Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.4

The place is on the nice location, perfect chill out zone in the center of SH. There is a "garden" and the chill terrace. Many of different rooms available for reasonable money but when it comes to the Stuff they are super polite and really life savers. If you ask they will order food for you they were even buy some computer staff for me over the internet. There is poll table for free, cheap beer and more. I would recommend this hostel to all travelers visiting SH and I will come back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
7.4

It says there's a kitchen, but it's just a microwave and a fridge, which is hardly a kitchen at all. Aside from this issue the rest is fine, not particularly good or bad. Rooms are fairly clean, though my locker didn't lock. The free breakfast was nice, and the front desk staff were friendly. Free laundry services (washer AND dryer!) was also great. My favourite part is the loft above reception, it's a nice place to relax and read a book. Location is good too, quiet with little street noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
7.4

A late night check-in was well provided, as our flight got 2h delay. My room with 4 bed didn't has a window and was really warm. The room private toilet wasn't well cleaned. The breakfast was ok, with ocidental and oriental options. It's ok for a weekend visit to Shanghai.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
7.4

My second stay here. Only problem was the Wifi. Could not connect most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
8.3

I only stayed for the night but I'm sad I could't have spent more than just a few hours there. From what I saw it was very clean, the staff were friendly and there was a good atmosphere. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend an eye-mask as it was very light in the room, and earplugs as there were trains (?) frequently going past at a loud volume. I would definitely go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.6

Decent hostel and facilities. Beds were rather hard and staff were not very sharp. A courier with no English skills gave us better directions to the old city when they couldn't grasp what we were looking for despite the old city being a major tourist attraction.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.7

We had a double private room which was nice, clean and pretty big. The rest of the hostel wasn't so great - bit cold and boring, although this could be because we went during the winter at low season. The location next to the metro is good but its quite far from the main sites and places to go out - but taxis are really cheap so not a massive issue. Given the location its pretty expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
4.9

I have been there in last week. The place is very near to subway station. This is the only good point. Cleanliness is not good. Rooms are small. Worst part is WIFI connectin and Television is pathetic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so sorry about your experience in our hostel,during last week,our Wifi is debugging,now it works well. We'll tell our cleaner to work harder,hope you can understand.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Stayed here for 4 nights. Was a good stay, perfect location. Not much social atmosphere though, might of been due to time of year. Good food and nice pool table though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

I love the location of this hostel and the more expensive rooms are nice, the cheaper ones have windows facing the corridor and they're not so nice. But the beds are rock hard! We both woke up stiff and in pain and sadly won't be able to stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so sorry about the mattress,some people like the hard one,if you feel uncomfortable,you can ask our staff to add a quilt for you next time. Because our hostel was reconstructed by a warehouse,so some rooms do not have windows.thanks for your suggestions,we'll continue to work hard.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.