Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sofia Hostel Reviews

Viale Abruzzi, 70, Milan, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained


166 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


NO! I accompanied my girlfriend here(I speak English).They said we had to pay not 10,70,but 16€: MUST take that LINEN(SHE HAD HER OWN),pay TAX(which is btw only for tourists over 30!).NO DIALOGUE.We started to decide,yes,using their WiFi. Girl called some guy in charge,then STARTED TO PULL MONEY FROM MY HAND,the guy on phone THREATENED he'll do smth we don't want to hear about. ?!!We ALREADY PAYED 2,45€,need to decide! Finally I said the F word to the crazy guy,went away. VERY BAD PEOPLE! DON'T.


The only thing I liked from this hostel was the reception at NIGHT because when we had to check out, the receptionist was falling asleep. The room was really COLD. And the worst thing is that when we arrived in the hostel, we HAD to pay for the bed linen, we didn't have any choice if we wanted or not. It's a shame because if we HAVE to pay, put it in the REAL price and DO NOT try to take advantage of the travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir , It's written on the page that linen dosn't included.We asked you to use yours if you had , but you haven't. Shame that you want sleep on a bed in hostel without linen(is very dangerous for hygien of travellers). We have hot room and hot water for 24h.


Missing a shower door and unexpected linen fees applied, but bedroom was comfortable. Decent value for cheap price.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir , it was written on the website that linen dosn't included and we told you that if you have your linen you can use it , but you didn't have. So , the important that the room was comfortable that for sure you had good stay in our hostel. Hope to see you again.


The gentleman at the counter tried to charge us 25 euros more then was on the sight. And when we said I could just book it online for 17 euros each he got really short and charged us the extra money at check out F this place, this sight and that guy at the counter

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


I was meant to stay at the hostel for 4 nights but missed my plane so only stayed for one. I arrived really early and was tired so wanted to sleep a little before Iw went to work. I couldn't sleep because they had lots of work doing on the front desk. A saw and drill were going on for hours , also they was only one key for my room and the totter guests had it . My bed was very comfortable but the room smelt of smoke even though no one was allowed to smoke in the rooms. The location is excellent

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Unfortunately I was robbed on arrival to Milan at the Central Metro Station. However, the hostel staff were very helpful and supportive. Then to add to my bad luck I was struck down with d & v after one nights stay. However, Jerry who seemed to be the main member of staff at the hostel was very very helpful. He moved me downstairs in order to keep an eye of me.


Location is very nice, just 10 minutes walk from Train Station, and just in front of a Metro underground station were you can take Red and Green Lines, and get to The Dome Square in 10 minutes. Room is nice, but you have to ask them for a portable heater, otherwise you are gonna freeze. There aresome of restaurants and bars around.


The hostel is very clean. The rooms are nice and cheap. A twin room is totally worthy for example: it's large, well-equipped and clean. The personal treats you between a formal and friendly way.

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


It wasn't close of the downtown and it gives the impression of not been clean.


Staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. Place was very cold with minimal blankets.


very very bad. arriving to the hostel they charged us 4€ for each linen and that was unexpected. the bathroom was not working well and is tiny. room was smelling very bad and the charged linen was dirty. the receptionist only had two days working and we didn't have anyone to claim.


They charged us more than we should have been charged. No kitchen or common area. One bathroom with one shower and toilet in it for way too many people plus it looked dirty and smelt bad. Hostel was getting done up and it was very noisy. However staff were friendly and the actual room fairly decent for the price. Good location too.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


So small hostel. No living room , no breakfast room , no kitchen. Only one shower room for everyboday. So small hostel for 19€, i don t recomend You fort this price !


Arrived late, left early, very expensive for what it is, reception a little rude.


Room: Stained walls, mold on the ceiling and smelt like mold and damp. Bathroom: 1 bathroom/toilet per floor. you cant use the toilet when someone else is showering. Level 2 toilet had no toilet seat. Both bathroom smelt very bad. after 8 months through Central America and Europe worst hostel yet. Read the reviews. The 3 other people in my room thought the same as I.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

No locker in the room despite description, location good (3-4 stops from Duomo), staff overall friendly, atmosfere OK, but no party place, they try to keep the hostel somewhat clean. Dont expext Hilton, but fair enough.


Nice hostel, Egyptian guy on the counter was really friendly and helpful, limited number of showers, pretty tame hostel in terms of atmosphere but was great for a rest and detox and sleep, nice safe comfy hostel.


One of the worst hostels I ever stayed in. 4-bed female dorm contained 5 single beds, and four of them were so close to each other that it was almost like one large bed (still one bed was removed later). Very few power sockets. No key for the room, it's always open. No key for the lockers. Poor breakfast; nothing to drink if you don't drink coffee. The bathroom was often not clean; sometimes there was no hot water. Poor quality of sleep. I've seen bad reviews but didn't expect it to be that bad.


Maybe I just had bad luck when i stayed here. The electricity were out, witch means I couldn't pay with card. Wifi didn't work and the staff was a bit confused. If i wanted to go to Milano again I would have stayed here again. It defenitly works to stay over the night!


What an awful experience! The hostel is situated in such a dodgy location, we got scared when we arrived. The communal bathroom was in our bedroom, so it was not only inconvenient and awkward, but also not secure. Also the shower was broken. The only good thing about this hostel is the one receptionist, Peter, who was extremely helpful in giving us advice on sights to see, places to eat and such.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)

View all Milan Hostels

Please give us your feedback