Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • James-Bailey-94
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Hostel really was dead most nights not really their fault but was frustrating the bar closing at just after 10pm every night. Only other moan is the WiFi in the rooms was dreadful and outside it was just manageable but frustrating again. Now the moans are over I had a great time in shanghai and the location is perfect right next to Xinsa road metro (buy the baozi only 1.5y) the laundry is free just 1y for the powder and I felt very safe in the hostel also toilets were nice (western and squat)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
7.7

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel is a decent hostel in Shanghai. Nothing spectacular about it, the hostel offers a comfortable room and very little else. The bar/restaurant area would be great, but the music is played a little too loudly, making it a little difficult to chat with others. The staff members were respectful, but I did not feel warmly welcomed. Also, the hostel is a little pricey, but to be expected being that it is in Shanghai. Next time, I would stay elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2017
7.4

Overall a nice hostel, especially the little garden outside. Would've been nice if there were more showers and single bathrooms, waiting time could be long for the showers. The bar closes at 10 pm, would have been nice if it was open a bit longer as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.0

The main downfall of this hostel was the breakfast, otherwise the staff were very friendly and laid-back, the rooms were clean and the location was awesome. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.6

ive stayed here before, its ok nice location, staff are not too bad. Good place for a night or two. The breakfast only runs until 9 should go until at least 10 in my opinion. The only other thing really is that it would be nice if they had more toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
5.7

WOW. okay so you can hear the subway. Atmosphere is completely dead and i guess the only thing going for it is that its 'close' to a subway station. PLEASE do not stay here unless theres no other places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • talestalestales
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.1

I really enjoy staying here for my last 3 nights after traveling for 3 weeks in China. One people of the staff had a very good english and was very helpfull, but two other ones had a very bad english (one of them could only get my passport and say Hello). And my only real need when I had to discuss an issue with this boy, Its was impossible, but we had a Chinese guy who helped us and this staff boy then helped me a lot. 15-30 walking distance to maaany must see places. 5min walking from metro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
9.4

Overall, my stay was great. The location is convenient and the building has a nice outdoor sitting area. The only problem was that the female dorm room has a strange smell. I thought it was perhaps a previous guest, but it seemed a bit too persistent to be that. Maybe something about the ventilation? Otherwise, everything was fine. Good value for money ~

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • asheppard91091
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
30th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel! Staff are very friendly and speak English. We stayed in a private room and everything was very clean! Super cute hostel too with lots of hangout areas and plants everywhere! Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Great location, super clean. Great for partying. Great staff 10 out of 10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.