X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Socket Hostel Reviews

2-1, Lane 36, Sec 4, Bade Rd, Taipei, Taiwan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
93 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We really enjoyed the hostel. It's clean, modern, and located close to a lot of sights, parks, and markets. The hostel feels closer to a hotel than most places I've stayed. All furniture was of very high quality, and there were plenty of bathrooms to ensure that one was always available. It was very quiet and comfortable, and it seemed to attract a slightly older crowd than your average hostel. If you want a quieter hostel, this would be a very good choice.


100%

Well, It is a little bit hard to find on the street since there's no big sign to guide you to located it but there's nothing else to complaint except this i would say. I met lot of new friends, ate lot of food around as well. I would stay here again if i am back to Taipei.


69%

房主很忙,但还是给我们具体推荐了几日的规划,这点还是很nice的;房间很简单,两张床、一个床头柜和一个衣柜,没有电视等;公用卫生间的纸用完了一整天也没有补上,另外需要自己备牙膏牙刷等洗漱用品,提供的洗发水沐浴露和洗手液都比较稀,我们也是用自带的。提供了一盒笔,不过几乎没有能用的,幸好自己也带了。不过价格很便宜,可能因为价格原因,所以提供的设施也有限吧。和之前住过的价格类似的背包旅店大家一起坐着聊天相比,这儿大家各自关好各自的门,好在台北已经给了我们足够惊喜,所以也没有为此影响旅程心情

Owner Comment (Hide)
過年期間由於人手不足,沒能及時的補足各項設備,我們感到非常抱歉! We are deeply sorry that we did not refill all supply in time due to short manpower! 我們將提供您兩天的免費住宿,以補償您的損失!請在下次訂房時預先通知我們。謝謝! We would like to offering you TWO days Free staying to make you up! Please inform us in advance when you booking on line. Thank you!

100%

Dorm and Bath room are very clean, nice lock drawers too. The area is close to everything, although the metro is about a 10 minute walk away.


97%

excellent place paying hostel price for a good hotel room wonderful host nearby lot of food store and convenient shop night market nearby


63%

Basic hostel, no common area but it served the purpose for a few nights

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that the common area is not as bog as what you expect. Our next new hostel is about to open at the end of this month which located right in Raoho night market, and we hope it offer you more options. Thank you again

91%

Good good good danny is best manager in taipei. He is so kind. Everything was good in socket but socket has only two restrooms. So we washed midnight. But socket facility is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for all inconvenients that we cause! Actually there are 3 big bathroom s for all visitor.

100%

Nice place, Nice host, Nice people from other countries. I do have a nice staying here. Don't miss it if you are in Taipei.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

If you looking for a Hotel with Hostel price, THIS IS IT! Don't be hesitate to pick it up though there's not too many picture on the website. I'll be back.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed meeting the proprietor - he was helpful and informative. Sockett Hostel was beautiful and very nice to stay in. Our only complaint is about the odd rules. Guests are not allowed to cook in the kitchen, and guests are not allowed to bring food, beverages (alcoholic or not) into the hostel. This was inconvenient. In addition, for each piece of linen (towel, pillow-case, or sheet) that is stained, the guest is charged 1500nt! This didn't apply to us, but we were certainly careful.


100%

It is the BEST than ever! perfect spot in the city allows you to reach shopping area, restaurant, 101 building, bus to Julfen, train station. and Danny (the host) help me figure out everything as well. Lovely!!! don't miss it if you are going to Taipei. 他真的是太棒了!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Socket Hostel is actually okay but was unfortuantely let down by its Manager, Danny. The water stopped working for the last night of our stay. We were unable to shower or go to the bathroom for an entire night. You would imagine this would constitute a free night's stay as running showers and toilets is a basic need. Instead, he strong armed us by saying that there was girl's make up on the towels and that he was going to charge us $1500 TWD for it. Absurd.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We r DEEPLY APOLOGIES about the water pipe of building was broken on Sunday night! Just like the cheap flight, u have to pay for what u need extra. Our policy was posted everywhere in the house, we believe that there is no reason to NOT to c it as well as oral remind. Don't let ur friends to take ur responsibility, they do deserve to get free stay but you just ruin it. Sorry again!!



View all Taipei Hostels

Please give us your feedback