Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 634 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel Located at NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District, Shanghai.
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200003 NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District
79% 634
31.2407789 121.4645701
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
9.7

not far from people's square and the bund.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.3

Overall quite happy with the hostel, it was my second time there. It is a bit difficult the find the first time and it is a little quiet but overall im happy. The staff are really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel was a great place to stay. Make sure to actively look for it otherwise, it is difficult to find during the day. At night they have an illuminated sign that makes it easy to spot. The hostel was very clean and the staff was welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.0

Great location and helpful staff (Thanks Cynthia for going out of the way in assistance)! Bike rental provided, nice rooftop balcony, rooms have WiFi Though, some rooms also have a moldy smell, and the mosquitoes are fierce here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
7.4

Atmosphere isn't great, feels a bit dingy and no social activity going on during my stay. Mensroom smelly/ damp. Otherwise good, will probably go back to it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our hostel was reconstructed by a famous person's warehouse in Shanghai. So some rooms don't have window inside. But we have exhaust system in every room to ensure the air circulation. Thanks for your views,we will do better than before,hope to see you again.

1st Sep 2016
8.6

Good hostel. The staff was very helpful. Got washing machine (coin operated) facilities. Superb environment & location of the hostel. Walking distance to Xinzha Rd metro. However, public bathroom was not maintained with rundown shower curtain & door. One of the shower is leaking. The toilet itself is abit smelly. Some of the chairs in the common area also is rundown & not comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

I really liked this place, good location, nice staff and a great breakfast. My girlfriend is a vegan and could eat almost all. Great faciities there. Family friendly, not noisy, good atmosphere. Although the turtle outside needs something to rest out of the water on so it can dry its skin every now and then. But still very very nice place. Highly recommend this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

Wifi was not very good, even when I could connect it was slow or webpage would not open. Our private room was spacious and clean, although shower drain was slow. Breakfast was also not the greatest I'd enjoyed. (There is a McDonalds close by) Staff was really great. Thanks Cynthia!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
7.4

It was okay for a place to stay after long days in Shanghai, but we were given a room with no external windows. Other than no windows facing the outside, my biggest complain is that there seemed to be several mosquitoes in our room each night even though we left the window to the hallway closed all day. Would probably not stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
8.0

Just your typical Chinese hostel. A good place to crash for the night. AC was okay, you did have it in your room but still hot. Mattresses are practically non existent they're so thin, bathrooms smelled a bit. But for a cheap, simple place to rest this is good. I liked that they had a free breakfast and some nice spots to hang out although the areas had extremely low lighting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.