say is it's a bit of a maze to find it so perhaps needs an extra sign from the road.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely lovely staff, it is a bit of a steep walk to get here from old town but only really 10-15 mins and it has a. Ice view and was extremely clean! Wee joyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it


60%

Air conditioner is free only 2 months in a year and not in June?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest the price is low in that time of year and the conditioner is not included in the price. The air condition is included in the price from 08th of Jul.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(103 results)


View all Dubrovnik Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback