Hostelworld.com

Soho People's Square Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 603 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel Located at NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District, Shanghai.
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200003 NO. 1307 South Suzhou Rd, Huangpu District
80% 603
31.2407789 121.4645701
Soho People's Square Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
7.1

Location was great but from that everything else was only standard.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.3

Close-ish to People's Square, but can still be a little of a walk. I stayed in the 6-bed, ladies suite room. There were no dividers between bed, so less privacy than I prefer. Not a bad hostel to stay during your trip to Shanghai.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
3.7

the worst hostel experience i ever had!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2016
6.3

the hostel seems to be some kind of a EMS hotspot. crates of stuff everywhere, there was quite an unpleasant smell in the corridor, luckily not in the dorm rooms though. unfortunately they didnt have an actual mattress but therefor provided a quilt to lie on. fair enough but maybe not the best choice if youre picky about the bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
7.4

Not a bad place, but sort of odd. Pros: breakfast is provided, there's some decent areas to chill, bar, located off a quiet canal next to a small park, nice a patient staff Cons: subway runs underneath and shakes the building slightly (stops after 11pm, starts around 7am), can't escape their music playlist, beds are hard, cleanliness was subpar This place also caters to a largely Chinese crowd, though I encountered some other nationalities also.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2016
6.6

We were a party of 3, stayed in private room. Rooms were clean, comfortable but no windows. Hostel location is central, only 5mins from metro but it's 5mins away from everything else, it's down a quiet alley so no shops or restaurants on the same street. The English level is not that good here either. It lacked atmosphere.. not many foreigners when we stayed but Chinese families so I don't think this hostel would be an ideal choice if you're travelling alone and looking to meet people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
6.6

Clean and comfortable! Bed too small for two Western People! Subway rumbling underneath the Hostel! Privat Room i had had no Windows! There Are other Hostels closer to people's square which are also good and cheaper!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2016
7.1

Hate to leave a bad review, but I was not super impressed. Positives: room itself was fine and pleasantly-wallpapered. Wi-fi was the best I've encountered at a hostel in China. Located close to train station and People's Square. Negatives: Built over the subway line, so while I was trying to sleep I was jolted awake every 5 minutes by the arriving subway train. Confusing location and building setup. Uncomfortable beds and room smelled strange. Staff seemed indifferent to guests. Few bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2015
7.1

1) couldn't sleep all 4 nights well, coz out of the window there was loud music in the park and old people dancing. It was every morning 6 to 8 o'clock! 2) once in the noon there was no hot water to shower and they said it is because the hostel is full, same with WIFI. 3) one chinese lady outside the hostel got angry at us because she thought we took a photo of her (we just did a selfie of just ourself) and started following us. Even running and shouting she gonna report on us in police.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2015
8.3

It's a bit hard to find. The taxi driver had a hard time. Worth it I suppose. Cool breakfast, funky decorations, one of the girls on the night shift was so kind and the guy during the morning wasn't as helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.