Hostelworld.com

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 655 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 655 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.6

Decent hostel and facilities. Beds were rather hard and staff were not very sharp. A courier with no English skills gave us better directions to the old city when they couldn't grasp what we were looking for despite the old city being a major tourist attraction.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.7

We had a double private room which was nice, clean and pretty big. The rest of the hostel wasn't so great - bit cold and boring, although this could be because we went during the winter at low season. The location next to the metro is good but its quite far from the main sites and places to go out - but taxis are really cheap so not a massive issue. Given the location its pretty expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
4.9

I have been there in last week. The place is very near to subway station. This is the only good point. Cleanliness is not good. Rooms are small. Worst part is WIFI connectin and Television is pathetic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so sorry about your experience in our hostel,during last week,our Wifi is debugging,now it works well. We'll tell our cleaner to work harder,hope you can understand.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Stayed here for 4 nights. Was a good stay, perfect location. Not much social atmosphere though, might of been due to time of year. Good food and nice pool table though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

I love the location of this hostel and the more expensive rooms are nice, the cheaper ones have windows facing the corridor and they're not so nice. But the beds are rock hard! We both woke up stiff and in pain and sadly won't be able to stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so sorry about the mattress,some people like the hard one,if you feel uncomfortable,you can ask our staff to add a quilt for you next time. Because our hostel was reconstructed by a warehouse,so some rooms do not have windows.thanks for your suggestions,we'll continue to work hard.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
7.7

Stayed here 2 nights in Dec 2016 with 5 friends and slept in the basic double which if you choose to stay here I'd recommend getting over the dorm if you've got a friend to share with. There's a fair bit more room than the dorms for the same price per person. The staff aren't too friendly but you don't come to China for good hospitality. Location is really nice and the neighbourhood has a few basic meal options. The free morning breakfast is also basic; 但take some little oranges 4 snacks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
7.4

Hostel was ok - very clean, and helpful staff. Relatively close to the metro station but not the easiest to find. There was no one else staying there which meant there was no atmosphere, but there was a lot of communal space and a bar which was nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 54 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.6

Rooms smell like mold

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
4.9

I thought this place was dark and dingy. The atmosphere wasn't great. It felt like I was hanging out in a cave when I was in the lobby. The rooms were small and smelled of smoke and mildew. The bathrooms were extremely small (shower over the toilet) and weren't clean. I was booked to stay here for 6 nights, but ended up checking out after the first night. Good place for a short stay, but not a long one. Not super social/get to meet people environment. It was very quiet and mostly Chinese tourist

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.4

Nice hostel! I liked the spaces where you could hang around and the massage chair. Location is not the best you can get in the area, but it's okay. Rooms are a little small and the beds are rock hard. That's the only big negative thing about this places. It felt as if there was no mattres.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments,we have many public area for you to relax,includes a roof and a bar,the massage chair is free also. Our hostel is located in central, you can go to the people square,the bund and many sightseeings within 30minutes. We have the mattress,but it's really a bit hard,we would solve this problem.hope see you again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.