Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 647 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel Located at NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District, Shanghai.
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200003 NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District
79% 647
31.2407789 121.4645701
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Nov 2016
7.4

Hostel was ok - very clean, and helpful staff. Relatively close to the metro station but not the easiest to find. There was no one else staying there which meant there was no atmosphere, but there was a lot of communal space and a bar which was nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 47 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.6

Rooms smell like mold

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
4.9

I thought this place was dark and dingy. The atmosphere wasn't great. It felt like I was hanging out in a cave when I was in the lobby. The rooms were small and smelled of smoke and mildew. The bathrooms were extremely small (shower over the toilet) and weren't clean. I was booked to stay here for 6 nights, but ended up checking out after the first night. Good place for a short stay, but not a long one. Not super social/get to meet people environment. It was very quiet and mostly Chinese tourist

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.4

Nice hostel! I liked the spaces where you could hang around and the massage chair. Location is not the best you can get in the area, but it's okay. Rooms are a little small and the beds are rock hard. That's the only big negative thing about this places. It felt as if there was no mattres.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments,we have many public area for you to relax,includes a roof and a bar,the massage chair is free also. Our hostel is located in central, you can go to the people square,the bund and many sightseeings within 30minutes. We have the mattress,but it's really a bit hard,we would solve this problem.hope see you again.

7th Oct 2016
8.6

Great location! Just a little difficult to find from the subway, even though it is close. So make sure you look at the map! Hostel was great for all reasons, until I saw a bug on the ground in the bedroom. A pretty big one, but we killed it (: The bathroom was okay, but not super clean. Rooms were very humid/hot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

First,apologize to you with that bug,we have many plants and near a park, so sometimes it may have some insects. Secondly,we have central air conditioner ,just turn on the button near the lighting switch,it would be much cooler. At last,thanks for your supporting,we'll do better,hope see you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
8.0

The common spaces were my favorite thing about this place. Plenty of great spaces to lounge. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was in a private double with no windows. It was pretty dark and I didn't really feel like hanging out much in there. The bathroom was a bit stanky so I kept the door closed. The whole place was damp and and smelled mildewy. On the last night they turned on the AC. World of difference. Was nice to have coin op laundry on site.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our hostel is constructed by a famous person's warehouse,so some rooms don't have the windows.but we have central air conditioner to make sure the air circulation. And we have many public areas for you to relax,like the bar and a roof. Thanks for your comments, We'll spray more air fresher than before to make room smell good.Hope see you again.

23rd Sep 2016
9.7

not far from people's square and the bund.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.3

Overall quite happy with the hostel, it was my second time there. It is a bit difficult the find the first time and it is a little quiet but overall im happy. The staff are really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.1

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel was a great place to stay. Make sure to actively look for it otherwise, it is difficult to find during the day. At night they have an illuminated sign that makes it easy to spot. The hostel was very clean and the staff was welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.0

Great location and helpful staff (Thanks Cynthia for going out of the way in assistance)! Bike rental provided, nice rooftop balcony, rooms have WiFi Though, some rooms also have a moldy smell, and the mosquitoes are fierce here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.